View Full Version : Who is the worst?
liam88
27/06/2005, 4:08 PM
[Can we make this a poll please?]
Who is the worst?
FIFA
UEFA
FAI
There's been criticism of all 3 on here in some numbers. Big offences included FAI's neglect of the EL, UEFA letting Lvierpool defend their trophy, and FIFA with banning jersey's and docking Cameroon points for their all-in-one kit (along with the Serbia incident!).
So here's the vote-who is the worst? Remember to keep it proportional as well i.e. arguabley FIFA have more to deal with than UEFA who have more than the FAI.
27/06/2005, 4:13 PM
What's the Serbia incident Liam?
27/06/2005, 4:59 PM
Would shade it to FIFA for thier corruption, just a head of the FAI for being incompident and UEFA for being dominated by the G18 or what ever the big clubs call themselves now-a-days.
liam88
27/06/2005, 7:42 PM
What's the Serbia incident Liam?
Ok I was very young so don't blame me if i get it wrong ;) but if I remember FIFA wanted us to play Serbia (and Montenagro-not sure if this was the name at the time) on the night NATO were bombing. When we wouldn't go FIFA wouldn't give us the points (WCQ) and it turned into a big debate which should never have happend. am not sure if NATO intervened but eventually we got the points.
LAds feel free to correct me ont his-like I said I was about 8 at the time and just remember watching it on Newsround :D
27/06/2005, 8:30 PM
FAI=lack of investment in EL, ignoring EL, Landsdowne Road
UEFA=CL qualification rules, Mourinho incident (Chelsea saying Rijkaard and Frisk chatted at half time, Rijklaard denying it, Chelsea being fined, afterwards investigation comes out saying it did happen)
FIFA=jersey thing, offside rule, restricting celebrations
:mad:
It's hard to choose just the one.......
liam88
27/06/2005, 9:43 PM
restricting celebrations
This gets me! Short of blatent racist/secaterian actions e.g. the air flute or if someone took of their shirt to reveal a swastika t-shirt, and as long as it's not intimidating then it should be fine!
Common sense should be the key. A player scores and bundle with his teammates while pulling his shirt over his head is fine, if he runs up to the opposing fans and gives them 2 fingers he should be booked.....it's not that hard!
What also throws me is the English FA prohibiting any removal of the shirt because some religions are offended by naked flesh. Then in the WC a player can pull the shirt over his head :confused: Don't get me wrong but isn't it strange that a player can do this against a Muslim country such as Iran and not against Everton or Liverpool!
Also who decides the rules on goal celebrations, offside etc. when non-FIFA team e.g Vatican, Tibet, Greenland play
Gerrit
27/06/2005, 9:44 PM
By far UEFA. They raped the Champions League into a league every football fan from a smaller league should boycot. They just give in to every single wish from the rich and the famous and if they could they'd accept the nr 10 from Spain in the CL rather than the nr 1 from Ireland or Malta.
The Champions League IMO is a worthless tournament and I have lost interest, unless it happens to be Rosenborg playing but in general I have lost interest.
Thanks a lot Johansson, thanks a lot UEFA. All fans of smaller leagues (and that includes LOI and NI) should unite and boycot the Champions League, let the English, Italian, German, French and Spanish just organise their own little league ; I don't see why fans from other countries still want to support a league that even ridiculises its own name.
27/06/2005, 9:44 PM
Ok I was very young so don't blame me if i get it wrong ;) but if I remember FIFA wanted us to play Serbia (and Montenagro-not sure if this was the name at the time) on the night NATO were bombing. When we wouldn't go FIFA wouldn't give us the points (WCQ) and it turned into a big debate which should never have happend. am not sure if NATO intervened but eventually we got the points.
LAds feel free to correct me ont his-like I said I was about 8 at the time and just remember watching it on Newsround :D
The state now known as Serbia and Montenegro was called Yugoslavia back then. It was during the Euro 2000 qualifiers. I can't remember the exact details but I do remember talk of Yugoslavia being expelled as they could not fulfill their fixtures. We did play them in November 1999 I think.
liam88
27/06/2005, 9:46 PM
The state now known as Serbia and Montenegro was called Yugoslavia back then. It was during the Euro 2000 qualifiers. I can't remember the exact details but I do remember talk of Yugoslavia being expelled as they could not fulfill their fixtures. We did play them in November 1999 I think.
Ah there we go! Sorry I wasn't to up on my Eastern European Politics back then (only11 by 99) :D Cheers!
27/06/2005, 9:48 PM
Ah there we go! Sorry I wasn't to up on my Eastern European Politics back then (only11 by 99) :D Cheers!
No worries Liamo. I can't remember the football politics side of things surrounding the matter. I do know we played both fixtures against Yugoslavia, losing away and winning at home (was there). At home I think the great Dragan "Pixie" Stojković equalised running to the crowd and shushing us before we went on to win. :D If I recall correctly in the away game we played Cascarino as a lone striker. :o
ciaran76
28/06/2005, 7:30 AM
I think they are all as bad as each other. :mad:
Think the FAI are worse as it effects me more.
FIFA banning t shirts and that is a pain in the arse, but just a symptom of how the game has gone.
UEFA had no choice over the Champions League - the G18 had them over a barrell, and continue to.
FAI does have control over what happens to our league, including TV coverage. They have the thing everyone wants - international games. They fail to use it effectively. They fail to put proper investment into the league, fail to market it. etc etc.
28/06/2005, 7:43 PM
They were still officially Yugoslavia until February 2003 for the record!
No worries Liamo. I can't remember the football politics side of things surrounding the matter. I do know we played both fixtures against Yugoslavia, losing away and winning at home (was there). At home I think the great Dragan "Pixie" Stojković equalised running to the crowd and shushing us before we went on to win. :D If I recall correctly in the away game we played Cascarino as a lone striker. :o
The home game against Yugoslavia was meant to be played in May/June 1999. This was at the height of ethnic cleansing in Kosovo with thousands of people been killed and forced from their homes by the Serbian army.
There was a lot talk of refusing to play Yugoslavia while such atrocites were being commited in their governments name but UEFA said that in such an event Yugoslavia would be awarded a 3-0 victory and that politics and sport shouldnt mix etc etc.
In the end the Irish government stepped in and refused to grant any of the Yugoslav players, coaches and background staff the necessary visas to enter Ireland. Thus preventing any punishment for the FAI and/or Irish team as they were not forced to refuse to play the game.
The game was then played around the following September or so when the political situation had calmed down a bit. Ireland won 2-1 in one of the best games Ive ever attended with Mark Kennedy scoring an absolute screamer of a winner.
FIFA for the most ridicolus rules marginally ahead of the FAI for the ovious.
FIFA for corruption get my vote.
28/06/2005, 11:44 PM
This gets me! Short of blatent racist/secaterian actions e.g. the air flute or if someone took of their shirt to reveal a swastika t-shirt, and as long as it's not intimidating then it should be fine!
Common sense should be the key. A player scores and bundle with his teammates while pulling his shirt over his head is fine, if he runs up to the opposing fans and gives them 2 fingers he should be booked.....it's not that hard!
What also throws me is the English FA prohibiting any removal of the shirt because some religions are offended by naked flesh. Then in the WC a player can pull the shirt over his head :confused: Don't get me wrong but isn't it strange that a player can do this against a Muslim country such as Iran and not against Everton or Liverpool!
Also who decides the rules on goal celebrations, offside etc. when non-FIFA team e.g Vatican, Tibet, Greenland play
Spot on Liam!
Passionate celebrations are becoming a thing of the past, the people making these rules need to cop on..... or are they just idiots :confused: :mad: .. The more I think about it the more I become sure that they are idiots.
Last week -v- UCD Eddie Gormley picked up a yellow card for what looked like a high 2 footed tackle from where I was standing, to think that warrants a yellow yet if you score a brace and remove your shirt both times then your'e off :eek: :mad: , f'n stupidity!
Question: Taking off your'e shirt is a yellow card offence yeah? As is celebrating with the fans (jumping hoardings/ slapping their hands/etc etc)?
So if John O'Flynn scored a goal, removed his shirt and hugged a fan/slapped fans hands behind the goal would he then be sent off for commiting 2 yellow card offences?
liam88
29/06/2005, 7:26 AM
Spot on Liam!
Passionate celebrations are becoming a thing of the past, the people making these rules need to cop on..... or are they just idiots :confused: :mad: .. The more I think about it the more I become sure that they are idiots.
Last week -v- UCD Eddie Gormley picked up a yellow card for what looked like a high 2 footed tackle from where I was standing, to think that warrants a yellow yet if you score a brace and remove your shirt both times then your'e off :eek: :mad: , f'n stupidity!
Question: Taking off your'e shirt is a yellow card offence yeah? As is celebrating with the fans (jumping hoardings/ slapping their hands/etc etc)?
So if John O'Flynn scored a goal, removed his shirt and hugged a fan/slapped fans hands behind the goal would he then be sent off for commiting 2 yellow card offences?
Aye your right. In answer to your question I think it would be a yes-Northern Ireland player who scored against Wales (Healey?) was sent of becaus ehe kicked the corner flag then made the "faggot" sign at the Welsh fans. I'd say the 2nd one warrents a booking but kicking the corner flag is no problem-in WC 2002 David Beckham kicked a £2500 microphone out the way so he had enough space for his corner run up-corner flags are what £50? Bizzare!
I really enjoy goal celebrations and it's really good for the atmosphere-your so right about passionate celebrations slowly dissapeering-sad really. Way to much red tape and buerocracy on things like this that really should be left to common sense....same as kicking the ball away-England U21 player-can't remember who against was called for offside (he wasn't) being 2-2 and having jsut made an amazing run halfway down the pitch he kicked the ball in the net anway-and the ref gives him his second yellow and sends him off! Very strange if you ask me..
29/06/2005, 11:50 AM
made the "faggot" sign at the Welsh fans. No he didn't. AFAIk, it's not a "faggot" sign anyway, but he apparently makes that gesture regularly when he scores and it had nothing to do with the welsh fans
29/06/2005, 11:57 AM
No he didn't. AFAIk, it's not a "faggot" sign anyway, but he apparently makes that gesture regularly when he scores and it had nothing to do with the welsh fans
Didn't he claim he did it to acknowledge his family in the crowd?
29/06/2005, 11:58 AM
It supposed to mean "Go on you boyo" or something, just what I heard. And the section he "aimed" the celebration at contained his family.
liam88
29/06/2005, 4:13 PM
No he didn't. AFAIk, it's not a "faggot" sign anyway, but he apparently makes that gesture regularly when he scores and it had nothing to do with the welsh fans
Oh sorry in Guildford it means "faggot"........of course i'm always worng.
anto eile
29/06/2005, 4:47 PM
teams shuold protest. every time a player scores, the whole team should go mental, and all take their shirts off. now how stupid would the bureaucrats look when games get called off for "over celebrating"
liam88
29/06/2005, 5:13 PM
teams shuold protest. every time a player scores, the whole team should go mental, and all take their shirts off. now how stupid would the bureaucrats look when games get called off for "over celebrating"
:D :D :D nice one!
29/06/2005, 5:34 PM
....Is probably the worst.They seem to be behind in everything from keeping ther site up to date to geeting there own stadium :rolleyes: Also IMO they don't do enough for the Eircom league.
Thunderblaster
29/06/2005, 11:09 PM
It is six to one and half a dozen of the other.
Gerrit
30/06/2005, 6:59 AM
UEFA had no choice over the Champions League - the G18 had them over a barrell, and continue to.
Disagree here. The UEFA is the highest organ. They should show the world who's the boss and that they are not for sale. It should be their damn duty to just show the G18 they can't just get all what they want and that money can not buy anything. As long as non-champions are allowed in the CL the whole world should boycot the tournament IMO.
30/06/2005, 12:35 PM
This taking off the jersey to celebrate is pathetic. How come football survived for over 100 years without the need to take off a jersey when there was a goal ? It's purely an affectation. Do the fans when a goal is scored immediately think I must take off my jersey - never entered my mind once.
There are reasons for the rule (something to do with Muslins and the sight of the body I think). A player knows the rule and I think it is the player who is daft to get booked for a meaningless gesture like taking off a jersey. He knows the rule - stupid to get booked. Numerous other ways to celebrate.
anto eile
30/06/2005, 1:07 PM
1: This taking off the jersey to celebrate is pathetic. How come football survived for over 100 years without the need to take off a jersey when there was a goal ? It's purely an affectation. Do the fans when a goal is scored immediately think I must take off my jersey - never entered my mind once.
2: There are reasons for the rule (something to do with Muslins and the sight of the body I think). A player knows the rule and I think it is the player who is daft to get booked for a meaningless gesture like taking off a jersey. He knows the rule - stupid to get booked. Numerous other ways to celebrate.
1: tens of thousands of football fans across south america take their shirts off for goals,and swing it round their heads.go tell them theyre stupid.
its called celebrating,no harm is done. if the muslim thing is true,then allowing religion to dictate rules for celebrating a goal is stupid. anyway if i take my top off after scoring a goal in the phoenix park how can you justify booking me, because muslems might get offended??!!
2: christ sake theres enough sterilisation of fans going on with out making it worse.youd swear you want to go back to the days where handlebar-mustachioed gentlemen all shake hands very quickly after goals.
liam88
30/06/2005, 11:00 PM
There are reasons for the rule (something to do with Muslins and the sight of the body I think). A player knows the rule
Fair play but as I said earlier....in the World Cup you can pull your shirt over your head i.e. revealing the naked flesh of the body. I'm not being steryotipical here and i'm totally open to correction but i'd say the majority of Iranian players and fans are Muslim. So we've established if you are playing Iran it is perfectly within in the laws of the game to reveal your flesh to a majority Muslim crowd.
However in England you cannot take the shirt of at all! So you can be playing Everton (who I think is safe to say the majority of their players and fans are not Muslim) and get booked for reavealing naked flash.
I know I rambled there but in a nutshell:
No penalty for revealing flesh vs Iran + Yellow card for revealing flesh against Everton= Political Correctness in England gone to far.
Jut my opinion......by the way can a mod make the top post a pool-cheers :D
30/06/2005, 11:10 PM
UEFA have got to be the worst after letting sh*tpool into the champs lge and for running a tourament called the champions league when you don't have to be a champion to play in it
01/07/2005, 10:38 PM
UEFA have got to be the worst after letting sh*tpool into the champs lge and for running a tourament called the champions league when you don't have to be a champion to play in it
Quite right if it was any industry other than football you could take UEFA to court under the Trade Descriptions Act... Champions League... and 4th placed teams involved?... you're having a laugh!
Mayo Red
02/07/2005, 6:10 PM
Also IMO they don't do enough for the Eircom league.
Spot on, the neglect of our own national league by our national body is criminal. It is much of a muchness between each of the three organisations though. In general, major sporting organisations always seem to stumble from one crisis to another, you only have to look at the FA in England or our friends in the Gaa for more examples!