View Full Version : Sligo v Longford
14/06/2005, 5:40 PM
Posted by sligoman in another thread.....
Oh yeah, how do you think ye'll get on against us then?
I think we will win in extra time or pens. It will be a very tough game. I expect ye to kick us, and try and rattle us. Please dont take that comment the wrong way, Im not calling ye a hoofball team or anything but I just feel ye will be snapping at our ankles all night.
We will have a good crowd down there.
PREDICTION:
Sligo 1-2 Longford Town AET
14/06/2005, 5:42 PM
My prediction is 2-1 to us(possibly after extra time too). That's if all our main players are not injured. We have a good team this season so dont be expecting us to be pushovers like in previous seasons.
You coming down yourself DE TOWN?
14/06/2005, 5:44 PM
My prediction is 2-1 to us(possibly after extra time too). That's if all our main players are not injured. We have a good team this season so dont be expecting us to be pushovers like in previous seasons.
Ah, I dont expect no pushover. I expect a really tough game but we are in great form atm, 4 wins in 4, no goasl conceded, 10 scored, Myler wi8th 6 of those. Derry will be tough for us though first.
14/06/2005, 5:46 PM
10 scored, Myler wi8th 6 of those
Yeah been watching Myler on EL Weekly, he looks like a great player. Any chance of him been rested for the Rovers game?
14/06/2005, 5:50 PM
Yeah been watching Myler on EL Weekly, he looks like a great player. Any chance of him been rested for the Rovers game?
Personally, I dont think he's a great player TBH. He has a great first touch but he's very slow but if he keeps scoring, we cant leave him out.
And no, he wont be rested ;)
14/06/2005, 10:22 PM
a housemate of mine last yr was from longford&if i'm to believe wat he sez bout ye dis season. ye are very much da hoofers. if u seen our goals v galway i think u'd agree we play far better football than most premier teams(shels, bar wesley&baker, included)
At the start of the year, we were terrible. hoofing everything. In the last month or so, we have started to play football, and we are reeping the rewards. But in fairness, I did see yer goals against Galway and all, but ye are not better than most premier teams. If/When Shels get back on form, they are a good team, Cork are very good when they put it together, Derry are a good team, so are Drogs, Bohs play nice footie when playing well, so do we. Ye certainly wouldnt be the worst in the Premier but ye wouldnt be one of the best.
15/06/2005, 2:03 PM
Posted by sligoman in another thread.....
I think we will win in extra time or pens. It will be a very tough game. I expect ye to kick us, and try and rattle us. Please dont take that comment the wrong way, Im not calling ye a hoofball team or anything but I just feel ye will be snapping at our ankles all night.
PREDICTION:
Sligo 1-2 Longford Town AET
we arent going to kick ye....we arent that kind of team....we only have a couple of tough tacklers....we play football when we get the chance..
i agree with rovers 1 longford 2 aet though....we will give you a scare....wont bother me too much if we go out though....we have too many important league games....we will be tired too...no doubt about that...maybe alvarez will start..that should be fun
15/06/2005, 2:06 PM
maybe alvarez will start..that should be fun
Why :confused:
We will be tired enough aswell with the game against Derry on Saturday.
15/06/2005, 2:12 PM
he isnt our best striker....but im not criticsing him yet....im hopeful he will turn into a decent player
we had 4 or 5 starters who played 120 mins yesterday....they will play 90 too friday
id say we might put out a weakened team like we did vrs harps....rouse o dywer feeney carr alvarez could allstart...depending on whether some recover from injuries
garykelly
15/06/2005, 2:15 PM
i'm looking forward to this game. I've time for Longford. They are a testament to want can be done when you've the ambition and where with all to go and do it. Coming from the doldrums of this poxy first division to a strong premier outfit is a great acheivement. I hear flancare is a nice ground. will hope to get to one game there this year.
This is our sixth :confused: season outside of top flight so we're not up to prem standard yet on the pitch but we are not far off it. I reckon we are better now than some teams in the prem but not most. Our decline was happening when longford were on the up. Since we left the division it's just gone to a whole new and more difficult level. Hopefully we'll get promotion and trips to longford become the norm.
Hopefully it will be a great game and may the best team ( rovers :D ) win.
Da Real Rover
15/06/2005, 4:51 PM
I reckon it'll be 2-2 for most of the game and in the dying seconds St Paul pops up and scores a wonder goal to knock out the cupholders.
15/06/2005, 7:46 PM
Sean Connor was saying in the Champion that he is'nt going to be putting out a full squad for this game. He said while he does want to win, he feels that promotion to the Premier Division is a lot more important. He said they will be trying their best to be competitive but he said to Rovers fans not to be surprised to see a team of unfamiliar faces. For this reason I now think Longford will win, hope I'm wrong though :(
15/06/2005, 9:17 PM
i personally think it will be a cracker of a game. cant wait for it the banter at work in carrick on shannon between rovers and town supporters is something else. it will be interesting to see what sort of an atmosphere at the game.we should win comfortly three one.
eleven years is a hell of a wait -hopefully this game will be the start of some good battles between the two teams as if ye go up this year, this will be the closest to a local derby for both teams and the closest eircom league club.
cant wait for the game as i livedin sligo from 94-97 and attended a few of yer games there. may the BEST TEAM WIN!
19/06/2005, 11:44 AM
you better hope mc tiernan is being rested!!
hopefully a big crowd.......fill up the stand again like it was for the 1st couple of games this season...
hopefully it will be a good game...it should be if we play to our strengths....
roversforever
19/06/2005, 4:44 PM
carlos is starting on tuesday.....confirmed.
19/06/2005, 5:17 PM
What is the likely starting team against longford?
Will Sean rest the key men for the league?
town73
19/06/2005, 6:16 PM
who won the u21 game?
Petmuller
19/06/2005, 7:56 PM
who won the u21 game?
Rovers won two-nil
21/06/2005, 10:42 PM
I thought we played terrible tonight. It just goes to show how much we need McNamara, Burns and McTiernan. I think the lads were just concentrating on the Cobh game so weren't fully focused tonight. I think they will improve, and wont play as bad as they did tonight, for the Cobh game. Cretaro was terrible, which is not normal for him. Plenty of support down from Longford too, well done lads ;)
ps. It's only the league cup so I'm not that bothered that we lost.
21/06/2005, 10:48 PM
Laugh of the night, when your man "faz" just goes to "raf", "raf......raf......just give me the ball, will ya?" and right in front of us aswell. Comedy :D
roversforever
21/06/2005, 11:20 PM
Laugh of the night, when your man "faz" just goes to "raf", "raf......raf......just give me the ball, will ya?" and right in front of us aswell. Comedy :D
whats so funny about that?faz is an excellent player.
21/06/2005, 11:23 PM
whats so funny about that?faz is an excellent player.
"faz" is a good player alright, probably your best on the night, but its just the way he said it to "raf". We just all started laughing at him and he smiled back.
It's only the league cup so I'm not that bothered that we lost.
Aren't the winners of the league cup entered into the sentanta cup for next year as well as the rest? Some chance of getting some serious money on board from winning this competition now!!
garykelly
22/06/2005, 8:22 AM
Aren't the winners of the league cup entered into the sentanta cup for next year as well as the rest? Some chance of getting some serious money on board from winning this competition now!!
no, i believe it's the top three in prem and fai cup.
Re: longford game
I think they showed us the difference between the divisions. that half yard of more pace than us. clearer ideas about passing. knowing where their players are going to be in a particular play and overall being smart on the ball. i didnt see the point in just making four changes. if the likes of o'grady, faz, raf, o'hara, o'donnell etc can play last night and again on sat then i think we should have gone with the full team. otherwise we should have fielded a team of young players and given them a chance. this was the last chance for younger players to get a run but i suppose we didnt want to end up getting hocky'd either.
I enjoyed watching the game. If just to see a prem team and how they play. longford also brought the largest number of away supporters to the showgrounds this season.fair play.
22/06/2005, 10:11 AM
I enjoyed watching the game. If just to see a prem team and how they play.
There's a huge difference in standard alright. as i said already, we weren't even going full tilt and we still were very comfortable.
longford also brought the largest number of away supporters to the showgrounds this season.fair play