Bray v Galway 19:30
Treaty v UCD 19:45
Wexford v Cork 19:45
Athlone v Shelbourne 19:45

Saturday 17th

Cobh V Cabo 19:00

sbgawa
16/07/2021, 10:23 AM
Wtih 3 tied at the top and the race to avoid getting pulled into a relegation battle every match has plenty on it.
Dundalk need to win or risk falling to far behind a charging bohs for fourth place.assuming that the top 3 keep going.

First division highlight is probably Treaty against UCD.....fancy UCD to do it but Treaty have been a determined bunch

16/07/2021, 10:36 AM
Nah, our form has gone off a cliff lately. Defenders getting too tight to Kerrigan/Whelan, and the midfield not really stepping into the gaps.

We'll give Treaty a game, for sure, but I fancy them to win it.

16/07/2021, 11:07 AM
European game being on Tuesday and in Wales there are no excuses there, Harps getting deeper in to a rut of bad form, Dundalk improving and at home - if Dundalk dont take 3 points then the season is definitely a bust if it isnt already. That said Im sure Ollie is thinking that this game could stop the rot!

16/07/2021, 12:19 PM
I have zero expectations from the game tomorrow, but then I didn't have high expectations when we won there at the start of the season.

PartySaint
16/07/2021, 1:04 PM
Must win tonight with our next 2 league games being away to Rovers and away to Dundalk.

We scored a last minute winner in Richmond against Drogs the first time around and then they beat us up in Drogheda so it is going to be tight again tonight.

joey B
16/07/2021, 1:12 PM
Fully expect Dundalk to dispatch us pretty easily,we’re at the “might not win another game this season”stage of a Harps league season!!

16/07/2021, 1:18 PM
Fully expect Dundalk to dispatch us pretty easily,we’re at the “might not win another game this season”stage of a Harps league season!!

That really does sound like an Ollie self fulfilling prophecy! (though he would probably have said it match week 1).

joey B
16/07/2021, 1:25 PM
That really does sound like an Ollie self fulfilling prophecy! (though he would probably have said it match week 1).

He was actually pretty positive this week,that’s why I’m worried!!

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=2949277862013399&id=1613321928942339&m_entstream_source=video_home&player_suborigin=entry_point&player_format=permalink

sbgawa
16/07/2021, 6:55 PM
Derry obviously skimped on production for their stream. Poor quality and no comentators....just a banging feckin drum

Calcio Jack
16/07/2021, 7:10 PM
Derry obviously skimped on production for their stream. Poor quality and no comentators....just a banging feckin drum

Not as bad as the rubbish from Rovers - started poorly look lethargic and now one down

sbgawa
16/07/2021, 7:18 PM
And now 2 down. I'm off to the pub.

placid casual
16/07/2021, 7:29 PM
Perhaps Rovers shouldn't advertise how much they liked playing on this pitch. Looks like it hast been watered in weeks, albeit the last few days have been very warm.
Usual clanger from hennessy, never even remotely a peno but there you go.
Good finish by Burkey anyway.

D24Saint
16/07/2021, 7:30 PM

Id say the drum is still better than Siobhan Madigan.

Calcio Jack
16/07/2021, 8:02 PM
Id say the drum is still better than Siobhan Madigan.

Sound is back and so are Rovers - should be a exciting last half hour

16/07/2021, 8:09 PM
Ha!

Typical :)

DCSIL
16/07/2021, 8:44 PM

Scored 4 could have been more when you were on your pints!

placid casual
16/07/2021, 8:46 PM
Fairweather fan!!!😁.

Good comeback from the Hoops- it helps to have quality on the bench.
Now that Rovers have a relatively full squad I'm far more hopeful for the rest of the season and I'd like to think we can "get the train moving" as Aaron Greene said in a recent interview.

sbgawa
16/07/2021, 8:49 PM
Had to change my location to change our luck :)
Great to see kavo back

Jack B
16/07/2021, 8:55 PM
Derry have really let the side down tonight.

joey B
16/07/2021, 9:24 PM
Some turnaround from Rovers in the second half,lucky to be only 1 behind at half time but destroyed Derry after the break…..

2 Year Contract
16/07/2021, 10:22 PM
Pretty comfortable win for Pats tonight. Drogheda looked to play on the counter but didn’t get a sniff at goal really, Jaros in goal watched the game from a deck chair

Calcio Jack
16/07/2021, 10:27 PM
Pretty comfortable win for Pats tonight. Drogheda looked to play on the counter but didn’t get a sniff at goal really, Jaros in goal watched the game from a deck chair

Below is an extract from the match report on RTE ; having already earlier in the season engaged in bizarre taunting of an opposition player from the terrace ( when non essential personnel weren’t meant to be in stadiums) now this …. As Fr Jack might say who let that gob****e out ….. maybe the heat got to him

“Heading pitchside to give his view to LOI TV at half-time, Brian Kerr directed genuine blame towards the stadium announcer and his frequent announcements for impeding on the match’s atmosphere.”

CraftyToePoke
17/07/2021, 3:28 AM
Good win v UCD in Limerick. Four points from Shels / UCD in the last two games having taken one point from that pair of fixtures in the first series.

2 Year Contract
17/07/2021, 8:37 AM
Below is an extract from the match report on RTE ; having already earlier in the season engaged in bizarre taunting of an opposition player from the terrace ( when non essential personnel weren’t meant to be in stadiums) now this …. As Fr Jack might say who let that gob****e out ….. maybe the heat got to him

“Heading pitchside to give his view to LOI TV at half-time, Brian Kerr directed genuine blame towards the stadium announcer and his frequent announcements for impeding on the match’s atmosphere.”

I watched it back after the game on LOITV. A fine rant it was :D

In fairness the announcements were ridiculous, a reminder to maintain social distance and to continue wearing facemasks, literally every 5/10 minutes throughout the entire match. In fairness to the announcer, he was only doing as instructed by the fai/hse officials but it was pretty bizzare given there was no section of people not wearing masks or sticking to their allocated space to stand/sit

17/07/2021, 9:05 AM
Good win v UCD in Limerick.
Yup. 21 goals in our first 7 matches of the season, and 10 in the next 9, of which 3 have been penalties. (Last night's one being particularly soft I thought)

Need to sort that soon or we won't even make the playoffs

17/07/2021, 11:32 AM
I watched it back after the game on LOITV. A fine rant it was :D

In fairness the announcements were ridiculous, a reminder to maintain social distance and to continue wearing facemasks, literally every 5/10 minutes throughout the entire match.In fairness to the announcer, he was only doing as instructed by the fai/hse officials but it was pretty bizzare given there was no section of people not wearing masks or sticking to their allocated space to stand/sit

The announcer in Oriel will be in his element, Christmas early for Mickey! I did laugh myself at it, Bennocelt might even secretly be Brian Kerr!:D

17/07/2021, 3:26 PM
The announcer in Oriel will be in his element, Christmas early for Mickey! I did laugh myself at it, Bennocelt might even secretly be Brian Kerr!:D

Was the same in the Aviva with the stadium announcer too. you cant disguise passion I think Bohs fans are simply trying to create a good atmosphere behind the goal which transcended around whole ground and for the majority of them its their first Bohs game in a year and a half. I know its weird times that we are in at present but the stadium announcer was annoying. Why could the stewards not go in amongst the crowd as I steward at our home matches and I have no issue in telling a few of the lads to spread out and tell them the reason why!

joey B
17/07/2021, 3:50 PM
Dundalk getting a gentle stroll in the sun here,a training game basically…..

total hoofball
17/07/2021, 5:03 PM
Yup. 21 goals in our first 7 matches of the season, and 10 in the next 9, of which 3 have been penalties. (Last night's one being particularly soft I thought)

Most recent 9 games with 16 goals conceded that form would certainly ensure UCD missing the Top 5 at the end of the season

But then Collie O'Neill wasn't good enough for UCD's BOM so zero sympathy for where the club is going

joey B
17/07/2021, 5:08 PM
Harps improved in the second half without testing the keeper enough,should have been game over after the first half really though….

17/07/2021, 7:37 PM
Most recent 9 games with 16 goals conceded that form would certainly ensure UCD missing the Top 5 at the end of the season

But then Collie O'Neill wasn't good enough for UCD's BOM so zero sympathy for where the club is going
On the flip side, we haven't conceded double figures since :)

18/07/2021, 8:34 AM

The difference between this and the first game was night and day. Even though we went 2-0 up, you played us off the park for long periods after that, and it could easily have ended 5-2 if you'd taken some chances, and there was one dodgy offside for a lob.

We've got a lot fitter, and found ways to accack even without McSweeney, and UCD's passing wasn't as good at all.

That said, I thought our first goal was one the keeper should have saved. The cross was just floated in and glanced on, I was surprised he was beaten by it. I didn't tink the penalty was soft actually, defender tried to shepherd it over the line and didn't manage it, then made a rash panicked tackle on a player just begging for the contact to go down.

I thought we'd be in trouble after that, but instead we got right back into it, and even though UCD created a couple of chances, so did we, and I thought we deserved it in the end.

18/07/2021, 11:08 AM
Yeah, I'm assuming the sun didn't help for the opener or something. Commentators mentioned he was wearing a hat, which is rare enough these days actually. (I found it quite difficult to actually watch the game because the camera seemed to be moving about a lot more than normal, and of course the angle is very wide all the time)

Ditto on the penalty I suppose - it looked soft to me, but perhaps a close-up angle would show otherwise. Though I think any award where the player was "just begging for the contact to go down" is going to be soft-ish.

None of which really argues against the overall result; certainly Treaty deserved the win.

sbgawa
18/07/2021, 4:17 PM
Agent Dean williams playing well for Longford who are winning 1 nil at half time at Bohs.
Long second half ahead

sbgawa
18/07/2021, 4:18 PM
jinxed it, im off to the pub :)

DCSIL
18/07/2021, 4:32 PM
Waterford beating Sligo, Cian Kavanagh with a great goal.

18/07/2021, 4:37 PM
16 year old Jamie Mullins got the equalizer against Longford and quite the goal it was too.

sbgawa
18/07/2021, 4:45 PM
St Kevin's doing great work at underage

Jack B
18/07/2021, 5:04 PM
Good day for Pats.

Can see why Harps fans are so worried. Hoping they can have their classic x-game winning streak to close out the season because they'll need it at this rate.

Finlay Harp
18/07/2021, 5:09 PM
I think we are in a spot of bother.

joey B
18/07/2021, 5:32 PM
Waterford definitely look more solid but Sligo were shocking in front of goal,Parkes,Blaney and I think Kenny all missed sitters…

2 Year Contract
18/07/2021, 5:45 PM
Didn’t see either game but that’s a good point for Longford. Must be so disheartening though for them that almost every time they earn a point when they weren’t fancied to do so, Waterford go and get themselves 3 in the same scenario

18/07/2021, 5:50 PM
Draws are not a lot of use to us at the moment but it's a credit to all concerned that the players still fight for every point in every game. A couple of wins from somewhere and we might start to think maybe there's a chance.

18/07/2021, 9:23 PM
Longford did scrap really well and played some good stuff at times, fair play, but Steacy really was the difference between the two teams. Some world class saves, at least 3 or 4. Thought we might have had 3 penalties on another day.

18/07/2021, 11:11 PM
Oh yeah that's absolutely true. But we're always going to need some luck and our keeper to be on top form.to get anything against the top teams, whether they make changes or not. Our main issue is we don't score enough goals to be able to nick a win here and there.

sulywaterfordfc
19/07/2021, 3:16 AM
The managerial appointment changed our season. In the last 7 games we’ve picked up 13 losing 2, in the 7 prior to that we lost 7 scoring 1. The rest of the season will be an interesting battle at the bottom nonetheless. Personally think with our form and incoming players, I’d be optimistic of catching Harps and pulling away from the bottom. It’s the LOI so I’ve no doubt there’ll be a few surprises to come just yet.

Really hard to see anyone other then Longford finishing bottom now too. Players are working their socks off but unfortunately they lack some quality.

PartySaint
19/07/2021, 11:21 AM
Decent weekend of results for Pats, it's a shame Derry are such cowards or it could have been a great weekend.

Pty that Sligo don't have another round in Europe, a couple more Thursday-Sunday fixtures might have costs them more points. It looks like Bohs didn't take Longford serious enough, a lot of changes after Thursday, were Bohs fans annoyed at the starting 11 Long went with?

19/07/2021, 2:11 PM
Harps really need to get the squad fit again. That's been the biggest disruption, the likes of Webster, McEleney, Connolly, Barry, Doherty, Folan (subsequently retired as a result), and Timlin all suffering injury has made a balls of it for us.

There were signs of improvement in the second half against Dundalk, but 2 points from the last ten games has destroyed the confidence. Hopefully we can get a handful of goals and a good performance in the cup this week. It's been the turning point of our season a few years now, so fingers crossed it's the turning point again this year.

sulywaterfordfc
19/07/2021, 8:47 PM
Harps really need to get the squad fit again. That's been the biggest disruption, the likes of Webster, McEleney, Connolly, Barry, Doherty, Folan (subsequently retired as a result), and Timlin all suffering injury has made a balls of it for us.

There were signs of improvement in the second half against Dundalk, but 2 points from the last ten games has destroyed the confidence. Hopefully we can get a handful of goals and a good performance in the cup this week. It's been the turning point of our season a few years now, so fingers crossed it's the turning point again this year.

What sort of impact will the retiring of Folan have on harps?