View Full Version : Matches weekend 7th -9th May

Pages : 1 [2] 3

Dalymountrower
07/05/2021, 9:25 PM
Jaysus the clowns hanging on to the fence to see the match was a terrible look. Where were the stewards?

sbgawa
07/05/2021, 9:27 PM
Jaysus the clowns hanging on to the fence to see the match was a terrible look. Where were the stewards?

You cant blame the stewards when the guards are standing right there

SeanDrog
07/05/2021, 9:33 PM

Agreed ... it’s not a Dundalk FC issue it’s a Gardai Public Heath issue.

People have missed family funerals due to number limits etc but the Gardai just watch on here ... sigh

redarmyfaction
07/05/2021, 9:39 PM

Bad look for the league, all the minky clobber on the boys the fence, state of them.

Yossarian
07/05/2021, 9:57 PM
Eeesh, dundalk are absolute gash..
It's only my 2nd time this season watching a full game with them, but they are all over the shop.
Sligo look lively I must say, and are very easy on the eye to watch, especially with Gibson & Kenny up front. Bolger is an absolute steal of a signing- very astute by Liamo.
Dundalk played like 11 fellahs who met up in a pub car park for a charity match with nothing on the line and no consequences to their actions. It looks like the actual tea lady is taking their training, if that performance was anything to go on. Its got to the stage now where performances like that will have dundalk playing relegation playoffs to stay in the division, which when you consider the money being blown on their squad is just mind boggling.

Can’t argue with any of that. We are an absolute shambles on and off the pitch. The departures and arrivals in the off season were terrible and that’s what happens when you have a clueless chairman who is being influenced by a wannabe super agent.
Aside from that, the players need a hard look at themselves. There was no urgency or professional pride on display. At least when we were poor in 2012 the players were limited and not exactly we’ll paid. It really grates knowing that this squad is getting paid so much for these woeful performances. I can handle poor performances and defeats when you know that everyone has given their all but this another level altogether.

Dalymountrower
07/05/2021, 10:39 PM
When you are on the boundary wall you are on the property, not a Garda issue unless the club asks them to assist with removal of fthese skangers.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
07/05/2021, 10:56 PM
People are not supposed to be gathering like that anywhere in the country so the Garda who was standing right beside them should have done his job

On the pitch good win for us but Dundalk are an absolute shambles. Thought Buckley should have gotten red in the first half.

Bucket
07/05/2021, 11:19 PM
People are allowed to meet each other outdoors. Healthier than gathering indoors to watch a stream

08/05/2021, 12:43 AM
Safely, in limited numbers and socially distancing??! Yeah you are right better outside than crowded indoors, likely safer but not safe - yet, and all that gobbing through a megaphone, attempts to get chats going well I hope they werent 'singing' in each others direction....meh maybe I dont care, maybe a dose of reality would be no harm for them, maybe we should quit with caring and experiment with public health safety, sure where's the harm, only a bit of fun after all......

08/05/2021, 6:25 AM
Agreed ... it’s not a Dundalk FC issue it’s a Gardai Public Heath issue.

People have missed family funerals due to number limits etc but the Gardai just watch on here ... sigh

Wow, some amount of moaning minnies on this site, like grumpy old men. You must have had a right melt down with the traveller funeral the other day, lol. But dont worry six weeks to flatten the curve and all that:rolleyes:

08/05/2021, 7:43 AM
Have you an actual point, or do you think covid is like a Jurassic Park dinosaur - if you don't believe in it, it can't harm you?

2 Year Contract
08/05/2021, 10:07 AM
Waterford playing the u19s tomorrow so Lee Power can lump money on Drogheda.

Or due to Covid concerns if you want to believe the official line.

Fixed that for you ;)

trevy
08/05/2021, 11:07 AM
Careful now with that!
A lot of fans are not buying the club's statement. Only 2 players were a close contact of a confirmed case so why does the whole squad have to miss the game when they were tested and were negative? Did the club get independent advice from the FAI or HSE on this? What is the protocol is these cases? There has been a huge amount of money bet on this game over 50000 as per a screenshot on social media from a local journalist as the news obviously leaked about the senior squad not being available before the official statement came out. A lot of questions and the club will need to be more forthcoming to restore any bit of trust in them from the fans.

08/05/2021, 12:09 PM
Brian Murphy has come out and said the players were advised by the FAI not to play.

sulywaterfordfc
08/05/2021, 12:29 PM
One of the biggest problems at the club, no offence to the bloke. But the media officer needs changing to, club has gone very amateurish on the socials and these type of statements cause more problems then good. Personally I’ve heard there two cases in the squad with the first team close contacts. The fact Murphy needed to clarify speaks for itself

sulywaterfordfc
08/05/2021, 1:00 PM
Careful now with that!
A lot of fans are not buying the club's statement. Only 2 players were a close contact of a confirmed case so why does the whole squad have to miss the game when they were tested and were negative? Did the club get independent advice from the FAI or HSE on this? What is the protocol is these cases? There has been a huge amount of money bet on this game over 50000 as per a screenshot on social media from a local journalist as the news obviously leaked about the senior squad not being available before the official statement came out. A lot of questions and the club will need to be more forthcoming to restore any bit of trust in them from the fans.

The club needs rid of Dunphy. Things wouldn’t be plain sailing under Power without Dunphy but we’d survive. Also the media team needing looking at too, these ridiculous statements are an embarrassment and cause nothing but trouble. The best thing Power could do now is cease Dunphys involvement. Then bring in someone to work along side Burke to run the club.

To hear Dunphys name associated with the club boils me blood never mind the ****show he’s turned the club into. A ‘commercial director’ that brings in little local sponsors because some businesses want nothing to do with the club whilst Dunphy is involved. I’d imagine some of the potential new managers wouldn’t want to work under him either. Power sacked the management to try save the season, if he wants to save the club for a second time he needs to get rid of Dunphy.

Things went to **** when Fenlon left.

Jack B
08/05/2021, 4:19 PM
Starting to see how thin of a squad we have once we pick up a few knocks. Starting XI is strong but not much on the bench that you could really see making a huge impact with Benson, Burns and Barrett all appearing to be out. Hopefully all will be grand anyway 🔴⚪

08/05/2021, 5:27 PM
The club needs rid of Dunphy. Things wouldn’t be plain sailing under Power without Dunphy but we’d survive. Also the media team needing looking at too, these ridiculous statements are an embarrassment and cause nothing but trouble. The best thing Power could do now is cease Dunphys involvement. Then bring in someone to work along side Burke to run the club.

To hear Dunphys name associated with the club boils me blood never mind the ****show he’s turned the club into. A ‘commercial director’ that brings in little local sponsors because some businesses want nothing to do with the club whilst Dunphy is involved. I’d imagine some of the potential new managers wouldn’t want to work under him either. Power sacked the management to try save the season, if he wants to save the club for a second time he needs to get rid of Dunphy.

Things went to **** when Fenlon left.

Things may be more like a travelling carnival at Dundalk and Waterford the circus - both entertain i suppose.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
08/05/2021, 5:42 PM
That equaliser has been coming in Inchicore

Nah Nah Nah Nah
08/05/2021, 5:50 PM
Pats keeper lucky he hasn’t cost them another goal. Spilled the ball 3 times.

SeanDrog
08/05/2021, 5:50 PM
Waterford 0-5 Drogs half time - I’m guessing we will bring our young lads from the bench on for the 2nd half.

08/05/2021, 5:52 PM
Waterford with only 5 subs; presumably a protest against the refereeing treatment of their U17s :)

Is Bohs 10-1 UCD the record?

08/05/2021, 6:02 PM
Waterford with only 5 subs; presumably a protest against the refereeing treatment of their U17s :)

Is Bohs 10-1 UCD the record?

Yeah believe so pineapple

SeanDrog
08/05/2021, 6:15 PM
Looks like Bohs found their mojo at last Bohs 3-0 harps 54min

trevy
08/05/2021, 6:25 PM
One of the biggest problems at the club, no offence to the bloke. But the media officer needs changing to, club has gone very amateurish on the socials and these type of statements cause more problems then good. Personally I’ve heard there two cases in the squad with the first team close contacts. The fact Murphy needed to clarify speaks for itself

The club has now said there was 1 positive case. Why wasn't that in last nights statement? There were more questions than answers caused by that statement so I agree that the quality of these statements is poor. 5 0 down at half time and looks like we'll have to play the under 19's again next weekend. Could we just concede the game next week I wonder?

Straightstory
08/05/2021, 6:59 PM
Chris Lyons subbed by Drogheda with half an hour to play. Denied the chance of a hat trick as well as the opportunity to become the league's top scorer. Also one of the few games he hasn't had to play with his back to the opponents' goal being constantly fouled. Must be a tad frustrated.

Jack B
08/05/2021, 7:02 PM
We absolutely blew that </3

Calcio Jack
08/05/2021, 7:04 PM
Fantastic by Mandriou great work rate and sublime finish to secure yet another late late win.... plus Manus with yet another wonderful save... tough on Pats

joey B
08/05/2021, 7:07 PM
Beaten at half time today,far too easy for Bohs...

sbgawa
08/05/2021, 7:08 PM
Huge win for Rovers, big difference between being 2 points clear after drawing with pats or 5

placid casual
08/05/2021, 7:13 PM
I think the phrase is "THAT'S why we're Champions".
Hope Kerr enjoyed that, the mouthy €##€.
Danny starting to fulfill his potential, now that he's at a club that wants to win things.
Pat's have clearly improved from last year, but their squad appears light without the likes of Benson.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
08/05/2021, 7:43 PM
Thought Pats did well in the second half and keeper looked suspect for the winner. No one is going to get within an asses roar of Shams.

08/05/2021, 10:56 PM
Bohs were good tonight, but Harps were absolutely dreadful. First half was as bad a 45 as I've seen under Ollie Horgan. We got it totally wrong, but we'll have days like that.

sulywaterfordfc
09/05/2021, 2:26 AM
The club has now said there was 1 positive case. Why wasn't that in last nights statement? There were more questions than answers caused by that statement so I agree that the quality of these statements is poor. 5 0 down at half time and looks like we'll have to play the under 19's again next weekend. Could we just concede the game next week I wonder?

The media manager posted a gif this morning which was being thrown under a bus with the message happy Saturday. Assuming he was made publish the statement despite the inaccuracies and lack of disclosure as a result he’s receiving backlash.

Probably within the clubs best interest to give a walkover. Regroup and go ahead to following week with the first teamers. It’s a disgrace the FAI backed the club into a corner. The third choice first team keeper was on the bench, supposedly he wasn’t match fit to play as he’s had an injury in recent weeks but the club only had one other available keeper.

ToberonaTornado
09/05/2021, 3:13 AM
Bad look for the league, all the minky clobber on the boys the fence, state of them.

IF they'd been up to state something - like HULSIZER OUT - I'd have agreed with them but theiir whole purpose/exercise seemed to be hey look at us with cans and a megafone 🔊 (https://emojipedia.org/speaker-high-volume/) ABSOLUTE TOOLS

CorribsideSteve
09/05/2021, 7:24 AM
IF they'd been up to state something - like HULSIZER OUT - I'd have agreed with them but theiir whole purpose/exercise seemed to be hey look at us with cans and a megafone  (https://emojipedia.org/speaker-high-volume/) ABSOLUTE TOOLS

Also a reflection on the state of young people's grammar ability. Everyone under the age of 20 thinks "would of" is a real, logical and normal phrase to use, so their attempt at spelling his name is no surprise. That being said, if all of Dundalk's problems boiled own to scattered groups of illiterate eejits making a show of themselves, the overall outlook would look a lot rosier. I hope some sort of normality develops there, sooner than later.

09/05/2021, 8:14 AM
IF they'd been up to state something - like HULSIZER OUT - I'd have agreed with them but theiir whole purpose/exercise seemed to be hey look at us with cans and a megafone �� (https://emojipedia.org/speaker-high-volume/) ABSOLUTE TOOLS
You think protesting a football club owner is an appropriate reason to flaunt guidelines during a pandemic?

ToberonaTornado
09/05/2021, 8:42 AM
Also a reflection on the state of young people's grammar ability. Everyone under the age of 20 thinks "would of" is a real, logical and normal phrase to use, so their attempt at spelling his name is no surprise. That being said, if all of Dundalk's problems boiled own to scattered groups of illiterate eejits making a show of themselves, the overall outlook would look a lot rosier. I hope some sort of normality develops there, sooner than later.

Oh,the grammar police are in again.Fuq all to say bar make noise!
https://tenor.com/view/young-man-harry-enfield-kathy-burke-lovely-wobbly-randy-old-ladies-talking-gif-17169699

ToberonaTornado
09/05/2021, 8:44 AM
you think protesting a football club owner is an appropriate reason to flaunt guidelines during a pandemic?

yes i do

09/05/2021, 9:22 AM
Really is hard to fathom that sort of ignorant mindset that would place something so trivial over wider public health tbh.

ToberonaTornado
09/05/2021, 9:31 AM
Wider public health says he grasping his pearls. Always one for the big headline Pineapple Stu.
Move on from UCD and grasp life before it passes you by. I have an mba,i'm not really good at da englush but i get by with what i have.This is Foot.ie? Right?

ToberonaTornado
09/05/2021, 9:45 AM
On the match,Dundalk weak as water against a fairly poor Sligo side who were under orders to shoot at Cherrie whenever the chance arose.They got that that chance and took it and i think Cherrie could have done better. Deffo red card (sorry if saying deffo offends the corribside steve the wee petal) for Bucks but Dundalk are so poor they couldn't muster anything after his sending off bar a few off target shots. Sligo deserved the win,we hopefully can bounce back v Harps next game.But poor display from Dundalk,every player poor.

Calcio Jack
09/05/2021, 9:45 AM
Wider public health says he grasping his pearls. Always one for the big headline Pineapple Stu.
Move on from UCD and grasp life before it passes you by. I have an mba,i'm not really good at da englush but i get by with what i have.This is Foot.ie? Right?

Does the above qualify as the most laughable/egoistical/ignorant post we’ve seen in years..... perhaps the writer is suffering from some form of long Covid that hasn’t yet been indentified?

ToberonaTornado
09/05/2021, 9:53 AM
Does the above qualify as the most laughable/egoistical/ignorant post we’ve seen in years..... perhaps the writer is suffering from some form of long Covid that hasn’t yet been indentified?

Thankfully i'm not suffering from any covid illness but i'll keep you updated on my health if you really want me to.
PM,DM,Grindr,Tinder,POF - you name it,we got it ;)

09/05/2021, 10:09 AM
It's depressing in a way - and it's not the first time it's been seen on this forum. Nigel_harps talking about Harps fans gathering "for right or for wrong" (there's no "for right" about it). sbgawa suggesting lockdown should be lifted to help mental health issues. bennocelt thinking covid is just some "moaning minnies". It's no wonder we're still recording another few hundred cases every day. It's an interesting insight though into the utter selfishness of so many people.

ToberonaTornado
09/05/2021, 10:33 AM
It's depressing in a way - and it's not the first time it's been seen on this forum. Nigel_harps talking about Harps fans gathering "for right or for wrong" (there's no "for right" about it). sbgawa suggesting lockdown should be lifted to help mental health issues. bennocelt thinking covid is just some "moaning minnies". It's no wonder we're still recording another few hundred cases every day. It's an interesting insight though into the utter selfishness of so many people.

You know,this post makes me very sad because you're disrespecting peoples views in so many ways. The pandemic is not over but we are seeing the end of it and we should be jubilant in some way that it is. I'M no Covid denier, but ffs we're about to open up the country and tg for it.Your basing this on a throw away comment i made about about a few rebel fans at a Dundalk match. Oh holy jaysus and giddy god! Cop on Stu before you lose all influence here.

DCWA
09/05/2021, 11:07 AM

What complete and utter high and mighty pretentious crap.

09/05/2021, 11:50 AM
What complete and utter high and mighty pretentious crap.
And I'm sure you've a good point to back that up with...?

09/05/2021, 11:56 AM

Glad to be lumped into the list there. Nice generalisation of a post. I don't agree with anyone gathering outside a ground, so you can step down there for a minute.

09/05/2021, 12:18 PM

That is the one that grates most with me 'I would of been at Oriel' etc. Obviously taking from the sound of would've - if kids are thought the whole 'their/there where/were whether/weather stuff at school do teachers get accused of being grammar nazis? That all said a few teacher friends say they get whole essays in text talk up to 6th year. Its especially cringe when banners are done up and displayed with basic errors. Typos happen but ffs like! Anyway that rant over.

I was impressed with St Pats, a team and squad still in the building phases. Without the ball the work rate was excellent and it disrupted Rovers for good spells when trying to get their passing game going. Pats also strung phases of possession together but mixed it up too with the odd ball over the top of a high Rovers defensive line though I think Rovers have enough pace to generally cover. At minimum the out ball by Pats gave a fighting chance for the front man, similar to Sligo on Friday where pressure was lifted with a smart ball to a player who could hold it up just enough to be a nuisance, let players up to support and had a good rate of winning a corner from this. Take note Dundalk!! If you are going to hoof then at least put it out for a throw, and squeeze for territory, yup its that basic at Oriel at the moment.

Benson is the sort of players that you really miss when not in the team as a lot of his play is off the ball keeping opposition busy and creating space - would have suited for the way the way the game was so compact yesterday. The notable difference between Rover playing out from the back and Dundalk's 'efforts' was the pace of playing along the back before looking to go forward with runners all over the place giving options. Prior to the equaliser defenders were playing in the Pats half with few clipped in 50/50 balls in from deep with no real angle. For obvious reasons Rovers are playing with belief, no panic, and sticking to a game plan in contrast to Dundalk when chasing a game the tactic is just to empty the bench with more or less like for like so no real changing things up. Even with injuries, playing 10 men sitting in then go 3 at the back - Murray was doing a lot right finding space in the hole but rarely got the ball and so all too predicable. Sligo had so much time they were able to treble up on Duffy and Kelly at times, should have left gaps to exploit centrally but nope, ball goes back to Cleary to lob it in. Ugh this post is as all over the place as DFC...