View Full Version : 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup
16/07/2023, 3:30 PM
I'm assuming that it wasn't an official game where players would have received a cap?
It's classed as a friendly on wiki anyway, same as the France game. I've seen it referred to as a training game too, but mostly by the Colombians and I wonder is that just a translation thing (after all, a friendly game is a training game really)
The other teams in our group now will know too up the physicality against us as we don't like it
Loifan_76
16/07/2023, 3:38 PM
It was an unofficial friendly using local officialw. Ireland were going to play two different lineups in each half. Nothing like the French game. It was intended as a warm up training game and the Colombians decided to take out our starting 11 with their reserve team. Dead right to walk and save the players from injury as the tournament starts on thursday.
Very funny to see people commenting about women's soccer with very little knowledge. The USA fans on the NWSL or women's soccer Reddit are still moaning about Ireland's physicality in the US friendlies. We are not a soft team at all, something was off here. Vera and the FAI decided to walk and protect the players, fair enough.
If the same thing happened for the men and someone sent Evan Ferguson to hospital 4 days before the world cup, I imagine the reaction would be different...
Razors left peg
16/07/2023, 3:40 PM
Its not about liking physicality or not, it's about not being stupid in a training game.
I heard Brian Kerr tell a story once about calling off a training game between The Dubs and The Culchies cos Roy wasn't happy being 4 nil down.
I wouldn't trust wiki as the source of it was an official game. I do think that if it was for official caps we'd be rightly open to sanctions for walking off
16/07/2023, 3:52 PM
Wiki can be highly reliable in fairness.
But if, as LoIfan suggests, it was an unofficial game, then I've a bit more sympathy with it alright. But I don't agree this mightn't be used against the team.
(Though I don't agree with the Evan Ferguson comparison - Jason McAteer got a knock against a local side just before the 2002 tournament; we didn't walk off and there was no suggestion we should have)
Razors left peg
16/07/2023, 4:02 PM
Wiki can be highly reliable in fairness.
But if, as LoIfan suggests, it was an unofficial game, then I've a bit more sympathy with it alright. But I don't agree this mightn't be used against the team.
(Though I don't agree with the Evan Ferguson comparison - Jason McAteer got a knock against a local side just before the 2002 tournament; we didn't walk off and there was no suggestion we should have)
Did the player target McAteer and go over top of ball like that? Was the rest of that game stupidly physical where the ref had already given out 2 yellows? We don't know, not all games are the same and comparing it to McAteer is just idiotic.
The U21s walked off against Kuwait recently too, should they have just gotten on with it cos other teams have put up with racism previously?
16/07/2023, 4:25 PM
The Kuwait game is slightly different in fairness, though I do think it would have been better had the ref just taken action. It's what the ref is there for. (Incidentally, Kuwait deny the racism charge, although I don't know how plausible that really is).
Players reffing games themselves is open to manipulation, like that Champions League game where Istanbulspor Basaksehir walked off against PSG on a made-up racism accusation, which covered over the fact they'd been the ones making racist remarks themselves.
McAteer's injury was caused by a really bad tackle by a Cameroon player btw, so I reject your suggestion that the comparison is idiotic. Our opening game was against Cameroon of course.
Razors left peg
16/07/2023, 4:31 PM
At end of day this was about player safety in a meaningless training game. If the manager thought it was best not to risk her players going into a world cup then I don't think any of us keyboard warriors should even be debating it.
As for Kuwait denying the racism, Armstrong spoke about it last week. He said Killian Phillips went nuts when he heard it and Armstrong himself was almost more shocked... I believe him
16/07/2023, 4:55 PM
As I say, I'm far more inclined to agree given it was an unofficial training game. But I generally don't agree with walking off - let the ref sort it. Ditto the racism thing - and I do reckon our guys' story is right, but the Kuwaitis will believe it was just a rough match (their FA's version) and so what have we really achieved? Just send the guy off and get on with it
But let's not pretend the Ferguson comment earlier is realistic. A very similar thing did happened the men's team, and there was no reaction or suggestion we should have walked off.
Razors left peg
16/07/2023, 5:04 PM
Jesus, just because there was a similar incident over 20 years ago doesn't mean anything. If we were playing a WC warm up game today and there were 2 footed challenges flying around and players risking injury the coaching staff would be irresponsible not to call it off. Stop trying to infer that men are tougher than the women so it wouldn't happen. If Ferguson got injured and missed a WC cup we'd all lose our sh1t.
Colbert Report
16/07/2023, 6:19 PM
I am ashamed that we have this woman in charge of the women's team.
Razors left peg
16/07/2023, 6:36 PM
I am ashamed that we have this woman in charge of the women's team.
Why? Cos she expected professional athletes to be in shape and someone got offended that she was called out for being fat? Do better
Colbert Report
16/07/2023, 6:42 PM
Is she the best we can do? She's banned from managing in the USA due to her well-documented abusive behavior, followed by her refusal to cooperate with the subsequent investigation.
We all know we're going to get hammered by Australia and Canada. What's the point in keeping Vera Pauw around when Alex Ferguson wouldn't get us out of the group?
Razors left peg
16/07/2023, 6:51 PM
Is she the best we can do? She's banned from managing in the USA due to her well-documented abusive behavior, followed by her refusal to cooperate with the subsequent investigation.
We all know we're going to get hammered by Australia and Canada. What's the point in keeping Vera Pauw around when Alex Ferguson wouldn't get us out of the group?
Yet she was able to manage against the USA in 2 games recently. She has managed to get us to the WC for 1st time in our history and yet you want to dismiss that achievement?
Her "well documented abusive behavior" sounded like just tough coaching in all the stories in The Athletic that I've read and it very much comes across that a few players who were out of team had a grudge. Let's end a person's career cos she said a professional athlete wasn't being professional enough to not be fat! Alex Ferguson who you mention said much worse to players.
The Irish players repect her and there has been zero allegations of any abusive behavior.
17/07/2023, 7:20 AM
Jesus, just because there was a similar incident over 20 years ago doesn't mean anything.
Course it does. Why on earth wouldn't it?
In not trying to infer anything - you're the one doing that - I'm just trying to reject LoIfan66's point. The McAteer incident explicitly does that
17/07/2023, 9:13 AM
That tackle in isolation doesn't look like much, but who knows if it was in isolation.
We've all been at games where it looks like one team came out to rough the other up - I've no idea, but that may have been the case here, or at least, how the Irish management team viewed things.
A bit of a non-story tbh...apart from Irish people discussing it (understandably) nobody else really seems to care.
Yard of Pace
17/07/2023, 12:56 PM
That tackle in isolation doesn't look like much, but who knows if it was in isolation.
We've all been at games where it looks like one team came out to rough the other up - I've no idea, but that may have been the case here, or at least, how the Irish management team viewed things.
A bit of a non-story tbh...apart from Irish people discussing it (understandably) nobody else really seems to care.
Two yellows in the first 20 minutes is the key aspect to this story, not the video. I imagine that was the last straw. If Colombia kept it up and one of them broke McCabe's leg, Pauw would be getting slaughtered for not ending it sooner.
If Colombia came to kick the Irish players around, what would you learn? Better off having an 11 v 11 on the training ground.
Yard of Pace
17/07/2023, 12:58 PM
To change the topic, poor Megan Campbell's column on RTE Sport is absolutely gut-wrenching. Personally, I would have brought her. If we need a point in the final game you'd love to have her throw-in at your disposal. Hopefully, we get to the Euros next so she can make for the disappointment.
https://www.rte.ie/sport/fifa-womens-world-cup/2023/0714/1394592-still-irelands-no1-fan-after-heartbreak-of-missing-out/
Razors left peg
17/07/2023, 2:00 PM
To change the topic, poor Megan Campbell's column on RTE Sport is absolutely gut-wrenching. Personally, I would have brought her. If we need a point in the final game you'd love to have her throw-in at your disposal. Hopefully, we get to the Euros next so she can make for the disappointment.
https://www.rte.ie/sport/fifa-womens-world-cup/2023/0714/1394592-still-irelands-no1-fan-after-heartbreak-of-missing-out/
To be fair it is probably the right decision. Even if she was physically for the final group game she wouldn't be match fit and chances are we are not going any further. Horrible timing for her but right decision
Colbert Report
17/07/2023, 2:07 PM
This has been on the front page of CNN for the last three days. It is the biggest story in world football. Not a peep on there about Messi signing with Inter Miami. This is a huge, huge news story.
17/07/2023, 2:37 PM
This has been on the front page of CNN for the last three days. It is the biggest story in world football. Not a peep on there about Messi signing with Inter Miami. This is a huge, huge news story.
Maybe in the US version, when I opened cnn.com there's nothing about it, the sports page - https://edition.cnn.com/sport - has Wimbledon, some golf, even the football only has the French viral video and an apology from the Spanish for the Haka, and Messi
Razors left peg
17/07/2023, 2:41 PM
This is 100% false. There's been absolutely nothing about it on CNN or any other media outlet. Seems like Colbert here is trying to take up with Mr Biesla left off.
17/07/2023, 2:46 PM
I suspect that was sarcasm...
Razors left peg
17/07/2023, 3:25 PM
I suspect that was sarcasm...
Poor attempt at it
Razors left peg
17/07/2023, 5:07 PM
Ya know what, I apologize to Colbert. It is on CNN. I couldnt see it on the app this morning but its on the website, buried deep down but it is there.
https://www.cnn.com/2023/07/15/sport/ireland-colombia-friendly-abandoned-osullivan-wwc-2023-spt-intl/index.html
Colbert Report
17/07/2023, 11:48 PM
It was on the front page all weekend here in the USA, no sarcasm.
seanfhear
18/07/2023, 8:37 AM
It was on the front page all weekend here in the USA, no sarcasm.
Was that Hunter Biden's front page ? !
18/07/2023, 9:43 AM
Quick question - should there be match threads for each game Ireland play in the World Cup, or just continue with the single thread for the competition?
weldoninhio
18/07/2023, 9:47 AM
Been at seriously physical games, and played in them. Not once have I seen, or been on a team, that walked off.
18/07/2023, 9:50 AM
Been at seriously physical games, and played in them. Not once have I seen, or been on a team, that walked off.
Were they all friendlies a week out from a world cup?
Not even just a friendly but a glorified training session more or less. England and Canada had similar in which they used roll on roll off subs like it was an u10s game.
Quick question - should there be match threads for each game Ireland play in the World Cup, or just continue with the single thread for the competition?
Probably be easier to keep all the chat in one thread but I'd say individual threads for Ireland matches.
Crosby87
18/07/2023, 2:54 PM
Looking at some odds...Ireland +20,000 (US) to win it all!
Where are group odds
Razors left peg
18/07/2023, 3:01 PM
Played in training games for a team a few days out from a world cup have you?
Razors left peg
18/07/2023, 3:02 PM
https://www.theplayerstribune.com/posts/the-story-of-an-irish-underdog-by-katie-mccabe-01h5j9mgrjd1
Good read here about Katie McCabe
Crosby87
18/07/2023, 5:40 PM
Well, by Katie McCabe.
Eminence Grise
18/07/2023, 9:27 PM
There was a time you used to be a moderately entertaining troll, but it's a long time ago.
Colbert Report
19/07/2023, 12:59 AM
Looking at some odds...Ireland +20,000 (US) to win it all!
Where are group odds
I see Ireland at 256/1 at Pinnacle. Are you sure you're reading the odds correctly? I'd also like to see the group odds. Obviously Canada and Australia will both get at least six points from the Ireland and Nigeria matches.
elatedscum
19/07/2023, 1:27 AM
I see Ireland at 256/1 at Pinnacle. Are you sure you're reading the odds correctly? I'd also like to see the group odds. Obviously Canada and Australia will both get at least six points from the Ireland and Nigeria matches.
I think 20,000 is the US way of writing 200/1 or something like that. It assumes you bet $100, what your winnings would be (or how much you’d be +)
Colbert Report
19/07/2023, 2:06 AM
It is true, my mistake. I'm a little too familiar with how gambling odds work, just misread the post. 200/1 would be good value for Ireland to get more than three points in the group.
19/07/2023, 11:15 AM
There's no given that Australia beat Ireland tomorrow. The last meeting between the sides was less than two years ago where Ireland won 3-2 in Tallaght.
Snoop Drog
20/07/2023, 1:43 AM
There's no given that Australia beat Ireland tomorrow. The last meeting between the sides was less than two years ago where Ireland won 3-2 in Tallaght.
True, although the Australian team is probably stronger than the one in Tallaght. And home crowd etc. But I agree it's not a given. I think we need to score to snag a draw as the Aussies are strong going forward.
I am in Sydney and going to the game tonight. There appears to be plenty of Irish in town and hopefully they'll be heard among the 80,000 expected tonight.
gastric
20/07/2023, 2:24 AM
True, although the Australian team is probably stronger than the one in Tallaght. And home crowd etc. But I agree it's not a given. I think we need to score to snag a draw as the Aussies are strong going forward.
I am in Sydney and going to the game tonight. There appears to be plenty of Irish in town and hopefully they'll be heard among the 80,000 expected tonight.
Enjoy the game. The Australians will come out all guns blazing. I think we need to weather the initial storm and then grow into the match. We will certainly frustrate the Aussies who like to counter attack as we play so defensively. A win would be brilliant as the hype over here resembles what you see in England when their teams play. Nauseating! Go the girls in green!
CraftyToePoke
20/07/2023, 3:14 AM
We've had time to think what this game will look like. If you look at Ireland’s games lately against top teams, there’s no coincidence that have been really, really strong at the beginning of both the first and second halves. But also it's no coincide that they’ve conceded goals late in each half - especially when it comes to tactics and behaviours of one or two players that we’ve identified.
"We hope to strike against those tomorrow. I’m not going to say what but there’s a clear trend there we’ll target.
https://www.rte.ie/sport/fifa-womens-world-cup/2023/0719/1395318-aussie-boss-targets-clear-trend-of-irish-weaknesses/
What a ****. C'mon YGIG.
21/07/2023, 7:56 AM
Canada-Nigeria finished 0-0 earlier this morning, with Nigeria having 19 year old midfielder Abiodun sent off. It's not a bad result for us, it still means we have to get something off Canada on Wednesday.
28/07/2023, 3:29 PM
Did some checking on the recent claims about the times that the team concdede. The Australian coach might have been on to something
01/08/2023, 1:16 PM
Collected player statistics from the group games
01/08/2023, 11:09 PM
I only watched the first game in earnest, I thought the team were solid in defense, had midfield bite but that's where it ended, more madness than method with what passed for offensive play. It looked like there was no plan for selecting the opportune time to go forward and if the counterattack was on, how to get up in support and keep shape..
I could only half watch the game v Canada, I didn't think the Canadians were close to being the team that they hyped up to be but I didn't see enough as to how Ireland let the second half go. It's the first tournament, gained a misery point. However failing to impress at a WC finals is not the end of times, close the book on it, move on to the nations league in september and then secure qualification for the 2025 Euros.
Snoop Drog
09/08/2023, 12:21 AM
I only watched the first game in earnest, I thought the team were solid in defense, had midfield bite but that's where it ended, more madness than method with what passed for offensive play. It looked like there was no plan for selecting the opportune time to go forward and if the counterattack was on, how to get up in support and keep shape.
Even if this is based on the first game, Ireland's play was consistent with that view across all three matches. They valued defensive shape over counterattack opportunity. I didn't see a lot of their qualification campaign but 4 goals conceded in qualification and 6 clean sheets suggests sitting deep is a core part of the team (apologies if I am stating the obvious here because I don't think anyone expected them to go all out, gung-ho, in attack). When they needed to get a goal (when they were behind vs Aus and Canada; and when Nigeria were sitting deep themselves happy with the draw) there wasn't really a Plan B beyond being defensively sound.
Still, a credible first WC campaign and they won many friends over here in Australia with their play (tough hard tackling play appeals to the Australia psyche as much as it does to the Irish!) and the fans, as always, gave a great account of themselves.
22/08/2023, 2:52 PM
Katie McCabe's Olimpico against Canada nominated for Goal of the Tournament - https://play.fifa.com/gott/
Vote early, vote often
weldoninhio
29/08/2023, 9:10 AM
Pauw for the bullet today :encouragement::encouragement::encouragement:
Fixer82
29/08/2023, 10:20 AM
They played really well against Australia and the penalty was a bit soft.
That was the game plan and we were shown up in the end but did ok with a limited pool of talent.
Pauw was the darling of Irish soccer a few months ago. Now people have the knives out.
I think she’s handled herself very well.
I don’t think Katie McCabe has.
That zip face emoji tweet was terribly immature