View Full Version : Games Weekend 21st to 24th May

Pages : 1 2 [3]

23/05/2021, 2:35 AM
From Shels first 9 games I can safely say Treaty were the only half-decent opposition we've played. The first division is definitely worse than when we won it in 2019, huge lack of creativity/width in most of the teams and alot of hopeless defending from set pieces UCD being a great example last night for all 3 goals
That's what happens when you drop Rovers II from the league.

24/05/2021, 4:58 PM
FFS!!!!!

Jack B
24/05/2021, 5:19 PM
Absolutely stunned we didn't get a free out for Derry's goal there. Jaros goes to punch it and has his armed grabbed/pulled downwards, seemed a foul regardless without even factoring in that keepers normally get the rub of the green in such cases.

2 Year Contract
24/05/2021, 5:51 PM
Some peak LOI refereeing for Derry's goal there

https://twitter.com/sean_tougher/status/1396883945627820038?s=21

DCSIL
24/05/2021, 6:11 PM
FFS!!!!!

Sounds it

Dalymountrower
24/05/2021, 7:03 PM
Disappointed to concede a goal against that rabble.Should have scored 7.

placid casual
24/05/2021, 7:06 PM
Rovers look horribly unbalanced again, due to injuries of course, but we are limping along to the mid season break it seems. Joey off again after only 5 mins suggests we were desperate to have some experience in the team and took a chance. Sligo have a great chance to get 3 points tonight

DCSIL
24/05/2021, 8:01 PM
Another game where I think “Derry could have won that” but it’s another point. It’s the Youngsters leading the way right now.

Just done some jobs round the house listening to Excellent WLR commentary of Waterford - Harps now watching Drogheda - Longford with some cans.

D24Saint
24/05/2021, 8:03 PM
Another game where I think “Derry could have won that” but it’s another point. It’s the Youngsters leading the way right now.

Just done some jobs round the house listening to Excellent WLR commentary of Waterford - Harps now watching Drogheda - Longford with some cans.

Got the same feeling as on other occasions this year after that , we would have lost that game last season. I’d be happy with the point.

24/05/2021, 8:06 PM
Sligo go top as it stands. Interesting times!

sbgawa
24/05/2021, 8:27 PM
Rovers look really poor, need to get some players back.
Break cant come quick enough, we should still have enough for Longford but i wouldnt count any chickens yet

DCSIL
24/05/2021, 8:29 PM
Supersub again for Drogheda.

Calcio Jack
24/05/2021, 8:40 PM
Rovers look really poor, need to get some players back.
Break cant come quick enough, we should still have enough for Longford but i wouldnt count any chickens yet

Rubbish again from Rovers ...., were getting away with before rake of injuries now one point from nine Bradley needs to sort it soon which I’ve no doubt he will once we get players back -

redarmyfaction
24/05/2021, 8:40 PM
Positive for Shams tonight - They have players to come back from injury.
Negative - They offered zero tonight, I don't think McGinty made a save.

Calcio Jack
24/05/2021, 8:43 PM
Positive for Shams tonight - They have players to come back from injury.
Negative - They offered zero tonight, I don't think McGinty made a save.

We had a number of near misses - deflection in first half from Gannon shot , Burke shot near the end and some other half chances - Mannus aside from the goal also had little to do - was always going to be a tight match and fair play to Sligo they took their chance- anyway now in full on crisis mode but still only one point off the top - considering the length of our injury list

24/05/2021, 8:45 PM
Supersub again for Drogheda.
Mad that Drogheda have scored six more goals than anyone else in the league. OK, they put 7 past Waterford's 19s, but still and all, I don't think anyone saw that coming.

SeanDrog
24/05/2021, 8:49 PM
Mad that Drogheda have scored six more goals than anyone else in the league. OK, they put 7 past Waterford's 19s, but still and all, I don't think anyone saw that coming.

Each game at a time, focus on our process .... steady as she goes .....

joey B
24/05/2021, 8:50 PM
Harps should have scored about 6 tonight,took a penalty to get us back in the game and that man Foley again came off the bench to win it ,Waterford are not good though,the new manager has a job to keep them up.....

D24Saint
24/05/2021, 8:52 PM
Very surprised how flat Rovers were tonight. On the other hand Sligo looking on course for a European spot.

24/05/2021, 8:53 PM
]Mad that Drogheda have scored six more goals than anyone else in the league.[/B] OK, they put 7 past Waterford's 19s, but still and all, I don't think anyone saw that coming.

FFS x FFS!!!

redarmyfaction
24/05/2021, 8:54 PM
There was mention I think of there been limitations to Greene as a striker earlier in this thread, though he is a nice player I felt the same when he was with us and unless ye sign in the window we might have a squeak and the same for Pat's.

Jack B
24/05/2021, 8:59 PM
Bolger brilliant again. Still think he's the best in the league in that role and has been for a good 8 or 9 years. Would have loved to have him back.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
24/05/2021, 9:07 PM
Bolger and Buckley have been absolutely superb for us this season. Great win. Shams were certainly there to be beaten tonight with so many missing but we still had to do it. Cagey enough game and thankfully Romeo took the chance when it came his way.

placid casual
24/05/2021, 9:16 PM
Hoare, Finn & Watts missing has a bigger effect than previously thought, and Sligo deserve to be top based on tonight's performance. Burke has a negative influence on the way Rovers play imo, so hopefully Towell coming in will have a restorative effect on the team. I'm still hopefull that Rovers will ultimately win the league, but I don't see us doing much in Europe this season, if I'm honest.

D24Saint
24/05/2021, 9:27 PM
Still think that Rovers are nailed on for the title. I have my doubts about progress in Europe myself. It will be interesting how all our teams get on. Who is in the Uefa conference ?

Dalymountrower
24/05/2021, 9:33 PM
A great day for football.
Agreed.

redarmyfaction
24/05/2021, 9:53 PM
Sligo deserve to be top based on tonight's performance.

Very magnanimous of you there Placid, that's a first surely?

Jack B
24/05/2021, 11:52 PM
Agreed.

Certainly a big one for Bohs to get a bit of breathing room from the bottom half.

24/05/2021, 11:59 PM
Well done to Sligo - they were more than worthy of the three points and deserve to be top. We need the break badly.

25/05/2021, 12:03 AM
We had a number of near misses - deflection in first half from Gannon shot , Burke shot near the end and some other half chances - Mannus aside from the goal also had little to do - was always going to be a tight match and fair play to Sligo they took their chance- anyway now in full on crisis mode but still only one point off the top - considering the length of our injury list
Our results have covered up that we've been full of nearlies all season. I'd like to see what our actual hit rate is for shots on target because a lot of games we seem to be bashing shots wide from distance so it looks like we're making loads of chances, but we're not making good chances.

DCWA
25/05/2021, 11:18 AM
Rovers should be walking the league and possibly will but they have a clown of a manager

Dalymountrower
25/05/2021, 12:25 PM
Rovers should be walking the league and possibly will but they have a clown of a manager
Oh jaysus not this debate again!

25/05/2021, 12:47 PM
Absolutely stunned we didn't get a free out for Derry's goal there. Jaros goes to punch it and has his armed grabbed/pulled downwards, seemed a foul regardless without even factoring in that keepers normally get the rub of the green in such cases.

Hard to disagree with that. If we were looking to balance it out, Mountney's corner for the first goal was taken from outside the quadrant.

We're having awful difficulty in keeping clean sheets, so to concede two and still come away with a point, we'll take it.

Very entertaining game of football, lots of open play and good finishes for the last two goals.

boynemunich
25/05/2021, 1:47 PM

That's with Dinny getting barely any minutes as well and to be fair to him the times he has played he has looked good think he has 1 or 2 goals. We've recruited seriously well and there were many question marks over the Deegan and O Reilly signings after their season with Shels. Just goes to show how varying environments have an impact on players performances. Not many in the league have been better than those two this season.

Calcio Jack
25/05/2021, 3:37 PM
Our results have covered up that we've been full of nearlies all season. I'd like to see what our actual hit rate is for shots on target because a lot of games we seem to be bashing shots wide from distance so it looks like we're making loads of chances, but we're not making good chances.

Disagree- Burke sums us up , near miss last night , hit post against Duns; or Greene and Scales sitters also on Friday or Gaffney free header last minute away to Sligo to win it...IMO our finishing has being awful this year