and all the lads doing DJ:
http://www.thepeoplesflag.com/web/img/1099.JPG

15/06/2005, 9:58 PM
HAHA, look at Gary Doherty raving:
http://www.thepeoplesflag.com/web/img/1093.JPG

and all the lads doing DJ:
http://www.thepeoplesflag.com/web/img/1099.JPG

you spotted them too then! ;) i thought we weren't plastering the guys all over the website though ? :confused:

16/06/2005, 6:41 AM
Pictures in todays Star. Are they the same one's?

I'm disappointed people saw fit to plaster these all over the web.

shiv_ire
16/06/2005, 7:28 AM
Ah no! That's a bad buzz :(
Is the article online?

soccerc
16/06/2005, 8:33 AM
Loads of pics of the players partying on page 4/5:

What goes away Stays away :mad:

16/06/2005, 8:42 AM
pictures should be shot. The chances of having a few beers and a bit of craic with the team after games is probably finished now.

16/06/2005, 8:52 AM
What goes away Stays away :mad:

hear hear

The players get a rare opportunity tio let their hair down out of the public eye, and the fans get a rare opportunity to have a beer and a chat with some of the players and someone with a camera phone starts snapping. Bad Form IMO, especially selling them on :mad:

Trust the Star to put them up on the front page.

shiv_ire
16/06/2005, 8:56 AM
Did the pictures definitely come from an Irish "fan"?! There were a lot of Faroes there too.
Not that it matters now! :mad:

16/06/2005, 9:03 AM
Lighten up lads, the players holidays started the moment the final whistle blew. No problem with them letting off a bit of steam.

16/06/2005, 9:09 AM
Lighten up lads

Many clubs and national teams are kept away from the fans and never have a chance to interact the way we sometimes do. It would be a sad day if Ireland players weren't allowed of felt they couldn't go out in public, together, for a few beers after a long season.

16/06/2005, 9:17 AM
http://www.thestar.ie/images/frontpage.jpg

BTW - What is wrong with the pics? Have I missed something? The players got soaked and were hardly going to keep wet T-Shirts on. I don't see whats so private about the pics.

Babysis
16/06/2005, 9:19 AM

BTW - What is wrong with the pics? Have I missed something? The players got soaked and were hardly going to keep wet T-Shirts on. I don't see whats so private about the pics.

I had just pulled up that page too. It just Looks bad. On a another note i am gutted i missed that, looks like great fun ;) .
I dont think it Should have ended up plastered on the front page of a paper.

16/06/2005, 9:21 AM
Front Page of The Star

At least we know where the frontpage picture (http://www.thepeoplesflag.com/web/img/1099.JPG) came from. :rolleyes:

16/06/2005, 9:23 AM
I agree that the Star shouldn't be putting their "exclusive" pics on the front page. I don't see anything shocking in the pics though. Nothing we wouldn't expect from a set of footballers. If they were snogging the face of the women that would be a different story. Its not something you'll be saying to your mates, "guess what? The Irish players were partying in a nightclub in the Faroes. :eek: "

BTW, are The Star allowed publish those pics from someone elses website? Especially calling them exclusive?

shiv_ire
16/06/2005, 9:27 AM
At least we know where the frontpage picture (http://www.thepeoplesflag.com/web/img/1099.JPG) came from. :rolleyes:
No one made money from the pictures. I know the guy who took it.
Are they allowed just take the pictures from the site without permission?

16/06/2005, 9:38 AM
I can clearly make out my arm, scarf tied around my wrist, behind Stephen Elliot.
Can I sue them for image rights cos I didnt give permission to print my arm :p

Bad form putting a front page spread about it

finn
16/06/2005, 9:39 AM
I agree that the Star shouldn't be putting their "exclusive" pics on the front page. I don't see anything shocking in the pics though. Nothing we wouldn't expect from a set of footballers. If they were snogging the face of the women that would be a different story. Its not something you'll be saying to your mates, "guess what? The Irish players were partying in a nightclub in the Faroes. :eek: "

BTW, are The Star allowed publish those pics from someone elses website? Especially calling them exclusive?

What galls me is the fact that I took some pictures early in the evening, but didnt take any later in the night in case anyone who looked at them got the wrong impression. I had an awesome night that night, but its hard to try and tell someone who just looks at these select pics, how light hearted and fun the night was.

I am disappointed to see them appear in the paper, and to be honest I would have thought that anyone who had pics like these would have had the sense to keep them the hell out of the public domain.

:mad: :mad: :mad:

bad form to be honest

Pete

16/06/2005, 9:47 AM

Another headline on the Star front page...

JACKO: GIVE ME BACK MY WILLY PICTURES

Is this a related story :confused: :eek:

Which Ireland supporter took those pictures and are we in for a whole new court case? :D

Seems at least half of all journalism this days is culled from t'Internet - "Angry fans call for <Insert name here>'s head"; "eircom League supporters like/don't like TV3's Soccer Show", etc. This is the definition of a non-story - grown men enjoying themselves on the first night of their summer holidays. The sad thing is that certain cúntish journos will probably use this against them and the manager if we don't qualify and pretend to be appalled on Roy Keane's behalf at the "lack of professionalism" or some such guff.

finn
16/06/2005, 10:12 AM
can someone tell me did the following picture appear in the star too:

Pete

loudy macloud
16/06/2005, 10:14 AM
well if it did i want some royalties, i dont give out pictures of me for free :mad: , especially when the sales go up as a direct result of me being in it.............................all bull of course :D

sylvo
16/06/2005, 10:36 AM
Can't see what all the fuss is about, it's not like they went on the rampage and anyone got hurt, they just enjoyed themselves and mixed in with the fans, and I was across the road at the time. :mad: This is just another part of the standard of garbage you get with the country being force fed cheap English papers pretending to be Irish.

Babysis
16/06/2005, 10:51 AM
yeah but the booze shack was the only place to party on that Island :D

Gutted we were sat in Manhattens when they were all down the road :(

Schlooooomp
16/06/2005, 11:08 AM
I think it would be a bigger disgrace if some of the pictures of the fans made it into the star from the party, some of those guys were truly horrendous, and by guys, I am talking about me.... :)

16/06/2005, 11:43 AM
What sort of tone is the article? Is it one of those self-righteous articles or does it just say "Irish team went on p!ss, buy our newspaper?"

Does it mention the Star journalist who was joining in? :rolleyes:

Karlos
16/06/2005, 12:04 PM
Don't see a problem with the pics - young lads having a drink and a dance and a bit of craic while they are officially on their holidays. They are young men doing what many young men do when they go on holidays or finish work. Nobody died, nobody was hurt and the players are probably laughing about it this morning. Can imagine the text Gary 'raver' Doherty is getting from the other lads this morning.

Don't see the problem with the picture or with the printing of them - it's great to see the lads enjoying themselves imo and doesn't change any opinion i have of them. If it was two days before the french game that would be a different matter.

Can only imagine the tone of the posts here had this been a picture of the english team partying, one suspects it might have been some what different and more pro-tabloid! :rolleyes: :D

littlebray
16/06/2005, 12:05 PM
can someone tell me did the following picture appear in the star too:

Pete

Not that one, but all the rest seem to be from the same series as the peoplesflag pics.

Sorry now I didn't go to Eclipse - had a comp and all, but it looked full of teenies ...

Chippy
16/06/2005, 12:06 PM
Just to let you all know that thepeoplesflag did not give permission to The Daily Star to print the pictures of the Irish team celebrating after the Faroes match. The Daily Star were never in contact with us about publishing the pictures and thepeoplesflag certainly did not receive any money in relation to these pictures. We have been in contact with the The Daily Star newdesk this morning and are currently awaiting a response.

We are also seeking legal advice on this matter, i'lllet you know how things go.

Karl(TPF)

16/06/2005, 12:09 PM
Just to let you all know that thepeoplesflag did not give permission to The Daily Star to print the pictures of the Irish team celebrating after the Faroes match. The Daily Star were never in contact with us about publishing the pictures and thepeoplesflag certainly did not receive any money in relation to these pictures. We have been in contact with the The Daily Star newdesk this morning and are currently awaiting a response.

We are also seeking legal advice on this matter, i'lllet you know how things go.

Karl(TPF)

Glad to hear it chippy (that thepeoplesflag didn't endorse this).

Schlooooomp
16/06/2005, 12:10 PM
I thought that the peoples flag did not have any members at the Faroes game and were requesting other people's photos. Therefore if they are not your photos how can you tell if they were ripped from your site.

shiv_ire
16/06/2005, 12:27 PM
I thought that the peoples flag did not have any members at the Faroes game and were requesting other people's photos. Therefore if they are not your photos how can you tell if they were ripped from your site.
The fella who took the pictures didn't give the star permission to print them either!

Chippy
16/06/2005, 12:30 PM
None of us were there, but a few friends of ours were. I am certain that these pictures were only sent to us and were definetly not sent to any other website or for that matter newspaper. Personally I do not think there is anything wrong with the pictures. The players had finished there season and deserved to have a few drinks. All they were doing was having a good time without causing any trouble. We decided to put the pictures on the site to promote the good nature of the Irish fans and the players alike.

The reason thepeoplesflag are upset about this is the fact that the Daily Star have one of the pics on the front page and several more on pages 6 and 7. They claim that these are exclusive pictures !!! How can they be exclusive if they were taken from a website the day before?

Im also fairly sure that the sales of the paper will be up because of these pics (everyone who reads this site is going to buy a copy!).

Just to reiterate the fact the Thepeoplesflag is a a site for the fans. We have never made a penny from the site, on the contrary we put our own money into it.

16/06/2005, 12:57 PM
All they were doing was having a good time without causing any trouble. We decided to put the pictures on the site to promote the good nature of the Irish fans and the players alike.

I don't think anyone is saying otherwise.
It's just a problem when tabloids start trying make news out of it.

Schlooooomp
16/06/2005, 1:11 PM
Heh Shiv_ire, did you get my pm regarding the hat you found?

shiv_ire
16/06/2005, 1:13 PM
Heh Shiv_ire, did you get my pm regarding the hat you found?
I did! Did you get my reply?!

Schlooooomp
16/06/2005, 1:38 PM
no man, it never arrived in my inbox, sorry about the allegation... :)

Mento
16/06/2005, 1:39 PM
The pics, althought nothing wrong with them, should never have been posted on a site. Of course they would end up splashed in a newspaper.
I think the exclusive means that their the first national newspaper to have them so don't think a lawyer will do much.
As someone said what goes away stays away and although the pics are mild the players will still not appreciate been splashed all over a national newspaper like that and the source of them fotos comes from a site where they should never have ended up

Eire06
16/06/2005, 1:47 PM
Isn't it whoever owns the photos has automatic copyright on the photos so if the paper just took them from the site without getting permission there is grounds for legal action against the paper

shiv_ire
16/06/2005, 1:49 PM
the source of them fotos comes from a site where they should never have ended up
Does the article actually mention where the photos come from?
I got pretty much the same ones myself. Everyone's photos are quiet similar.
Can they prove the photos came from TPF?

Cowboy
16/06/2005, 4:23 PM
The problem I see with this guys is that next time theres an opportunity to mix with the fans they may think twice now. I know nobody meant any harm by putting the pictures on the net as they were harmless but what happens when the pictures from the next trip are of the type that could be manipulated by the media for their own ends. Irish players and fans are pretty unique in so far as they can mix together without fear of negative consequences, lets hope we can keep it that way.

I think the star have stepped well over the line on this as for years there was an unwritten rule that no "party" shots would be taken or published. I would not be surprised if they were refused interviews etc in the future.

16/06/2005, 5:34 PM
Furthermore, if Irish people actually went and bought IRISH papers this publication wouldn't exist.
The Irish Mirror and Sun are basically the English version of said names but I think the Star is actually Irish. I wouldn't waste my money on it. I rarely buy newspapers anymore anyway as most of them are on the net now. :)

Jon'o
16/06/2005, 5:54 PM
I am disappointed to see them appear in the paper, and to be honest I would have thought that anyone who had pics like these would have had the sense to keep them the hell out of the public domain.

:mad: :mad: :mad:

bad form to be honest

Pete

Dont see the problem with the pics, it was the last game of the season and they were just enjoying them selfs, wouldnt see the england team mixing with their fans and im sure that the england team get just as smashed when they do get together.

Cowboy
16/06/2005, 6:03 PM
Dont see the problem with the pics, it was the last game of the season and they were just enjoying them selfs, wouldnt see the england team mixing with their fans and im sure that the england team get just as smashed when they do get together.

The problem is that players generally dont like cameras around, fine for private use but these pics are now in the public domain. If you were a public figure would you be comfortable going on the lash knowing any minor indiscretion (and believe me there have been a few in the past) would end up on public view?

Mento
16/06/2005, 6:48 PM
Cowboy has it nailed there, that's why the pics should never have been posted

16/06/2005, 7:34 PM
Agree, the pictures of the players should never have been posted on the net - full stop!

They should be allowed go out, have the craic, get drunk with all the ireland supporters, without hearing of pictures floating about on the net of it!

(the star shouldnt have 'lifted' them either without permission - but thats a totally different issue)

FarBeag
17/06/2005, 12:18 AM
I agree.They should never have been posted.These guys are professional but also human and like us all love the craic, a few beers and a good old ???? if they we can get it,but what goes on tour should be kept there.How many times have i seen the odd man stray away into a lonely street with a bright red light for guidance and not emerge again for a few hours with a broad smile and a lovely pink healthy complexion,
and they have not been to the sun bed.Keep what ever is in the camera in your camera apart from the old footie game,a bit of scenery
and a couple of drunken mates enjoying themselves.

littlebray
17/06/2005, 10:46 AM
That's the message in all this. Most webpage publishing software has an option somewhere for blocking downloads, especially of photos. Find out about it and use it. Otherwise the web has to get narrowminded and you wind up censoring yourself.
This mess is nobody's fault except the Star's. But we should be more careful (self included)!

17/06/2005, 10:48 AM
That's the message in all this. Most webpage publishing software has an option somewhere for blocking downloads, especially of photos. Find out about it and use it.
There is no way of blocking someone from getting a pic from a site. There are things that the webhosts can do but there's plenty of ways around it.

17/06/2005, 11:00 AM
There is no way of blocking someone from getting a pic from a site.

It's difficult to block someone when you're pictures are published in a HTML site but there are loads of other languages/codes that you can use where the pictures are virtually impossible to lift.

17/06/2005, 1:05 PM
but there are loads of other languages/codes that you can use where the pictures are virtually impossible to lift.

not true at all.