View Full Version : Google Earth

10/07/2005, 1:14 AM
Have any of ye tried this? (http://earth.google.com/). It's very good, it shows images of the whole world and you can zoom in on certain cities, around the world, to near street level. Lansdowne road is on it, and it's a good pic too. Google Earth needs to be downloaded ;)

10/07/2005, 3:23 PM
simply amazing... fly to paris or new york and ask it to display the buildings. every building in new york in 3d. im looking at the beach i'll be going to in turkey now :)

i'll try directions from charleroi to lithuania next ;)

10/07/2005, 4:27 PM
just found turners cross :D

crc
10/07/2005, 7:43 PM
Its amazing. Fair play to Google for such a cool program. As usual all the most useful bits (like locating amenities) are only up and running for the USA, but despite this flaw its brilliant. I had a look at Baghdad and north Korea.

The US Capitol, White House and Executive Office Building are obscured (for security) but this precaution doesn't seem to have been taken for any of the foreign government offices :eek: .

10/07/2005, 8:17 PM
how do you zoom in on the bloody thing?

crc
10/07/2005, 9:56 PM
how do you zoom in on the bloody thing?
right click on your mouse and move it up or down to zoom in or out.

10/07/2005, 10:11 PM
right click on your mouse and move it up or down to zoom in or out.

or if u have a wheel on ur mouse, use that ;)

Tony Montana
10/07/2005, 10:30 PM
Great craic!cheers!

crc
10/07/2005, 10:30 PM
I don't have a click-wheel on my current mouse :(

Have any of ye tried this? (http://earth.google.com/). It's very good, it shows images of the whole world and you can zoom in on certain cities, around the world, to near street level. Lansdowne road is on it, and it's a good pic too. Google Earth needs to be downloaded ;) I forgot to say thank you to Sligoman for pointing this out.
If I can return the favour, I've just downloaded the Mozilla Firefox (http://www.mozilla.org/products/firefox/) browser. I haven't had a lot of time to evaluate it yet, but so far it looks nice. I downloaded the Irish version, and its proving a bit challenging working out what everything means, but its kinda cool having a browser as Gaeilge!

11/07/2005, 2:40 PM
I don't have a click-wheel on my current mouse :(
I forgot to say thank you to Sligoman for pointing this out.
If I can return the favour, I've just downloaded the Mozilla Firefox (http://www.mozilla.org/products/firefox/) browser. I haven't had a lot of time to evaluate it yet, but so far it looks nice. I downloaded the Irish version, and its proving a bit challenging working out what everything means, but its kinda cool having a browser as Gaeilge!

Your welcome but it's ok you dont need to return the favour ;)

11/07/2005, 2:45 PM
Places I've had a look at on it:

St.Peter's basillica in Vatican City,
Pyramids and Spinx in Egypt,
Statue of Liberty in NY,
Grand Canyon,
Niagra Falls,
Rock of Gibraltar(in south Spain)
A volcano in Hawaii(you can even see the lava flowing into the sea)

It really is a great programe, well done Google ;)

Also looked at Old Trafford, Highbury, Stamford Bridge, Mestalla(Valencia) and Nou Camp.

11/07/2005, 3:08 PM
i thought the quality was crap. how could you see moving matter schhhllllllligoooooo man?

11/07/2005, 8:20 PM
i thought the quality was crap. how could you see moving matter schhhllllllligoooooo man?

Well obviously it's not moving but you can see where it goes into the sea

12/07/2005, 10:10 AM
Can you get directions that cross international borders? I tried to get directions from Berlin to Paris and it returned no results!!

12/07/2005, 10:51 AM
just found Elland Road, Leeds

hamish
12/07/2005, 10:55 AM
Please don't take the p!$$ - would I be able to see my house?

Seriously. :o

12/07/2005, 12:13 PM
Please don't take the p!$$ - would I be able to see my house?

Seriously. :o

That depends on where you live sirhamish. If there is a satellite photo of the area then you would but if not then you may just be able to see the street/area name. Download it and see ;)

12/07/2005, 1:37 PM
the address look up isnt working outside Uk& Ireland (and NA of course) yet, so thats why directions on the continent arent working yet. they should be done soon, according to the website.

12/07/2005, 1:38 PM
just found turners cross :D

im adding it to the google earth database under Stadiums :) ive done a lot of stuff in cork, like the shopping centres and stadiums and stations...

ThatGuy
12/07/2005, 2:59 PM
It is a fantastic program, I've had it for a while now.

You can pick out cars in the driveway of my house, such detail only goes into the more populated areas, so for example you won't be able to see as much detail unless you are looking in Dublin, bits of Cork and Galway etc.

When you look at that, if Iraq really had W.O.M.D. or missile sites the US and the whole world would know all about it. They would have the premium quality imaging, up to the minute, and couple that with other areas of intelligence such as sound tapping and infiltration on the ground.

The day when the US can fire weapons from space is going to be the start of a dark era for planet earth that is for sure!

13/07/2005, 11:30 AM
I've downloaded it fine, but when I go to open it I ger the following message:
We are unable to connect to the Google Earth servers to activate your account. Please verify that your internet connection is working properly and retry your account activation.
Can anyone tell me what to do?. My internet connection is working fine, as I'm using broadband in the office and I have no problems with any other internet connections. :confused: :confused:

Dawn_Run
13/07/2005, 2:16 PM
I've downloaded it fine, but when I go to open it I ger the following message:
We are unable to connect to the Google Earth servers to activate your account. Please verify that your internet connection is working properly and retry your account activation.
Can anyone tell me what to do?. My internet connection is working fine, as I'm using broadband in the office and I have no problems with any other internet connections. :confused: :confused:

Firewall?

14/07/2005, 8:48 AM
What does that mean??.....What do I do about it??