View Full Version : The Big Day

liam88
01/07/2005, 11:10 PM
Live8 will be starting in hours. Today rock can change the world. There have been criticisms of the concerts regarding African Acts (now playing at the Eden Project for anyone who lives nearby), acess for diabled, bandwagon jumping.....
But at the end of the day something great can come out of this-but Live 8 needs to be the start not the end. I went to a make poverty history protest in London a good few months back. These were arguably part of the build up to today G8/Live 8 but if all the build up cumulates today and then people pack up and go home then mabye it won't work. But if today starts something big then I really believe we can make poverty history!
What do you think?

01/07/2005, 11:13 PM
What do you think?

To be honest Liam, I wish it would help but I cant see this concert making much of a difference, unfortunately :(

01/07/2005, 11:22 PM
Who cares? They should have made people pay for the tickets in the first place and given that money to charity.

PS I HATE BOB!!!! :mad:

01/07/2005, 11:33 PM
Who cares? They should have made people pay for the tickets in the first place and given that money to charity.
The money for charity has already been raised from the calls @ £1.50p a pop made to apply for tickets. They didnt need to sell them. There were so many application calls made that they probably have raised more money than had they charged £50 a ticket.

sylvo
02/07/2005, 10:17 AM
They should have got more acts from Africa to take part, Elton John, Sting and Phil Collins thats an original line up.

02/07/2005, 11:19 AM
Have no interest in it, couldnt be a**ed watching it - hope its not on in the pub in the afternoon :rolleyes:

Ruairi
02/07/2005, 2:06 PM
watching it on tv now.. nothing too special so far.. althugh i have to admit the u2/paulmccartney rendition of "Sgt. Pepper" was pretty cool..

looking forward to snoop dog the most for some reason.. going to fecking miss Pink Floyd, really annoyed over that

02/07/2005, 2:49 PM
Dido is singing with Youssou N'Dour from Hyde Park as I write this.
She got her band to perform his hit song 7 Seconds.. fair play to her... sure aren't her people's origins Irish?... :D

They did a nice job on it all the same. Looking forward to Pink Floyd later tonight and hoping to see Roxy Music from Berlin.

And Bob may be a gob from Dun Laoghaire but he has put it to good use to be fair.

sylvo
02/07/2005, 4:36 PM
The crowd in Hyde Park could look a bit more up for it, most of the time when the camera's pan into the crowd most of them look half asleep, then again Keane have just been on. :rolleyes:

hamish
02/07/2005, 5:52 PM
Those with BBC interactive - Deep Purple live from Toronto soonish. Oh the good old days of headbanging :D

02/07/2005, 5:59 PM
The crowd in Hyde Park could look a bit more up for it, most of the time when the camera's pan into the crowd most of them look half asleep, then again Keane have just been on. :rolleyes:

The crowd did look a bit morbid earlier, they've livened up a bit now :D

jjppc
02/07/2005, 6:43 PM

Thats because they can't get any sherbert, if what's in the papers is true, the booze is restricted to those in the "golden circle" at the front. These are guests of the company sponsors, the great unwashed are behind them. As someone who as tried to put my natural cynicism about the whole thing to one side and tried to support it as a step in the general direction of good ,I think this smells strongly of ****e.

Drumcondra Red
02/07/2005, 6:49 PM
I've been trying to find the band times, anyone know where you'd get them???

02/07/2005, 7:18 PM
Am I the only one on here who thought U2 weren't that good at Live8? I know they are a good band but today was a big let down for me, they sounded terrible :(

Frank Blue
02/07/2005, 7:26 PM
Am I the only one on here who thought U2 weren't that good at Live8? I know they are a good band but today was a big let down for me, they sounded terrible :(

I thought they weren't that bad. From Berlin i saw Green Day and Juli. The German band Juli were awful as she can't sing, but Green Day gave it a good go.
As for other acts I saw REM and U2 seemed OK. Dido was bloody awful, so true to form in my books.

However, not bothereed with it for several hours and I only wanted to see Pink Floyd.

As for what Live 8 hopes to achieve, I think it'll once again fail. Good intentions and all that, but there is so much to change in the world and so many influencing factors, it is an impossible task.

02/07/2005, 7:45 PM
I must admit despie my pessimism on this whole thing i actually did watch a bit of it earlier and must say i was impressed - especially with the demo yoke in edinburgh.

Also with that chick that was nearly dead as a baby that was on the stage when madonna came on - that was a pretty cool story

For music wise though, germany seemed great craic!!!

hamish
02/07/2005, 7:47 PM
Jesus, BBC Interactive have just shown Shakira singing "Whenever" and she looks better than even in her videos - awesome and she's lost wait too. Fcuking hell, as we say down these parts -"She'd give a horn to a grasshopper" :D

On the downside we were supposed to see Purple from Toronto and got five seconds while the fecking Pet Shop Boys got near an hour. :mad:

sylvo
02/07/2005, 8:26 PM
The crowd did look a bit morbid earlier, they've livened up a bit now :D

Like the way all these heads who looked half asleep when Bono and co were giving their speechs on Africa and poverty and then suddenly came too life when Mr S Dogg from Inglewood LA landed on stage with his Grandad shouting the words n***** and mudder ******, and all of a sudden all those heads soon came too life.

02/07/2005, 8:28 PM
Conor74

Factual errors
1/ Roxy Music ARE NOT from Sheffield
The original lineup included Paul Thompson( drums) and Bryan Ferry (Vocals/keyboards) from The Newcastle On Tyne Area.
Andy Mackay ( sax/oboe/clarinet) and Phil Manzanera(guitar) from down South in Blightey.
Oh and Brian Eno (synthesizers) from Cambridge.

2/They are performing in Berlin in the Live 8 Concerts... which is what I was referring to. :rolleyes:

sylvo
02/07/2005, 8:30 PM
Thats because they can't get any sherbert, if what's in the papers is true, the booze is restricted to those in the "golden circle" at the front. These are guests of the company sponsors, the great unwashed are behind them. As someone who as tried to put my natural cynicism about the whole thing to one side and tried to support it as a step in the general direction of good ,I think this smells strongly of ****e.

All those people down the front when being interviewed saying ''whhhoooo i'm here to see Robbie'' did sound like daddy had dropped them outside Hyde Park in the Range Rover.

I'd say the concept is maybe lost on them all right.

hamish
02/07/2005, 8:42 PM
I have to admit I thought the crowd were very tame except for the U2 opening, Sting really gave it some but got very muted applause. Are they giving out free tranquilisers or what???

Oh b0ll!x Mariah Carey is starting........retch. More cocktail lounge soul. :eek:

Looking forward to Pink Floyd - the body language between Roger Waters and the others should be interesting. :D

02/07/2005, 9:16 PM
Anyone catch Sting's changed lyrics to "Every Breath You Take"? Very good -

"Oh can't we see
If our democracy
Is just a game you play
No matter what you say

Every move you make
Every vow you break
Every smile you fake
Every claim you stake
We'll be watching you"

Great to highlight thinkgs like this, but I think the sad fact is that there's just too much corruption and toadying in the world - particularly the US, with GB catching up fast - that the political leaders will just ignore it, or at best pass off some token change (AFAIK, much of the debt cancellation has serious strings attached?). Geldof would probably achieve far more going for political office, but probably wouldn't have enough ability across the board to get in.

PS I HATE BOB!!!!
Why?! Would you rather he buried his head in the sand like everyone else? :confused:

Frank Blue
02/07/2005, 9:34 PM
Anyone catch Sting's changed lyrics to "Every Breath You Take"? Very good -

"Oh can't we see
If our democracy
Is just a game you play
No matter what you say

Every move you make
Every vow you break
Every smile you fake
Every claim you stake
We'll be watching you"

Great to highlight thinkgs like this, but I think the sad fact is that there's just too much corruption and toadying in the world - particularly the US, with GB catching up fast - that the political leaders will just ignore it, or at best pass off some token change (AFAIK, much of the debt cancellation has serious strings attached?). Geldof would probably achieve far more going for political office, but probably wouldn't have enough ability across the board to get in.

Why?! Would you rather he buried his head in the sand like everyone else? :confused:

The democracy we have is a sham. It's always the same sort promoting themselves, so anything else short of a revolution and nothing changes. And with some revolutions the folk at the top might change, but for tha majority little else does.
As for "I hate Bob", I do too. His intentions may be well meaning, but are extremely over simplistic and his attitude swings between grating, boring and at times patronising. Poverty in the world is down to many factors and governing bodies, not just the G8: The World Bank, The IMF, The USA, the EU (and policies including CAP), lack of democracy, even the UN. The list is quite long in my opinion.
The fact of the matter is, yes Bob we all realise that something needs to be done about 3rd World debt and poverty. However, simply asking for debt relief and/or democracy in hand with this in certain countries will still fail to deliver.

A shame, but that's the way it is. :mad:

:(

hamish
02/07/2005, 10:29 PM
Some good bands, some goodish, some not so good...........

then Pink Floyd decended from the heavens ..... :)

for 45 minutes all was well with the world. :)

Awesome, just awesome :)

Happy Hamish ;)

liam88
02/07/2005, 11:26 PM
What a class night!
Nearly got there-was at the National St. John Ambulance compeition and a couple of Ambulance crews were going up-tried to get myself onto one of them but they couldn't get the clearance :(
Ah well-they said Live Aid would never happen again in 85 :D
Great night-glad to ahve been part of if.........though that whopping great Northern Ireland flag stayed up through the whole thing!! (so fair paly to those holding it-strong arms), Belfast one a few of the SJA competitions so I've been seeing the flag waved about all day! Some waving a rangers shirt round in the crowd but also hoops so good to see everyone getting together for it-qaulity stuff!

jofyisgod
03/07/2005, 7:35 AM
That was great.To quote Chris Martin:"Anyone cynical about this is a knobhead".

This wasn't just some protest, this was centred around a major aim, with a 3-point plan, and the support of some very famous people. Fúck the music, it was largely irrelevant, hopefully this kind of global passion will force the hand of the less eager G8 nations.

Well done to all who organised this, especially Geldof.

03/07/2005, 2:02 PM
Poverty in the world is down to many factors and governing bodies, not just the G8: The World Bank, The IMF, The USA, the EU (and policies including CAP), lack of democracy, even the UN. The list is quite long in my opinion.
True. The problem is that there is one common link in most of those - the US, who make it ridiculously difficult for other countries to do anything they (the US) don't want. No matter how loud people raise their voices - protests, Live 8, etc. - the corruptness of the US administration and their toadying to big business (in particular the oil industries) will overrule... :(

However, simply asking for debt relief and/or democracy in hand with this in certain countries will still fail to deliver.
He's not being as simplistic as to just ask for debt relief though. He's asking for the big political leaders to get their fingers out and sort the whole thing out (and let's be honest, they're the only ones who really can). He's raising awareness again with the hope that political leaders can feel the threat of not getting re-elected if they don't do something - the threat of getting the sack is a fairly big one to hold.

Your point about democracy is sadly valid though - and then if we start getting cynical about such corruptness and, say, don't vote, the politicians turn around and chastise us and tell us of the sacrifices ohers made so we could have democracy...don't think they made those sacrifices so political leaders could ignore the vast majority of the people when the people are so clearly in the right (fair trade, the war in Iraw, etc., etc.)

With regards the music, I thought The Who were quality.

Drumcondra Red
03/07/2005, 2:31 PM
Performances that stood out for me:

The Who, love them, always have, always will,

Razorlight, Can't wait to see them at oxegen next week,

Pink Floyd, nuff said!

Madonna, soley for the film shown before and her greeting of that girl, very emotional moment!

U2 and Paul McCartney, Sgt Pepper, marvelous!!!

Everyone at the end with Macca singing Hey Jude, hate the song, but that was quality!

Although, for some reason I pretty much watched all day, I was hungover, and enjoyed it all, even artists I normally can't stand were on form, the G8 have to listen after all this...

Babysis
04/07/2005, 8:39 AM
My favourites, from what I saw, were Razorlight & Maddonna. Didnt think U2 were all that. Coldplay are a good band to watch in TV IMO, but thats does not come across when you see them live. Joss stone was good - She really is growing on me. :) Robbie williams is a born entertainer. Thought the crowd were a bit sedate alot of the time though.

noby
04/07/2005, 8:42 AM
Was thinking of that song '7 seconds' watching the ads lately. Wasn't that song about how often a child dies in the world? And the ads for Live8 mention 3 seconds. Was wondering was that just a guesstimate or has the rate actually increased.

The 7 seconds is how often a child is born.
It's an anti-racism song. Goes something like "When a chid is born, it has no concept of tone of skin it's living in" ,so we're 7 seconds away from stopping racism. In theory.

Not a Dido fan, but I did enjoy that, aswell as the Who (aka the CSI band) and Pink Floyd.

Low point: Mariah "lookitpeopleibroughtafricankids" Carey.

04/07/2005, 9:56 AM
didnt see all of the gig... a mate of mine arriving in london for the weekend, so left after Snow Patrol (where were excellent).

Highlight for me, REM's gig, Coldplay were amazing and Richard Ashcroft coming on for Bittersweet Sympony was a definite thumbs up. Chris Martin even threw in a bit of Quo during In My Place... Razorlight were fantastic, they'll be huge on the back of this, and amazingly Madonna with the choir on 'Like A Prayer' was a standout. Travis doing Staying Alive was great too.

Downs: Dido was brutal, but getting Yousoh n'Dour was a good touch. Ms Dynamiteeeeeeeeeeeeee was shocking, but Pete Doherty coming on with a cigarette lighter in his gob brought a lot of gasps, what a nob.

but tbh would have preffered the atmosphere in Berlin and Paris. Muse, Audioslave, Green Day would have brought a bit of life to proceedings....

hamish
04/07/2005, 11:21 AM
didnt see all of the gig... a mate of mine arriving in london for the weekend, so left after Snow Patrol (where were excellent).

Highlight for me, REM's gig, Coldplay were amazing and Richard Ashcroft coming on for Bittersweet Sympony was a definite thumbs up. Chris Martin even threw in a bit of Quo during In My Place... Razorlight were fantastic, they'll be huge on the back of this, and amazingly Madonna with the choir on 'Like A Prayer' was a standout. Travis doing Staying Alive was great too.

Downs: Dido was brutal, but getting Yousoh n'Dour was a good touch. Ms Dynamiteeeeeeeeeeeeee was shocking, but Pete Doherty coming on with a cigarette lighter in his gob brought a lot of gasps, what a nob.

but tbh would have preffered the atmosphere in Berlin and Paris. Muse, Audioslave, Green Day would have brought a bit of life to proceedings....

Did anyone see Bruce Cockburn from Toronto? The Canadians are often stereotyped as laid back but the language of this folk singer was priceless - he out-Geldofed Geldof.

Drumcondra Red
04/07/2005, 11:44 AM
Nearly forgot about Velvet Revolver, they were excellent too, but nobody seemed to know them and then Jonathon Woss & Paul McCheesey took the pish out of them!?! :eek: Bad form that!!!

04/07/2005, 11:46 AM
Didnt see much cos there were powercuts down our way and then Chorus
packed in ... but never mind the performances, Jonathan Ross taking the p!ss
outta Stereophonics and Ricky Gervais was deadly.

What was the story with that tw@ interviewing bands practicially asking
very band if they were sh!tting themselves playing to such a big crowd!

Ah well, hopefully it'll all make some difference for the better

04/07/2005, 11:47 AM
Nearly forgot about Velvet Revolver, they were excellent too

Yeah they were ok. Not a big fan of Maroon 5 but they were fairly good in the U.S.A.

04/07/2005, 12:51 PM
Nearly forgot about Velvet Revolver, they were excellent too
Never actually heard of them - played alright, but yer man the lead singer sounded like a right tool when he was interviewed afterwards - "Have you ever played in front of a crowd that big before?" "Yeah, once, in front of all those ancient Greeks in 900BC..." :confused:

04/07/2005, 1:12 PM
velvet revolver are made up of most of guns and roses, well most it depends what most is, but there are 3 former band members from g n r.

Baker
04/07/2005, 1:41 PM
Green Day's set from Berlin looked great.

I thought Peter Kay got the best reception from anyone on stage!

Im not too sure if the whole Live 8 thing will make too much of a difference to the politicians but at least they tried and that needs to be applauded.

Drumcondra Red
04/07/2005, 1:54 PM
Never actually heard of them - played alright, but yer man the lead singer sounded like a right tool when he was interviewed afterwards - "Have you ever played in front of a crowd that big before?" "Yeah, once, in front of all those ancient Greeks in 900BC..." :confused:

They're a mix between Guns N' Roses (3), Stone Temple Pilots (1, singer) and Wasted Youth (1) so thats who they are, surely you recognised Slash though??? :confused:

04/07/2005, 1:56 PM
Thought one or two looked vaguely familiar alright - particularly yer man with the top hat and the smoke? Wouldn't be a big Guns 'n' Roses fan either though.

jjppc
04/07/2005, 2:28 PM
All those people down the front when being interviewed saying ''whhhoooo i'm here to see Robbie'' did sound like daddy had dropped them outside Hyde Park in the Range Rover.

I'd say the concept is maybe lost on them all right.
I wonder if that got the irony of Bill "Mr Monopoly" Gates talking about free trade

deecay
05/07/2005, 9:32 AM
I enjoyed bitter sweet melody but ashcrofts voice will never be the same. "the drugs dont work" for his voice.
The kaiser chiefs were dissapointing in philly i thought, was looking forward to them.
whos idea was it to give the killers 5 minutes when people like mariah carey just wallowed on for ever
The best part of the concert and the most emotional was madonna and the young ethopian woman. what a moment.

MAKE POVERTY HISTORY

05/07/2005, 9:36 AM
I wonder if that got the irony of Bill "Mr Monopoly" Gates talking about free trade

started a chant of 'We Hate Windows' when he came on... :)

05/07/2005, 9:37 AM
I enjoyed bitter sweet melody but ashcrofts voice will never be the same. "the drugs dont work" for his voice.

Thought Ashcroft should have duetted with Pete Doherty for 'The Drugs Dont Work'!! :D

05/07/2005, 10:09 AM
started a chant of 'We Hate Windows' when he came on...

gervais was funny about that, he said now we have him here, cant you(johnatan wossssss) interview him and ask him why does windows keep crashing... :D

noby
05/07/2005, 10:44 AM
Monty Python moment #1:

Jonathan Ross doing the intro right at the start, going round all the venues. Gets to Italy, and says hello to the "Circus Maximus in Wome"

Did anyone else think:

Welease Wodewick!"

hamish
05/07/2005, 2:00 PM
The kaiser chiefs were dissapointing in philly i thought, was looking forward to them.
whos idea was it to give the killers 5 minutes when people like mariah carey just wallowed on for ever
The best part of the concert and the most emotional was madonna and the young ethopian woman. what a moment.

MAKE POVERTY HISTORY

Yeah, what a beautiful lady she was and I loved the outfit she was wearing - pity she had to share the stage with Belladonna. :D

05/07/2005, 2:20 PM
Jonathan Ross doing the intro right at the start, going round all the venues. Gets to Italy, and says hello to the "Circus Maximus in Wome"

yes i did, especially thought about the fact it had been posted on the film quotes on off topic just days before. :D

hamish
05/07/2005, 3:35 PM
Hey, wesist wubbishing Woss's speech impediment.

Wather, he should be pwosecuted for the suits he wowe. :D