View Full Version : Weekend Matches 9th April to 13th

Pages : 1 2 [3]

11/04/2021, 6:24 PM
Great piece Nigel some celebration from Paul Hegarty. Didnt realise that he went to celebrate with his players.Who was doing commentary with Des Curran?

11/04/2021, 6:40 PM
Paul Hegartys celebration for the second is just wonderful. Extra angles make things much better.

Ollie will give the sack if he get too enthusiastic!

11/04/2021, 6:49 PM
Great piece Nigel some celebration from Paul Hegarty. Didnt realise that he went to celebrate with his players.Who was doing commentary with Des Curran?

Kevin McHugh was on co-comms.

11/04/2021, 7:43 PM
Harps are a good side full stop.
Could they do a Leicester ???

Could be one of those years, where everyone is waiting for them to run out of steam and they just don’t. Don’t honestly expect them to win it, though no one will want to visit Ballybofey. If they were to make Europe (at the risk of getting ahead of ourselves :beauty::D:) they surely wouldn’t be able to play in Finn Park. The Brandywell or the Showgrounds I guess ?)

sbgawa
11/04/2021, 8:51 PM
Tallaght stadium sell out roared on by s combined rovers harps crowd.
Finn harps v ac Milan.....

sidewayspasser
11/04/2021, 9:01 PM
... and Ollie sent to the stand after 5 minutes ...

Dalymountrower
12/04/2021, 8:58 AM
Tallaght stadium sell out roared on by s combined rovers harps crowd.
Finn harps v ac Milan.....

it is a unique skill to roar on a team while patronising them and their fans.

placid casual
12/04/2021, 9:02 AM

Tell that to your hipster fan base.

sbgawa
12/04/2021, 9:04 AM

What's so patronising? Plenty of Rovers fans have a big affinity for Harps for lots of reasons.
for instance
a) Harps supported us when we needed it in the past
b) Harps welcome Rovers fans to Ballybofey and treat us like humans.

Harps would get a big genuine support if they played in Tallaght.

12/04/2021, 9:38 AM
I’ve been following Harps for nearly 30 years. More bad days than good. Always looked on with envy at other clubs playing in European competition. The camaraderie and stories of away trips always entertained me. I would die a happy man to go and watch us somewhere in Europe. I’d take 3rd place now if you offered it.

You know well we would somehow draw Institute.

And lose.

lofty9
12/04/2021, 10:05 AM
You know well we would somehow draw Institute.

And lose.

Well, they are the best team in the city at the moment!

Dalymountrower
12/04/2021, 10:08 AM
What's so patronising? Plenty of Rovers fans have a big affinity for Harps for lots of reasons.
for instance

Yeah, I recognise the codependency. It would be an interesting Psychological study. A companion piece would be the more recent Bohs /Hipster urban legend

12/04/2021, 10:10 AM
for instance

SDCC looking for a new tenant? They obviously only want the champions!

12/04/2021, 10:21 AM
Yeah, I recognise the codependency. It would be an interesting Psychological study. A companion piece would be the more recent Bohs /Hipster urban legend

Yeah, Shels/Bohs would be an interesting one too! A companion piece could be on if 'you cant sell your home twice move the neighbours in (and sell their home)'.

Dalymountrower
12/04/2021, 10:29 AM
Yeah, Shels/Bohs would be an interesting one too! A companion piece could be on if 'you cant sell your home twice move the neighbours in (and sell their home)'.

Every body needs good neighbours...with a little understanding etc.;)

The plastic bucket codependency might be another coming down the Great Northern Railway track soon enough?

12/04/2021, 12:31 PM
https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soccer/soccer-news/covid-biggest-fear-managers-season-23897967.amp?utm_source=twitter.com&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=sharebar&__twitter_impression=true

12/04/2021, 1:29 PM
Every body needs good neighbours...with a little understanding etc.;)

The plastic bucket codependency might be another coming down the Great Northern Railway track soon enough?

You could well be right - how far down the track has always been the question!

Hulky
13/04/2021, 10:01 AM
4-0 now. Disaster.

Only 4 shots on target for Drogheda. Four out of four? Can this be true? Zero shots off-target. That's reported on ScoreAxis.
Flashscore reports 5 shots on target, 1 off.

sbgawa
13/04/2021, 7:41 PM
2 nil at half time, Rovers always looked comfortable but Derry had one chance at nil nil and hit the post.
Good to see O Neil , Murphy and Gaffney and Watts all starting .
Hard to see Derry coming back now but they did come back from 2 nil down in Tallaght the season before last

D24Saint
13/04/2021, 8:34 PM
Derry have plenty of the ball in the closing minutes but not really making Rovers worry to much. It looks like its a long year ahead for DC.

placid casual
13/04/2021, 9:21 PM
What a goal by Burke. Once the 2nd went it, it was fairly comfortable for Rovers. Good to see Pico back out on the pitch. Hoare looks a really good addition to the team-cheers dundalk!
Derry will struggle unless they can get in a competent manager who can organise the young kids in derrys squad. Parkhouse looked disinterested and seems a waste.
Onto the culchie boez at the weekend and the steady climb back to the top of the league

13/04/2021, 10:24 PM
What a goal by Burke. Once the 2nd went it, it was fairly comfortable for Rovers. Good to see Pico back out on the pitch. Hoare looks a really good addition to the team-cheers dundalk!
Derry will struggle unless they can get in a competent manager who can organise the young kids in derrys squad. Parkhouse looked disinterested and seems a waste.
Onto the culchie boez at the weekend and the steady climb back to the top of the league

Ye know what the say about rats jumping ship (not meaning to say Hoare is a rat!!).

mcgonigle
14/04/2021, 9:59 PM
Hoare is a good player, very athletic and looks to have started well at Rovers. He will make mistakes though, especially against better teams, not that he has to worry about that in this league.

He won't take you to the next level though. While most would have liked to keep him not too many Dundalk fans were upset when he went. Now obviously this was when we thought the club was trying to move to the next level and not drop to local summer league level. Death, taxes and a successful LOI club imploding....

15/04/2021, 1:52 AM
Hoare is a good player, very athletic and looks to have started well at Rovers. He will make mistakes though, especially against better teams, not that he has to worry about that in this league.

He won't take you to the next level though. While most would have liked to keep him not too many Dundalk fans were upset when he went. Now obviously this was when we thought the club was trying to move to the next level and not drop to local summer league level. Death, taxes and a successful LOI club imploding....
Bohs fans said the same about Lopes, to be fair.

placid casual
15/04/2021, 7:11 AM
McGonigle, I can see your point about Hoare against quality opposition - He got done a few times in the arsenal game last year, I think. He's a solid LOI player who will hopefully help us retain the title, and if that happens, job done I'd say.
The "next level" involves Rovers being involved in European leagues on a regular level I guess, and with this currebt team that remains to be seen.

I'm guessing Duffy will be available by seasons end as well, yes?

Dalymountrower
15/04/2021, 9:09 AM

I like Lopez, his 4/5 years staying with Bohs when he was paid sweet fa, does him a lot of credit. I was sorry to see him go, I particularly liked him play as defensive midfielder. He is without a doubt an improving player, more than good enough for this league, but whether he can take Rovers "to the next level" remains to be seen.
Can`t believe that Dundalk fans were indifferent about Hoare going, quality player.!

mcgonigle
15/04/2021, 9:12 AM

Agreed, Lopes has come on great, but that next level was winning the league. We were doing that when Hoare came in.

As PC says the next level is progression in Europe that's where Hoare and Lopes (and most LOI) players will struggle

mcgonigle
15/04/2021, 9:17 AM
I like Lopez, his 4/5 years staying with Bohs when he was paid sweet fa, does him a lot of credit. I was sorry to see him go, I particularly liked him play as defensive midfielder. He is without a doubt an improving player, more than good enough for this league, but whether he can take Rovers "to the next level" remains to be seen.
Can`t believe that Dundalk fans were indifferent about Hoare going, quality player.!

The indifference came from him making mistakes in Europe. At the time we were spoilt and thinking about how we can take the next step in Europe to be close to group stages each year. Hoare is not at that level and to be fair there aren't many at Dundalk who are/were or in the league overall.

Quality player in this league but if you're winning the league consistently what is the next level for progression?

15/04/2021, 11:04 AM
I'm guessing Duffy will be available by seasons end as well, yes?

Duffy wants to have a 2nd pop in the UK but not below championship maybe upper level L1. Getting the year extra out of him I think was more to do with who made offers more than Dundalk making a big offer. If his choice was to be Dundalk after a mediocre season or Rovers having retained the title he could move but both would be trumped by offers from elsewhere regardless of how many kitchen sinks are thrown in his direction.

placid casual
15/04/2021, 12:36 PM
It appears, from the outside anyway, that the dundalk team will be broken up at season's end- I couldn't see Duffy staying next year so was curious where he might go. If the well worn path to perfidious albion is his choice, then cest lá vie I guess. He's a tidy player who could carve out a decent career for himself anyway.
Your man Jamie McGrath is doing well in Scotland I see, so he's a good example.
Assuming the dirty jam tarts get promoted next year we'll get to see how McEniff gets on in a half decent league.

15/04/2021, 1:54 PM
It appears, from the outside anyway, that the dundalk team will be broken up at season's end- I couldn't see Duffy staying next year so was curious where he might go. If the well worn path to perfidious albion is his choice, then cest lá vie I guess. He's a tidy player who could carve out a decent career for himself anyway.
Your man Jamie McGrath is doing well in Scotland I see, so he's a good example.
Assuming the dirty jam tarts get promoted next year we'll get to see how McEniff gets on in a half decent league.

Im not sure broken up is the right term, stalwarts cycled/pushed out. Seems we have a number of signings/trialists on the way in when they quarantine. Why or who is responsible is a mystery but some agent is getting a wedge identifying targets. Doesnt seem to be very logical for the football types so very possible not their doing!