18/06/2005, 7:09 PM
Go on the Bohs !! :p
kevincronin2000
18/06/2005, 7:15 PM
go on bohs, get a second :ball:
18/06/2005, 7:19 PM
c'mon on the Bohs.
Kevincronin the word league is spelt wrong in your signiture,me correcting spelling,the irony :D
Bohs 1-0 Gent
Full Time
Good result for Bohs and the eL! :)
Mayo Red
18/06/2005, 7:49 PM
Fair play to Bohs, hopefully they can finish the job in the second leg!
ccfcgirl
18/06/2005, 8:01 PM
Great result for Bohs .Well done to them.
corkharps
18/06/2005, 8:03 PM
Nice wan!
18/06/2005, 8:16 PM
Great result - well done bohs
18/06/2005, 8:40 PM
well done boh-wes
no more nearlies, please
18/06/2005, 8:42 PM
First of all welll done Bohs! But this result is expected.... We, especially on this site, sell the standard of the eircom league short. We are much better than our UEFA ranking suggests and Bohs should finish the job in Belgium...
Rebal Boy
18/06/2005, 9:43 PM
Well done Bohs. Its a great result for LOI football. I really hope they finish the job off in Belgium. If they score an away goal early they should do.
18/06/2005, 9:45 PM
Congrats Bohs. Hope they finish it in the 2nd leg :)
SPXcyan
18/06/2005, 9:58 PM
Horay! excelent news! well done BFC
18/06/2005, 10:10 PM
Well done the Boaz :)
One goal on the break will see you through there.
Buller
18/06/2005, 10:33 PM
Do intertoto matches count in the uefa coefficients??? :confused:
They have to...
18/06/2005, 10:34 PM
do intertoto matches count in the uefa coefficients??? :confused:
They have to...
they dont unfortunately :(
Libero
18/06/2005, 11:03 PM
Well done Bohemians. What a turnaround from the start of the season.
Heard Gareth Farrelly on Radio 1 earlier. He said he was happy with the win but that with some more composure in the final third they could have got the vital second goal.
George Leekens, the Ghent manager was also interviewed. He claimed that Ghent bossed midfield in the first half hour, that they missed good chances late in the game and that Bohs converted their only 'half chance'. He did praise the Bohs supporters for the lively Dalyer atmosphere.
Gerrit
18/06/2005, 11:13 PM
Was there, along with some other Belgian expats, and I am pleased to see I was not the only one chosing the side of Bohs rather than supporting Ghent for the sake of them being in the same country we're born in.
Well deserved win for Bohs, too bad they kinda were happy with 1-0 instead of chasing the 2-0. But I think the odds are now at least 50-50, maybe even advantage for Bohs. If they score in Ghent, the game is over and out. So I hope they will attack and not just try to keep the 0 at the boards.
Strange for me to meet all these people from my native town. Their dialect still sounds as ugly as before, but I should not comment on that given my own tongue :D The behaviour and comments of a few of them made me feel ashamed sometimes of being from that city... Okay, most of them seemed nice lads, but the comments of a small bunch of them were low. Also, putting their middle finger up towards Bohs fans is not really a nice way to represent your club in a European away game... Oh well. The majority seemed very decent lads and I hope they all enjoyed their stay in Dublin.
Was great to see fans of Bohs, Shels, Cork, etc all gather behind Bohs tonight. I felt very welcome at Dalymount, despite the fact that I am from the enemy's camp in theory (though it seemed Shels or no other EL side were seen as enemies tonight)
I hope we can count on Bohs's support as well when we are playing Champions League qualifiers ;)
Gerrit
18/06/2005, 11:16 PM
George Leekens, the Ghent manager was also interviewed. He claimed that Ghent bossed midfield in the first half hour, that they missed good chances late in the game and that Bohs converted their only 'half chance'. He did praise the Bohs supporters for the lively Dalyer atmosphere.
Rubbish. The first half it could have been 2-0 if not for a bad miss and a superb save from their goalkeeper Runje. Bohs got the better chances in the game and except for the last half hour the ball posession was about 50-50.
Ghent got two decent chances + a free kick, but that was once the 1-0 was scored. So where did Leekens see other chances, and where was he when Bohs had two nearly-goals in the first half ?!
But don't bother Leekens. He's quite controversial in Belgium, bit a reputation of a jobhopper. In a good 15 years of being coach he had over 10 clubs :eek:
18/06/2005, 11:22 PM
Have to say congrats to Bohs. They deserved the win. Foley was unlucky not to score I thought. It seemed to bobble just wide. I didn't see Matt Gregg being seriously tested in the whole match.
Was a good header by Tony, my friend said it was deflected but I thought it was a well-taken header. Imo Keddy was the best player on the night. Hunt and Foley played well too.
Good performance and hope yez beat the Buffalo in Ghent.
Also I'd like to point out to cynics (myself included) I thought the Bohs fans behaved brilliantly. I've had my problems with them but I was certainly impressed by their behaviour tonight. The only trouble I saw was from Ghent fans when Bohs came out for the second half. :D
Gerrit
18/06/2005, 11:41 PM
Indeed, a minority of Ghent fans sometimes misbehaved. And as a native Ghent man I could understand their comments. Well, telling the linesmen to stick their flags up their ar-se + usage of words like 'whores', made me feel ashamed of coming from the same town as them. Must note though it was a minority of Ghent fans, most of them behaved well - was sitting not too far from them so I had good sight on it.
The Buffalo, yeah... This is one of the reasons why I don't like AA Gent and prefer the other Ghent club (Racing Club, with whom I heavily sympathise). The logo of AA Gent is absolutely ridiculous.
18/06/2005, 11:45 PM
Indeed, a minority of Ghent fans sometimes misbehaved. And as a native Ghent man I could understand their comments. Well, telling the linesmen to stick their flags up their ar-se + usage of words like 'whores', made me feel ashamed of coming from the same town as them. Must note though it was a minority of Ghent fans, most of them behaved well - was sitting not too far from them so I had good sight on it.
The Buffalo, yeah... This is one of the reasons why I don't like AA Gent and prefer the other Ghent club (Racing Club, with whom I heavily sympathise). The logo of AA Gent is absolutely ridiculous.
What I saw was Ghent fans had gone to the chipper at half time but had gotten caught on the other side of the fence on the way back because of Bohs players emerging for the second half. They taunted the players with wnker signs and were shoutinmg at them. Disgraceful. :mad:
Gerrit
18/06/2005, 11:52 PM
You should all know that unfortunately Belgium has no grip yet on hooliganism and bad behaviour of fans. It is still very common to make jungle sounds towards black players or shout "your mother is a wh-ore" towards the opposition's better players. Belgian FA tried to ban this behaviour from the stadiums but failed everytime, and I'm afraid it's even escalating more.
Makes you really appreciate the EL. Every team I am socialising with opposition's fans in a friendly way, I can't help but being very glad I have to deal with the EL instead of the Belgian league. The level is lower (though not much difference anymore) but that is all very trivial when I realise I can go to the games with no fear of getting beaten up and with good chances of socialising with the other side's fans.
18/06/2005, 11:59 PM
Gerrit, what is with the logo? I didn't know Indians roamed the prairies outside Ghent?
Gareth
19/06/2005, 10:01 AM
Well done to Bohs. Delighted to see them come away with the win. The atmosphere unfortunately didn't seem up to the level it could of been. I was surprised at the lack of singing. Seen more passion from the Bohs fans in an Eircom League game.
Hopefully bohs can get a result now away and carry on in the Toto. Question to a Bohs fan, how is Foley rated. I found him frustrating to watch at times. Somewhat not at lively as the other players?
ccfcgirl
19/06/2005, 10:29 AM
What was the attendence like at the game?
19/06/2005, 10:56 AM
'They taunted the players with wnker signs and were shoutinmg at them'
Yeah, you'd think they were at a football match, wouldnt ye :confused:
Well done bohs, hopefully they can hold out for the second leg.
Bohs fans were s**t lastnight - had the atmosphere of a preseason friendly :eek:
Munchie
19/06/2005, 11:10 AM
Question to a Bohs fan, how is Foley rated. I found him frustrating to watch at times. Somewhat not at lively as the other players?
At the start of the season he wasn't popular! but recently he has been putting in more effort and seems to have a lot more confidence after getting his first goal of the season against Rovers. but he can be frustrating at times but he's great in the air!! i think the bohs fans are starting to get off his back as it helps his confidence!!
19/06/2005, 11:48 AM
Could have been much more than 1-0 if we had taken our chances. Too many really good moves, based on excellent passing and movement, ended up going back through the middle to start over again. We needed more drive, which Wardie would give us if he were played inside.
They got a grip for mid-first half, then faded, and we sat back towards the end of the second to defend a one-goal lead. Still, can't complain. We bossed them most of the time and we have a result. I honestly believe we can qualify if we travel to Gent aiming to win. If we play for a draw it will suit them: I was much more impressed with their midfield going forward and their defence, apart from their keeper, is no great shakes.
Atmosphere was poor compared to a Dublin derby and possibly even compared to the game against Athlone! That was because it was a genuinely tense affair right to the end.
There was a nice touch when one of the Belgians came down to G to take pictures and taunt the core Bohs support. It was a bit cheeky, but brave and well-intended, and everyone had a laugh. But fair play to the Bohs fan who gave him a big hug after we scored. His smile was a little more strained then!
19/06/2005, 12:08 PM
Well done to the big pub.....
Nice to see the medium club doing well....;)
Congrats Bohs....
3000 crowd. Stand full.
Would say Bohs had 60% possession but once again lacking a goal scorer. Foley was better than seen him before but cannot shoot. John Paul Kelly looked like had a hangover as did nothing but get a booking for moaning. Ward was my MOTM as did all the running for Bohs & unlucky not to score. Overall 1-0 flattered Gent as Bohs looked tired at the but no options on the bench. Bohs may regret not pushing on for the 2nd goal.
The one common thing with European teams is that players always seem taller & stronger than eL players.
I think its hard for home fans to get enthuastic & create good atmosphere for Inter Toto games as no real away fans to taunt & no rivaly with away club.
19/06/2005, 1:28 PM
Good result, espically the clean sheet. Get a goal in the second leg and that should wrap it up.
19/06/2005, 1:56 PM
Congrats to Bohs. I hope you can make the result count by the end of the tie.
19/06/2005, 1:58 PM
It wasn't when they were in the stands it was at half time when they were about at most a foot away from them. :mad:
19/06/2005, 3:15 PM
Well done bohs, hopefully they can hold out for the second leg.
Bohs fans were s**t lastnight - had the atmosphere of a preseason friendly :eek:
I agree there. I thought that BOhz should have really got a 2nd but Foley missed a sitter and they never really got the ball in to the box (if Foleys strength is in the air, why do ye never cross the ball in?).
I dont know if 1 is enough, but they looked much the better team.
PS I thought the Gent fans were grand
19/06/2005, 3:19 PM
1-0 is better than 2-1 though, if they had of pushed for another goal they could well have let one in.
Gerrit
19/06/2005, 3:39 PM
Gerrit, what is with the logo? I didn't know Indians roamed the prairies outside Ghent?
I am not why they use that Indian for logo. For a club not linked to Indians in any way I find it a childish/ridiculous logo, and their nickname 'Buffalos' and their fans' Indian sounds are no better.
Blue_Daz
19/06/2005, 4:45 PM
congrats to Bohs for the win. lets hope you can carry it on and finish the job off over there without any trouble on or off the pitch.
good luck for the 2nd leg guys!!!!
19/06/2005, 4:58 PM
lets hope you can carry it on and finish the job off over there without any trouble on or off the pitch.
That won't be a problem. We're not playing Rovers!
Blue_Daz
19/06/2005, 5:27 PM
That won't be a problem. We're not playing Rovers!
that was low.. but funny :D :D :D
19/06/2005, 5:39 PM
Great result - all the better that it was possibly even expected! Would have preferred Bohs to get the second obviously - Gent are a decent side, and next week will be tough, as Pat's found out the last time...
Who do Bohs/Gent face in the second round?
Edit - JC's posted details here (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=26450) Grodno (Belarus) or Zlin (Czech Republic), with Zlin in the driving seat.
19/06/2005, 8:37 PM
Very enjoyable game, entertaining. Dominic Foley was very acurate at picking out passes with his head from throw-ins. Most fans well behaved but I'm pretty sure that 1 or 2 of those till-rolls thrown were aimed at Gent players. Bohs by far the better team but may pay for not being clinical with their chances when they go to Belgium next week, but I hope Bohs make it ;) .
P.S. : Superfrank, RTE match report said that Grant's header was deflected (told ya so) ;) , if only I had a more reliable source :eek: .
20/06/2005, 10:50 AM
BBC Sport and Eleven-a-side said it was deflected too. You had the better seat! :mad:
Jaime
20/06/2005, 11:14 AM
Atmosphere wasn't great, but then it wasn't a "big" game in the sense of a bit of spice and a decent body of away fans to have banter with. Everyone's so nervous on European nights, and more genuinely interested in the ups and downs on the pitch, against a strange team, none of whose players you've ever heard of; more so than a normal league game, where you'd spend more time abusing the other fans etc.
20/06/2005, 11:15 AM
3000 crowd. Stand full.
Would say Bohs had 60% possession but once again lacking a goal scorer. Foley was better than seen him before but cannot shoot. John Paul Kelly looked like had a hangover as did nothing but get a booking for moaning. Ward was my MOTM as did all the running for Bohs & unlucky not to score. Overall 1-0 flattered Gent as Bohs looked tired at the but no options on the bench. Bohs may regret not pushing on for the 2nd goal.
The one common thing with European teams is that players always seem taller & stronger than eL players.
I think its hard for home fans to get enthuastic & create good atmosphere for Inter Toto games as no real away fans to taunt & no rivaly with away club.
Agreed re Ward. Thought he had a great game. Very impressed with Ken Oman. Big strong centre half and a skillful one at that. Ward was impressive constantly showing for the ball and good running.
Thing I noticed about the Bohs team was how young they seem, especially the back four. 4 players who seem capable of defending and playing football in equal measures.
Joxer was poor. Played too deep in the first half. There were times in the first half when the full-back(Rice I think) got the ball midway through his own half and J.P.Kelly was maybe ten yds ahead. Seemed as if he was instructed to play deep. Fergal Harkin should have been brought on earlier.
Bohs could do with a decent centre forward. Foley although offered a lot was poor overall. Someone should point out the laws of football and explain the offside rule on a blackboard.
Crowd was poor I thought.
congrats to bohs great win . they will have to score out there one feels to get through. best of luck.
I just rang a mathmatician and it appears that we don't actually need to score over there to go through.