View Full Version : Wich is the Biguest Club Rivalry in the World?
Outside britan which is the biguest?Imo it has to be Boca-River.
Dazzy
05/07/2005, 10:23 PM
Outside britan which is the biguest?Imo it has to be Boca-River.
Would agree, i like the bubble tunnels that take oppossing player out to the midfle of the pitch though :D
and then it would have to be the NW Derby :D DERRY - harps :D
jorge
05/07/2005, 10:32 PM
Definately,no doubt. :D
Dazzy
05/07/2005, 10:41 PM
Argentina has to be the worse country for violence in football, it aint even between rivals but everyone, and the policia is struggling to control them.
05/07/2005, 10:52 PM
Outside Britain eh, Sligo Rovers and Finn Harps :p :D
Closed Account 2
05/07/2005, 11:49 PM
Boca-River or Zvezda-Partizan
Tony Montana
06/07/2005, 12:02 AM
Lazio/Roma is pretty bad too.Once politics gets mixed up with football it gets ugly
hamish
06/07/2005, 12:14 AM
Al Ahly and Zamalek in Egypt??
06/07/2005, 10:03 AM
Real - Barcelona
There's a feature every month in FourFourTwo called Only A Game? which profiles massive club rivalries, how they started, interviews with fans on match day, it's all really interesting. This month is Anderlect and Brugges of Belgium
06/07/2005, 10:15 AM
Outside Britain: Linfield vs Cliftonville and Shamrock Rovers vs Bohs. It isn't the size - it's the passion.
06/07/2005, 10:20 AM
Al Ahly and Zamalek in Egypt??
Good one, surprised anyone has said that. Massive rivalry especially when both are doing well in the African Champions Cup.
Not the greatest rivalry though, but a good one nonetheless.
ColinR
06/07/2005, 10:20 AM
betis and seville in spain - more bitter than real-barca
06/07/2005, 10:22 AM
Outside Britain: Linfield vs Cliftonville and Shamrock Rovers vs Bohs. It isn't the size - it's the passion.
Don;t make me laugh. The first one isn't a factor. Weren't opposing fans not allowed into each others grounds up to a few months ago.
In terms of violence and pssion and history, the two so far are River/Boca and the Red Star/Partizan. Imo anyway.
Dublin12
06/07/2005, 10:25 AM
Check this out www.footballderbies.com
sylvo
06/07/2005, 10:43 AM
Either River v Boca or Roma v Lazio.
Here in Ireland, has to be the derby these Bray fans have been waiting for for twenty years and they must have been long and lonely years spent with nobody to hate until we turned up.
Kildare County V Bray Wanderers ;)
Hibs4Ever
06/07/2005, 10:57 AM
I agree with what you say, to me it would be Hibs v jambos
06/07/2005, 11:00 AM
Red Star Belgrade - Partizan Belgrade ? Anyone see that prog on BBC 2 the other night about Red Star fans and there links to Arkan ?
06/07/2005, 11:01 AM
Either River v Boca or Roma v Lazio.
Here in Ireland, has to be the derby these Bray fans have been waiting for for twenty years and they must have been long and lonely years spent with nobody to hate until we turned up.
I'm lost, please fill me in on the joke here :confused:
06/07/2005, 11:30 AM
Don;t make me laugh. The first one isn't a factor. Weren't opposing fans not allowed into each others grounds up to a few months ago. .
It was tongue in cheek you know :D but now that you mention it, I rest my case on the statement that opposing fans weren't allowed visit each other's grounds. What more evidence do you require ?
06/07/2005, 1:05 PM
They've had the South Dublin derby with us. :D
The Dublin derbies between Shelbourne vs. St.Patricks Athletic and Shamrock Rovers vs. Bohemains are among the biggest matches in the country. Another great match is played between Derry City and Finn Harps.
http://www.footballderbies.com/index.php?country=37
A little bit of reconigtion :cool:
ali2005
06/07/2005, 2:10 PM
ac milan-inter milan or boca-river
06/07/2005, 2:27 PM
ac milian inter isnt that fierce of a rivalry as far as i know
ali2005
06/07/2005, 2:44 PM
liverpool-everton
swinfordfc
06/07/2005, 2:48 PM
lads,
the most savage derby of all!!!!!!!!
swinford v charlestown local derby east mayo :D :D :D :p
ac milian inter isnt that fierce of a rivalry as far as i know
There is'nt that hatred you'd find in fierce derbies although after what's happened (Dida and Vieri) it would add a bit of spark to it.
06/07/2005, 3:08 PM
There is'nt that hatred you'd find in fierce derbies although after what's happened (Dida and Vieri) it would add a bit of spark to it.
What about Vieri? If you were to count the amount of players to have played for both clubs, or even transferred directly between them you'd fast run out of digits on your hands and toes. ;)
Well,it was really the Dida incident.I just put Vieri for the sake of it.
They've had the South Dublin derby with us. :D
real barca, no contest at all
Red Star Belgrade - Partizan Belgrade ? Anyone see that prog on BBC 2 the other night about Red Star fans and there links to Arkan ?
I saw that programme alright. The stuff that happened during that riot was hard to watch. At one stage there was this guy curled up between two rows of seats and there must have been at least four or five guys kicking him in the head.
They showed the game between Red Star Belgrade and Dinamo Zagreb when Boban karate kicked one of the Serbian cops. He's still considered a national hero in Croatia for that one.
They also showed footage from the crowd during the recent Bosnia v Serbia qualifier. The absolute hatred shown on both sides makes anything Ive ever seen before look like nothing more than a playground quarrel!
06/07/2005, 5:06 PM
real barca, no contest at all
Ya Agree with Eanna
Gerrit
06/07/2005, 6:43 PM
liverpool-everton
As far as I can see Liverpool and Everton have a more or less friendly rivality. They won't beat each other up like fans of Real Madrid and Barcelona would for example.
Biggest rivalities:
Celtic-Rangers
Man U-Liverpool
Inter-AC Milan
Ajax-Feyenoord
Barcelona-Real Madrid
Lazio Roma-AS Roma
Boca Juniors-River Plate-Independiente-Racing Club (= the whole of Buenos Aires :D )
Maybe add a few Istanbul and Athens clubs to that... Always tense when Galatasaray plays Fenerbahce or Besiktas.
hamish
06/07/2005, 7:39 PM
Good one, surprised anyone has said that. Massive rivalry especially when both are doing well in the African Champions Cup.
Not the greatest rivalry though, but a good one nonetheless.
Killarney Athletic v Tralee Dynamoes???? :D
Back in the 1980s in Roscommon League, Dubarry V Beeslow Town - Jesus, the games should have carried an X certificate. The bitterness. :eek: Conrinued on in work the following days, especially if youi worked in Dubarry and played for Beeslow.
Tuam v Ballinasloe in any sport - battle of the shams - awful, just really nasty. I still don't like those fcukers.
sylvo
06/07/2005, 11:51 PM
I'm lost, please fill me in on the joke here :confused:
Ohhh the most racist fans, ohhh they only have one song, ohhh they have shocking support, ohhhh we hate them.
Heard it all Roo from some sections of your fans. Hence the joke. ;) :rolleyes:
anto eile
07/07/2005, 1:13 PM
http://www.footballderbies.com/fans/index.php?id=112
looks like the gypos are doing nazi salutes:D
barça / madrid isnt too bad. you only get about 2000 out of 98000 actually singing/supporting barça.and in the bernabéu, out of 85000,you might only get 2000 singing/supporting too. there does be only 200 (two hundred) away fans at the games.while its a historic, hate filled and yes a huge game,i still wouldnt say its the most bitter or electric derby experience.for hatred/violence/chaos, sevilla/betis would be the best derby in spain.
i saw the barcelona derby between Barça and espanyol a few years ago.great buzz around the game.but no real passion.only about 1000 barça fans sang,and rcd only had about 200 at it
away fans dont travel in spain.its a bizarre thing,as its a huge football country but virtually no-one travels to away games
im partial to the Boca river derby myself and will go to it some day, but the avellaneda derby between racing and independiente is bitter and dangerous too.people get killed quite often in argentina,and the league is often suspended as violence regularly gets out of control.
i see Celtic rangers hasnt got a mention.like it or not its one of the worlds greatest derbies. has it all- big crowds,religious divide,800 years of politics,hate,violence and sadly often deaths (only Celtic fans get killed- 10 Celtic fans dead in 12 years after old firm games.no rangers fans killed by Celts in the same time to the best of my knowledge)
Roma - nazio is mental.know loadsa Hoops who have been
personally i consider Rovers v gypos to be the most important derby in the world.its all relative, what the game means to yourself etc
english derbies are very sterile atmosphere and crowd-wise.no displays,no flags,no choreography.a world apart from the italian and south american derbies
07/07/2005, 4:01 PM
[QUOTE=sirhamish]Killarney Athletic v Tralee Dynamoes???? :D QUOTE]
Nah sure Park and Dynamo's are closer....same pitch give or take a few feet.
I was actually thinking of the Rock and Mitchells to be honest, but it wouldn't suit on the World Soccer forum to be fair.......
07/07/2005, 4:20 PM
Roma - Lazio. Having been there I can tell you its like nothing I've ever seen anywhere else.
Calling Milan - Inter a fierce derby just shows a complete lack of knowledge of Italian football. I'm an Inter fan and the Milan derby is nothing on the Rome derby. Both Milan sides hate Juve more than each other and Inter especially despise left wing clubs like Bologna.
Oh, and Rovers - Bohs of course. ;)
Castle Barracks
07/07/2005, 4:47 PM
Caernarfon Town v Bangor City in the Welsh Premiership!You wouldn't believe the hatred that exists between these two places which are 9 miles apart!It's the only match some fans look forward to/attend each season!
07/07/2005, 6:58 PM
U.C.D. V Trinity College at anything really.... :D
07/07/2005, 6:59 PM
Partizan V Crvena Zvezda in the Serbia-Montenegro First Federal League..
Away fans are banned from both games :rolleyes:
Thunderblaster
08/07/2005, 7:58 PM
Bohs V Shams
Rangers V Celtic
Liverpool V M** Utd
Roma V Lazio
Milan V Inter
Real V Barca
Sevilla V Betis
Racing V Boca
Flamenco V Corinthians
Marseille V Monaco
Bayern V 1860
Red Star Belgrade V Partizan
Zeljeznicar V NK Sarajevo
MTK V Ferencvaros
Hadjuk V Dynamo Zagreb
Besitkas V Galatasaray
Al Ahly V Zamalek
Panathinaikos V AEK
Spartak Moscow V CSKA
Ajax V Feyenoord
Anderlecht V Brugge
IFK Gothenberg V Malmo
Dynamo Kiev V Shaktar Donetsk
Kaizer Chiefs V Orlando Pirates
Etoile du Sahel V Esperance
Cliftonville V Linfield
Westport United V Castlebar Celtic
Grasshopper V Young Boys
Rapid Vienna V Austria Vienna
Brondby V Odense
Kosice V Slovan Bratislava
Sparta Prague V Slavia Prague
Steaua Bucharest V Dynamo Bucharest
Levski Sofia V CSKA Sofia
Enyimba V Julius Berger
FC Jumba-Kala V AC Spartak
Mohun Bagun V East Bengal
i see Celtic rangers hasnt got a mention.like it or not its one of the worlds greatest derbies.
Wich is the Biguest Club Rivalry in the World?
Outside britan which is the biguest
I go for Real - Barca, but a personal mention for PSG-OM, since I spent a year in Paris. I don't even like PSG, but the games against Marseille always caused a stir around the city which normally takes no notice of football (Apart from Les Bleus).
I saw the documentary on BBC about Red Star and Serbian football (violence) - scary sh!t.
jorge
08/07/2005, 10:15 PM
I din't want it to end up in the rubbish section.
liam88
08/07/2005, 10:52 PM
Galatasaray vs Fenerbahce is insane-people bring clevers and guns to the matches and there is a tank outside with a water cannon!
One that is always big around here is Woking vs Aldershot. Always a fight and both stadiums in pretty rough areas anyway so always good craic. Have a load of mates who are Woking fans and a mate who plays for Aldershot so always good fun with my split loyalties :D
(We also get Guildford vs Bracknell and Guildford vs Basingstoke in Ice Hockey)
I din't want it to end up in the rubbish section.I was just pointing out that Anto hadn't read the first post :rolleyes: - its a good thread.
I was at AC Milan v Lazio a few years ago. There was a fair amount of vitriol, but I don't know whether that was normal for Italian football / Lazio matches.
jorge
08/07/2005, 11:26 PM
I was just pointing out that Anto hadn't read the first
I know and cheers I'm glad you pointed that out to him. :)
One rivalry that is growing is Juve-Roma after Capello left to manage them and helped himself to a few Roma players.It will get even worse if Cassano and Mancini join Juventus.So beware...
Gerrit
09/07/2005, 10:53 AM
How can Marseille - Monaco be a derby of true hatred when Monaco haven't even got enough die hard fans to fill one section of Marseille's ground ?!
The Munich derby... Good that you mention. This is a sort of Juventus-Torino or Liverpool-Everton situation. The bigger team gets fans from all over the country (Bayern), the smaller team has the majority of fans in the city itself (1860)
I'd also say there's big rivalry between HSV and Sankt-Pauli.
And don't forget Molde-Rosenborg !! We all hate Molde ! :D
09/07/2005, 11:16 AM
Kaiserslautern -v- Bayern Munich is a tasty one too apparently, as is Werder Bremen -v- bayern.
09/07/2005, 11:44 AM
If we got the crowds those clubs got,we would have a few nasty derbies ourselves