View Full Version : Portugal V Republic of Ireland - Wednesday, 1st Sep 2021 - 2022 World Cup Qualifier

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13

13/08/2021, 9:38 AM
Too early for the match threads?

Said I'd start this with the news that Enda Stevens has been ruled out through injury (https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2021/0813/1240622-stevens-set-to-miss-september-qualifiers/).

We could do with every established player we have to be honest; this is an early blow.

seanfhear
13/08/2021, 9:54 AM
Our General seems to be unlucky ! !

13/08/2021, 10:10 AM
Stevens is a big blow. I don't really rate Manning.

Eirambler
13/08/2021, 10:15 AM
Our General seems to be unlucky ! !

You make your own luck.

I think McClean will start in that position.

seanfhear
13/08/2021, 10:52 AM
You make your own luck.

Napoleon had a good run liking Lucky Generals.

13/08/2021, 11:00 AM
You make your own luck.

He didn't feature in preseason, and hasn't played in either of Stoke's game so far this season.

Eminence Grise
13/08/2021, 11:07 AM
Too early for the match threads?

Said I'd start this with the news that Enda Stevens has been ruled out through injury (https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2021/0813/1240622-stevens-set-to-miss-september-qualifiers/).

We could do with every established player we have to be honest; this is an early blow.

Sure why not start the bad news - it's Friday the 13th after all...

Stevens is a loss, dammit. Urgh, don't want to think about McClean deputising... Greg Cunningham, maybe? Specialist leftback, but only four caps. Derrick Williams - would he even be able to play, coming from the States with Covid regs? Definitely not enough time for Brady to get a club and be match fit. I can't think of anyone else without putting even squarer pegs than McClean in round holes (Clark, O'Shea, Doherty), or a surprise promotion (u21, unheralded longshot) by Kenny.

I really want Kenny to succeed, because if he does, well, obviously it means we're back at or near the top table. Same reason I want any manager to succeed. But, seriously, how many mirrors has the guy broken, ladders walked under, pavement cracks ploughed through...? Has Robbie Keane a voodoo doll somewhere with a boxful of bobby pins? I appreciate his long term vision for the game, and seeing how Bohs and Dundalk performed against superior opposition he's right to believe the same attitude and performace levels are achievable for the national team - but he just cannot catch a break.

Seanfhear - Napoleon is also supposed to have said (he didn't, someone else did) that God favours those with big battalions. We're bunched when we go outside platoon strength! There's something indescribably amiss when a national team has only one viable player for a position. And we're seeing it across multiple positions.

13/08/2021, 11:15 AM
Sure why not start the bad news - it's Friday the 13th after all...
I hadn't even thought of that to be honest!

Some good news to try counter it...

Em...

Today is transfer deadline day, so maybe by the end of the day Liam Scales will have secured a big-money transfer, which will give him three weeks to settle in at a higher level and then be ready to nullify Ronaldo on his biggest day?

After all, the last time Ronaldo had a day as big as this was on his Real Madrid debut, and a former UCD left-back did an excellent job of keeping him quiet that day. So...you know...

Edit - actually, it's not deadline day today, is it? It's 31 August. So he could move and then play Ronaldo the following day. Friday 13th strikes again! :mad:

Diggs246
13/08/2021, 11:47 AM
]RE Left back Derrick Williams, Clark or O Shea

If Williams cant travel then that's ]that, I would probably so with clark

elatedscum
13/08/2021, 12:17 PM
presumably it'll be Doherty at left back? Coleman at right...

it's a weird position, you've only really got Stevens and Cunningham who are natural left backs, beyond that you're probably looking to the LOI (Wilson, Leahy, Kavanagh etc etc) or Trev Clarke in League 2.

you've got a tonne of players who can play there but it wouldn't be their primary position:

The left back:

Cunningham

Haven’t seen him in forever but didn’t look the same player post- leg break

The right backs:

Doherty
Christie
McNamara

Pretty sure Doherty will be the choice, if Coleman is fit to play the other side. Christie has played there for Ireland, notably well against Germany. McNamara is very versatile and is almost as comfortable on the left as on the right. You’d imagine it’d be a step to far for him right now.

The centre halves:

Williams
O’Shea
Clarke
K Long
Scales

Williams is probably equally adept in both positions. O’Shea has played a game for Ireland recently at left back. Clark started his career at left back for Ireland and was very comfortable there. Probably hasn’t played the position at any level for 5 years. Don’t think he’s lost too much mobility. Long played there once or twice under O’Neill. Was grand defensively - can't see why he'd be ahead of Clarke. Scales is probably, like McNamara, a stretch too far

The wing back:

Manning

Didn’t start either of Swansea’s games so far this season, came off the bench in the league cup. Doesn’t look great.

The wingers:

Brady
McClean

Brady is without a club. McClean isn’t training with the first team. Brady’s best position might be at left back. He did very well there for Ireland back in 2014 and 15. Would be a huge ask for either unless things change quickly

sbgawa
13/08/2021, 1:00 PM
Scales will have taken the magic plane to the UK by then so he is a shoe in as a starter.
Anyone with any doubts check out his last minute goal against Longford last weekend or the second of his two assists in Albania last night.

13/08/2021, 1:42 PM
hadn't heard of the magic plane in some time

Eminence Grise
13/08/2021, 2:00 PM
This one? (https://www.westjet.com/en-ca/aircraft/disney-magic-plane#:~:text=%20Fun%20facts%20about%20the%20Magic %20Plane%3A%20,150%20doughnuts%20over%20the%2024%2 0days.%20More%20) A right Mickey Mouse outfit.

13/08/2021, 2:33 PM
Fairly sure it'll be Doherty left full and Coleman on the right if they both stay fit. Doherty was solid the last time he played left full, you lose some of his attacking threat but he's a good physical presence and defends reasonably well from that side. Wouldn't be a huge surprise to see Scales in the squad, he's versatile, proven at under 21 level, comfortable in Europe with Rovers and could be playing SPL or EPL before the squad is named.

Colbert Report
13/08/2021, 4:22 PM
There is zero chance that Scales plays in the English Premier League before the squad is announced. He's a couple of years away from being a couple of years away from that level.

Coleman at RB and Doherty at LB is the obvious solution, with Greg Cunningham in the squad for cover. Knowing Kenny, he'll do something completely off the wall like play O'Shea at left-back.

Razors left peg
13/08/2021, 4:26 PM
Dara O'Shea at left back is another decent option I think. It still feels very much like a squad in limbo wait for some players to step up and prove themselves in club football. Pretty much identical to this time last season

Eirambler
13/08/2021, 7:30 PM
Everyone picking someone to play left back, but the answer is surely to play wing backs and a back three? We don't have any good left backs anyway, Stevens included - he's a left wing back really, not a left back.

elatedscum
13/08/2021, 10:05 PM
Can’t see it being much different in selection either way. As in, 3 of Egan, O’Shea, Duffy and Clarke. Coleman on the right and Doherty on the left. Obviously, Coleman can play right central in a three but what’s the point of doing that when you’ve got no Stevens

Fixer82
14/08/2021, 9:41 AM
O’Shea or McClean at LB for me. Doherty could do a job there either possibly

Bielsa´s irish
15/08/2021, 5:53 PM
with those games just around the corner, if I was the one to pick the players, lets say, we need 30 to 35 players because of covid for those games, having everything in consideration, these are the fellows I will get into the team to be honest, with everything we have atm without the injured guys and the ones i think should be replaced hourihane, hendrick, brady, browne etc particularly in midfield where we have some problems

D. Randolph Premier League West Ham United
C. Kelleher Premier League Liverpool
S. McDermott Eliteserien Kristiansund
M. Travers Championship AFC Bournemouth
G. Bazunu League One Portsmouth

DF
C. Clark Premier League Newcastle United
N. Collins Premier League Burnley
M. Doherty Premier League Tottenham Hotspur
S. Duffy Premier League Brighton & Hove Albion
S. Coleman Premier League Everton
J. Egan Championship Sheffield United
R. Manning Championship Swansea City
D. O'Shea Championship West Bromwich Albion
L. O'Connor Premiership Celtic
A. McNulty Bundesliga Wolfsburg

MF
J. McCarthy Premiership Celtic
J. McGrath Premiership St. Mirren
L. Connell Premiership Celtic
G. Carey First League CSKA Sofia
J. Gallagher MLS Austin
C. Noß Bundesliga Borussia M'gladbach
M. Sykes League One Oxford United
R. Johansson Eredivisie Fortuna Sittard
D. Horgan League One Wycombe Wanderers
J. Cullen First Division A Anderlecht
J. Byrne 1. Division APOEL
J. McClean Championship Stoke City
J. Molumby Premier League Brighton & Hove Albion

FW
A. Idah Premier League Norwich City
S. Long Premier League Southampton
A. Connolly Premier League Brighton & Hove Albion
T. Parrott League One Milton Keynes Dons
C. Sheridan Premiership Dundee
C. Robinson Championship West Bromwich Albion
J. Collins Championship Cardiff City
A. Scully League One Lincoln City

15/08/2021, 5:54 PM
I had a more general post on the pre-season thread about how our squad options might be positioned after pre-season. Using it for the basis of what I think this squad could be/should be having seen a few games, and with injuries etc.

https://foot.ie/threads/268458-Pre-Season-2021-22?p=2083965&viewfull=1#post2083965

1- absolute first-choice,
2- option/backup,
no distinction between full-back or Wing-back,

Keepers:
2- Bazunu, Travers, Kelleher (3)

RB:
1- Coleman,
2- Doherty, (2)

LB:
2- Manning, Scales, (2)

CB:
1- Duffy
2- O'Shea, Egan, Clark (4)

CM (6/8/10):
1- Cullen
2- Hendrick, McCarthy, Browne, Molumby, Kilkenny, McGrath (7)

RW:
2- Horgan, Elbouzedi (2)

LW:
2- McClean, Connolly, (2)

CF:
1- Robinson,
2- Collins, Parrot, Idah, (4)

I think that's a good fist of what the eventual squad might be. I reckon there's going to be a call between Hendrick and McCarthy on which gets selected. I wouldn't be hugely surprised if neither is selected to be honest. Likewise, I'm not sure he'll give Cunningham or Manning a shout, with Doherty and McClean seen as options there, although I think it would be wrong not to have one of them in the squad at least. And finally, I think we'll have seen the last of Randolph.

I can't make an universal statement such as "you can't pick players who aren't playing first team football" given the nadir we're in at the moment, but I certainly don't think we can afford to pick older, injury-prone players who aren't even making the first-team squad at their club, or not multiples. I suspect McClean will be ok, because he's earmarked for the LWB slot. The flipside of that, is can he realistically call up Molumby, who hasn't played a single game all summer, ahead of someone like Hendrick, or Gavin Kilkenny, even allowing for his loyalty. Jason Knight is a loss.

At the moment, this is how the side could look:

------------------ Bazunu
------------O'Shea Duffy Egan
Coleman -------- Cullen -------- Doherty
------------------An Other---
---Smokie----------------------Parrott
--------------------Idah--

Is it fair, is it realistic, to throw someone like Kilkenny in for his international debut in Lisbon? probably not, and we probably need some athleticism in that spot, so An Other could easily be Hendrick if he's in the squad. It could be exactly the type of game that Kenny looks to James McCarthy if he's willing (or able) to sit in and hold and use his experience to guide the younger lads through.

Edit: Liam Scales is deserving of a call-up at this stage. He's actually playing LWB for Rovers, and hopefully will be doing so in Europe as well. Given he's likely to be around the senior squad for some time to come, and Kenny does like him, I think it's a good possibility.

Razors left peg
16/08/2021, 10:55 PM
Ive never heard Smokie before!!

Fixer82
16/08/2021, 11:24 PM
Ive never heard Smokie before!!

I second that emotion!
Although, maybe it was just a mirage

17/08/2021, 1:06 AM
Misspelled, should have put Smokey, as in Smokey Robinson.

Then i panicked just now, in case that was considered racist. So I looked it up, and it was a nickname he gave himself, way back in the day - the singer, not the baller.

https://lasentinel.net/smokey-robinson-a-poet-that-you-knoweth.html

There’s no real resemblance, maybe…

https://www.udiscovermusic.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/02/Smokey-Robinson-unknown-009-web-optimised-1000.jpg

elatedscum
17/08/2021, 9:03 AM

Then i panicked just now, in case that was considered racist. So I looked it up, and it was a nickname he gave himself, way back in the day - the singer, not the baller.

https://www.udiscovermusic.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/02/Smokey-Robinson-unknown-009-web-optimised-1000.jpg

So your team has Smokey on one wing and The Bandit on the other?

Razors left peg
17/08/2021, 4:25 PM

Hahaha, this is why we should stay away from player nicknames on here. I was always irrationally mad when posters would use Didsey

17/08/2021, 5:16 PM
Anyone know when the squad will be announced?

17/08/2021, 5:40 PM
Could be Monday, after the next round of fixtures in England?

<EDIT>

Actually, there's games on the weekend of the 28th as well, so maybe before those games, on the 27th.
Would have thought that was too close to the Portugal game on the 1st?

17/08/2021, 5:52 PM
Yeah, you can't announce a squad four days in advance surely?

liamoo11
17/08/2021, 9:23 PM
Really like kenny to pick a team that shows us he has a plan. Are we 532 or 433? I think we are most suited to 2 up top with the players we have . I'd go

Kelleher
Coleman egan Duffy oshea manning

Cullen mccarthy

Robinson

Idah parrott

I don't see the point of including horgan in the squad he will never be good enough for this level same as Collins from cardiff.

Manning playing as a left sided centre half at Swansea hopefully has improved his defensive awareness to compliment his attacking prowess. I think Robinson has all the tools to be the most advanced of a 3 man midfield with solidity and passing abilities behind him in Cullen and mccarthy. Robinson offers a bit of guile good running ability and a bit of a goal threat.

If doherty isn't good enough to get in ahead of Coleman then he should sit on the bench he has been a real disappointment under Kenny. Parrott is always going to be suited to playing off a strong fast companion and idah gives you that with good finishing ability. Partott playing wide in a 3 is a waste he doesn't have the pace or trickery for it. His guile and footballing ability has to have him centrally where he will make chances for others and score a hood few himself , he is a 9 and a half which in a team with no obvious 10 is just what we need. Connolly a nice option off the bench.

irishfan86
18/08/2021, 1:08 AM
That’s a great lineup, Liam. Although if Randolph is fit I’d tend to go with him in goal. Overall like the vision. I’d be fine with Cunningham instead of Manning on the left as well, but I think they’re of a similar level.

Eirambler
18/08/2021, 12:59 PM
It's a good team but I think we'll get overrun in midfield if we don't have three out and out midfielders in there, I don't think we can start all three of Robinson, Parrott and Idah. Two of them with a third midfielder and the rest of the team as you have suggested makes sense though. It's a shame Knight is injured as he'd be the obvious choice there, but Browne, Molumby, or even Hendrick/Hourihane would be other options open to Kenny.

I'd start Bazunu in goal personally also.

mark12345
18/08/2021, 1:31 PM
Really like kenny to pick a team that shows us he has a plan. Are we 532 or 433? I think we are most suited to 2 up top with the players we have . I'd go

Kelleher
Coleman egan Duffy oshea manning

Cullen mccarthy

Robinson

Idah parrott

I don't see the point of including horgan in the squad he will never be good enough for this level same as Collins from cardiff.

Manning playing as a left sided centre half at Swansea hopefully has improved his defensive awareness to compliment his attacking prowess. I think Robinson has all the tools to be the most advanced of a 3 man midfield with solidity and passing abilities behind him in Cullen and mccarthy. Robinson offers a bit of guile good running ability and a bit of a goal threat.

If doherty isn't good enough to get in ahead of Coleman then he should sit on the bench he has been a real disappointment under Kenny. Parrott is always going to be suited to playing off a strong fast companion and idah gives you that with good finishing ability. Partott playing wide in a 3 is a waste he doesn't have the pace or trickery for it. His guile and footballing ability has to have him centrally where he will make chances for others and score a hood few himself , he is a 9 and a half which in a team with no obvious 10 is just what we need. Connolly a nice option off the bench.

You think McCarthy is still enthusiastic about international football?

Diggs246
18/08/2021, 3:56 PM
If McCarthy pulls out, he should just retire. He is a very good player but no point if he cant play

18/08/2021, 10:20 PM
We sure can't depend on his availability, but I'm not sure we can afford to write him off when we're likely to call up a lad in his position who is playing in a Championship team's U23s.

liamoo11
19/08/2021, 9:58 AM
It's a good team but I think we'll get overrun in midfield if we don't have three out and out midfielders in there, I don't think we can start all three of Robinson, Parrott and Idah. Two of them with a third midfielder and the rest of the team as you have suggested makes sense though. It's a shame Knight is injured as he'd be the obvious choice there, but Browne, Molumby, or even Hendrick/Hourihane would be other options open to Kenny.

I'd start Bazunu in goal personally also.

I see your point and yiu are most likely correct browne will play id say. To me that gives you an 8 2 defensive offensive split in your 10 outfield players and I don't think you can expect to get much out of games when you are that defensive minded.

19/08/2021, 10:31 AM
For Portugal, I think that balance may be about right. Longer term, there's a real problem with uncertainty around our best midfield and attack; lots of options, none of which really stand out.

I'm not sure Idah and Parrott are the right pairing though. Robinson is playing at far a higher level than Parrott, has already scored for his club this season, and is more suited to build up play with wing backs. If Kenny goes with a trio up front, I'd guess it'll be Robinson - Idah - Horgan. Am I right in thinking Parrott looks most comfortable in a front 2, or am I doing him a disservice?

It's interesting that Knight being injured seems a big deal. He was quickly becoming a default starter while still a teenager.

19/08/2021, 12:57 PM
---------------Kelleher------------------
Coleman – Egan – Duffy – O’Shea – Doherty
--------- Cullen---Kilkenny (McCarthy) ----
--------------Parrott------------
Robinson ---Idah--- Horgan

I don’t think he’ll pick both Parrott & Idah though and just can’t escape the thought that McClean, Collins and others like Hendrick will somehow feature.

Ogbene impressed in Hungary. Will he not make the squad?

Stuff the level he’s playing at, Horgan has looked our most dangerous / creative player in recent games. Has to start imho.

Diggs246
19/08/2021, 2:12 PM
---------------Kelleher------------------
Coleman – Egan – Duffy – O’Shea – Doherty
--------- Cullen---Kilkenny (McCarthy) ----
--------------Parrott------------
Robinson ---Idah--- Horgan

I don’t think he’ll pick both Parrott & Idah though and just can’t escape the thought that McClean, Collins and others like Hendrick will somehow feature.

Ogbene impressed in Hungary. Will he not make the squad?

Stuff the level he’s playing at, Horgan has looked our most dangerous / creative player in recent games. Has to start imho.

Even we could beat Portugal with 12 or 13 players as you have suggested!!

CraftyToePoke
19/08/2021, 2:27 PM

We're gonna get Horgan to hide behind Idah & hope the ref doesn't spot him, or the Portguese until its too late, and he has pounced.

19/08/2021, 2:38 PM

Good point. I thought it looked a bit too strong.

20/08/2021, 10:13 AM
I watched Cullen last night against Vitesse. He's very unfussy, he's an organiser, and while he's not as ambitious as I think he could be, he is what every cm should be, and that's always available for a teammate.

Anderlecht fans do like him, that's clear, and he's developing nicely there. It's a real pity that it's taken him so long to become a first choice player somewhere. Plenty of "Cullen 8" jerseys floating around the ground. He carried the ball into play quite well yesterday, showing some really good awareness. It's a part of his game that has definitely improved. He wasn't involved in the 2nd or 3rd goal, but he was the player to break down Vitesse at his own box to start the moves that led to the 3rd goal, and the penalty which they won (and missed) in the last minute.

he's a nailed on starter in Portugal, and he's a future captain I would say.

Diggs246
20/08/2021, 12:50 PM
Yep. Two DM Cullen and McCarthy is what our team needs. McCarthy might not be around but we need a replacement for him

Bielsa´s irish
20/08/2021, 6:54 PM
I would play against those guys with this formation.

--------------------randolph---------------------

doherty-------Oshea ------------egan --------mcclean

coleman-----------cullen---------mccarthy----------manning

----------------^Parrott --------------Robinson----------

23/08/2021, 11:27 AM
Mention by Vinny Perth that Michael Duffy will be in the squad.

On Twitter

Diggs246
23/08/2021, 11:36 AM
I forgot about scott Hogan, he scored twice on Saturday and no one cares! ?

Diggs246
23/08/2021, 12:47 PM
Any idea of formation for Portugal?

23/08/2021, 1:39 PM
Everyone mark Ronaldo. :)

I see he was dropped at the weekend. Bad news for us I think - he'll now have a point to prove as well as a record to chase

23/08/2021, 1:52 PM
Everyone mark Ronaldo. :)
Duffy will keep him quiet. :)

23/08/2021, 1:55 PM
Any idea of formation for Portugal?

5-5-1; last man back.