View Full Version : Whats your second favourite eL team?
07/07/2005, 1:35 PM
In fairness your first paragraph could and would apply to any team in this or any league.
Apart from the bit where I said
Obviously you get that at a lot of other grounds too, but Pat's fans managed so much more vitriol than other fans I've heard.
Anyway, it's a completely subjective thing as I said...maybe I'm just unlucky!
I hope you get over your thing for Mr Doolin soon - you should try and get help for it seen as its eating ye up so much
Nah - it's fun! :)
Rovers for me.
Always great banter and good tear on the drink with their fans home and away.
I've soft spot for Drogheda as well. Their fans are also a sound bunch of lads and always enjoy the 'delights' of Ballybofey.
Footballing wise - I don't like to see anyone do well apart from ourselves.
07/07/2005, 1:59 PM
Harps all the way. The scenes the other week when the Rovers fans chanted "We love you Finn Harps we do" during the presentation were brilliant.
Genuine respect between the two sets of fans. And they have the smarts not to believe the nonsense spouted by everyone else about us.
07/07/2005, 2:14 PM
Always had a lot of time for Limerick, and I genuinely would like to see them back in the Premier division. St. Pats would be another side I normally would be happy to see doing well, though at the moment, I'd like to see them slide a little to make things less frantic for ourselves :( .
Wiseguy
07/07/2005, 2:43 PM
Tough one this but i've gone for Finn Harps.Decent bunch of fans and always well behaved.The night that we won the playoff against them ( god only knows how ) they were so sporting and gracious in defeat it was amazing.I really hope they stay up as i think they are a great addition to the Prem. Div.
I also hope to see Sligo get promoted as they would also be a great addition to the league.
Redzer
07/07/2005, 3:30 PM
sligoman, Terry Phelan 1 1.64%
Does this mean that sligoman and terry phelan is the same person? :D
07/07/2005, 3:39 PM
Derry for me, soundest and loudest fans in the league.
far more annoying kids in the eL than Pats ... Waterford spring immediately to mind
Ah $hite, going down there on Saturday :(
07/07/2005, 3:43 PM
sligoman, Terry Phelan 1 1.64%
Does this mean that sligoman and terry phelan is the same person? :D
:confused:, what the fcuk is going on here :D
07/07/2005, 3:46 PM
This is a public poll, so don't bother voting for your own team!
Well that hasn't stopped some people has it Eire06, showgies and Terry Phelan? :rolleyes:
07/07/2005, 4:30 PM
Rovers
Just for sheer staying power, any other club would have folded years ago
Always have a wee soft spot for Athlone of all people, although wouldn't exactly call them or anyone my "second favourite" team as such.
Athlone because they came into the leageu same time as us, they were my first away trip when they beat us in the playoff back in early 90s and their team and manager were gracious in an fortunate victory, something i'll always remebers was their manager (O Connor?) telling his players to be quiet in the dressing room after and almost tearful in his post match interview praising Harps and their support. St Mels was scen of best atmosphere I've ever seen at a football match ever that night.
Also, they were one of the few teams whose ground WE could take the **** out of :p , and like ourselves are movin to a new home.
TG
07/07/2005, 5:13 PM
Rovers
Just for sheer staying power, any other club would have folded years ago
Certain teams have been through far, far worse and lived to tell the tale.
Always have a wee soft spot for Athlone of all people
Cheers Trev , how can I vote for anyone else after that :D
Nah, I actually like Harps. Main reasons: Decent fans and that luminous jersey!
I watch out for Scumgos ;) results cos I went to college there and any weekend
I couldnt get home Id head to the Showgrounds to get my footie fix.
Also look out for Shels results cos when I moved to Dublin first I lived on
Richmond Road and Bohs cos I used to go to Dalymount with Phillo when I lived
up there aswell.
07/07/2005, 5:25 PM
Certain teams have been through far, far worse and lived to tell the tale.
Name one.
07/07/2005, 5:30 PM
Name one.
Shels.
Homeless for far longer, robbed of more than one ground, titleless for 30 years and ended up in the first division at one stage.
Da Real Rover
07/07/2005, 6:12 PM
Theres a couple of teams ive got a soft spot for.
Longford cause i got cousins there and they've done a good job out of what they got.
Shams even though some of there fans are handbag hoolies there all fanatics.
Then our first division rivals Limerick and Athlone cause there the only other teams that have a sizeable fan base who are dedicated fans, plus ST Mels is the biggest sh!t hole in Western Europe but i love it and Athlone wont be the same without it.
Mayo Red
07/07/2005, 8:46 PM
I always liked Cork City going back to when Dave Barry was in charge. They have a fantastic support and always played good football. It is good for the league too that in recent seasons they are up there challenging the dominance of the Dublin teams!
07/07/2005, 8:52 PM
I think this poll is a bit gay :rolleyes:
So Cosmo, if Drogheda are your second favourite team, who are your first? :confused:
I know its not Derry so............ is it Celtic?
07/07/2005, 11:34 PM
Cheers Trev , how can I vote for anyone else after that :D
Nah, I actually like Harps. Main reasons: Decent fans and that luminous jersey!
I watch out for Scumgos ;) results cos I went to college there and any weekend
I couldnt get home Id head to the Showgrounds to get my footie fix.
Also look out for Shels results cos when I moved to Dublin first I lived on
Richmond Road and Bohs cos I used to go to Dalymount with Phillo when I lived
up there aswell.
i was in college the same time as ash in sligo and i love the place to bits! lived there for 3 years and always enjoyed the banter when i went to their matches in the mid nineties! i also have best friends from sligo that i work with in carrick on shannon! :) so sligo the second team for me!
So Cosmo, if Drogheda are your second favourite team, who are your first? :confused:
I know its not Derry so............ is it Celtic?
Eh I didnt even vote in this poll??? (from what i can remember)
Anyone able to find out what time that vote was made as i suspect it might have been made by a fellow drog from an internet cafe in which im always logged in (i know i shouldnt be!!)
Btw I hate celtic nearly as much as derry
08/07/2005, 9:11 AM
Voted for Derry.
Mainly because of their travelling support.
After them, I like to see Galway United do well.
08/07/2005, 9:21 AM
derry for me all the time. got cousins up there
Ronnie
08/07/2005, 9:38 AM
I voted Cork, all slagging aside Patsh and co, I like the club .
ger121
08/07/2005, 9:40 AM
Cork for me, they always try to play nice football, have always given it a good go in europe and like Bohs they probably should win more trophies than they do, so I can empathise with their fans.
08/07/2005, 9:43 AM
Cork for me, they always try to play nice football, have always given it a good go in europe and like Bohs they probably should win more trophies than they do, so I can empathise with their fans.
waiting for the punchline ;)
ger121
08/07/2005, 9:51 AM
waiting for the punchline ;)
As I said I empathise with their fans, all 60,000 of them :p
hamish
08/07/2005, 9:01 PM
[QUOTE
ST Mels is the biggest sh!t hole in Western Europe but i love it.[/QUOTE]
:eek: :eek:
How does one answer that!!!!
I, and another Noel from Roscommon once got a couple of hoes* and got rid of every weed from the terrace behind the far goal so it's now a very nice stadium. LOL
*I meant hoes as in implements/tools NOT the rap term :p :D
corkharps
08/07/2005, 9:10 PM
Hey, why dont you like us?:mad: :D
Sligo for me,always enjoy a Harps/Sligo match good crack not like the Harps/Derry match(we beat Sligo an odd time! :D )
Buller
08/07/2005, 9:27 PM
Home Farm: 0% :rolleyes:
1 9 2 8
09/07/2005, 1:00 AM
Sligo for me,always enjoy a Harps/Sligo match good crack not like the Harps/Derry match(we beat Sligo an odd time! :D )
I thought Harps fans saw us as a shower of scumbags from old post on other forums flags bottle's and all that
i voted for pats but i also like harps too.the rest are w@nkers
Gerrit
09/07/2005, 4:36 PM
UCD.
Because of the uniquely bizarre ground, and most of all because every single UCD fan I've met was a very nice lad. (which reminds me, does UCD have female fans as well ? :confused: Didn't see any at Belfield last time)
Ruairi
09/07/2005, 5:11 PM
Derry city, my home town club, great bunch of fans as well
soobie
10/07/2005, 10:47 PM
Sligo; just ahead of Derry.IMO both great sets of fans.
Looking forward to Sligo next year.
Partizan
10/07/2005, 10:56 PM
I must admit I have a soft spot for the C/\wkies. :D
10/07/2005, 11:52 PM
I must admit I have a soft spot for the C/\wkies. :D
who's your favourite team by the way, seeing as you gave waterford your vote for your 2nd favourite team along with iorfa and dyl10 :D
the rest are w@nkers
I'm glad that you are finally seeing the light about your own club.....:D
Partizan
11/07/2005, 1:02 PM
who's your favourite team by the way, seeing as you gave waterford your vote for your 2nd favourite team along with iorfa and dyl10 :D
Corner, honest we are really liked :D . Alot of the older heads remember the great Waterford sides of the 60s & 70s, the magical football, the 6 league titles in 8 years, the great players, 75 years in existence this year so a soft spot and alot of good will has been directed towards us since we came back up.
call it tradition young man, something your Club can only dream of. :D
clue: its in my sig. :p
Corner, honest we are really liked :D . Alot of the older heads remember the great Waterford sides of the 60s & 70s, the magical football, the 6 league titles in 8 years, the great players, 75 years in existence this year so a soft spot and alot of good will has been directed towards us since we came back up.
It's rather sad supporting a club that doesn't exist anymore....;)
11/07/2005, 2:19 PM
still doesnt answer my question. you said waterford were your 2nd favourite team...so who's your favourite :p