View Full Version : Gay World Cup

Gerrit
14/06/2005, 4:19 PM
http://www.vm2005.dk/default.asp

Next month it's getting started, this year in Copenhagen... Next year the Maccabian Games (Jewish world cup) are coming up again.

Don't know if this is not slightly over the top. Think it's great we have a special football tournament for mentally handicapped and for the Deaf, as they are truely disadvantaged towards their opponents. For homosexuals I don't really see the need, then on the other hand I do appreciate the ethnical minorities' teams as they clearly fill a social gap and have much use in troubled areas (especially their youth sections).

What are your opinions on events like this Gay WorldCup ? Is this a good thing or should we criticise such 'thinking in labels' ?

14/06/2005, 4:29 PM
Seems like discrimination to me.

The Official World Championship song "Come out and Play"

Very appropriate. :eek:

14/06/2005, 4:31 PM
wouldnt like to see their celebrations :eek:

liam88
14/06/2005, 5:26 PM
wouldnt like to see their celebrations :eek:
:D :D

Nah folowing on from what Gerrit said we should only have seperate competitions for those who have trouble competing in the mainstream competions i.e. deaf people and mentally handicapped people (thoguh I still think these people should be able to play in the "mainstream" if they want to but should be given the oppurtunity to compete in their own tournament as it is fairer).
Why can't a gay man play on a "mainstream" football team? I'm sure loads do. The only thing i can think of is he may be distracted by the other players but for the same reason you could stop good looking fans sitting in the front row :rolleyes:
I think it's a bit pointless really.

Having said that i'm thinking mabye gay men are intimidated by playing mainstream football or something? Though to be honest I can';t really see many gay men being encouraged to play football by this.

Gerrit
14/06/2005, 5:45 PM
Maybe there is still a bit of a taboo on homosexuality in football, maybe they have the idea that it's still a bit of macho thing (for "real men" :rolleyes: )

Anyway, I do know that IF a player in a famous club would come out for his orientation, he'd get lot of insulting chants from opposite fans, as he's making himself an easy target :(

In the Netherlands, Haarlem used to have a gay player. For nine years he kept it a secret as his sister joined to all games, pretending she was his wife :eek: Apparently the poor lad was afraid of the teammates' reactions if they'd find out he was homosexual.

"Come out and play" :D Like it when people still have the humor to do self-mockery :)

BTW, to be complete, it's Gay and Lesbian World Cup. So far approx 30 teams enroles for the males tournament and approx 20 all-lesbian teams enroled in the ladies tournament.

14/06/2005, 8:00 PM
BTW, to be complete, it's Gay and Lesbian World Cup. So far approx 30 teams enroles for the males tournament and approx 20 all-lesbian teams enroled in the ladies tournament.
Are East Germany in the lesbian tournament or the gay one? :D

4tothefloor
14/06/2005, 8:16 PM
It's probably for camp gay men and drama queens, you know the ones that talk and act like women. They'd struggle a bit in mainstream football. Although by the looks of it, it seems like a mickey mouse tournament.

If you go here (http://www.vm2005.dk/tournament.asp) and read the 'Facilities by the field' paragraph, they say 'In connection with the fields there are changing facilities for everybody. This of course includes showers.........near the fields and the other facilities, it will be possible to get a massage'. I'd say it's best the heterosexual population of Copenhagen give this one a miss :D

Aberdonian Stu
15/06/2005, 12:06 PM
I remember reading about it in Goal magazine a few years back. Apparently most of the players play in "mainstream" football as it's been referred to in this thread as well as in this tournament.

hamish
15/06/2005, 12:26 PM
Didn't some Irish paper have an article about an Irish ladies team in the Gay World Cup about 6 or 7 years ago.

There is still a hell of a lot of nastiness directed towards gays playing in straight sports which is a pity. Remember the abuse Justin Fashanu got.

One day, hopefully, we can welcome all people, regardless of their sexual orientation, to play with us heterosexuals. It's amazing, in 2005, that this is a problem.

Personally, if I was still playimg, I wouldn't give a $h!t whether my team mate was gay or not but if he missed an open goal, is one still allowed to "Ah, fcuk ya!" :D

15/06/2005, 12:43 PM
There is still a hell of a lot of nastiness directed towards gays playing in straight sports which is a pity. Remember the abuse Justin Fashanu got.
Name one other openly gay footballer? Isn't it one in ten men are gay, and there's how many pro's in the leagues in Ireland, England, Scotland?

Whilst there's discrimination, or the fear of discrimination, then I think fair play to them.

15/06/2005, 1:28 PM
Isn't it one in ten men are gay...

We used to be always feed that line in school..."3 people from this class are gay..." :eek:

If that was true would be 400k gay people in Ireland which seems unlikely...

15/06/2005, 1:31 PM
We used to be always feed that line in school..."3 people from this class are gay..." :eek:

If that was true would be 400k gay people in Ireland which seems unlikely...
I don't know what the proportion is, but it's a damn sight more than the one who's been out in x years/ ever.....

15/06/2005, 2:57 PM

Im assuming there were more than three people in the class......... :D :D

15/06/2005, 3:46 PM
then on the other hand I do appreciate the ethnical minorities' teams as they clearly fill a social gap

Very good Gerrit couldn't have done better myself!!

barglee
15/06/2005, 4:02 PM
its this kind of **** that makes people homophobic.

They go on about how they should be treated equal(which they should) and then create their own world cup ??? - when theres clearly nothing preventing a gay man /woman playing for mainstream team.

anto eile
15/06/2005, 4:23 PM
Name one other openly gay footballer? Isn't it one in ten men are gay, and there's how many pro's in the leagues in Ireland, England, Scotland?

Whilst there's discrimination, or the fear of discrimination, then I think fair play to them.

its closer to 2%-4% of the population, not 10%

Metrostars
15/06/2005, 4:23 PM
Anyone can make their own "World Cup". We could have the "Foot.ie World Cup". Won't be sanctioned by FIFA though. If they want a Gay and Lesbian World Cup and it makes them happy, good for them.

Gerrit
15/06/2005, 6:35 PM
Didn't some Irish paper have an article about an Irish ladies team in the Gay World Cup about 6 or 7 years ago.

Which club does he play for now ?

I don't think he is the ONLY one that came out of the closet. Didn't Matt Le Tissier or Graeme Le Saux (always confused between those two...) admit to be homosexual as well ?

One day, hopefully, we can welcome all people, regardless of their sexual orientation, to play with us heterosexuals. It's amazing, in 2005, that this is a problem.

'us' heterosexuals ? There may be gay presence on this very board without us knowing... No, don't look in my direction lads :eek:

4tothefloor
15/06/2005, 7:43 PM
Well unless Jesus is administrating a footie league, he's clubless....

I don't think he is the ONLY one that came out of the closet. Didn't Matt Le Tissier or Graeme Le Saux (always confused between those two...) admit to be homosexual as well ?
Matt Le Tissier is married to that Australian actress that used to be in Home & Away, I think she's in Emmerdale now. Graeme Le Saux is married with a family AFAIK. He used to be called gay because he came from a middle-class background and is apparantly quite cultured. Neither are gay.

lopez
15/06/2005, 8:46 PM
Which club does he play for now ?If you are referring to Justin Fashanu, he killed himself a few years back. Something concerning a teenager in America if not mistaken.

Graham LeSaux was apparently called 'a poof' for :eek: reading The Guardian and visiting art museums. If that's what makes you Gay then 'Hello Sailor' to you all from my good self. :D :rolleyes:

Personally I couldn't give a f*ck about anyone's sexuality. Rumours have abounded over the years about players and apart from blatent hypocracy (e.g. Michael Portillo) it is one of the most boring things that I can think related to a person. There have been rumours about some Irish internationals. I've certainly met some Irish fans that are/were Gay, and not because they asked me for a 'stiff one' when I enquired what they were drinking. Trouble is that it bothers a lot of society, hence the need for a Gay World Cup - even if it goes against 'integration.'

hamish
15/06/2005, 9:58 PM
If you are referring to Justin Fashanu, he killed himself a few years back. Something concerning a teenager in America if not mistaken.

Graham LeSaux was apparently called 'a poof' for :eek: reading The Guardian and visiting art museums. If that's what makes you Gay then 'Hello Sailor' to you all from my good self.

Personally I couldn't give a f*ck about anyone's sexuality. Rumours have abounded over the years about players and apart from blatent hypocracy (e.g. Michael Portillo) it is one of the most boring things that I can think related to a person. There have been rumours about some Irish internationals. I've certainly met some Irish fans that are/were Gay, and not because they asked me for a 'stiff one' when I enquired what they were drinking. Trouble is that it bothers a lot of society, hence the need for a Gay World Cup - even if it goes against 'integration.'

I remember the Guardian thing about Le Saux indeed. Hello sailor to you too Lopez - I'm a Guardian reader too. :D

You're dead right re. the Gay situation. Sadly, many of them in the US really feel threatened by the right wing religious nuts who seemed determined to force the more moderate Republicans (oxymoron?) to treat them like outcasts.

And isn't it gas to see two ladies get married in Ireland a few weeks ago with little or no fuss whatsoever from church or media while nearly every state in the US is banning gay marriage.

Y'know our little country has its problems but we've got lots of pluses too. Only about thirty years ago I remember when people knew whether you were a Catholic or Protestant (kicked with the left foot :D ), a molly or a nancy boy if one was gay and a shoneen if one played the world game. Nowadays, nobody gives a fcuk. :D

hamish
15/06/2005, 10:13 PM

'us' heterosexuals ? There may be gay presence on this very board without us knowing... No, don't look in my direction lads :eek:

I was referring to those of us who are heterosexuals - no big deal. If I was gay, it wouldn't cost me a thought telling anyone. The only thing is, I'd say all Footiepersons are not in the slightest bit interested in the sexual orientation of our brothers and sisters in this website. Jesus, we get our knickers in a twist over offsides, rival clubs etc but deep down, I've never felt any malice from anyone yet, just quality p!$$taking and, in most cases. I deserved it and actually enjoyed it, some of the put downs are so witty.

steven17
15/06/2005, 10:40 PM
think the tackle from behind rule applies.???????

tee hee! :D

15/06/2005, 10:50 PM
I hear Johnny Foreigner doesn't like it up him...! :D :o

Better stop now...!

Gerrit
16/06/2005, 3:04 PM
The fact that Fashanu got clubless and committed suicide had nothing to do with his gayness I hope ?

I think the statement that 10% of the population is gay is not correct there. I'd say at least 20% if not more. Don't forget that many people don't come out for it, in some parts of the world you just cannot come out for it, and some people are in a doubt about it themselves weither they swing towards the other side or not.

At my former job (back in Belgium) about 20% of the staff was homosexual or lesbian, including my boss :eek:

16/06/2005, 3:57 PM
At my former job (back in Belgium) about 20% of the staff was homosexual or lesbian, including my boss :eek:

I think that says a lot more about Belgium or your former job than the world.

16/06/2005, 6:32 PM
I think the statement that 10% of the population is gay is not correct there. I'd say at least 20% if not more.
Ah now - sure at that percentage, the human race would probably die off!

16/06/2005, 7:06 PM
I hear Johnny Foreigner doesn't like it up him...! :D :o

Better stop now...!

I wonder if the same rules apply for hand ball..... :eek: :D :D

4tothefloor
16/06/2005, 9:23 PM
There have been rumours about some Irish internationals. I've certainly met some Irish fans that are/were Gay, and not because they asked me for a 'stiff one' when I enquired what they were drinking. Trouble is that it bothers a lot of society, hence the need for a Gay World Cup - even if it goes against 'integration.'
I don't think it bothers society, I think society is just curious. If you ask me, everything comes back to sex. So who were the Irish internationals in question? :D

Gerrit
17/06/2005, 2:44 PM
Don't answer 'Clinton Morrison' or someone's heart will be broken here :eek: :D

Gerrit
17/06/2005, 3:54 PM
Just read on KV Ostend's forum that Alan Shearer would be gay. Not that I would care (does not change the great player and person he is) but it would surprise me if it were true, I never heard anything in that direction... According to the lad who posted it, he'd even have come out for it on several occasions :eek:

hamish
17/06/2005, 3:59 PM

Heh heh LOL. Expect a reply to that Gerrit when a certain lady enters the forum. :D

17/06/2005, 4:08 PM
Just read on KV Ostend's forum that Alan Shearer would be gay.

Is that why he puts his hand in the air when celebrates goals?

17/06/2005, 5:02 PM
http://www.vm2005.dk/default.asp

Next month it's getting started, this year in Copenhagen... Next year the Maccabian Games (Jewish world cup) are coming up again.

Don't know if this is not slightly over the top. Think it's great we have a special football tournament for mentally handicapped and for the Deaf, as they are truely disadvantaged towards their opponents. For homosexuals I don't really see the need, then on the other hand I do appreciate the ethnical minorities' teams as they clearly fill a social gap and have much use in troubled areas (especially their youth sections).

What are your opinions on events like this Gay WorldCup ? Is this a good thing or should we criticise such 'thinking in labels' ?

Shock horror - gay people organise their own football World Cup. How dare they ! This must be stopped. And if they refuse to stop it, then - well, we'll just refuse to pretend to treat them equally any more....

FFS - who gives a feck if gays, ostriches, pygmy warriors or trampolining dwarfs want to organise a World Cup !? It's their own feckin business, their right to do so, and nothing to do with anyone else.

My old company has it's own World Cup as well - ooohhh let's all decide whether or not we agree with that.... :rolleyes:

17/06/2005, 5:09 PM
I think the statement that 10% of the population is gay is not correct there. I'd say at least 20% if not more. Don't forget that many people don't come out for it, in some parts of the world you just cannot come out for it, and some people are in a doubt about it themselves weither they swing towards the other side or not.

20% of the world population gay Gerrit ? Absolutely no way...

That '1 in 10' figures was created a few years back purely to be an indicator of how widespread homosexuality could be. It was by no means designed to be an accurate measure.

Simple fact of the matter is that there is no accurate measure of what percentage of the population is gay. It varies by widely over time and across the world, and a huge part of the problem in trying to come-up with an accurate measure is individual's unwillingness or inability to be open about their sexuality.

Sociaologists, scientists, psychologists and chancers of various types have over the years attempted to estimate the percentage that is gay, but that's all they've been - estimates. I'd say the figure given by a previous poster of 2-4% probably isn't far off it, but 20% is an absolutely ridiculous suggestion !

What percentage of the world population has ginger hair ? You won't find an accurate measure of that. Largely because it's difficult to measure, but also because not everyone is openly ginger (there's a lot of bottle blondes about..) and also because it's just not important.

Good luck to the Gay World cup, gingers, and the 16-18% of the population who are wrongly being labelled as gay..... :D ;)

hamish
17/06/2005, 5:32 PM
I do. While the gay one sounds boring, and pygmies do nothing for me, OI reckon the dwarves on trampolines could be a cracker...

I'm up for that - when does it take place, where's the venue? Get me a ticket.

Anyway, aren't they supposed to be called vertically challenged or something these days??? :D

17/06/2005, 6:14 PM

Heh heh LOL. Expect a reply to that Gerrit when a certain lady enters the forum

:eek: Too right! God cannot send such a fine man to earth to tease us with and then chuckle at us all because he is gay!!! Not fair at all. :mad:

:(

17/06/2005, 6:16 PM
:eek: Too right! God cannot send such a fine man to earth to tease us with and then chuckle at us all because he is gay!!! Not fair at all. :mad:

Who's the fine man Kerr's Tribe ? Everyone's talking about Clinton Morrison here..... :p

lopez
17/06/2005, 7:45 PM
...So who were the Irish internationals in question? :DIn a previous thread GaryEspana mentioned about two internationals. He obviously for good reasons declined to name them.

OK. Yes of course I'd say: 'Wow. Who would have thought Roy Keane was a turd burglar. :eek: ' But after that, what.

As for you Kerr's Tribe, take it from someone who had to comfort Conchita following the tragic events in a Beverly Hills khasi in 1998, involving George Michael and a member of LA's finest, you just never know who is and who isn't. And if you saw that video of Clinton with Graham and Kenny you'd be swinging towards the fact that - tragically and unfortunately :rolleyes: for womankind - he is. ;)

17/06/2005, 8:31 PM
Who's the fine man Kerr's Tribe ? Everyone's talking about Clinton Morrison here.....

oi! cheeky steve! :D

Roy Keane was a turd burglar

class expression! :D can i borrow it sometimes Lopez?

Kerr's Tribe, take it from someone who had to comfort Conchita following the tragic events in a Beverly Hills khasi in 1998, involving George Michael and a member of LA's finest, you just never know who is and who isn't. And if you saw that video of Clinton with Graham and Kenny you'd be swinging towards the fact that - tragically and unfortunately for womankind - he is.
:( I've only seen a photo of the famous dance and it didn't ring of YMCA, however I am very keen to see the video just for assessment, of course... ;)

You lads are starting to worry me, but as george the turd burglar sings " You gotta have faith, faith, faith, you gotta have faith" :D

Gerrit
18/06/2005, 12:59 AM

It happens so often... I know this girl who was deeply into Wham! and George Michael, then to remain heartbroken when George came out of the closet (or in this case, when someone opened the closet door and witnessed... ;) )

Gerrit
18/06/2005, 1:03 AM
Shock horror - gay people organise their own football World Cup. How dare they ! This must be stopped. And if they refuse to stop it, then - well, we'll just refuse to pretend to treat them equally any more....

FFS - who gives a feck if gays, ostriches, pygmy warriors or trampolining dwarfs want to organise a World Cup !? It's their own feckin business, their right to do so, and nothing to do with anyone else.

My old company has it's own World Cup as well - ooohhh let's all decide whether or not we agree with that.... :rolleyes:

The sociological debate on this, which no one can deny, is if it does their case any good. Gay people want to be treated equally as straight people and thus want us to not think in labels, but then organise a gay-only tournament themselves = thinking in labels themselves.

I don't have a problem with this world cup and even understand a certain need for it, but I also understand somehow that some people may see this a contradiction to their own request for equality.

18/06/2005, 12:51 PM
It happens so often... I know this girl who was deeply into Wham! and George Michael, then to remain heartbroken when George came out of the closet (or in this case, when someone opened the closet door and witnessed... )

to be fair though, I think it was always obvious that Georgie was gay.

lopez
18/06/2005, 10:44 PM
to be fair though, I think it was always obvious that Georgie was gay.Well I think Rock Hudson came as more of a shock. Some would say Boy George came as more of a shock. :eek:

I know this bloke who defended him for years against such rumours and loved his music. Once the tackle was out in front of Mr. Beverly Hills Poleeeceman, there was a burning of Georgios's records that looked like something out of the third reich. :( Must say I warmed to George a lot more after the incident. Conchita's interest became purely a matter of music. :D

hamish
18/06/2005, 11:18 PM
Regarding Rock Hudson, as a youngster I always thought he was a kind of John Wayne type bloke. Y'know, macho, soldier roles, always with the ladies etc etc etc.
It was only when, over a few jars one night in a pub, when me and a few pals were talking about films and movie stars, that a lady friend said to me: "Rock Hudson? That fella is as bent as a snake in a jam jar". I believe his movie company spent a fortune giving him a hetero image. Remember his TV series "McMillan and wife" with Susan St. James?
I really felt sympathy for him when the aids story came out. We can slag off movie stars for image building etc but when he was at his peak in big movies it would have been commercial suicide to come out as homosexuality, to say the least, was frowned upon those days. It's far to easy these days to say he should have been honest about his sexual orientation but he was a person of his time.
To think that there are far too many people these days who still regard gay people as perverts makes me wonder if we have made much progress in maturity and understanding. The current pope certainly doesn't help as his attitude towards homosexuality is to the right of Genghis Khan and there are millions of RC's who agree with him sadly.

Gerrit
18/06/2005, 11:46 PM
I kinda like Boy George. His make-up is attractive, different from mine though so don't worry :) But you gotta love such icons, and he has a great voice.
By the way, I think Boy George is bisexual and not gay ?

I was on the bus with a Manchester lad last week, and we were talking about the English music scene. When The Smiths came up... Well, in his native Manchester he knew someone who knows Morrissey in person. I did get a bit curious and asked for the thing that even the tabloits didn't find out yet. And IN CASE his answer is correct, I must say that any straight female Smiths fan should barry her hopes... ;)

Gerrit
18/06/2005, 11:47 PM
To think that there are far too many people these days who still regard gay people as perverts makes me wonder if we have made much progress in maturity and understanding. The current pope certainly doesn't help as his attitude towards homosexuality is to the right of Genghis Khan and there are millions of RC's who agree with him sadly.

The former pope was not better on this one. Which is a reason why I think we should not call him "JP the Great". His views towards gays probably caused lot of troubles he was never aware of...

hamish
18/06/2005, 11:58 PM
The former pope was not better on this one. Which is a reason why I think we should not call him "JP the Great". His views towards gays probably caused lot of troubles he was never aware of...

Yep, totally agree, Gerrit. But, Ratzinger was often behind much of the Vatican's statements on homosexuality.
I think his statment, a few years ago, when he threatened the US bishops with excommunication from the church if they disclosed evidence in a public court re the paedophile scene there was absolutely disgraceful. He wanted to keep the scandal under wraps, in house, as it were.
I feel his election as pope will spell disaster for the RC church in the long term as he will organise another right wing pope to follow him.