View Full Version : Whats your real name?

Pages : 1 [2] 3

15/06/2005, 10:11 PM
Is that not what they call the chavs in Tallaght? :eek:

Thankfully i'm not a chav and thankfully i'm not from Tallaght

15/06/2005, 10:12 PM
Is it a Barry White song? Love Barry, he was deadly... no pun intended

No, it's Sheila take a Bow by The Smiths, about as far from a BW lurrrvve song as you could get. :)

:ball: PP

15/06/2005, 10:13 PM

I trust you fully on that one my good man. No slur intended. :D

15/06/2005, 10:13 PM
Is that not what they call the chavs in Tallaght? :eek:

Where you from btw KT? I know a fair few from Fermanagh which is where I believe you're from...

yeah, i was thinking anto was a bit chavvy/neddy/spidey etc, no offence to all you chavs/neds/spides etc of course :D Aye have lived in Down and Fermanagh oo-ar! :D I'm from the east side, close to the border with Monaghan and Tyrone(feckers! ;) ) People are nice.

15/06/2005, 10:15 PM
cant tell ye mine sorry. ;)

Thomo
15/06/2005, 10:19 PM
i'm juts, the dude...but you can just call me his dudeship, or el duderino, or your royal dudeness if u prefer :D

in reality its tom mimnagh

15/06/2005, 10:19 PM

That's good to know.. :D Hope u weren't offended by my p!ss-taking

No, it's Sheila take a Bow by The Smiths, about as far from a BW lurrrvve song as you could get

oh right... :o crap at musical knowledge so I am..

cant tell ye mine sorry

spoilsport! :mad: :D

15/06/2005, 10:25 PM
in reality its tom mimnagh

I've met two of your clan before, mate (and one-in-waiting... ;) ). Mad as geese, the lot of them. I wish you luck. :D

15/06/2005, 10:25 PM
That's good to know.. :D Hope u weren't offended by my p!ss-taking

I wasn't at all offened,I'm one of a rare breed who can actually take a joke.

15/06/2005, 11:10 PM
I wasn't at all offened,I'm one of a rare breed who can actually take a joke.

good stuff

16/06/2005, 7:34 AM
Funnily enough mine is Ash ... short for Ashley
The amount of times people hear the name and think Im a girl is shocking!

Possible named after former Ireland international, Ashley Grimes, cos he
transferred from Bohs to Man Utd the year I was born and my auld fella is a big
Man U fan ... sounds plausable ... but I reckon it was from Gone With The Wind
:mad:

Funnily enough also, my mother claims she didnt want to give me a name
that would be shortened i.e. Joseph/Joe, James/Jimmy, but even she calls me
Ash :)

real name aengus here
so you probably know me if your from sligo cos theres only about 5 of us in the whole world :D

By any chance did you do Computers in Sligo RTC?
Think there was an Aengus from Sligo the year behind me!

16/06/2005, 8:13 AM
By any chance did you do Computers in Sligo RTC?
Think there was an Aengus from Sligo the year behind me!

hehe im doing web development in IT Sligo but im just finished 3rd year now so i doubt its the same man!

16/06/2005, 8:36 AM
I've met two of your clan before. Mad as geese, the lot of them.
I wish you luck

I've met 3 of them and couldn't agree with you more! :p
Poor old Thomo! :D

16/06/2005, 8:42 AM
Real name is Lanky de Camel-wan*er

Babysis
16/06/2005, 8:54 AM
I've met 3 of them and couldn't agree with you more
Poor old Thomo! :D

I think you are all forgetting that we have to live with him :eek:

PP, we are not mad as geese :eek: :p

I was particularly well behaved the 2 times Ive met you(I think) :o

16/06/2005, 9:09 AM
pat o'banton...... :D ....................no its greg.

16/06/2005, 9:16 AM
no its greg.

Greg O'Banton? :confused: :D

16/06/2005, 10:32 AM
Greg O'Banton? :confused: :D

actually ,very close...........

16/06/2005, 11:35 AM
Possible named after former Ireland international, Ashley Grimes, cos he transferred from Bohs to Man Utd the year I was born

So your 28 then? :confused:

16/06/2005, 11:44 AM
Yep, I was 28 earlier this year. Mid life crisis here I come :D

jorge
16/06/2005, 11:59 AM
My real name is Seoirse (Irish for George) which some (thick) people think its a girls name which absolutly and utterly WRECKS MY FCUKING HEAD :mad:

16/06/2005, 12:00 PM
it is a girls name, it sounds just like one for gods sake. if you dont want to be thought as a girl then just introduce yourself as george. simple.

16/06/2005, 12:01 PM
its the same as seamus etc, all made up irish names for anglicised names.

jorge
16/06/2005, 12:07 PM
Your confusing that with a different name Saoirse (seershe) Seoirse (shorshe)

16/06/2005, 12:08 PM
ya saoirse means freedom. i have a neighbour called saoirse, im not confusing it dont worry.

Karlos
16/06/2005, 12:13 PM
Name is Karl - friends call me Karlos.

take it I'll be called Karl a fair bit on here from now on then! ;) :D :)

The Good Son
16/06/2005, 12:34 PM
it is a girls name, it sounds just like one for gods sake. if you dont want to be thought as a girl then just introduce yourself as george. simple.
Well Pól if his name is Seoirse why should he introduce himself with a different name?

16/06/2005, 12:55 PM
im not saying he should or should not introduce himself as whoever, but if he doesnt want to be thought of as a girl then the obvious thing to do is introduce himself as george. i dont want to be thought of as an esb or telecom eireann pole, so i introduce myself as paul. :rolleyes:

which is what my name is....again pól is another "irishised" version of an english ( i dont mean origin ) name.

Drumcondra Red
16/06/2005, 2:22 PM
As I said my real name is Roy, although people seem to have a problem remembering this, a few of my mates don't believe Roy is a real name so they call me Ray, I hate that.

Other people call me Rory, cause their idiots! Sometimes Brian for some reason, and when getting my season ticket this year, dispite spelling out R-O-Y, it still said Ryan!!!!!!!!!!

Anyway Roy!

Gareth
16/06/2005, 2:33 PM
Drums your season ticket looks more like ROT. :) The season ticket rants are legendary now from Ray/Ryan/Rory/Rob/Brian

Malby
16/06/2005, 2:54 PM
Mal is the name. Just plain MAL.

hamish
16/06/2005, 3:01 PM
Nickname is Sir Hamish or Hamish. My real name is Sir Noel.

Address me always with the Sir included, peasants!!! or I'll come round an evict you all!! :D

Gerrit
16/06/2005, 3:11 PM
KT: "Sheila Take a bow" is a song by the legendaric Smiths, you probably know their frontman Morrissey ?

AFAIK the title "Sir" was only given in the UK ?? :confused:

Drumcondra Red
16/06/2005, 3:13 PM
Drums your season ticket looks more like ROT. :) The season ticket rants are legendary now from Ray/Ryan/Rory/Rob/Brian

Yeah, ROT or ROX!!! And they aren't rants, its a serious problem!!!

Countyman
16/06/2005, 3:19 PM
Well Pól if his name is Seoirse why should he introduce himself with a different name?

.. i dont want to be thought of as an esb or telecom eireann pole, so i introduce myself as paul. :rolleyes:

...great comeback . LMAO :D

hamish
16/06/2005, 3:42 PM
KT: "Sheila Take a bow" is a song by the legendaric Smiths, you probably know their frontman Morrissey ?

AFAIK the title "Sir" was only given in the UK ?? :confused:

Gerrit, I was joking - I was rarely called sir even in school!!! :D

16/06/2005, 3:44 PM
I was rarely called sir even in school!!! :D

Did you know of any names the kids had for you?
If so, are you going to tell us? :)

hamish
16/06/2005, 3:55 PM
Did you know of any names the kids had for you?
If so, are you going to tell us? :)

Well, in the early days I played for Portumna FC in the North Tipperary League and some of the kids used to come to home games. During one...er....lively match, I had a gentlemanly disagreement with the referee and some members of the opposition and got sent off. Thereafter, they called me "Archie" after Archie Gemmill or "Chopper" after Ron Harris. :o In the 70s, you could slide in with two legged tackles all you liked, but not when the opposition were lying on the grass. Dirty cnut deserved everything he got after a nasty tackle earlier.

Even though I say so myself, I'm a very laid back cheerful bloke but when I was playing I must admit I could be a bad tempered little b0ll!x and never shut up roaring or arguing, even with my own teammates.

I was pretty lucky to escape any disparaging names - especially since a lot of the kids got off class for schools footie and couldn't cross me. Heh heh. :D

Closed Account 2
16/06/2005, 10:33 PM
Clarence Frederick De Hoff, had Edmund as a middle name after Frederick but dropped it to make my full name short enough to fit on most forms.

17/06/2005, 8:10 AM
is that your real name or are you taking the ****?

Neish
17/06/2005, 11:14 AM
Naoise O'Fearghail

Good luck finding a link for that

17/06/2005, 11:26 AM
Good luck finding a link for that

Will a malgamation do? ;)
Naoise O'Muiri (http://www.dublincity.ie/your_council/councillors/councillor_naoise_o_muiri.asp)

Seán O'Fearghail (http://www.electronics.dit.ie/staff/sean_ofearghail.htm)
I think he was actually a lecturer of mine. :o

Thomo
17/06/2005, 6:50 PM
I've met two of your clan before, mate (and one-in-waiting... ). Mad as geese, the lot of them. I wish you luck.

thanx man, i need the luck believe me!!!! :D

Babysis
18/06/2005, 9:10 AM
thanx man, i need the luck believe me!!!! :D

Trust me you will need more than luck if you carry on like that :D

How long till you move out????? :p

sylvo
18/06/2005, 9:44 AM
Sylvo sings Mozza in a Barree White-styleee... For those that don't know him, this is indeed worth a listen...

It's been too long, big man. Hope life is good.

How's the form PP, it has indeed been a while, if your up for a pint at the next meeting in Cricklewood it'll be good to hook up with you again.

I appeared on a type of stars in their eyes type show the other week, it doubled up as the Faroe Islands v Ireland match. Done a bit of a Barry White Stylee to ''are you Israel in disguise'' also done a Louis Armstrong set on a trumpet playing ''the fields of Athenry'' and the go on home song, you know the one, the song with the F word in it. ;)

But hoss apart from getting more media coverage last week than ould middle class cockney spice who's married to that omerdom at Real Madrid, life's good.

Hope to see yer at the next meeting maybe.

aido_b
18/06/2005, 5:24 PM
Gday mine is Aidan (Aido) Buckley

davey
19/06/2005, 12:05 AM
I am the American Werewolf in London ;)

Thomo
19/06/2005, 5:13 PM
Trust me you will need more than luck if you carry on like that

when are you moving out?

well i am moving out soon as u well know, but the real question is when do YOU move out :D

19/06/2005, 9:06 PM
I am the American Werewolf in London ;)

Welcome Mr Naughton! (I presume it's that rather than Kessler... ;) )

MacAonghusa
20/06/2005, 6:27 AM
again pól is another "irishised" version of an english ( i dont mean origin ) name.

Acutally I believe Paul came from the Roman family name Paulus, which meant "small" or "humble" in Latin.

*Some* Irish names are Irish versions of "English" names, though many are definitly not.

Éanna MacA is ainm domsa ... though I generally go by the English verison of my Irish name :D