View Full Version : Pre-season 2021

21/02/2021, 1:41 PM
UCD 2-1 Longford today. Rob Manley for Longford; Paul Doyle and Liam Kerrigan for UCD.

About five months too late, but I guess we'll take it.

sbgawa
21/02/2021, 2:45 PM
Rovers 3 bray 3 this morning at 12.
Rovers playing athlone at 5pm, giving full squad a run out.

21/02/2021, 2:51 PM
Watched the last fifteen minutes or so. UCD look like they'll be competitive this year, played their usual nice style of football.

Bucket
21/02/2021, 3:36 PM
Galway Utd 1-0 Finn Harps

Francley Lombato

2 Year Contract
21/02/2021, 4:12 PM
Cork 1-2 Pats

A great day for Ronan's everywhere. Ronan Coughlan and Ronan Murray (who is on trial) scored for Pats with Ronan Hurley scoring Cork's goal

GerByrne001
21/02/2021, 5:56 PM
Bohs beat Shels 2 nil at AUL. First half goals from Oluwa and Burt.

sbgawa
21/02/2021, 7:11 PM
Rovers beat athlone 2 nil in the sexond match today. Goals from Max Murphy and danny mandroiu

Dalymountrower
21/02/2021, 7:38 PM
Bohs 2 Shels o.
Goals from new signings Burt and Odayme

D24Saint
21/02/2021, 9:44 PM
Is there only certain dates allotted for pre season games or was today just the first day back everyone was allowed play ? A lot of games on.

2 Year Contract
22/02/2021, 1:07 AM
Is there only certain dates allotted for pre season games or was today just the first day back everyone was allowed play ? A lot of games on.

Yeah it was the first day clubs were allowed to play games by the government

MattB11
23/02/2021, 8:33 PM
Derry 5-1 Harps, Derry keeper scored from his own box

sbgawa
23/02/2021, 8:51 PM
Thats a surprising result i felt Harps would be good this season based on how they finished last season.
Was it a proper match ....if you know what i mean

Bucket
23/02/2021, 9:18 PM
Harps played in Galway on Sunday too so maybe that affected them.

MattB11
23/02/2021, 9:39 PM
Wouldn't read too much into it Harps team was made up mostly of young lads and trialists, Derry had been originally scheduled to play Dundalk tonight who pulled out due to injuries

Nah Nah Nah Nah
23/02/2021, 9:47 PM
We beat Athlone 3-0

thebronze14
24/02/2021, 9:16 PM
Harps always have rubbish results pre season...I usually be in a state of panic before the season begins so I wouldn't be too worried

24/02/2021, 9:28 PM
We were hammered by Derry last season in pre-season in the Brandywell too. Generally think nothing of it. Don't remember us having a particularly good pre-season under Ollie in 5 or 6 years now.

24/02/2021, 10:35 PM
Harps always have rubbish results pre season...I usually be in a state of panic before the season begins so I wouldn't be too worried

Agreed! St Pats win every preseason...

Sonny
25/02/2021, 11:41 AM
I'd love for someone to do a study on the relationship between preseason results and league performance worldwide. I reckon it's almost a cert it would find a big correlation between good preseason results and underperformance in the league. I think I remember Stephen Kenny's Rovers side looking like Guardiola's Barcelona in preseason, and Man Utd have looked world class in most of the preseasons since Ferguson.

D24Saint
25/02/2021, 12:23 PM
Agreed! St Pats win every preseason...

Pity about the important part the actual season , we keep slipping up on that part since 2013.

25/02/2021, 3:34 PM
Pity ye didnt slip up a bit more in 2013 too...Yes I am greedy!

Kiki Balboa
25/02/2021, 7:54 PM
Longford 1- 3 Cobh...

Longford only had three players on the bench... why is that ? Bit of a bad sign.

25/02/2021, 8:02 PM
Apparently we made a lot of changes at half time so for whatever reason the team sheet was wrong. I know it doesn't matter but I don't like losing pre season games, especially to teams from the division below.

oriel
26/02/2021, 8:56 PM
Decent work out today by both teams in the Dundalk v Bohs game, sloppy play but a good finish put Bohs 1-0 at HT, then two quick fire goals by McMillan and Junior saw DFC win 2-1.

The standout player for me was Latvian defender Jurkovskis, he was excellent, raided the right wing and perfect ball in for McMillan for the equaliser.

2 Year Contract
26/02/2021, 9:39 PM
Decent work out today by both teams in the Dundalk v Bohs game, sloppy play but a good finish put Bohs 1-0 at HT, then two quick fire goals by McMillan and Junior saw DFC win 2-1.

The standout player for me was Latvian defender Jurkovskis, he was excellent, raided the right wing and perfect ball in for McMillan for the equaliser.

I watched this myself earlier, was very impressed by the young lad Ryan O'Kane for Dundalk, couldn’t believe it when I heard he’s only 17!

Burt looked decent in flashes for Bohs and took his goal well.

Pats beat Wexford 4–0 tonight, Ben McCormack, Chris Forrester, Jamie Lennon and Billy King with the goals

Dalymountrower
27/02/2021, 9:41 AM
Just saw the second half of dundalk v Bohs.Thought it was a good standard for pre season.
Comparing it to the same friendly fixture from last year, when Dundalk beat us out the gate, there wasn't much between both teams yesterday.
Bohs beat UCD 2 -0 later on yesterday.

sbgawa
27/02/2021, 11:01 AM
Just saw the second half of dundalk v Bohs.Thought it was a good standard for pre season.
Comparing it to the same friendly fixture from last year, when Dundalk beat us out the gate, there wasn't much between both teams yesterday.
Bohs beat UCD 2 -0 later on yesterday.

What sort of team did bohs have out against Dundalk?

Dalymountrower
27/02/2021, 11:38 AM
What sort of team did bohs have out against Dundalk?
I would say three/4 short of what will be the first 11.
Promising start from your former under 19 player of the year.Great potential.

27/02/2021, 2:33 PM

I think Bohs shaded the second half irrespective of the 2 second half goals for Dundalk. The usual preseason subs likely disrupted things for Dundalk. It was interesting that Bohs were keeping most of the starters on and then with a 2nd game v UCD I think, to give others game time. I love watching Keith Ward play, he is such a good baller, he never looks particularly conditioned but is full of energy, puts in a shift, always looking to get on the ball and pull the strings. He did miss a good chance drifting in to the back post in a preseason like way. Oluwa is a real handful and if Hery keeps the level of effort nobody will get it easy playing them - bring back the Rovers Dublin Derby hoodoo!! Burt got a right clatter of ball to the head and was obviously dazed - ref reacted quickly and both Bohs and Dundalk medical people were promptly out and sub made so good to see that kind of thinking happening.

Duffy, Hoban, Garts and Murray unavailable for Dundalk.

sbgawa
27/02/2021, 2:47 PM

Was he the player of the year??? didnt think so tbh
Hopefully he does well for himself, he is fast but end product has been poor, having said that he is very young so plenty of time to smarten up

oriel
27/02/2021, 3:24 PM
I watched this myself earlier, was very impressed by the young lad Ryan O'Kane for Dundalk, couldn’t believe it when I heard he’s only 17!

Burt looked decent in flashes for Bohs and took his goal well.

Pats beat Wexford 4–0 tonight, Ben McCormack, Chris Forrester, Jamie Lennon and Billy King with the goals

Yes of course, I forgot to mention the 17 yo local lad O'Kane for Dundalk yesterday, he was excellent, looks two footed also, and had a brilliant run through the middle and almost scored on a 1 on 1. Good to see him get a 3 year pro contract a few weeks ago.

27/02/2021, 4:47 PM
Yes of course, I forgot to mention the 17 yo local lad O'Kane for Dundalk yesterday, he was excellent, looks two footed also, and had a brilliant run through the middle and almost scored on a 1 on 1. Good to see him get a 3 year pro contract a few weeks ago.

He is young but on that showing at 17 its great business to get him on a proper contract. Lots of players show potential but I think O'Kane has an awful lot going for him. Family steeped in Dundalk football, sound and level headed people too!! Great to get some local talent back in contention for the 1st team even if its via Bellurgan (Booooo!!). Itd be great if he carved out a career at his home town club but he could be destined for bigger things in due course.

blueblood
27/02/2021, 5:11 PM
Doss anybody know where and when Treaty are playing Waterford?

D24Saint
27/02/2021, 5:22 PM
Pats beat Wexford 4-0 in Richmond. It was
Ben McCormack, Chris Forrester, Jamie Lennon and Billy King on the scoresheet. I have high hopes for McCormack , he appears to be an excellent prospect.

sbgawa
28/02/2021, 7:53 PM
Rovers beat Cobh today 3 to 1 goals from Greene 2 and Dean Willaims
Also played Cork and beat them 2 to 1 goals from Gaffney and Hoare.

Cabo beat Longford 2 to 1 today , Longford not looking good so far but pre season prob doesnt mean a lot

28/02/2021, 8:33 PM
Sligo 0-0 Harps today as well

Nah Nah Nah Nah
28/02/2021, 9:57 PM
Wasn’t bad viewing apart from the camerawork. We had the better of first half and Harps the better of the second half.

bluemovie
28/02/2021, 9:58 PM
Doss anybody know where and when Treaty are playing Waterford?

Tuesday night in Waterford at WIT Arena. Probably 7pm.

redobit
01/03/2021, 3:08 PM
Wasn’t bad viewing apart from the camerawork. We had the better of first half and Harps the better of the second half.

Enjoyable enough game for a preseason nil-nil. Had to laugh at Harps practicing their set pieces. And by set pieces I mean their long throws into the box.

Camerawork seemed very ropey alright but it appears there was a problem with the upload to youtube or something. Preseason friendly is the time for teething problems I suppose.

blueblood
01/03/2021, 4:21 PM
Tuesday night in Waterford at WIT Arena. Probably 7pm.
Do you know ifnits being streamed?

01/03/2021, 7:03 PM
I remember in 2014 season our preseason wasnt the best as we lost every preseason friendly and we still got promoted as first division champions at the end of the season. But with us in the top flight now if we keep losing the rest of our friendlies then I would get more worried!

sbgawa
04/03/2021, 10:27 AM
Rovers beat cabo 4 nil last night in Tallaght.
2 nil at half time then all outfielders changed and 2 nil again in second half
Greene (4 in 3 games ) Watts , Gannon and Duffy.

UCD and Shels next Saturday

04/03/2021, 11:17 AM
Derry 1-1 Harps last night

Nah Nah Nah Nah
04/03/2021, 12:50 PM
We drew 1-1 with Galway

04/03/2021, 3:20 PM
Dave Webster goal vs Derry last night

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KQp9W1hEVtI

dundalkfc10
04/03/2021, 3:31 PM
Keane isn't getting paid, does not work for Rovers, isn't training/exercising and probably is over 5km from home, but its ok because its Robbie Keane?

Whats his elite status?

sbgawa
04/03/2021, 7:03 PM
He is a coach for a loi team and part of the bubble, every bit as estential as any of the other coaches, paid or unpaid.
Are there any other unpaid coaches throughout the league ?? 100%

04/03/2021, 8:10 PM
I doubt there are unpaid coaches earning €6k a week! Just in case, I'd be uncomfortable with conflicts of interest potentially involved here if it were any club not just Shamrock Rovers, at the same time if it were Dundalk that were benefitting I'd probably not care what anyone else thought - such is the double standards in being football fans. It is the FAI with the likes of Rea Walshe still involved so when it comes to conflicts of interest I dont think this ranks too highly...

05/03/2021, 8:20 PM
I doubt there are unpaid coaches earning €6k a week! Just in case, I'd be uncomfortable with conflicts of interest potentially involved here if it were any club not just Shamrock Rovers, at the same time if it were Dundalk that were benefitting I'd probably not care what anyone else thought - such is the double standards in being football fans. It is the FAI with the likes of Rea Walshe still involved so when it comes to conflicts of interest I dont think this ranks too highly...

I thought Rea Walshe was gone I thought as I hear nothing of her these days?

ToberonaTornado
06/03/2021, 11:42 AM
For anyone interested drogs v dlk starting in 20 mins https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eUlHz0Y1oyI