View Full Version : Drogs bid for Georgie

TommyGaynor
30/06/2005, 10:25 AM
According to breakingnews.ie, they've made a €20,000 bid for him

30/06/2005, 10:40 AM
"Contract for Georgie, contract for Georgie, contract for Georgie, contract for Georgie, contract for Georgie, contract for Georgie, contract for Georgie, contract for Georgie, contract for Georgie, contract for Georgie, contract for Georgie, contract for Georgie, contract for Georgie, contract for Georgie, contract for Georgie, contract for Georgie, contract for Georgie, contract for Georgie, contract for Georgie..."

30/06/2005, 10:41 AM
There are a few more zeros missing off the end of that figure.....:p

kevincronin2000
30/06/2005, 11:14 AM

someone would want to tell drogheda that tomorrow is july 1st not april 1st.

contract for georgie

30/06/2005, 11:17 AM
Well lads you boys have obviously been in the dark down there over the last few months :rolleyes: .

Tbh i reckon he's only using us to get a better deal with cork

kevincronin2000
30/06/2005, 11:38 AM
ya i know that, I heard he even went to Limerick to see how much he could get? Anyway I think it should be sorted by tommorrow hopefully.

30/06/2005, 12:04 PM
Tbh i reckon he's only using us to get a better deal with cork

I think you are right. Big deja vu feeling from last contract deal.

30/06/2005, 12:08 PM
And you can't blame him or any other player for that either, fair play to him, i hope he gets as much as he can get from ye ;) .

30/06/2005, 12:37 PM
I still don't think he'll be going anywhere. (Hopefully :( )

adamd164
30/06/2005, 1:57 PM
I'm glad you're confident Éanna, cos I sure as hell ain't. :(

30/06/2005, 2:23 PM
Whatever about his contract situation, surely City wouldn't accept such a derisory bid :eek:

30/06/2005, 2:38 PM
Whatever about his contract situation, surely City wouldn't accept such a derisory bid :eek:Well if its 20K now or shag all at the end of the season then 20K it should be.

liamon
30/06/2005, 2:52 PM
Well if its 20K now or shag all at the end of the season then 20K it should be.
20k is a small price to pay for a league title.
If we lose both George and Doyle, then I wouldn't be confident of us challenging for the title.

Dricky
30/06/2005, 2:58 PM
If we lose both George and Doyle, then I wouldn't be confident of us challenging for the title.

If we lose Lennox who will pay??

30/06/2005, 3:01 PM
Well Gerge insists "It's not about the money"....
So what is he looking for?

higgins
30/06/2005, 3:45 PM
its not about money!!
yeah right....

I can see him going to the drogs,
If he loved Cork that much he would have already signed Id say.

Say its your final offer and force his hand, no need to spend what you dont have on 1 player.

30/06/2005, 6:29 PM
...... no need to spend what you dont have on 1 player.
or 3 or 4 players......;) :D

30/06/2005, 6:30 PM

If you're talking financially, its actually a significant percentage of the prize money received for winning the League.

If you can afford to turn the cash down, thats a different story.

30/06/2005, 9:55 PM
No chance Lennox would sell George for 20k.

Would make more with 1 extra fai cup gate.

Theres no guarantee Drogs could pay his wages as can hardly fund loses indefintely.

dcnags
30/06/2005, 10:50 PM

Is that not the same price we let steve o flynn go for? Thats a pretty pathetic offer, i know his contract is up at the end of the season, but if he decides to go, keep him in the team, hopefully he can help us win the league and then leave him go. Losing george for thaqt amount of money now,would imo, ruin our season completely.

Remember the trouble we had with finding a good midfield balance before george moved in ther? Now its our strongest position along with goalkeeper.

01/07/2005, 8:28 AM
I think Stephen O'Flynn was 10k, open to correction.

01/07/2005, 11:09 AM
I think Stephen O'Flynn was 10k, open to correction.

Thought it was 20k myself.

George has said a few times that he would like to move back to England and at 25 I guess this is his last chance. If a League 1 team comes in for him I could see him walking (we couldnt really compete with them financially I recon), if not then he will take what he's being offered - more or less - and stay at home.

Its all well and good people saying 'if he is being offered 500 extra a month at Drogs' or what have you, but he has a free house here, so his rent/mortgage alone would wipe that out if he left, so I doubt he would leave.

01/07/2005, 11:46 AM
Derry payed €10,000 for Steve O'Flynn.

Steve is a good player but George is worth 10 times more.

Ruairi
01/07/2005, 11:49 AM
GEORGE HAS SIGNED A TWO YEAR DEAL!!!!

sorry for the cheap plug but it'll be on red fm news in the next few minutes

01/07/2005, 11:55 AM
Smiley McSmilerson.
Bring on the title.