View Full Version : Longford Town Hooligan

hoops1
06/07/2005, 11:15 AM
Longford Town manager Alan Matthews was sent off last night
for throwing and hitting a spectator with a water bottle during the game
last night
Is he going to be caged at the next home game like they tried to do to the Rovers fans?
Is he going to be banned from all there home games(I think not)
The silence from Flancare park is deafining!
Lets have all the anti Rovers brigade on now to slaughter Longford and Matthews!
Or is it Just the Hoops who get the treatment

06/07/2005, 11:22 AM
Anyone who acts like a SCUMBAG deserves it. Lately that behaviours been on show alot with Rovers, so don't try to come accross all innocent! :) If he did do that, he should be fined, punished, and banned from the touchline for at leats 2 games. But I bet nothing happens... :mad:

Wiseguy
06/07/2005, 11:32 AM
Matthews should be fined and recieve a tiuch line ban.The same rules should apply to everyone.Rules are rules and should not be broke and when they are those responcible should pay the price.

06/07/2005, 11:57 AM
Does Alan Matthews still play or was it as a manager on the sideline?

06/07/2005, 12:07 PM
I think Longford should be allowed away with these little indiscretions.

After all, they are a plucky little club, doing their best to compete with the incredible amounts of money available to other clubs. They have a tiny budget, can't get their hands on any decent players, but hold big teams scoreless and get draws.
I think Longford are a shining beacon to all other little clubs, those clubs should look at them and realise that they too might get to a mid-table position in the league and might get to progress in cup competitions.
Hail plucky little Longford, I salute you and your amazing achievements!

06/07/2005, 12:12 PM
Eh seriously though if it were a manager at a Dublin side, I think a big deal would be made of it.

How many times have Roddy and Pat been accused of being bad members of the league but Rico and now Matthews constantly get away with indiscretions.

exile
06/07/2005, 12:14 PM
Eh seriously though if it were a manager at a Dublin side, I think a big deal would be made of it.

How many times have Roddy and Pat been accused of being bad members of the league but Rico and now Matthews constantly get away with indiscretions.

what has rico ever done :rolleyes:

06/07/2005, 12:17 PM
To be fair that's only the second time he's been sent off in four seasons with us. Apparently was in reaction to some Cork wag giving him w*nker gestures to his face, the same guy then challenging him to a fight after the match. he'll get a ban and a fine and serve his punishment

06/07/2005, 12:18 PM
I think Matthews already got a 6 match touchline ban this season (was it appealed to 3 matches) so he'll surely get big fine & longer ban this time?

I wasn't at the game but don't think he hit anyone with water bottle. Probably just sprayed with water but also unacceptable.

06/07/2005, 12:21 PM
No. Aaron Callaghan got a six game ban. Now he's a hothead. Mathews has only been sent off once before last night and that was the season before last i think.

06/07/2005, 12:23 PM
Were the cops called ?No, but an ambulance was.

06/07/2005, 12:32 PM
Was it a glass bottle ??
Plastic, the ambulance was for Dempsey.

06/07/2005, 12:35 PM
what has rico ever done :rolleyes:
Yes, St. Damien of Richardson! :eek: I remember the Setanta cup match against Shels at the X. After Joe Gamble was sent off, he was f'in this and f'in that at the fourth official.

Constantly ? Correct me if I'm wrong, but I can't remember Matthews other indiscretions ?
I meant now as in after last night we can say that Alan Matthews is someone who falls into that category. I don't know of any previous incidents involving Matthews. :o

06/07/2005, 12:39 PM
Yes, St. Damien of Richardson! :eek: I remember the Setanta cup match against Shels at the X. After Joe Gamble was sent off, he was f'in this and f'in that at the fourth official.

Nah, he was just being loquacious. ;)

06/07/2005, 12:42 PM
Yeah, but he hardly falls into the "constantly" category.
.................sorry. After last night cynics can say that he is prone to the odd outburst. I am only cynical towards Cork City FC and their fans. :D

06/07/2005, 12:43 PM
Nah, he was just being loquacious. ;)
Sorry, I thought I was familiar with the Rico vocabulary but this one is new to me! :D

06/07/2005, 12:46 PM
Sorry, I thought I was familiar with the Rico vocabulary but this one is new to me! :D

He came out with it on eL weekly on Monday. Described his team as a number of things one of which was loquacious which means talkative. :confused:

06/07/2005, 12:46 PM
I am only cynical towards Cork City FC and their fans. :D
Why thank you.
Fair play to Bray, another plucky little club like Longford.
It's great to have you both in the premier division, it helps to flesh out the fixture list.......:D

06/07/2005, 12:53 PM
Typical. If matthews was managing Rovers (where he was reserve player of the year in 1986) this would be front page news and on CNN. Oh the hypocrisy of longford.

They build a cage for us last saturday and then wonder why we would get upset? :rolleyes: So scared of us that the programme sellers scarpered before the kick off!

Of course dont mention that Valentines and that pub in Tarmonbarry welcomed us.

Look at that little cockroach eamon collins. He tries to attack a derry player on friday and where's the headlines? If that wasnt shown on monday.............

Oh the hypocrisy of the media and the anti Rovers brigade.........

06/07/2005, 12:55 PM
Oh the hypocrisy of the media and the anti Rovers brigade.........

Spot on there.
St. Alan could never do anything wrong......

06/07/2005, 1:00 PM
Why thank you.
Fair play to Bray, another plucky little club like Longford.
It's great to have you both in the premier division, it helps to flesh out the fixture list.......:D
At least we have the fans.... ;)

ColinR
06/07/2005, 1:02 PM
Typical. If matthews was managing Rovers (where he was reserve player of the year in 1986) this would be front page news and on CNN. Oh the hypocrisy of longford.

They build a cage for us last saturday and then wonder why we would get upset? :rolleyes: So scared of us that the programme sellers scarpered before the kick off!

well there is photographic proof of thieving hooligans that were amongst the rovers support in longford, so maybe they were right to 'cage' you ;)

exile
06/07/2005, 1:12 PM
At least we have the fans.... ;)

if you call a load of lttle knackers running around saying "mister mister giz a smoke" fans :rolleyes: :D

06/07/2005, 1:23 PM
if you call a load of lttle knackers running around saying "mister mister giz a smoke" fans :rolleyes: :D
No, I don't call them fans. People who sing for 25mins non-stop when their team is 3-0 down are people I call fans. People who will always support the club whether or not theyare succesful are people I call fans.

I could say similarly insulting things about Cork fans but I'm the bigger man and I will not personally attack rival fans. Mods? :mad:

town73
06/07/2005, 1:26 PM
Oh the hypocrisy of longford

Don't think you'll find anyone from Longford justifying Mathews' actions. There's no doubt that he was provoked, but he shouldn't have reacted the way he did. Heat of the moment stuff.

06/07/2005, 1:33 PM
I could say similarly insulting things about Cork fans but I'm the bigger man.
How do you know what size exile is?

:p

06/07/2005, 1:58 PM
Ah you've just got a bee in your bonnet about Longford. You've got to admire Matthews the way he holds down a full time job, has a family AND manages the Town. Not too many doing that ........................... (and yes, he was wrong to throw that bottle)
Fair play to plucky little Alan, a genuine Irish hero......
What tactics,
What ambition....and he works in a bank and with Longford too.......:D

exile
06/07/2005, 2:59 PM
How do you know what size exile is?

:p

im the phatom flasher down the carlisle nothing on but a city shirt :eek: . btw the way frank i live in bray (moving to greystones thank god :D ) and have been to many bray matches over the last few seasons and your vocal support is sh1te im sorry but thats the truth

Jaime
06/07/2005, 3:02 PM

Manager swears at fourth official! Hold the back page! Call the cops! Touchline ban!

Passive
06/07/2005, 3:10 PM
Considering Matthews is a Rovers fan, no doubt the Longford hierarchy will use this incident to claim they were right about Hoops being hooligans.

ColinR
06/07/2005, 3:15 PM
Considering Matthews is a Rovers fan, no doubt the Longford hierarchy will use this incident to claim they were right about Hoops being hooligans.

so yet another rovers fan caused their team yet more trouble last weekend :D

exile
06/07/2005, 3:20 PM

so thats where they would have got all their inside information on the rovers fans planning on decending on longford like the luftwaffe blitzkrieg on poland ;)

seeing as mathews is a rovers fan i propose he be banned from el staduims in the future :D

06/07/2005, 4:38 PM
Look at that little cockroach eamon collins.
LMFAO :D :D

06/07/2005, 7:48 PM
Oh the hypocrisy of longford.

Rubbish no one justifies what he did....He should be punished definately!

06/07/2005, 9:47 PM

C'mon now, I'd honestly be shocked if there's a manager in the league who has'nt lost his head with a 4th official.

As for Mathews, things like this do occasionally happen when passions run high, he should be punished and then move on.

About the cage at Flancare, if you lads are talkin about what I think yer talkin `bout then that cage has been up all season, perhaps set up for the Setanta Cup :confused:

06/07/2005, 10:00 PM
Fair play to plucky little Alan, a genuine Irish hero......
What tactics,
What ambition....and he works in a bank and with Longford too.......:D

Would that be a Merchant Bank by any chance ? (I always had a suspicion he might be a Merchant Banker ):D

BohsFans
06/07/2005, 11:46 PM
Or is it Just the Hoops who get the treatment

It's just the hoops.

Fair play to longford for treating youse like animals, it's the way forward!

Wiseguy
07/07/2005, 9:29 AM
The cages were actually a bit of fencing installed for the Setanta Cup to section off a seperate area for the away supporters.Imagine that,a seperate area for away fans.What will they think of next.This designated area had it's own entrance,it's own toilets and it's own chip van which suited both Glens and Linfield but unfortunately the easily offended Rovers fans seen this as an act of incitement and demanded the fence to be taken down as they paraded around with the flag they stole from Bohs.

07/07/2005, 12:00 PM
im the phatom flasher down the carlisle nothing on but a city shirt :eek: . btw the way frank i live in bray (moving to greystones thank god :D ) and have been to many bray matches over the last few seasons and your vocal support is sh1te im sorry but thats the truth
I seem to remember us being louder then yez at the Cork match not too long ago.

Bosco
07/07/2005, 2:05 PM
The cages were actually a bit of fencing installed for the Setanta Cup to section off a seperate area for the away supporters.Imagine that,a seperate area for away fans.What will they think of next.This designated area had it's own entrance,it's own toilets and it's own chip van which suited both Glens and Linfield but unfortunately the easily offended Rovers fans seen this as an act of incitement and demanded the fence to be taken down as they paraded around with the flag they stole from Bohs.

Dont think thats the cage they're on about.Pics in the star show a different huge fence which had to be took down after both rovers board and the 4th official complained about it.They werent up for the setanta cup games as far as i can remember

07/07/2005, 11:41 PM
that was definitley not put up!

all i can say is:

matthews is a banker!

rico is a ******!

08/07/2005, 8:34 AM
that was definitley not put up!

all i can say is:

matthews is a banker!

rico is a ******!
Why would the word legend be blanked out ?
Plus it doesn't rhyme. :confused:

08/07/2005, 12:33 PM

Hey wiseass dont let the truth get in the way. Read what bosco says. You must be related to your lying chairman hanley. Go on make up something else. You should write for the herag........

Wiseguy
08/07/2005, 2:02 PM
May i say how sorry i am so because now that you mention it we did let Linfield and Glens wander around the ground.The sectioning off of the seperate area for the away fans in both the car park and the ground is all in my imagination.Clearly the club did not apply a similar method again for your visit.I also have just realised that Rovers fans did not steal a flag from Bohs but that it blew the whole way from Dalymount to Flancare on a gust of wind and just happened to land in the middle of some Rovers fans who were posing for a picture. :D

And no i'm not related to Jim Hanly and i have no intention of becoming a journo as i am quite happy in my current job but thanks for the suggestion.

ShelsTim
09/07/2005, 9:53 PM
Unacceptable my arse, Mathews should be given a ****ing medal. Not only that, he should've pulled the fan onto the pitch and kicked the **** out of him and the fan should've been banned for life from the ground. Fair play to Mathews.

Sam Savic
09/07/2005, 10:47 PM

There were no toilets for the Rovers fans and the chip van.. wait for it.....had no chips.
As for the cage that was erected specially for Rovers fans - Longfords safety officer should be sacked and cautioned for agreeing to it in the first place. Luckily, the 4th official, speaking for the officials on duty that night, informed Longford that the match wouldn't be going ahead until the cage was taken down. That's most of the details of events that night. The rest will be dealt with by Rovers.
And by the way, no babies were eaten and Longford town wasn't left like Fallujah.

12/07/2005, 12:21 PM
That's a pathetic baseless accusation. Jim Hanley is not a liar. (Good job he's not too bothered about libel !!)

So the fact that he said that there was trouble down there "caused by Rovers fans " in all 3 of our visits last season even though there was only a skirmish in the first one makes him not a liar :rolleyes:

Will you disgrace the league this week like last year?

Ronnie
12/07/2005, 12:29 PM
Do you mean disgrace the league by losing a game or disgrace the league by, I dunno, maybe, cheating to get a license?

12/07/2005, 12:32 PM
Do you mean disgrace the league by losing a game or disgrace the league by, I dunno, maybe, cheating to get a license?

You lost both games to a team from liechtenstein :mad:

Our previous board made a balls of the license application. But hey dont let the facts get in the way............

manic da hoop
12/07/2005, 12:52 PM

No fan of any club is entitler to come accross as all high and mighty towards Rovers in regard to out Licence (or lack there of). The fact is that NO club in this league meets the rquirements of the Licencing Manual. The powers that be used the current fragile situation at Rovers to flex their muscles as they regarded us as a soft-touch - typical of this League's shoddy administrators to punish what is now the league's most progressive club simply because Rovers bashing is in fashion.

As for Longford - a complete and utter disgrace of a club that fail to have the credentials either on or off the pitch to compete at the most senior level in Irish football. Your European record? You've never even won a game, let alone a tie.

I only hope that we at Rovers bear in mind how we are treated at such dumps as Flancare Park we it comes to hosting you in Tallaght, and to act accordingly with regard to our 'welcome' when the time comes.