View Full Version : Well Done Shelbourne
CorkCityFC_Celt
13/07/2005, 8:33 PM
As a Cork City Season ticket holder i ahve to say well done to Shelbourne on a great performance and scoring 2 away goals was terrific you really done the Eircom League and Ireland proud and silenced a few people up in the north e.g. David Jefferey. Good to see the glentoran fans quiet it was class. anyway well done and i hope aswell as cork city you progress in Europe because its good for our game. You wont win the league though but you might have a chance of winning the Champions League :D
13/07/2005, 10:15 PM
You have to fancy them winning the next leg aswell ..... its the next round that will be more valuable to the league and Shels .... getting a good result out of this would be great !!
Dyl10
13/07/2005, 10:50 PM
Well done lads but yous had me a bit scared towards the end
13/07/2005, 10:51 PM
While if I was offered 0-1 next week I'd take it, obviously, we should go out to win that match too to help the co-efficent. Winning two legs in the first round would be a cracking start for us. Glentoran showed nothing today to say they can come and upset us next week but they could be a different proposition then so who knows, anything can happen in football, but we were dominant for 80 minutes today and hopefully we'll be in the next round. I can't see us not scoring in Tolka espically with Ndo in the side so Glentoran will need to score 3 to win if we do.
I'd expect Longford to win tomorrow so it should be a good week co-efficent wise, anything Cork get co-efficent wise is a bonus but I think their best chance in this tie will come in finishing the job off in turners cross so a high scoring draw would be an excellent result for them.
Gerrit
13/07/2005, 10:59 PM
Well done Shels, and summer football pays off. There was a true difference in fitness, so maybe we should say kudos to the FAI as well as for the second season in a row the summer league shows its advantages.
The difference in quality is smaller than it seems (Shels have more quality than Glens I guess, but the difference in fitness made it look a bigger gap than it is) and if NI would have a summer league as well they may could have given better opposition.
Shels has it in their hands now, Glens have to score before half-time or if possible in the first 15 minutes or it's over, and the fact that they MUST attack means Shels will have possibilities automatically. Glens must take the risk now, Shels are in a very comfortable position.
well done to the loud support of shels also, and kudos to both clans: not a single riot !!
13/07/2005, 11:02 PM
Did you get to the match without having to travel on the bus in the end, Gerrit?
Drumcondra Red
13/07/2005, 11:47 PM
He did, Isaw him scurrying around!!!! :D :D
How did we come accross on TV? Did we sound good???
14/07/2005, 12:00 AM
Yeah very good, we were the only ones heard most of the time on the TV, that stand looks good for making noise, sort of like the Riverside stand in Tolka.
14/07/2005, 12:05 AM
Yeah very good, we were the only ones heard most of the time on the TV, that stand looks good for making noise, sort of like the Riverside stand in Tolka.
We were the only ones heard because we were the only ones singing.
14/07/2005, 12:18 PM
Ya fair play to both the team and fans-both excellent.Pity about the scoreline could have been alot better.
swinfordfc
15/07/2005, 10:21 AM
Well done shels now win the home leg too great for the irish foorball :) :D
Gerrit
15/07/2005, 10:17 PM
Did you get to the match without having to travel on the bus in the end, Gerrit?
Yes :) I hope to make it to the return leg, but as my Belfast job starts Monday I rely on carpooling with a Glens fan :eek: Hopefully there's one out there who doesn't care to take a fan from "the enemy" for a ride ;)
As I said, I plan to come over to Dublin once or twice a month for Shels games (I can stay overnight with an ex-colleague as there's no bus back after 10) and plan on catching the 'close' away games as well: Finn Harps, Derry, Longford, maybe Drogheda as well as they have direct busses from Belfast
Goal result shels. Saw the goals on Sky News in Riga. Well received by city support even if we had to give Fenlon some abuse (only natural) during interview ;)
Drumcondra Red
16/07/2005, 10:48 AM
As I said, I plan to come over to Dublin once or twice a month for Shels games (I can stay overnight with an ex-colleague as there's no bus back after 10) and plan on catching the 'close' away games as well: Finn Harps, Derry, Longford, maybe Drogheda as well as they have direct busses from Belfast
I'd be more worried about buses home then buses down Gerrit!!!
16/07/2005, 11:35 AM
Goal result shels. Saw the goals on Sky News in Riga. Well received by city support even if we had to give Fenlon some abuse (only natural) during interview ;)
Well not to be overshadowed,Corks win was great,dare i say better than Shels and i must admit that i don't know 1 Shels fan who wasn't cheering for Cork
Gerrit
17/07/2005, 7:20 PM
I'd be more worried about buses home then buses down Gerrit!!!
Normally I can sleep at an ex-colleague's place in Dublin and take the first bus up in the morning. Only if he's away from home I would be forced to take a hostel...
It's time for a Northern Ireland based Shels fanclub I think, would be great carpooling to Tolka and back :cool:
seansouth
17/07/2005, 7:26 PM
Sure, you'll probably be nearer to the new Stadium, once it's built, than most other people anyway :)
17/07/2005, 7:36 PM
Sure, you'll probably be nearer to the new Stadium, once it's built, than most other people anyway :)
Thought you were from Garryowen... why don't you support Limerick FC? :D
seansouth
17/07/2005, 7:42 PM
:D :ball:
Forza Glentoran
17/07/2005, 11:00 PM
Heading to Dublin tomorrow, chaps, for a wee break with the missus. Looking forward to the game. If nothing else, I can say this- there's gonna be one hell of a racket! If any of you want to know what supporting the team is all about, come to Tolka and listen to us. We go mental away from home, especially in Europe. The Oval's design makes atmosphere difficult, and considering the main stand is full of oul farts, the lack of noise shouldn't have come as a surprise.
After our UEFA Cup exit in Sweden last year, we stayed in the stadium and sang for another 45 minutes! They couldn't get rid of us! In fact, the opposing fans waited for us outside our side of the stadium to shake our hands. Then, as our multiple buses started to drive away from the ground, the Swedish fans were on their knees, bowing to us!! Honestly, one of the most emotional moments in my life.
17/07/2005, 11:04 PM
Heading to Dublin tomorrow, chaps, for a wee break with the missus. Looking forward to the game. If nothing else, I can say this- there's gonna be one hell of a racket! If any of you want to know what supporting the team is all about, come to Tolka and listen to us. We go mental away from home, especially in Europe. The Oval's design makes atmosphere difficult, and considering the main stand is full of oul farts, the lack of noise shouldn't have come as a surprise.
After our UEFA Cup exit in Sweden last year, we stayed in the stadium and sang for another 45 minutes! They couldn't get rid of us! In fact, the opposing fans waited for us outside our side of the stadium to shake our hands. Then, as our multiple buses started to drive away from the ground, the Swedish fans were on their knees, bowing to us!! Honestly, one of the most emotional moments in my life.
Sounds like something worth seeing on TV ;)
EireBadBoy
18/07/2005, 2:02 AM
Exactly, I'm taking it C.T.I.D was merely emphasising what Glens fans' already know, you'll not see that on UTV because - well, it's buckin' nice!! Not really relative to running the local game down is it?
Glentoran has a few Derry men in the side but we're all looking for the co-efficient to improve this season so hopefully the 'Soap Dodgers' win. No doubt if one miniscule pie acts the Sectarian Goat then Frank Mitchell will indulge is every aspect of the incident, should the game pass off peacefully and whatever the result we'll see little or no action on the telly.
Cynical - I live in 'The Black North'! ;)
18/07/2005, 10:07 AM
i have to agree with all of this having seen them first hand, They are absolutely brilliant. if your doing nothing else on wednesday night and are around tolka, just go to the game to see the glens fans!
Shelsman
18/07/2005, 12:49 PM
Yes :) Hopefully there's one out there who doesn't care to take a fan from "the enemy" for a ride ;)
Let's hope you don't end up like that american fella :D :eek: :mad: