View Full Version : Limerick in CRISIS?
thelimerick
11/07/2005, 7:34 PM
We at theLimerick have recieved credible information concerning two of our star players. First of all we have been reliably informed that Derek McCarthy is being pawned off very much against his will and the will of surely every supporter of this club. Secondly another one of our biggest players could be about to walk away from the club because of the ongoing internal problems which are dogging this club all season long. These include the favouritism of management and the interference of the chairman, particularily in regards to team selection.
We are very much on the verge of loosing two of our most dedicated and loyal players within the next week, all to accomadate players whose dedication is very questionable indeed. It is hugely important therefore that we SUPPORT these players and show them that the fans are on THEIR side.
We need to take action.
Pauliwallnuts
11/07/2005, 8:16 PM
What Derek being pawned off ?? He's our top scorer for Christ sake !!
Who else are you talking about ??
thelimerick
11/07/2005, 8:40 PM
What Derek being pawned off ?? He's our top scorer for Christ sake !!
Who else are you talking about ??
You're right, he is our top scorer. He's also being played out of position week in week out. Logic left this club months ago.
We're that bit more sensitive about revealing the name of the other player, because unlike Derek McCarthy management may not directly know of his particular situation yet. If this certain player left however it would be a complete farce.
lim abroad
12/07/2005, 12:45 AM
not surprised,ever since derek injured his back a few years ago noc hasn't done him many favours.think he even sacked him from the butchers shop. the other player must be kelliher or finny???? :confused: :eek:
If this is all true It goes from bad to worse this year. Derek is a loyal servant to the club and does not deserve to be treated this way. Why, he has played out of position all year, to accommodate one of NOC's babys in CP. DeLimerick , You are dead right Logic has left this club. Why would you play our top scorer in midifield and CP upfront ? :confused:
The Situation gets worse as I have heard of at least one other case of the Senior Magement in the club having a go at one of our defenders. NOC is doing a very poor job both tactically and has NO Man management skills but interference from above makes things even worse. Also It looks like Darren is signing for UCD, and WE would not even give him a game :confused: . Best of luck Daz.
The Trouble this year is we are fixated with Money and not Football. If we had concentrated on Football and picking players in their natural positions as we did earlier we would be up with Sligo now and DD would have now worries about the Crowds. All this Bull**it is self inflicted and the club are in danger of ending our season now. After Last night's Dublin City result it looks like a 2 horse race now. Maybe it's not too late to rescue the season but changes need to be made ;)
Lets Sing our hearts out Derek on Friday Night for the duration of whole game , maybe that would get the message accross and all of us give Carthy and the other player involved our support both before and after the game.
All the best IN FOOTBALL (not anything else)
JohnD
Roadend
12/07/2005, 8:37 AM
Thnis "mystery player" wouldn't have happend to not turn up for training Sunday morning?
willie john
12/07/2005, 8:53 AM
We at theLimerick have recieved credible information concerning two of our star players. First of all we have been reliably informed that Derek McCarthy is being pawned off very much against his will and the will of surely every supporter of this club. Secondly another one of our biggest players could be about to walk away from the club because of the ongoing internal problems which are dogging this club all season long. These include the favouritism of management and the interference of the chairman, particularily in regards to team selection.
We are very much on the verge of loosing two of our most dedicated and loyal players within the next week, all to accomadate players whose dedication is very questionable indeed. It is hugely important therefore that we SUPPORT these players and show them that the fans are on THEIR side.
We need to take action.
are u a supporter or a szit stirer? everbody can do a better job then noc :eek: i dont fncking think so not even half way trough the season 25 points 24 goals whats the problem if ye want to support the team do that let noc do his job we can and will finish in a very impressive pis this season as for players leaving thats noc choice he is the MANAGER and doing a fine job .as for money coming first look around the leauge any romours about limerick ans NO why it is being run right . bulling in dressing room b.lls it some of u should have seen kinger and big sam noc is a mouse in comparison .so let the boys do there JOB and lets see fridays result and whos new in :eek: :D
12/07/2005, 9:01 AM
Willie -there's obviously some division amongst us Lims on this but I think I can unite us around a single request...
-can you please knock off the 'nokia' speak?
It's distracts from some otherwise valid and salient points that you make.
Willie:
I will welcome any new faces and we need them to push on this year. But I fail to see what seling our top Scorer will do for us.
MY Job is to support my team, agreed, but no one will make me be a lemming and not voice my opinion if and when I see where there could be improvements made.
Why was Darren not giving a chance ?
Why is Derek in de middle of the park when he is not a first cousin of a midfielder , but is a fine natural striker?
Why is CP not scoring ?
Why have we lost 3 in 4 ?
These questions are all relevant and need to be addressed.
JohnD
12/07/2005, 9:45 AM
not surprised,ever since derek injured his back a few years ago noc hasn't done him many favours.think he even sacked him from the butchers shop. the other player must be kelliher or finny???? :confused: :eek:I'd seriously consider deleting or seriously editing this post if I were you. There is a lot of unsubstantiated rumour...in other words... total bullsh1t in it.
LFC in Exile
12/07/2005, 9:51 AM
Why was Darren not giving a chance ?
Why is Derek in de middle of the park when he is not a first cousin of a midfielder , but is a fine natural striker?
Why is CP not scoring ?
Why have we lost 3 in 4 ?
These questions are all relevant and need to be addressed.
John, the answers are fairly obvious. 1. NOC doesn't think he is better than BD or JN 2. NOC thinks CP is a better striker than him but he is too good to leave out 3. Bad patch 4. The same team had just won 5 in 6.
I am not being smart, but NOC calls the shots and doesn't really owe the fans explanations. Now, that does that mean fans accept everything. I agree about cheering on Carthy on Friday and 'the other player' (though won't that give his identity away?) to register our opinion. Why not a banner?
This must be put in context. It is difficult to be very critical when we are doing that much better than last season, but we shouldn't wait until the season really comes off the rails before being vocal.
But what has to be kept in mind and this is the nub. The manager makes the calls and hard decisions. Fans don't always agree and use forums like this to register dissent. But fans cannot ever have a say in team selection. That really would bring a crisis. But the other side of that coin is that if the team does not perform the manager carries the can and is sacked. This season is frustrating because of the promise pre-season and the feeling of a chance being wasted. However, if a manager is judged by results - how do we judge NOC? His man management skills may be bad but if I am brutally honest, I couldn't care less if the manager was David Brent if we are challenging.
A lot of this, it seems from a distance, stems from disagreement on the quality of players. Sometimes I think some fans are too clsoe to some players and know too much about what goes on - this happens in every football club up and down the country but we hear about because of the local aspect of the club.
As fans our job is to support and criticise (out of concern). The managers job is to pick the team. The chairmans job is to run the off-field activities. While they are all inter-linked they have to be independent. :ball:
Joe Soap:
So Carthy was not told to Go to Waterford so ? is that Bulls**t Joe ?
Of Course it's all happy in the camp as far as you are concerned. Jesus a year changes a lot ! Stand back Joe and take a balanced view for a change :(
John
NOC thinks CP is a better striker than him
That just about answers my question :D
While they are all inter-linked they have to be independent
Agree but dont think it's happening at the club . ;)
JohnD
12/07/2005, 10:26 AM
These matters are all on-field matters, issues that while I appreciate the concerns of supporters as regards their friends or favourite players, they are issues for the management to decide upon.Team selection or transfer activity does not concern anybody but the club management and players and thats that.The manager is paid to do a job as well as he sees fit, and is doing so. Every supporter has the right to be vocal and critical, but no right to demand selection or retention or sale of certain players.
The players too must learn to keep club business private, and not have rumour and personal feelings run wild around Flannerys,Mojos and the Trinity Rooms.No professional club would tolerate such behaviour.
John, you're right. A year is a long time. 12 months ago players couldn't get paid, there was no home ground, no team bus, no excellent training facilities, no organisation, no general manager, no UEFA licence, terrible results, the club being the laughing stock of the country...oh please bring back the good old days!!! :rolleyes: Balanced views work both ways John.
As for Danny Drew....how dare he put a couple of hundred grand of his own money into the club. How dare he turn it into a well organised, stable enterprise, how dare he get us a ground to play on, how dare he get us the UEFA licence, pay for UL training, get that team bus.... Yeah Danny, ffs....get the finger out will you!! :rolleyes:
gaidin
12/07/2005, 10:54 AM
How dare he turn it into a well organised, stable enterprise,
When did this happen?
12/07/2005, 10:58 AM
Are match nights not well organised?...Are top class facilities not laid on for the squad?...Is the club not now financially stable?
Or are you one of those who could "do a better job"? :confused:
LFC in Exile
12/07/2005, 11:01 AM
I can really see both sides to this (am I the only one?).
The club can't understand the perceived carping of fans - who are never happy. This is true - football fans are never happy (go to any clubs form - Chelsea, Liverpool, Plymouth) and you'll find whinging fans. The club sees progress on the pitch (measured by league position) and off the pitch and hears complaining fans after 3 losses in 4. Meanwhile we are still 4th in the league.
The fans care deeply about this club and want only what is best for it. The last few seasons have been nothing but strife and now, when the big chance comes along, we are starting to lose our way. A highly respected and liked manager is jettisoned for someone who left the club in the lurch previously two weeks before the start of a season. Loyal players - who were there with the fans in the tough times are allowed leave (or seemingly pushed out). Reports of fallings-out (which also happened last time) with the manager emerge as the good run of form is reversed.
A good summary?
There are huge positives in thsi club this season. It is unrecognisable from last year and previous years. God bless Drew and his buddies - they saved my club. That said, everything is not rosy. They will get criticised. They may think it is unfair but that comes with the territory. Football is a game of opinions. We could be in Sligo's position and still there would be criticism of team selection (in fact there is - see http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=26921). The fans have to recognize the positives in teh club and for once we are not moaning about being bottom of the league but instead why we should be higher than 4th. The management have to realise the criticism comes from a good place and does not demean the advances the club has made. Accept the criticism and get on with the job. :ball:
JohnD
12/07/2005, 11:20 AM
Thanks LFC in Exile a well worded post. The Powers that be in this club must learn to have a thicker skin than they currently seem to have. They are very "Excitable"
We are not doing well at the moment. IMO thats as much because of what is going on off the pitch as is on. Good Team spirit and togetherness is vital. We have not got that at the moment IMO.
We, the supporters (especially all 80 of us from last year) care too much about this club to allow things to slide without commenting.Not only commenting but selling tickets, Buses, Posterring shops, Maintaining Websites.
Agree we are a long way on from last year,( See my previous posts), however we are sliding and in a few weeks the season, which promised so much, could be over. Selling out top Goal scorer is a criminal decision. I reserve the right to comment on these issues. The Style of management is not to my liking, even if we get promoted I dont think it's the right way to deal with people. End of Story.
Joe: Sarcasm does not become you. Where were you all last season when we were bottom of the league? No at matches anyway.
John D (The Excitable one)
12/07/2005, 11:51 AM
John D (The Excitable one)
Ah John, you're not that excitable now... :D As for the thick skin...it protects me well. ;)
I understand fully the concerns of some supporters, and sympathise with them, but(theres always a but) as I said earlier, decisions about on field matters are for the club management only. I don't think you'll find anyone being sold, and you might be pleasantly surprised at the odd new face appearing in blue very soon.These are issues for club management, and no supporter in the world is entitled to a say in how teams should or should not be picked.
Criticise away, just lets be objective and constructive about it. Management in all walks of life have to make decisions that they live or die by, and it would be a huge sign of weakness if a manager succumbed to what others want if he feels his way is better.
4th place at half way was beyond all of our expecttions at the start of the season. Why not celebrate the progress??
12/07/2005, 11:53 AM
It looks like Darren is signing for UCD, and WE would not even give him a game :confused: . Best of luck Daz.
Who's this guy?
12/07/2005, 12:19 PM
I understand fully the concerns of some supporters, and sympathise with them, but(theres always a but) as I said earlier, decisions about on field matters are for the club management only. I don't think you'll find anyone being sold, and you might be pleasantly surprised at the odd new face appearing in blue very soon.These are issues for club management, and no supporter in the world is entitled to a say in how teams should or should not be picked.
Criticise away, just lets be objective and constructive about it. Management in all walks of life have to make decisions that they live or die by, and it would be a huge sign of weakness if a manager succumbed to what others want if he feels his way is better.
4th place at half way was beyond all of our expecttions at the start of the season. Why not celebrate the progress??
On the contrary Joe, supporters are entitled to a say in any matter of the club thet support, it may be heard, it may not, but they are still allowed to voice their opinions, something the present chairman and pr man (and I use that term very loosely) have a hard time understanding. Secondly neither you or Chairman Willie have denied that Carthy and Young are being pushed out of the club, and as of this post both have reportedly moved on. This comes despite Danny Drew telling yesterdays Irish Mirror that Limerick have 'no intention of selling one of our best players in Darren Young. Well riddle me this Batman, if Young is one of our best players then why is he turning out fr the u21s? We're crying out for a player with his skill and yet he isn't given a run out? Can we at least have a plausible explaination to that? This is something any manager at any club, be it Alex Ferguson or Rafa Benitez have to do when they continue to use a baffling selection policy. And if Limerick aren't a club that sell their best players then how come we're showing out top striker the door? Far be it for me to rely on or further rumours ( ;) ) but those this have anything to do with Noel's apparant lack of man management?
You see until either you or Chairman Willie present us with the facts about why certain players are being allowed to leave, why our top striker was being played in midfield to accomodate a misfiring waste of space, why Noel was signed up to a five year deal, why Young was never given a run out, why we haven't signed a capable replacement for Jimmy Fyffe and other questions than we will continue to speculate and 'whing' as LFC In Exile so middle of the fencedly put it (yeah I said fencedly)
12/07/2005, 12:33 PM
Let's not allow JoeSoap and WillieJohn (don't you have a business to run Danny?) to totally distract the issue there.
I'm still waiting for somebody to explain the rationale of selling our top scorer.
Personally I'm disappointed to hear that WillieJohn still thinks Noel O'Connor is doing a great job because if nothing needs to be changed on the basis of our last two games then I think we're in big trouble.
Our top scorer (who's spent most of the season either on the bench or marooned out of postition in midfield) is being forced to leave the club and nobody else thinks that's a sign of poor management within the club?
I think it's Noel O'Connor's job to pick the team. Yeah no argument from me there. I think it's my job to scream bloody murder when the likes of McCarthy and Young are pushed towards the door.
I even appreciate the 'Stand By Your Man' rendition that JoeSoap and WillieJohn are seemingly dueting on (at least they're singing from the same hymn sheet though :p). Loyalty and all that. Something that Derek McCarthy in particular probably understands the value of right now. He doesn't want to go, isn't happy about having to go, feels he's being screwed over.
Apparently he's only going on loan initially until the end of the season. Personally I'm going to wish him all the best with Waterford. Him and Jimmy Fyffe both.
JohnD
12/07/2005, 12:37 PM
Well Said SLK. I could not agree more
JohnD
LFC in Exile
12/07/2005, 1:16 PM
Agree with SLK. Carthy should not be allowed to leave.
I may be sitting on the fence (though that suggests I don't have opinions and I do and I'm not afraid to express them - even when they are not popular - read the fanzine) but maybe it is because the issues here are not black and white.
The only way we are entitled to influence team selection/transfers is indirectly. We can express out opinions vociferously but we do not make the decisions. We can demand answers but at the end of all the white noise NOC picks the team.
What I suggest is a banner for Friday night with 'Carthy Must Stay" or "We love Carthy" on it to get our feelings across. But if the club want to sell him, they will.
Jebus, supporters are entitled to a say - but their 'say' does not have to be listened to. :ball: And, as an aside - Mooney is a more than capable replacement for Fyffe. :ball:
Roadend
12/07/2005, 1:49 PM
Jebus, supporters are entitled to a say - but their 'say' does not have to be listened to.
You're right there, but when a fan is paying his hard earned money to watch a team he'll feel perfectly entitled to a moan or a gripe, which is perfectly understandable. Mind you if those tenners start dissappearing we'll see how good a job Mr Drew thinks NOC is doing. Don't underestimate fan pressure.
Daydreamer
12/07/2005, 1:58 PM
McCarthy will be a massive loss no matter what way we look at it he
needs to stay,also we are forgeting the other player that is supposed to be on the verge of walking away if he is as important a player as we are being
told where does that leave us,wonder if the other player is cp now that would
be a great relief ,i would bring a banner on friday wishing him a bit of luck...
thelimerick
12/07/2005, 2:52 PM
are u a supporter or a szit stirer? everbody can do a better job then noc :eek: i dont fncking think so not even half way trough the season 25 points 24 goals whats the problem if ye want to support the team do that let noc do his job we can and will finish in a very impressive pis this season as for players leaving thats noc choice he is the MANAGER and doing a fine job .as for money coming first look around the leauge any romours about limerick ans NO why it is being run right . bulling in dressing room b.lls it some of u should have seen kinger and big sam noc is a mouse in comparison .so let the boys do there JOB and lets see fridays result and whos new in :eek: :D
Lets look at this in it's simplist form.
Ambitious Limerick FC who have improved the facilities at the club massively compared to the farce last season are selling one of their best and most dedicated players. From a purely football point of view this makes no sense. Financially? Well how much money will the club make from this? You talk about 24 goals this season. 5 of them were scored by Derek, OUT OF POSITION.
It's very easy to say that when the Lims loose a few we all go weak at the knees and gripe and moan etc, etc. However these are not normal circumstances:when you have a situation where player morale is low even though we are in fourth place and challenging, when the club is loosing it's best players, when persisting rumours of favouritism and interference are being backed up, then every supporter has the right to be concerned.
We all want to see LimerickFC in the Premier, Hogan Park a ground to be proud of and the club a financially sound well run club. If this is to be achieved then surely selling your best players WHEN THEY DONT WANT TO LEAVE is simply counter-productive to the aims we all back 100%.
TheNorthsider
12/07/2005, 4:39 PM
lads have only read the first few postings and then stopped why? because i have to ask how can 'thelimerick' a new signing who hasn't posted b4 suddenly come up with this exclusive.Why hasn't he posted b4 when he seems to have the inside track.Don't believe all you read on these forums,as a cork city supporter i feel that there are a number of so called city supporters posting messages to undermine what goes on at the club their agendas i'm not 100% sure who they are i can only guess.So he/she might be right in what they say but be patient and see how it all pans out b4 getting overly worried and jumping to conclusions,hopefully it will all work out with limerick getting promoted and another munster derby to look forward to
deise deserter
12/07/2005, 11:29 PM
Willie John: You're a f@cking joke. Your decisions to date have been wrong. If you are wrong you will be criticised. If you don't like that don't look at the internet.
You seemed well able to f@ck people out of it when they tried to get people supporting at the away Galway game, but you can't take constructive criticism. Moronic doesn't even describe it.
It comes down to this: The fans care about the team (players and performance) - you care about the club (money).
I won't post details up here, but if your phone call earlier in the day to a certain poster here is followed up I for one will go to every paper in the country and let them know about the invasion of privacy you are attempting to perpetrate on Limerick fans.
You know that you have shown yourself to be a small person. Any SC member wanting to know details can contact me if you haven't already been informed. You won't believe what he wanted to do.
lim abroad
13/07/2005, 1:12 AM
why don't we all borrow joe soaps blinkers and pretend to be happy with what we've got
13/07/2005, 10:38 AM
why don't we all borrow joe soaps blinkers and pretend to be happy with what we've got
Cos I'm not lending them to anybody else!! :D :D
13/07/2005, 11:32 AM
Cos I'm not lending them to anybody else!! :D :D
Well then can you tell us where we can get our own? Maybe they should start selling them in the club shop! :)
13/07/2005, 2:05 PM
Who's this guy?
Darren Young. A New Zealand international played with Barnsley last season. Left sided midfielder and all round decent player, however he might lack a bit of match practise due to the near facist regime he has found himself under this season.
Pawning Carthy off to Waaaaaaaaaaaaaterford is an absolute disgrace and I can think of no other reason than that he did'nt comply fully with Noel's dictatorship.
Also to anyone who says 4th position is way above pre season expectations just what exactly have you been watching all season? The standard in this division is absolutely pi$$ poor and anyone who doesn't see that is either A seriously deluded or B does'nt know a hell of a lot about football
Anyway once again it appears that a promising Limerick F.C. side is being severely hamstrung by off the field issues which have little to do with football. Jesus tap dancing Christ can we not just have a normal happy club for one season :confused: :eek: :mad:
LFC in Exile
13/07/2005, 2:16 PM
Also to anyone who says 4th position is way above pre season expectations just what exactly have you been watching all season? The standard in this division is absolutely pi$$ poor and anyone who doesn't see that is either A seriously deluded or B does'nt know a hell of a lot about football
Is it worse than last year?
13/07/2005, 2:24 PM
Is it worse than last year?
Didn't see as much football last year :o but I would have to say Yes. Three pretty good sides went up to be replaced by Dublin "we're all 6 foot 4 and 18 stone" city. The very fact that Sligo "one tactic" Rovers are walking the division by hoofing the ball to their wingers says it all about the standard in this division. Also I think we had a slightly more promising squad at the start of this season ;)
Anyway, how does comparing this season to last make the standard any less poor :confused:
13/07/2005, 2:29 PM
Is it a credible rumour this lad is on his way to the college? We could do with a left sided player.
13/07/2005, 2:32 PM
Anyway, how does comparing this season to last make the standard any less poor :confused: If you make comparisons with the standard of last seasons football compared to this seasons, then you can judge how much progress has been made on the pitch since last season.
I'd say 4th spot at the moment is significant from a progress point of view, compared to bottom last season, but then again, we're not on top, unbeaten, having not conceded any goals, and allowing the opposition to touch the ball, so therefore maybe we're not progressing as well as it seems.
thelimerick
13/07/2005, 2:35 PM
So Derek McCarthy has left the club and is going to Waterford Utd on a season long loan. We wish him all the best and i'm sure he has the support of EVERY Lims fan. The supporters are not happy and understandably so.
Danny Drew/Willie John must be finding it difficult to walk at the moment considering how many times he's shot himself in the foot this season. The soap opera that surrounds this club just gets more bizarre by the second. It wouldn't surprise me to see Alastair Campbell turning up at Drews desk with a few much needed helpfull hints.
The situation as it stands is not helpfull to anybody. Trust between management/chairman and supporters has been damaged. This is not healthy for the club and its ambitions. Maybe a public meeting between supporters and the chairman is needed to get all of this out in the open and deal with it.
13/07/2005, 2:36 PM
I'd say 4th spot at the moment is significant from a progress point of view, compared to bottom last season, but then again, we're not on top, unbeaten, having not conceded any goals, and allowing the opposition to touch the ball, so therefore maybe we're not progressing as well as it seems.
Exactly Joe your finally starting to relate to fans grievances :rolleyes: :D
LFCSixty/Eighty
13/07/2005, 3:49 PM
So NOC has finally go his way and forced Derek McCarthy out of the club. It finally proves what some people have been thinking for years, Noel O Connor has a problem with him that he should seriously consider getting professional help for.
The facts speak for themselves and will tell you who has the problem with who. At no stage in the season did McCarthy thrown the toys out of the pram
even though he was dropped, put into midfiled to accomadate another player up front,dropped again before finally being forced out of the club by him.
The way NOC has conducted himslef during the affair proves to anyone who had any doubt what kind of ‘man' he is.
A man will call you and tell you why he is getting rid of you.
A man will arrrange a meeting to go over the issues, not wait for the player to ring him after 3 days without a word.
A man will will not his chairman do his dirty work for him.
A man will not accuse a player of faking a back injury to anyone who will listen, that could have ended his career.
In my mind to do this to a player that has played with Limerick since he was 16. Has won an Ireland final medal (scoring 2 goals in the final). Was proud to give 5 years of his career to his home club and to be treated in this way is shameful.
Noel O Conner is an absolute DISGRACE for behaving in this way and should be made accountable for his behaviour.
Limerick fans deserve to know what has been going on because Noel O Connor sure has hell would love for everyone to be kept in the dark.
I for one will be letting Noel O' Connor know I think of his behaviour on Friday on Friday night and i suggest every other like minded Limerick fan to do so aswell.
Limerick will still be here after Noel O Connor. We survived before him,we'll survive after him.
LFC in Exile
13/07/2005, 4:23 PM
Didn't see as much football last year :o but I would have to say Yes. Three pretty good sides went up to be replaced by Dublin "we're all 6 foot 4 and 18 stone" city. The very fact that Sligo "one tactic" Rovers are walking the division by hoofing the ball to their wingers says it all about the standard in this division. Also I think we had a slightly more promising squad at the start of this season ;)
Anyway, how does comparing this season to last make the standard any less poor :confused:
It was not worse last year and we finished bottom (for a whole slew of reasons). Dublin City and Sligo play long ball - but most teams in this division do. As did the teams that went up (well certainly Bray - not so much UCD).
Kilkenny were poxy last year but are starting to come together. Sligo are a lot better. Cobh are unrecognisable. And Monaghan are even getting decent results. I don't think anyone can say that on-the-pitch and off-the-pitch we are in a worse state than last year.
We can argue with the club over the pace of progress and the manner in which it is being achieved. Arguably given the talent in the squad and the enthusiasm early season we are not doing as well as we should be doing (that's subjective). But we are definitely better off now than we were last season.
If you need more proof just look at the activity on this forum - which has a huge number of new posters and interest in the club is up on last two seasons. :ball:
There is tougher competition and no
dutchie
14/07/2005, 12:24 AM
I dont think i have critisised noc or danny drew yet this year,but i think they deserve it now,we know we have a big squad and plenty of players not getting games but to let our top scorer go on loan for a year against his will when we clearly need him is a seriously bad move.So lets say brendan sweeney slots into midfield<we all know dereck was out of position>,and noc picks cp and robbie up front,every team needs three strikers in a squad to cover two positions,so who,s going to be the covering player?. :confused:
With an average of 800 people coming into hogan pk this year the club must be in a comfortable position at the moment,when july 1st came i thought we would bring in seasoned pros like purcell and co.but it just seems as if danny is stuffing the gate receipts into his pockets,i know he bailed us out when we had no one willing to come in but i was hoping he would follow up his early promise and spend.
One last point i do hope that danny drew has the common sence to leave the training and picking of the teams to noc,i know noc will be critised every now and again but leave the man do his job and if you have little fate in him then sack him ,but untill then let him do his job. :ball:
LFC in Exile
14/07/2005, 8:08 AM
it just seems as if danny is stuffing the gate receipts into his pockets,i know he bailed us out when we had no one willing to come in but i was hoping he would follow up his early promise and spend.
I hear what you're saying and it is fairly balanced. I don't think though it would be wise to spend just yet - we know how precarious it is to rely on attendances for Limerick. It is best to be careful with cash at this stage and the ground needs money spent on it too, rather than just players. :ball: Lets give it a chance.
thelimerick
14/07/2005, 2:44 PM
We're now being told that rossi is also gone...
Has Rossi been released or has another club asked for him on loan?
thelimerick
14/07/2005, 2:56 PM
Not too sure yet but he's gone and he's not the last either
Ah don't worry, I'm sure there are enough Cork and Waterford rejects to fill our team sheet*
*no disrespect intended to Sweeney who is a fine player, a lot of disrespect intended Can't Pass, haevn't hated a man this much since Jar Jar Stinks**
** copyright some guy SLK pinched it off
just heard that Mick Ahearne and Rossi have been shown the door, thats confirmed aswell. No surprise that NOC wanted Mick out, though I can't repeat why, really, but still, could joe or danny or the groundman or seomone please tell us why we are chopping a load of players from the roster at this crucial stage of the season when we are starting to slide down the table? Remember that we are only 5 points off second from bottom.
Heard a rumour that Can't Pass is taking a sabbatical from football for a while as well, although this is unconfirmed by the club, I'd have thought his performances for us over the last season and half is confirmation enough