View Full Version : The other team in Liverpool

Gerrit
14/06/2005, 11:46 AM
I am currently visiting Liverpool for professional reasons (back in Dublin tomorrow) and it's weird to see -both in Liverpool, Dublin or anywhere- how many LFC shirts and scarves you suddenly see in the streets. Can't all be gloryhunters that hjust turned into LFC fans...

It makes one wonder where the Everton fans are. I've heard they have a decent support in Ireland as well, though I never ever saw an Everton jersey on the streets in Dublin. I know several Liverpool fans, and one single Everton fan - and that one is a Liverpudlian who moved to Dublin and still goes to Goodison Park everytime he visits his native city.

Is Everton representing a certain group within the city or a certain district of the city ? And do they have any support abroad or outside of the city ?

(Must say TBH I would sympathise with Everton most because they're the authentic Liverpool team. LFC is a split-off of Everton, bit like Dublin City but then with tradition and fans ;) )

stojkovic
14/06/2005, 12:09 PM
In my local there are at least six Everton fans.
Bless them.

14/06/2005, 12:12 PM
I am currently visiting Liverpool for professional reasons (back in Dublin tomorrow) and it's weird to see -both in Liverpool, Dublin or anywhere- how many LFC shirts and scarves you suddenly see in the streets.
Very weird alright Gerrit. You'd think Liverpool fans would all be in hiding after winning the Champions League :rolleyes: :D

Bottom line is Liverpool more successful than Everton, so more people hopped the bandwagon in Ireland (and non-scouse parts of the UK).

Karlos
14/06/2005, 12:33 PM
more people hopped the bandwagon in Ireland (and non-scouse parts of the UK).

mmm.......have seen this happen elsewhere too!!!! early to mid 90's I think!! :D :)

stojkovic
14/06/2005, 2:14 PM
Bottom line is Liverpool more successful than Everton, so more people hopped the bandwagon in Ireland (and non-scouse parts of the UK).
:) :)
coming from a manc
:) :)

14/06/2005, 2:28 PM
mmm.......have seen this happen elsewhere too!!!! early to mid 90's I think!! :D :)
Or later 90's Karlos?

Happens to every team, not exempting United or anyone else from that. The majority of Irish fans of English clubs can trace their support back to when Liverpool/Arsenal/United/Whoever were successful/good (or to their father/ family, who started supporting them when they were successful).

Hibs4Ever
14/06/2005, 2:32 PM
Actually met 5 Tranmere fans from Dublin in the airport one Saturday morning. Fair play to them. Travel over quite regularly.

liam88
14/06/2005, 2:36 PM
The majority of Irish fans of English clubs can trace their support back to when Liverpool/Arsenal/United/Whoever were successful/good (or to their father/ family, who started supporting them when they were successful).

Here we go again.........

14/06/2005, 2:52 PM
Here we go again.........
It's not necessarily meant to be a criticism this time, honestly. I mean if those Tranmere fans were asked I'd say the chances of them starting to support them during the "glory years" of decent cup runs, top of Div 2/Div 1/ Championship (delete as applicable :rolleyes: ) and Aldridge up front is pretty bloody high

Karlos
14/06/2005, 3:41 PM
Or later 90's Karlos?

Happens to every team, not exempting United or anyone else from that. The majority of Irish fans of English clubs can trace their support back to when Liverpool/Arsenal/United/Whoever were successful/good (or to their father/ family, who started supporting them when they were successful).

I know!! Playing Devil's Advocate there!!

Not totally based on success though for many. Many aul lads started supporting clubs with successful Irish lads playing for them e.g. Giles, Brady, Stapleton, O'Leary, etc etc......

I think the older generation (i.e. my fathers age) had a different outlook on successful Irishmen than one which exists today. We tend to knock rather than support successful people in all walks of life in this country these days. Many of that age don't have a hatred for rival clubs like the younger generation.

Just a thought.

Gerrit
14/06/2005, 4:04 PM
Very weird alright Gerrit. You'd think Liverpool fans would all be in hiding after winning the Champions League :rolleyes: :D

well, didn't say that, but in Liverpool itself it's believed to be 50-50, but in my 4 days here I didn't see a single Everton scarf :confused:
Liverpool's success shouldn't stop loyal Toffee fans from staying in their houses ?! After all, who was the highest ranked Liverpudlian club in the English Premiership this year ? ;)

4tothefloor
14/06/2005, 8:37 PM
Everton fans, including a few on here, like to harp on about how they are the 'peoples club' and that most people from Liverpool support Everton. Truth is, it's a load of toss. The best supported club in Liverpool is Liverpool, and by a country mile. This claim that most scousers support Everton is pure myth.

I was over in Liverpool for the Champions League final, and a few weeks before that for the Chelsea game. I stayed for a couple of nights on both occasions and like you Gerrit, I never saw one Everton jersey or shirt either. On the night of the Champions League final the place was a sea of Red, and most were locals. 750,000 Liverpool fans lined the streets for the victory parade the following day. I'd like to see the day when 750,000, majority locals, line the streets of Liverpool for an Everton parade (hypothetical I know cos they'll never win anything worth talking about). As Jim Royle would say, The Peoples club my arse! :D

BTW, Liverpool fans tend to be older than their Utd\Arsenal counterparts. Older fans in general wear less jersey's and colours. Nothing wrong though in showing some colour when you're European Champions, if just to pi$$ off the Man U brigade ;)

15/06/2005, 7:19 AM
Not totally based on success though for many. Many aul lads started supporting clubs with successful Irish lads playing for them e.g. Giles, Brady, Stapleton, O'Leary, etc etc......
Yeah, but it was still the glamour/successful clubs with Irishmen playing for them that they started supporting.

BTW, Liverpool fans tend to be older than their Utd\Arsenal counterparts.
Obviously, seeing as Liverpool were at their peak in the late 70's and 80's.

Jaime
15/06/2005, 10:07 AM
No matter what the reason why people suppport their chosen English club, it's never going to be very deep, is it? Because they're succesful. Because they have a couple of Irish lads on the books. It's all very arbitrary. Although it's more than one generation ago, there are still people who can remember deciding to follow United after Munich. That's a fact, as I know some of them. It's not really any more meaningful a reason than winning European Cups, but it is something unique that only United can claim. I don't think many people decided to follow Liverpool after Hillsborough because most of those impressionable enough already followed Liverpool. My own story is Chelsea, since I was a nipper, passed on from my father who lived in SW London in 1971. I guess it's the same for a lot of Irish people who have no apprent connection with these clubs.

anto1208
15/06/2005, 12:17 PM
its pretty evenly split between the two . the reference to everton being the peoples club is a reference to the average person ( normal working class ) is an everton fan . this is what is ment by everton being the peoples club not the number of fans .

i like the fact that when 4to the floor is baseing his answer on the fact there were more liverpool shirts around on the night of the champs league and a chelsea game at anfield(on the 2 times he has been ) , that that means there are more pool fans ....
i think it might be the fact that liverpool were playing that day :rolleyes:
also if liverpool are at home everton are away so there fans would be going to the game or watching it on the box not wandering around anfield road :rolleyes:

also i think some of them 3/4 of a mill that were at the parade might have been glory hunters , if you think about it if 3/4 of a mill people living in the city attually supported them then they would be selling out anfield for every single game

JoeSemi
15/06/2005, 2:27 PM
:also i think some of them 3/4 of a mill that were at the parade might have been glory hunters , if you think about it if 3/4 of a mill people living in the city attually supported them then they would be selling out anfield for every single game

There's little doubt that there were the odd few glory hunters and people looking for a good time among the crowds, but what hasn't been said is that Evertonians didn't wish to spend a gloriously sunny day inside either. They were obviously going to jump at the chance to top up their sunbed tans and salivate over a piece of silverware they're unlikely to hold aloft in our lifetime :D

anto1208
15/06/2005, 2:50 PM
They were obviously going to jump at the chance to top up their sunbed tans and salivate over a piece of silverware they're unlikely to hold aloft in our lifetime :D

as i said before if liverpool one of the worst teams in this years comp can win it then any one can , and considering everton have a better side than liverpool at the moment , they have every chance .

and before ye start going on about all the europeen cups ye have bla bla bla , ill point out that only for liverpool getting all english clubs banned everton would have a bag of cups , being one of the top europeen sides and favourites to lift the cup in 85 ,

anto eile
15/06/2005, 4:25 PM
Actually met 5 Tranmere fans from Dublin in the airport one Saturday morning. Fair play to them. Travel over quite regularly.
why is following a crap english team ok? but following a "crap" irish team isnt? weird logic that

been to see tranmere this season.chose the delights of tranmere v colchester rather than everton v chelsea. twas rubbish,and very bloody cold

Junior
15/06/2005, 4:48 PM
why is following a crap english team ok? but following a "crap" irish team isnt? weird logic that

been to see tranmere this season.chose the delights of tranmere v colchester rather than everton v chelsea. twas rubbish,and very bloody cold

There is an element of inverted snobbery if you ask me. Its quite the 'in' thing to follow a crap side. Im sure if the EL games over night were getting 20k, 30k, 40k crowds that there would be an element of the current fans that would be saddened by this. As in all honesty there is (i'd imagine) something about the camaradarie of the close knit setup now that would ultimately be lost if crowds got that big.

Whilst Tranmere v Colchester might offer the opportunity of a ground you've not been to before or teams you've not seen or indeed mixing with fans who ultimately have a different outlook than say top premiership fans - I think the footie on show was always going to be better at goodison ;)

jockser
15/06/2005, 5:02 PM
as i said before if liverpool one of the worst teams in this years comp can win it then any one can , and considering everton have a better side than liverpool at the moment , they have every chance .

and before ye start going on about all the europeen cups ye have bla bla bla , ill point out that only for liverpool getting all english clubs banned everton would have a bag of cups , being one of the top europeen sides and favourites to lift the cup in 85 ,

That is the funniest thing ive read in ages!!! :D :D :D

Everton for the champions league next year!!!!! LMFAO

youll get as far as the UEFA cup 3rd round i reckon by then your league campaign will be all about trying to survive in the premiership once again :rolleyes:

anto1208
15/06/2005, 5:36 PM
That is the funniest thing ive read in ages!!! :D :D :D

Everton for the champions league next year!!!!! LMFAO

youll get as far as the UEFA cup 3rd round i reckon by then your league campaign will be all about trying to survive in the premiership once again :rolleyes:

let me guess a liverpool fan ??

remember how hard every one laughed last year at liverpool fans when they said they could win it and they did so surely a better team than liverpool have a better chance .

jockser
15/06/2005, 5:40 PM
eh.... who was better in europe this season than Liverpool??? :confused: :confused:

Gerrit
15/06/2005, 6:53 PM
There is an element of inverted snobbery if you ask me. Its quite the 'in' thing to follow a crap side. Im sure if the EL games over night were getting 20k, 30k, 40k crowds that there would be an element of the current fans that would be saddened by this. As in all honesty there is (i'd imagine) something about the camaradarie of the close knit setup now that would ultimately be lost if crowds got that big.

Whilst Tranmere v Colchester might offer the opportunity of a ground you've not been to before or teams you've not seen or indeed mixing with fans who ultimately have a different outlook than say top premiership fans - I think the footie on show was always going to be better at goodison ;)

Slightly off topic but I am one of those who would be disappointed if crowds would rise suddenly. One of the things I like about supporting small teams is that the few die-hards form a close group of football pals, which is never possibly if you're anonymous in a mass of 20000. I have always supported 'crap teams' BTW from way before it became a fashion, only Rosenborg rised above its past 'crap status' and grew to be a decent club - my other sides are still minnows in Europe (Shels) or own country (Ostend).

and as I like socialising with football fans everywhere and like discovering new grounds, places and teams, I would prefer Torshavn vs Tbilissi everyday rather than another Real Madrid vs AC Milan with the same old players.

Back on-topic. On my last day in Liverpool I found an Everton scarf :eek: It still exists ! They were selling them in a shop, but the scarfs were in the very back of the store, while the front of the store was full of Liverpool stuff with the words "European" and "champions" on them...

Gerrit
15/06/2005, 7:18 PM
Turkish delight ?! You do know that the local girls have to be virgin till marriage ? ;) Would be a pretty lame reason to chose a team anyway :eek:

4tothefloor
15/06/2005, 7:30 PM
I like the fact that when 4to the floor is baseing his answer on the fact there were more liverpool shirts around on the night of the champs league and a chelsea game at anfield(on the 2 times he has been ) , that that means there are more pool fans ....
i think it might be the fact that liverpool were playing that day :rolleyes:
also if liverpool are at home everton are away so there fans would be going to the game or watching it on the box not wandering around anfield road :rolleyes:
If you read it properly you'll see that I wasn't referring specifically to the nights of the game. I said I spent a couple of nights on both occasions in Liverpool. This includes the evening before, night of and day after the games. Walking around Liverpool and the city centre, no sign of anything Everton. I wasn't just talking about match days.

As far as I can see, the majority of the locals who attend Anfield are working class people. Liverpool as a whole is largely a working class city, so I don't see how Everton are 'the Peoples Club' anymore than Liverpool. Granted, Everton are a poorer club, a success starved club, but that doesn't mean all the working class support them ;) . All those skits in the eighties about Liverpool fans with perms and moustache's in shell suits - so they were middle class fans, or am I missing something? :D

15/06/2005, 11:15 PM
Half Man Half Biscuit... the band are all mad Tranmere Rovers. And they refuse to play gigs on Friday nights that The Tran are at home in Prenton Park. Even turned down TV appearances in the 1980's cause they clashed with Tranmere Rovers home games !

Closed Account 2
15/06/2005, 11:17 PM
I think the footie on show was always going to be better at goodison ;)

Well there was decent football on show the last time the 2 teams met in the cup at Goodison a few years ago... anyone remember the score :D :p ?!?!

anto1208
16/06/2005, 8:05 AM
If you read it properly you'll see that I wasn't referring specifically to the nights of the game. I said I spent a couple of nights on both occasions in Liverpool. This includes the evening before, night of and day after the games. Walking around Liverpool and the city centre, no sign of anything Everton. I wasn't just talking about match days.

As far as I can see, the majority of the locals who attend Anfield are working class people. Liverpool as a whole is largely a working class city, so I don't see how Everton are 'the Peoples Club' anymore than Liverpool. Granted, Everton are a poorer club, a success starved club, but that doesn't mean all the working class support them ;) . All those skits in the eighties about Liverpool fans with perms and moustache's in shell suits - so they were middle class fans, or am I missing something? :D

well liverpool is my second home , ive a season ticket and head over about 20 times a year , ive friends and family that live there and yes i do meet evertonians every time ( and not just inside goodison :D :D )
if your in the city centre then look in either of the 2 everton mega stores its full of everton stuff.

even your couple of nights are still before and after a liverpool game , of coarse there will be more liverpool jerseys about , mainly because you have guys like you that will travel over from ireland wales and norway and wear there jersey all weekend .

16/06/2005, 8:23 AM
if your in the city centre then look in either of the 2 everton mega stores its full of everton stuff.I wouldn't exactly say "mega", its a small enough shop, well from the outside, never been in there obviously. ;)

anto1208
16/06/2005, 8:33 AM
I wouldn't exactly say "mega", its a small enough shop, well from the outside, never been in there obviously. ;)

well the only other city centre store ive been in is celtics and its bigger than that one . its the new one with the glass windows its pretty large for a shop that only sell s everton stuff.

16/06/2005, 9:45 AM
Slightly off topic but I am one of those who would be disappointed if crowds would rise suddenly. One of the things I like about supporting small teams is that the few die-hards form a close group of football pals, which is never possibly if you're anonymous in a mass of 20000.
But you're not. When you get down to the hardcore home and away fan you're back down to under a 1000 really, even at clubs with over 67,000 at home games...

Jaime
16/06/2005, 10:37 AM
Plus, English fans (whether inside or outside the hardcore) tend to drink and travel with their mates, often from the same estates (in the north anyway?), so I would imagine that the rest of the 30,000 / 40,000 are anonymous anyway.

16/06/2005, 10:51 AM
Plus, English fans (whether inside or outside the hardcore) tend to drink and travel with their mates, often from the same estates (in the north anyway?), so I would imagine that the rest of the 30,000 / 40,000 are anonymous anyway.
Exactly, you make mates at the match whatever size of crowd (just whether you can watch the match with them in all seater rubbish stadiums)

tayto repairman
16/06/2005, 12:31 PM

i guess you're a bitter?

:p

***** - count 'em, if you can.

Gerrit
16/06/2005, 3:09 PM
well liverpool is my second home , ive a season ticket and head over about 20 times a year , ive friends and family that live there and yes i do meet evertonians every time ( and not just inside goodison :D :D )
if your in the city centre then look in either of the 2 everton mega stores its full of everton stuff.

even your couple of nights are still before and after a liverpool game , of coarse there will be more liverpool jerseys about , mainly because you have guys like you that will travel over from ireland wales and norway and wear there jersey all weekend .

Bit weird was to see the Everton and Liverpool clubstores seperated from each other by only one house in between... You can easily walk from the one store to the other in less than 30 seconds.

But it seems the rivality between EFC and LFC is not that harsh and bitter as between Man Utd and Man City ? I mean, I don't have the impression that Liverpool or Everton fans hate the other club in the city from the bottom of their hearts, which seems to be the case in other city rivalities such as United-City/Villa-Birmingham/Bristol R-Bristol C

anto1208
16/06/2005, 4:38 PM
Bit weird was to see the Everton and Liverpool clubstores seperated from each other by only one house in between... You can easily walk from the one store to the other in less than 30 seconds.

But it seems the rivality between EFC and LFC is not that harsh and bitter as between Man Utd and Man City ? I mean, I don't have the impression that Liverpool or Everton fans hate the other club in the city from the bottom of their hearts, which seems to be the case in other city rivalities such as United-City/Villa-Birmingham/Bristol R-Bristol C

sure you can walk from one pitch to the other in a few mins

rivalry isnt that harsh because you have families sopprting both in a lot of cases 1 brother is red the other blue etc etc ... its mainly friendly ould banter as you can see from the disscussions we have on here with the reds that neither will side will admitt defeat no matter how wrong they are ! isnt that right 4tothefloor :D :D

4tothefloor
16/06/2005, 9:38 PM
isnt that right 4tothefloor
Not really, because Liverpool actually win things, Everton don't. You're the one calling the European Champions 'the worst team blah blah blah....' - just admit that you were upstaged by Liverpool again and get over it. Also, I'd be seriously worried if there weren't any Everton fans in the Everton "mega" store. :D

Jaime
17/06/2005, 8:25 AM
The shop with the glass windows. :D