View Full Version : Genesis Reporter Meeting, All welcome

20/06/2005, 2:11 PM
Well we are having another meeting if anyone is interested in coming along, the more the merrier! :)

O'Neils on Suffolk St Dublin, Thursday, 6:30. I'll prob have a green Cork City shirt on, Im sure some other lads will have shirts on too so thats how you can spot us if you're a newbie.

See ye'all there.

Junior
21/06/2005, 9:06 AM
I won't be at the meeting, but best of luck with this project . We've been crying out for a decent fanzine for years, a bit of humour, profiles and articles on past games and players, youth teams, the inner workings of the fai,fan profiles, letters pages etc...

all the best with it!

21/06/2005, 9:55 AM
Also have my doubts over that other ahem fanzine, you boys in green, looks like one of those free magazines that the star has, ads for the star and also was handed out by one of the radio stations , think it was fm104, not much of a fanzine buzz with it tbh

Finally got to see the genesis reporter, was alright but could be better, for 1 euro though it was worth it :)

21/06/2005, 10:30 AM
was alright but could be better

You have a chance to make the next one better.
Do something constructive about it!

21/06/2005, 10:48 AM
Finally got to see the genesis reporter, was alright but could be better,....

you know where the meeting is on if you've got ideas to offer ;)

Junior
21/06/2005, 11:36 AM
Is there an email address where people could suggest ideas or send letters for publication? It would be useful for those who can't make meetings etc...

One idea for a fan profile. The girl (not sure if she posts here, but does post on the Bigsoccer forum "maiko99"). A Japanese girl, lived in Galway for a while and follows the boys in green all over. Seen her in Moscow, but I know she's travelled to many other games. Its a bit of a different type of fan - would be interesting to to other fans I'd say.

21/06/2005, 12:32 PM
You have a chance to make the next one better.
Do something constructive about it!

I gave many ideas to Pineapple Stu after a good few points - i cant remember them and i doubt he can either - i might pop down for the craic with my briefcase and my copy of the business post :D

21/06/2005, 1:28 PM
I gave many ideas to Pineapple Stu after a good few points -
'Twas about three points, wasn't it?! ;)

Can't remember them though...you're right!

Will try and head down, but finishing off the next STIG is going to be a higher priority if it comes to it, I'm afraid...

21/06/2005, 2:12 PM
Is there an email address where people could suggest ideas or send letters for publication?

genesisreporter@yahoo.com
or a PM to Mr McClure :)

Cowboy
22/06/2005, 9:30 AM
Yes I've met that young lady, very interesting story.

Is there an email address where people could suggest ideas or send letters for publication? It would be useful for those who can't make meetings etc...

One idea for a fan profile. The girl (not sure if she posts here, but does post on the Bigsoccer forum "maiko99"). A Japanese girl, lived in Galway for a while and follows the boys in green all over. Seen her in Moscow, but I know she's travelled to many other games. Its a bit of a different type of fan - would be interesting to to other fans I'd say.

Mento
22/06/2005, 2:07 PM
Cosmo just to let you know that it was not handed out by any radio station. A girl who is friendly with the three of us involved and works for 104 said she would help us distribute them as we had 15,000 which is quite a lot but we never took her up on the offer.
You say that it looks like a free mag from a newspaper, well we're glad it looks like a professional job.
We got adds from the star because we approached them and other newspapers for ads.
Just to add that there will be no ads from the star for the next issue against Italy or any further issues, after the pic fiasco.
The glossy colour look gives fans the chance to send us pictures which we will publish and the colour gives it a much better look.
You complain because it looks well, that's an extra advantage (looking well, easy on the eye) and i don't think anyone can argue with the content of it, which has received excellent reviews.
We have received a huge amount of e mails which will be published in our letters pages and rants section.
We will also be up to 48 pages (hopefully) for the French game when again the fanzine will be given out free.
A Fanzine is there, as was said in the previous post, for humerous stories etc (which we had in issue 1.)
It is also a chance for the fans to have their say, which they can, simple as that.
So any rants or issues that will be printed in the next issue (15,000 of them, free) send them to contact@youboysingreen.ie

22/06/2005, 6:07 PM
'but we never took her up on the offer.'

Then who were all the chicks giving them out :confused: (and from what i remember they were all wearing the same clothes, but could be wrong)

'Just to add that there will be no ads from the star for the next issue against Italy or any further issues, after the pic fiasco'

Good to hear, fair play ;)

'You complain because it looks well'

not that it looks well, just think it looks too like the free star magazines. Sorry, but im more used to the EL fanzines :o

Im not having a pop at ye - I'm just giving ye what my honest first impressions were of it. Like fair play, it looks well and all that but i just had some reservations about it in the way it was handed out, star ads, looking like one of the free mags, etc.

But anyway, fair play :)

Mento
22/06/2005, 6:22 PM
I'll hold my hand up, getting ads of a paper wasn't the best move we made. All the chicks are friends of ours.
We are popular blokes!!!
We all drink together and they agreed to help us out, and they really enjoyed it so you should be seeing them again.

Mento
22/06/2005, 6:23 PM
PS. they were wearing green youboysingreen.ie t shirts
we got 50 made up and the sub even took a load off us for the lounge girls

Drumcondra Red
23/06/2005, 8:46 AM
not that it looks well, just think it looks too like the free star magazines. Sorry, but im more used to the EL fanzines :o

But anyway, fair play :)

Did you get a copy of the Genesis Reporter? Did youboysingreen not say that it will usually be €2? Whats the profits going on???

23/06/2005, 8:57 AM
'Did you get a copy of the Genesis Reporter?'

Yes - whats the big deal :eek:

Mento
23/06/2005, 1:14 PM
YouBoysInGreen is free for the foreseeable future, ads cover printing and other costs.
Feel free to send in pics and rants - contact@youboysingreen.ie

Bald Student
23/06/2005, 1:56 PM
I read both fanzines at the game and I thought both were very good.

They cater for differnet segments of the market. One had a lot of eL news and was printed in the traditional eL fanzine style. The other had pub reviews and other items of interest to fans of the foreign leagues and was printed in colour and glossy like english fanzines usually are.

Perhaps some cooperation between the two could be in order. What does anyone involved think? I've noticed on this site that some people are getting posted issues of one fanzine, would including a copy of the other in the same envelope increase postage costs?

We're running a little off topic though. Perhaps a new thread?

onenilgameover
26/06/2005, 10:33 AM
Perhaps some cooperation between the two could be in order. What does anyone involved think?

The youboysingreen one looked like it was produced by the star alright but...it was well done all the same and credit has to be given there...I didn't get to read it...I just glanced at it and lost it soon after. As far as I can tell though the Genesis reporter will try to highlight and look towards fixing problems in Irish football and not be so ''media or consumer firendly'' as the youboysingreen apeared to be. When people are handed stuff out like the way they did at the Israel match....in the shirts and all....they're appeared to be some catch...ie someones benefiting financially from it...while the Genisis Reporter looked like a few lads went to a bit of effort to write and produce something. Apearences howver can be deciving and fair play to both groups for setting both fanzines up....

Mento
27/06/2005, 12:24 PM
Trust me OneNil, a serious amount of effort went into YBIG, thats why it looked so good. There was 32 pages in it and a lot of articles.
And there was no financial gain, we lost a few quid actually. they were handedout by friends of ours, and no there is no catch, it is a free mag for the fans.

onenilgameover
27/06/2005, 2:20 PM
Trust me OneNil, a serious amount of effort went into YBIG, thats why it looked so good. There was 32 pages in it and a lot of articles.
And there was no financial gain, we lost a few quid actually. they were handedout by friends of ours, and no there is no catch, it is a free mag for the fans.

I'm not doubting the effort and congrats again for that...my point is appearences can be decieving and thats why people may not have been so open to it...That was my first impression ot it...but knowing what I do now that has changed..

27/06/2005, 2:36 PM
I cant help laugh when people comment that the YBIG one was over produced while others say the opposite about the GR, there's no pleasing everyone :D ;) :p

Mento
27/06/2005, 3:15 PM
Correct Troy. Can people just read them and enjoy them, and stop analysing them. They are a good read (better than the poxy programme which costs a fiver) and a credit to all involved :)

onenilgameover
05/08/2005, 3:51 PM
Just read your last Genesis reporter from www.thepeoplesflag.com glad the 'the red card protest' got a mention and fair play to ye. I'ill try to sell a couple at the French game if yis are putting one together???? :)

07/08/2005, 6:02 PM
You're eagle eyed arent you? Should have one out for the Italy match but not sure yet (waiting for the articles to come flooding in writers ;) ). Fingers crossed anyway.