View Full Version : Funny ways you have lost or broken your mobile phone
onenilgameover
21/06/2005, 2:41 AM
In the sunshine lying on the grass at REM on Sunday...not a care in the world...when I recieve a text..and update from the Dublin v Wexford game methinks...I answer it...Dublin and Jayo have just scored a goal...I couldn't really care to be honest...I go to reply when plop the ****er slips outta me hand and into me pint of Miller.... :mad: Boo!
Anyone got anymore stories....?
21/06/2005, 7:50 AM
Anyone got anymore stories....?
Walking a girl home from a club and stopped for a "rest" on someones garden wall. Got a little carried away and she knocked me over the wall and into the garden. My back on the deck, my legs still up on the wall and her on top of me. We picked ourselves up and went off.
Woke up the next morning and couldn't find my phone.
Retraced my steps and found it covered in muck in the flower beds of the garden. Of course, being summer in Ireland, it had lashed rain during the night. The phone never worked properly again. :(
21/06/2005, 8:07 AM
Got a little carried away and she knocked me over the wall and into the garden
sounds like most of the birds you "pick up". ;)
21/06/2005, 8:54 AM
just noticed it was missing one day and phoned it from the landline to see if it was about the house. heard a faint ring and buzz from the utility room where I'd just switched on the washing machine ...then it stopped.
it had just gone in the hot wash with my football gear :o
21/06/2005, 9:12 AM
phoned it from the landline to see if it was about the house.
it had just gone in the hot wash with my football gear :o
It's never a good idea to wring your clothes! :D
Babysis
21/06/2005, 9:25 AM
Was very drunk in O rafferty's a long time ago. Put my phone on the side of the sink, but being drunk, managed to knock it straight into the sink which was full of wet tissues and water :o
Never worked again after that. :(
Also in o Rafs, was drinking with Pat O banton in the early evening and had left my phone on the table while i went to the bar. A begger came in, distracted Pat and my phone was gone :mad: but it was £1 a pint so I had a good place to drown my sorrows :D
21/06/2005, 9:26 AM
Not me, but the brother got a 3210 a few years ago, and wanted to see if the vibrations would break a pint glass. So he put it on top of the glass, and rang it from the land line. Of course, if he emptied the pint glass first it would have been better!!
21/06/2005, 9:42 AM
was drinking with Pat O banton in the early evening and had left my phone on the table while i went to the bar.
take out the part about your phone and that seems like a typical evening drinking with pat. :)
21/06/2005, 9:48 AM
Was at a house party when i was living in Maynooth way back, this random fella was off his tits and started jumping about like a lunatic. He picked up my phone which was on the table and threw it against the wall. my mate who's house party it was, immediately pinned him against the wall, demanded he pay me back for my phone and threw him out! :mad: my current phone has a very well placed crack in the bottom corner of the screen, by colliding into a printing machine at work, my phone was in my pocket while i was carrying my cuppa....
21/06/2005, 9:48 AM
thats a funny one tests doh!!
a mate over here has those builders phones and he was throwing it out of the top floor in his house onto the ground and it wouldnt break, dropped it in a pint glass and it wouldnt break, fooked it against a wall and it wouldnt break, so one of the lads grabs it and says ill break it and stamps on it. hehe i dont think it broke, but he did have to get a new phone :D
i once dropped mine down the toilet, it was the older version of the builders phone above, and it still worked!!!!
Drumcondra Red
21/06/2005, 9:57 AM
Thankfully (touch wood I won't) I've never actually lost or broken a phone but every 2 years or so, my phone decides to turn itself off and thats the end of that!
Gareth
21/06/2005, 10:38 AM
In Supermacs on O'Connell Street. I was just in there to avail of the toileting facilities. I was in the cubicle and I was removing my jacket. Unfortunately my phone was in the pocket and as the jacket was raised up it slid out of my pocket. It hit the toilet rim and slid round a lil and came to a stop. Filled with relief I went to grab it, hit the lid accidentally and Splash!!! Into a bog in supermacs. I have NEVER lost my sim card in the 10 years I have it so without thinking, hand plunged in after it. At this point I thanked my habit of flushing the toilet instantly as I walk in. Still, I washed my hand many many many times after. Phone was half broken but I bought a new one as I would never ever feel happy putting it to my mouth/ear again.
Someone robbed my phone, I was drunk, saw it happen and due to the fact I had the same sim for 9 years at the time, ran after them. I wrestled the phone back and walked away. Little did I know his mates were around the corner. Had a bit of a face re-arranging take place but I emerged, covered in blood and with cuts inside my mouth and on my face and a busted nose, but with my phone :) At this point I'd like to point out, that was an utterly stupid thing I did.
Eire06
21/06/2005, 10:44 AM
I had my bag with my phone in it robbed from a pub in Galway city centre..
Two days later I had a call to my house phone, some farmer who lived nearly 50 miles away found one of his sheep eating my bag in his field :D the phone was the only thing left in it so he brought it back home to charge it and found a home number in it and rang me.. Some people are so good :D
Was a bit pi$$ed off cause the bag was worth far more than the phone.. and was half chewed so he threw it away!! Never really go over loosing that bag :(
21/06/2005, 11:00 AM
Someone robbed my phone, I was drunk, saw it happen and due to the fact I had the same sim for 9 years at the time, ran after them. I wrestled the phone back and walked away. Little did I know his mates were around the corner. Had a bit of a face re-arranging take place but I emerged, covered in blood and with cuts inside my mouth and on my face and a busted nose, but with my phone At this point I'd like to point out, that was an utterly stupid thing I did.
i notice you edited the post, to include that last line, i dont know whether or not you did that after reflecting on ways you could copy your sim details to your computer ( easier than running 10 yards after that guy ) or because you realised how stupid it is when all you really lose is peoples numbers. either way you seem to realise how lucky you were and how stupid you were. fair play.
eire06 id say the sheep felt the same way afterwards!
Gareth
21/06/2005, 11:05 AM
I had my bag with my phone in it robbed from a pub in Galway city centre..
Two days later I had a call to my house phone, some farmer who lived nearly 50 miles away found one of his sheep eating my bag in his field :D the phone was the only thing left in it so he brought it back home to charge it and found a home number in it and rang me.. Some people are so good :D
Was a bit pi$$ed off cause the bag was worth far more than the phone.. and was half chewed so he threw it away!! Never really go over loosing that bag :(
Are you suspecting the sheep too? How that Sheep managed to go unnoticed in Galway City and then travel back 50 miles to his farm is STUNNING!!!
Gareth
21/06/2005, 11:08 AM
either way you seem to realise how lucky you were and how stupid you were. fair play.
Its rare I really ever do stupid things that endanger me, but I was just so mad at being robbed that I just reacted. Anyways you live and learn.
Into a bog in supermacs. I have NEVER lost my sim card in the 10 years I have it so without thinking, hand plunged in after it.
No phone is worth that.... :eek:
Haven't broken a phone as such. Just batteries going, but by that stage I'm usually due an upgrade anyway... Just got one, so now I've entered the camera and video phone age - right up to date I am :D
steven17
21/06/2005, 11:09 AM
was in a friends house party,absolutly l@ngers and got a txt from the missus while standing over the bog,went to reply(even doe i had no credit) and dropped the phone down the bog,had just got my phone back from repair,
a well.
21/06/2005, 11:09 AM
Are you suspecting the sheep too? How that Sheep managed to go unnoticed in Galway City and then travel back 50 miles to his farm is STUNNING!!!
Maybe her date that night dropped her back home? ;)
21/06/2005, 11:10 AM
eire06 id say the sheep felt the same way afterwards!
Once again Paul shows his concern for the sheep over the lady.
When my mate had his phone stolen out of his pocket, we were thinking of ways to harm the theives.
Wouldn't it be cool if you could ring a special number and the phone would explode! Ok maybe just a dye pack or give an electric shock. :D
Just got one
What did you get?
Eire06
21/06/2005, 11:13 AM
Well in Galway we do get a lot of visitors for Mayo, Roscommon and Longford and they tend to bring their dates... so its not uncommon to see a few sheep about at a weekend :rolleyes:
21/06/2005, 11:17 AM
Maybe her date that night dropped her back home? ;)
Or maybe the sheep was her date? :D :D
Just a joke Eire
What did you get?
Nokia 6230, €80 with the upgrade option I had...
anto eile
21/06/2005, 1:35 PM
only time i ever lost my phone i think
was in pub all day bout 12 straight hours. left well after last orders, got chipper threw it at the pub door, got a taxi got out of taxi round the corner from my house, at which point i reaised i was lost.and very tired,so went asleep under a lamp-post, was woken by some oufella sometime later. asked me am i ok, said i was, and continued home,turned out i was only across the field from my house. woke up next day missing my mobile,with no notion of where it might be. later that day my then girlfriend got a text from my number saying "your boyfriend lost his phone in my husbands taxi", and she met the taxi drivers wife later that day and got it back. great stuff
21/06/2005, 1:58 PM
your boyfriend lost his phone in my husbands taxi
hmm, reading between the lines but surely you dont have your girlfriend in under:
"my girlfriend"
so how did she know to txt your girlfriends number???!?!?!? :confused: ;)
poohbear by any chance?
21/06/2005, 1:58 PM
i once dropped mine down the toilet, it was the older version of the builders phone above, and it still worked!!!!
I found that too. Takes a bit of drying out, but it'll be grand after a day or so.
Broke my first phone throwing it at my brother (he had just woken me up for about the 5th time that afternoon), missed his head, hit the wall, smashed all over the place. Kept turning itself off after that. :(
This was a phone that survived being dropped on a road, breaking into pieces and skidding across 3 lanes of traffic and all.
Next phone I broke playing snooker (a lesson for everyone). Leant against the table too hard, crack. Screen got broke, couldn't use it.
Apart from that my phones have decided to die from time to time, the Carphone Warehouse must know my face by now, I've used my phone insurance that many times.
soccerc
21/06/2005, 2:48 PM
Bathing the youngest back in the days of yore, I'd had the phone (Nokia 5110, probably best ever) in my shirt pocket and leaning over the bath in plopped the phone to my annoyance and literally a shock to the young lad as the battery discharged.
Don't care if Mythbusters say it doesn't/can't happen - it can and it did!
was goin out in my car and had the fone (5110) in my pocket, it must have fell out of the pocket as i got into the car, without noticing i reveresed out of the driveway and over the fone. Screen was cracked but it still worked a treat until i could afford a new one.
Also dropped another fone i had and cracked the cover. Had Eircell insurance on it so put in a claim, said it rang and with the virbration it fell off the table, the suckers believed it and i got a new fone out of it...
21/06/2005, 3:37 PM
I was walking along with my mate when his phone slipped out of his hand. He tried to "catch" it on his foot but ended up drop kicking it about 10m.
Being a Nokia, the covers flew off as soon as it touched the ground, making it look like it was completely destroyed.
It clicked back together and seemed to work ok but the screen kept losing power. He was close to tears, the poor fella. :D
21/06/2005, 7:28 PM
My brother and a few of us coming out of a bar in Belfast, completely rat-arsed one night, he got a call from the girlfriend. Of course, he had taken the unfinished pint outside with him in his inside coat pocket :rolleyes: . Chatted to her for a while then went to put the mobile back inside his coat, forgot about the pint and dropped it right into the pint of Bud :eek: :rolleyes: . Gaaabsh!te!!! :D Luckily my other brother's friend worked in a mobile phone shop and got him a replacement on the cheap .......
21/06/2005, 9:05 PM
Only ever had the one phone. No humorous situations. Once at the 17 bus stop in UCD I dropped it on the corner of the kerb and it smashed into all its individual pieces. Cover, battery, SIM card, key pad. Got a few looks of "the poor *******" as I scampered after my pieces to reassemble it. :o
hamish
21/06/2005, 10:05 PM
It's never a good idea to wring your clothes! :D
:D :D :D
sylvo
21/06/2005, 10:12 PM
[QUOTE=PAURO 7]Was at a house party when i was living in Maynooth way back, this random fella was off his tits and started jumping about like a lunatic.
You should have just sent him down to the Leinster arms or the night club in the Glen Royal, he would have fitted in there very well, or just stick him on a 66 bus and tell him to get off in Liexlip if he wants to behave like that. :eek:
aido_b
21/06/2005, 10:23 PM
This happened to a friend of mine, I thought it was class!We were heading home one evening having been out on the beer in Dublin, my pal always heads for a kebab as soon as we leave the club whereas a few of us will wait outside till we're all together and then head home.
We were walking home when we spotted my friend and his kebab across the Liffey leaning over the boardwalk eating his kebab so we rang him to tell him to wait there whilst we ran around to him. Now his phone was the motorola ones that have the flip screen so when he (in his drunken state) went to flick open the phone to answer it he flicked it straight into the Liffey. The funniest thing was that there was about 10 of us across the Liffey ****ing ourselves larfing at him! :D
anto eile
22/06/2005, 2:52 PM
hmm, reading between the lines but surely you dont have your girlfriend in under:
"my girlfriend"
so how did she know to txt your girlfriends number???!?!?!? :confused: ;)
poohbear by any chance?
i assume she read my messages, and from reading certain ones it was quite clear who my girlfriend was:D
also had a phone that survived being thrown in a rage across the road ad smashing into pieces, front/back cover separating,battery and simcard all over the place,put it back together and it worked grand
jofyisgod
22/06/2005, 3:22 PM
Was in Istanbul last month for 'that match!!'
What match?
Never lost my phone, but i left it out in a storm one night, luckily a leaf had landed on it (ridiculous, i know) and sheltered it from much of the rain. It got a good clean out and all! :D
Someone robbed my phone, I was drunk, saw it happen and due to the fact I had the same sim for 9 years at the time, ran after them. I wrestled the phone back and walked away. Little did I know his mates were around the corner. Had a bit of a face re-arranging take place but I emerged, covered in blood and with cuts inside my mouth and on my face and a busted nose, but with my phone :) At this point I'd like to point out, that was an utterly stupid thing I did.Similar thing happened to me when I was living in Spain. I was walking down the street talking to someone on the phone, just as I hung up, two young moroccan lads came over and asked me could they borrow my phone to make a call cos they had no credit. I (obviously) said no, and walked off, but they followed me and backed me into a corner of a square I was walking through. One of them tried to grab the phone out of my hand and we were trying wrestle it off each other, then the other fella started pulling a knife out of his jacket. When I saw the knife, I just said "ok, ok, take the phone." Just as i said it, the other guy loosened his grip on the phone so I grabbed it and ran like mad. It was pretty stupid of me, total red mist reaction, but I'd only bought the phone 3 days beforehand cos I'd lost one in a taxi on the way home a week beforehand, so I was NOT giving up another one!
22/06/2005, 3:42 PM
got chipper threw it at the pub door
Exactly the type of behaviour I've witnessed from anyone called "Anto" ;) :D
onenilgameover
22/06/2005, 4:44 PM
Was in Istanbul last month for 'that match!!' Was on the fone 2 my Dad when the penos were flyin in and when Shevchienko missed I threw it miles up in the air! Dunno what my Dad thought but I found it when I was leavin the stadium later on in pieces with screen etc all smashed up bout 200 metres form where I was sitting!! Wel worth it though!!!
Are you the same Liverpool fan that through his phone at Rooney at Anfield? :)
Nempton
24/06/2005, 3:36 PM
I'm glad to see that I'm not the only bloke who's ever dropped his phone into a toilet :D
When I was in my first year of college I got a mobile phone (a Phillips one) for the first time as part of some deal with AIB. I was drinking in Dolans pub in Limerick. I was out for the 'one' drink and had to go to the toilet. I was wearing a hoodie and had the phone in the front pocket. I was in a cubicle, flushed the toilet and turned to leave and the phone just flew into the toilet. Thankfully it wouldn't flush, the only time I'll ever say that and I reached in without thinking and retrieved it. The phone didn't work so when I went home later that night I put it on a radiator. A few days later it was working. One week later I'm back in Dolans just for the 'one' again and had to go to the toilet. Not wanting to put my hand in the toilet for a second time I put the phone on top of the toilet. As I flushed the toilet and turned to leave I remembered the phone, I reached out to grab it and ended up knocking it into the toilet. Once more it was a case of hand in the toilet and let it dry on the radiator. But alas this time the phone was dead. So I did the only thing I could do, I sent it back to Phillips and told them that for some strange reason my phone stopped working. I got a new phone of them and I got to keep the same number I had. After that I never dropped a mobile phone into a toilet ever again. True story :D
24/06/2005, 3:38 PM
I'm glad to see that I'm not the only bloke who's ever dropped his phone into a toilet :D
When I was in my first year of college I got a mobile phone (a Phillips one) for the first time as part of some deal with AIB. I was drinking in Dolans pub in Limerick. I was out for the 'one' drink and had to go to the toilet. I was wearing a hoodie and had the phone in the front pocket. I was in a cubicle, flushed the toilet and turned to leave and the phone just flew into the toilet. Thankfully it wouldn't flush, the only time I'll ever say that and I reached in without thinking and retrieved it. The phone didn't work so when I went home later that night I put it on a radiator. A few days later it was working. One week later I'm back in Dolans just for the 'one' again and had to go to the toilet. Not wanting to put my hand in the toilet for a second time I put the phone on top of the toilet. As I flushed the toilet and turned to leave I remembered the phone, I reached out to grab it and ended up knocking it into the toilet. Once more it was a case of hand in the toilet and let it dry on the radiator. But alas this time the phone was dead. So I did the only thing I could do, I sent it back to Phillips and told them that for some strange reason my phone stopped working. I got a new phone of them and I got to keep the same number I had. After that I never dropped a mobile phone into a toilet ever again. True story :D
LOL, thats what this thread is all about. that is quite funny.
Gerrit
25/06/2005, 3:49 AM
Also a true story...
My ex cell phone is at the bottom of the Irish Sea :eek:
Me and a few other expats at work went a day to Dalkey. One of us got the brilliant idea of climbing the cliffs, but not via the path up, we would actually climb the rocks ourselves in true cliffhanger-style. Kinda scary experience as I have vertigo, but somehow they kept me going for a while, and when I decided it was a bit too scary I was already too far off-shore to go back on my steps. We all reached the top without damage (except for a knee injury of mine, but it was not that bad and healed in a few days) except... I wanted to text the girl I was chasing about what I was doing, she was also heavily into travelling so I thought I'd tell her about my cliffhanging experience. I sent a text while standing on a more or less flat rock and then continued my way up. Apparently I forgot to properly close my pocket after putting the phone back in... The phone fell out and by the time I had reached the cliffs top, the phone was already on the bottom of the sea :eek:
true story, I swear ! My colleagues can all confirm...
liam88
27/06/2005, 4:15 PM
My brother buys a new phone-the rubebr Nokia one that is splash resistant.....downt he pub a couple of nights later and a bit the worse for wear:
Bro: My phne is water proof
Mate [to barman]: Can I have a pint of water please
Plop......
Bro: See it'll be fine
Mate: Cool
:D :D
dortie
28/06/2005, 12:05 PM
Coming back from a game in Dublin with quite a few in me, i was sitting in the front of a 25 seater that had a dash with a little grove for putting things into (like a phone), i also used the same 'grove' for a can of Bud, 20 minutes into the Journey i looked to see my can had disapeared, and after looking a little more discovered the little grove fill to the brim of bud and my mobile at the bottom of it :rolleyes:
I dried my phone with a hairdryer :D next day and it worked again...weird but true.
Gareth
28/06/2005, 12:48 PM
When I was in my first year of college I got a mobile phone (a Phillips one) for the first time as part of some deal with AIB.
When I joined college the deal was for 2 cuppa soups and a condom. (with one or two other "survival" substances. To from that to a phone in a hadful of years, means in another few years it will be a 100% mortgage and a car loan :).
28/06/2005, 12:59 PM
When I joined college the deal was for 2 cuppa soups and a condom.
We got Pot Noodle but no condoms. :(
Babysis
28/06/2005, 1:09 PM
I got £50 or a 5 year rail card - saved me a fortune.
all the usual freebies then at the freshers fairs, condoms, pot noodles, mugs,lighters, lollipops anything to get students attention :D
We got Pot Noodle but no condoms. :(
We got condoms but no pot noodles :D
Think we also got a rough map of Sligo that only showed the college,
4 lights, the Leitrim Bar and Equinox nite club.
I went back to college a few years ago to finish my degree in AIT as a
"mature" student and got a tenner in a new bank account and a voucher for
a free meteor fone. Although had to go to Tullamore to get the fone so I
wasnt arsed!
As for loosing/breaking phones, I lost my 1st Nokia 5110 a few hours after
getting it. Either lost it in pub or niteclub or somewhere enroute!
Last time I broke one was a few months ago. Had fingers in a splint cos I
broke them playing footie. Phone rang while I was going into a cubicle in a
pub, tried to get phone with left hand (splinted) cos Im citiog, as I fumbled
it fell towards the bowl, but my cat like reflexes caught it in my right hand
before it hit the pan ... few hours and pints later ... exact same thing
happened, except my reflexes wernt what they were earlier in the night ...
28/06/2005, 2:57 PM
We got condoms but no pot noodles :D
That'll be government policy to stop mid-landers from reproducing and starve them to death! :D