View Full Version : Faroe Islands and other minnows

Pages : 1 [2]

13/06/2005, 9:57 PM
Read in When Saturday Comes that the Isle of Man and Guernsey are among the federations looking to join FIFA and play in the World Cup (though they wouldn't be allowed enter the European Championships). Now that would be taking the mick.

Well Guernsey have upgraded their Footes Lane ground to a 5,000 all-seater stadium iirc in time for this year's Muratti game against Jersey.

Plus they won the Football competition at the last Island Games.

The Isle of Man are the same - they compete in the Games (and won gold in the 2001 tournament) - plus they host the three Football League sides every summer in the Isle of Man Tournament- and regularly beat them.

Both would make good strong candidates - about the same standard as San Marino and Liechtenstein.

I would like to see them given a chance in the World Cup

Gerrit
13/06/2005, 10:07 PM
imagine this:northern ireland v vatican city.should be interesting :D:D :D :D
interestingly the vatican would (like andorra, who play in Barcelona) have to play home games out of their own country.id say theyd play in the flaminio stadium rathere than olimpico though

I'd be more worried about an Islamic country playing them TBH. But it could very much happen that Northern Iron plays the Vatican, as the Vatican FA is on its way to enter the FIFA... Will probably not take too long before their first official international game is being played.

Andorra plays in its own Andorra La Vella ground but moves to Barcelona when a big crowd is expected. When Belgium played there 3 years ago it was in their own ground (BEL won 0-1 thanks to the referee framing Andorra - I don't like Belgian FA so I support the opposition, and I never came that close to see the Belgian FA ego's get THAT humiliated... Thanks a lot referee :mad: )

The Vatican would have no problem in finding a ground nearby, there is AFAIK no sport accomodation on Vatican soil (maybe someone who's visited the country or who has a detailed map can prove me right or wrong) but it would not be a problem to play their games on Italian soil.
I do wonder who will play for them, as most Vatican citizens keep their own nationality. I guess though the FA will arrange Vatican nationality for all selected players. They have a 5-a-side league so they can recruit players there and give them the Vatican nationality, as far as the Vatican-based players in the league have not already gained the local citizenship.

13/06/2005, 10:13 PM
They're not countries, though, is my problem. Where do you draw the line? Do you let Cork in? ;)

Think the rule in UEFA is that you have to be a recognised country. This only came in in '94 or so, so anyone who got in before that (e.g. the Faroes) isn't going to get kicked out retrospectively. FIFA don't have such a rule though, it seems.

Cowboy
13/06/2005, 10:53 PM
They're not countries, though, is my problem. Where do you draw the line? Do you let Cork in? ;)

Think the rule in UEFA is that you have to be a recognised country. This only came in in '94 or so, so anyone who got in before that (e.g. the Faroes) isn't going to get kicked out retrospectively. FIFA don't have such a rule though, it seems.

I'm open to correction but I think you have to be a at least principality with its own legislature and have a national league (hence the league of wales being formed)

Islander
13/06/2005, 10:54 PM
Both would make good strong candidates - about the same standard as San Marino and Liechtenstein.
The Faroe Islands participated in the Island Games football competition in the eighties and early nineties, and if my memory doesn't let me down, I think that the Faroes won gold everytime - very convincing too. This actually led them into seeking other challanges, which led into FIFA membership in 1988 - and UEFA in 1990. And even if they're still considered minnows, and rightly so, they have come a long way since their days at the Island Games. On a sidenote: It's a pity that they exited the Island Games, they could easily have manned a special island games team, since they don't participate with a U-21 team in UEFA and FIFA compititions..

I agree with that.

Islander
13/06/2005, 10:59 PM

We wouldn't want Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland kicked out, now would we? ;)

Gerrit
14/06/2005, 11:18 AM
I don't know if the rule is still the same, but it used to be: minimum distance of X kilometers to the homeland (not sure of the number) + well-structured FA. Thus, Greenland and Gibraltar could go in (well, the latter will have political objection rather than any other).

The following sovereign or non-sovereign states have well-structured FAs as far as I know and could apply for FIFA recognition if you let out political issues. The starred ones are busy with FIFA application and will very likely be entering the FIFA very soon.

Vatican City (*)
Monaco
Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus
Guernsey
Isle of Man
Shetland Islands
Greenland (need a grass pitch or recognition of artificial surface and they're in)
Lapland
Gibraltar
Falkland Islands
Canary Islands
Tuvalu (*)
Christmas Island
Nauru
Cocos Islands (Keering Islands)
Tibet
East Timor
Western Sahara (?? Not sure if their FA meets all criteria)

Of all these countries, two are currently in the affiliation process and will normally enter FIFA soon: Vatican City, and Tuvalu.

Interesting fact is that approx 5 years ago, Palestina's FA was allowed in and has played in the qualifiers for this World Cup. Hence, Palestina is not yet fully sovereign (or at least not recognised by all countries), still they were allowed in. Bit of double standards IMO, if you drop political issues here you should do the same everywhere and also allow Tibet, Gibraltar and Falkland Islands to join. Why would Palestina be able to join despite Israeli objection while Spain and Argentina can still block Gibraltar and Falklands from joining ?!

14/06/2005, 4:37 PM
The Faroe Islands participated in the Island Games football competition in the eighties and early nineties, and if my memory doesn't let me down, I think that the Faroes won gold everytime - very convincing too. This actually led them into seeking other challanges, which led into FIFA membership in 1988 - and UEFA in 1990. And even if they're still considered minnows, and rightly so, they have come a long way since their days at the Island Games. On a sidenote: It's a pity that they exited the Island Games, they could easily have manned a special island games team, since they don't participate with a U-21 team in UEFA and FIFA compititions..

I agree with that.

The women's team still competes in the Games

Apparently a mate of mine from Jersey refereed one of their games in the 2003 tournament and had it shown live on Faeroes TV :D

14/06/2005, 4:39 PM
I don't know if the rule is still the same, but it used to be: minimum distance of X kilometers to the homeland (not sure of the number) + well-structured FA. Thus, Greenland and Gibraltar could go in (well, the latter will have political objection rather than any other).

The following sovereign or non-sovereign states have well-structured FAs as far as I know and could apply for FIFA recognition if you let out political issues. The starred ones are busy with FIFA application and will very likely be entering the FIFA very soon.

Vatican City (*)
Monaco
Guernsey
Isle of Man
Shetland Islands
Greenland (need a grass pitch or recognition of artificial surface and they're in)
Lapland
Gibraltar
Falkland Islands
Canary Islands
Tuvalu (*)
Christmas Island
Nauru
Tibet
East Timor

Of all these countries, two are currently in the affiliation process and will normally enter FIFA soon: Vatican City, and Tuvalu.

Jersey should be on that list as well

14/06/2005, 4:40 PM

True on the second point.

First point - Guernsey, Jersey and the Isle of Man all have independant Parliaments - and they set their own Laws

Islander
14/06/2005, 6:07 PM
The women's team still competes in the Games

Apparently a mate of mine from Jersey refereed one of their games in the 2003 tournament and had it shown live on Faeroes TV :D

How could I forget our golden ladies!? /me shames himself

14/06/2005, 6:10 PM
How could I forget our golden ladies!? /me shames himself
The Faroes ladies were over here recently playing 2 matches against the Irish:

http://www.fai.ie/article.asp?hlid=283499&Title=Irish+ladies+score+double+success+over+Faroe +visitors&lid=Main+News&sub=Irish+ladies+score+double+success+over+Faroe+v isitors&navlid=&sublid=

gaf1983
14/06/2005, 7:10 PM
Ever read that book about Liechtenstein's WC qualifying campaign by a lad called Connolly? Worth a read, though the name escapes me. Has a triangular stamp on the cover.
I've often thought that a tournament for all the so-called lesser lights would make a good TV event.
Certainly better than watching the women's tournaments. :D

That book about Liechtenstein is called Stomping Grounds: Liechtenstein's World Cup Oddysey and is a very good read. You can buy it here if you like:

14/06/2005, 7:51 PM
Ireland 2-1 Faroes
UCD 3-1 Faroes! :D

And a UCD player scored both the Irish goals!

Got that Liechtenstein book in the post from amazon today - just had a flick through (about six other books to get through), but looks very good alright.

lopez
14/06/2005, 9:55 PM
I've had a long day today (back at work first time from Faroes, blah, blah, blah) so forgive me for skipping pages 2-4 and if anything I say has already been mentioned. My two cents are this: Faroes, San Marino, Litchenstein, Scotland, etc. These countries are great. We normally win, the points are never included (I stand corrected) even if you f*ck up, and if there should be a penalty/incentive it is that whoever loses to these countries should lose 6 points. Plus (if you can get there) they are great destinations. Nothing against them.

It is the break up of proper countries that throw the spanner in the works, like Yugoslavia (remember Zagreb or :eek: Skopje, FFS). Now imagine if Spain split into with Catalunya, Euskadi, Castille etc. or France with Bretagne, Provence or Germany with Bavaria etc. We'd be up against it with these 'countries.'

15/06/2005, 1:39 PM
Ireland 2-1 Faroes
UCD 3-1 Faroes! :D

And a UCD player scored both the Irish goals!
What's this about?

15/06/2005, 1:45 PM
What's this about?

Ireland Ladies v Faroe Islands Ladies
UCD "ladies" v Faroe Islands Ladies

15/06/2005, 11:06 PM
'Tis mad - someone was telling me about this in Café Natúr in Tórshavn last week, and I was adamant that they were only playing Ireland. Can't remember who is was - Galway Brian? - but apologies!!

Cowboy
15/06/2005, 11:22 PM
When does Rockall join FIFA ?

Islander
16/06/2005, 11:50 AM
When does Rockall join FIFA ?

Since Rockall belongs to the Faroes, it is allready included! :D

17/06/2005, 4:08 AM

Vatican City (*)
Monaco
Guernsey
Isle of Man
Shetland Islands
Lapland
Gibraltar
Falkland Islands
Canary Islands
Tuvalu (*)
Christmas Island
Nauru
Tibet
East Timor

Monaco has a club team in the French league, the Canary Islands is covered by the FRF, Isle Of Man, Shetland Islands, Guernsey, come under the jurisdiction of the E/SFA, TR Cyprus is already an active FIFA member, Tibet comes under the Chinese FA. Vatican City is part of Rome, which comes under the Italian FA. None of these "countries" could become FIFA members, as none of them are outright independent states.

Cowboy
17/06/2005, 7:42 AM
Since Rockall belongs to the Faroes, it is allready included! :D

Of course and its easier to get in/out of :)

Cowboy
17/06/2005, 7:47 AM
Monaco has a club team in the French league, the Canary Islands is covered by the FRF, Isle Of Man, Shetland Islands, Guernsey, come under the jurisdiction of the E/SFA, TR Cyprus is already an active FIFA member, Tibet comes under the Chinese FA. Vatican City is part of Rome, which comes under the Italian FA. None of these "countries" could become FIFA members, as none of them are outright independent states.

The vatican is an outright independent state and in any case this is not required as Scotland and Wales. NI etc are not independent.

Gerrit
17/06/2005, 2:42 PM
MyPost, you need to re-research a bit man :D

- Vatican City is an independent sovereign state, not part of Rome at all ! They have an independent FA as well. FIFA and UEFA will soon officiallise their membership application.

- Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus is not already an active FIFA member. Where did you get that ?! The Northern Cipriot FA is not recognised because of political reasons, and for the same reasons their league cannot enter any clubs in the European competitions (this is why their league has not yet gained fully professional level)

- Monaco may have a professional club in the French league, they also have an independent FA and amateur league. And they're a sovereign state. No reason for UEFA to reject application, so the moment they ask affiliation they'll be allowed in.

- Tibet is part of China ?! Well, I'm sure any Tibetan will be very happy to read this. Tibet is OCCUPIED by China for the moment, which is a completely different situation. At least, this is how they see it. From the Chinese point of view Tibet is a Chinese region. Tibet does have its own FA (situated across the border in India, because it's not allowed under Chinese laws to represent Tibet as an independent state within the borders of PR China) and if not for political reasons Tibet would be FIFA member.

- FIFA let in Palestina as independent FIFA member. In that perspective they should also allow Tibet, Gibraltar and the Falklands to affiliate ; if you ignore political objections for one country you have to do it for them all, there's no reason why Palestina would be allowed an exception while Falklands can't (unless the Israeli FA had no objection to Palestina's affiliation)

17/06/2005, 2:55 PM
- Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus is not already an active FIFA member. Where did you get that ?!
Mostly because the "Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus" is not a country. It's an occupied area of another country.

Gerrit
18/06/2005, 12:48 AM
I would go immediately, both for football and country. Sorry. I just want to travel the world, always been my big goal in life. If I would have to cut countries from the list because of a political issue, there wouldn't be much remaining as it's something rotten everywhere. TRNC has some great sceneries and towns and if I'd ever have the chance to see them I won't let it pass by because of some political thing.

TRNC's best club played a friendly versus a Greek professional club recently, not sure which Greek club but it was a top-divisionist playing around the 10th place. The Greeks won 6-1, which was expected as the Northern Cyprus clubs cannot gain international experience and have only semi-professionalism and no pro's. I asked someone from TRNC who people support, and apart from their own non-FIFA recognised national side most inhabitants support the Turkish national team. So it may be occupied territory, the locals do feel Turkish.

Gerrit
18/06/2005, 12:50 AM
Exactly and nobody should be going on holidays there, let alone playing football against them.

Rather than punishing the people and players of the occupied territory, it would make more sense to boycot the team of the occupiers. If you really want to mix politics and sports, then it would make more sense to refuse to play Turkey, as they're the "guilty" ones, not the people who happen to live in TR Northern Cyprus.
But the best thing is to try to build bridges and not let politics and sports mix.

18/06/2005, 1:35 AM
The Cypriot border (especially through Nicosia with the UN) is such a great place to visit, standing on the border of an EU country,looking across with a few Turkish boys with AK47's aiming at you... Great craic altogether!

davey
18/06/2005, 2:23 AM
- FIFA let in Palestina as independent FIFA member. In that perspective they should also allow Tibet, Gibraltar and the Falklands to affiliate ; if you ignore political objections for one country you have to do it for them all, there's no reason why Palestina would be allowed an exception while Falklands can't (unless the Israeli FA had no objection to Palestina's affiliation)

You can't compare Gibraltar with Pleastine - They're on a different level :eek: I don't see why Gibraltar should play international games - they're not a "nation" - so they can't play against Us, France etc, obviously this can't be applied retrospectively, so Faroes, San Marino etc are free to continue. With parts of Moldova, Azerbarjan etc wanting to proclaim "proper independence" - "fake" countries like Guernsey or the Falklands certainly don't carry as much credence. :) :)

18/06/2005, 3:30 AM
Vatican City is an independent sovereign state, not part of Rome at all ! They have an independent FA as well. FIFA and UEFA will soon officiallise their membership application.

Vatican City is a state in it's purest technical form. I personally, don't recognise the Vatican as a sovereign state, but merely as an area of Rome. Rome is in Italy, it's in football terms, under the guise of the Italian FA. I think if The Vatican make an application to join FIFA, it should be rejected out-of-hand.

Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus is not already an active FIFA member. Where did you get that ?! The Northern Cipriot FA is not recognised because of political reasons, and for the same reasons their league cannot enter any clubs in the European competitions (this is why their league has not yet gained fully professional level)

TRC and GRC make up Cyprus. Nicosia, where Cyprus often play International games, is on the border of the two areas. Cyprus is a recognised member of UEFA, and FIFA. Case closed.

Tibet is part of China ?! Well, I'm sure any Tibetan will be very happy to read this. Tibet is OCCUPIED by China for the moment, which is a completely different situation. At least, this is how they see it. From the Chinese point of view Tibet is a Chinese region.

Tibet is occupied by China, fair enough. Therefore, it comes under the auspices of the Chinese FA. China is a member of FIFA. If/when Tibet is an independent sovereign state, the situation can then be reviewed.

Look lads, if every region in the world applied for FIFA membership, there would be about 400 members. Where do you draw the line? Quebec, Lapland, Catalonia, the Basque country? :confused: These regions are not independent sovereign states, so any application for FIFA membership from them should be rejected, until the political situation in those regions changes to such an extent that their applications should be reviewed.

18/06/2005, 12:08 PM
Isle Of Man, Shetland Islands, Guernsey, come under the jurisdiction of the E/SFA,
None of these "countries" could become FIFA members, as none of them are outright independent states.

www.gov.je

Government Assembly

Constitutionally, Jersey is a dependency of the Crown, owing allegiance to the Sovereign, but without incorporation into the United Kingdom. Jersey is self-governing in internal matters, but the UK Government is responsible for defence, overseas representation and international affairs generally.

The Island has its own legislative assembly called the States of Jersey, a system of local administration, fiscal and legal systems and courts of law. The Bailiwick of Jersey is not represented in Parliament and therefore UK acts of parliament only apply to the Island if it is expressly agreed that they should do so. In Jersey there are no political parties, no cabinet and no prime minister.

The Government of Jersey is carried out by Committees, which are made up from 53 elected independent members. The present constitution of the States is the Bailiff, the Lieutenant Governor, 12 Senators, 12 Parish Constables, 29 Deputies, the Dean of Jersey, the Attorney General and the Solicitor General.

The Bailiff, who is appointed by the Crown, is the President of the Assembly and acts as its Speaker. He is also President of the Royal Court. Although he has no political power, he has the right of speech, which is traditionally only exercised for the purpose of ensuring orderly debate. He also has a casting vote, which, by tradition, is used to maintain the status quo and which allows the Assembly to reconsider the matter at a later date. There is also a Deputy Bailiff, who acts in the Bailiff's absence.

The Lieutenant Governor, as the resident representative of the Crown, attends the States Assembly on occasions but takes no part in debates. The Attorney General and the Solicitor General are the Law Officers of the Crown and are appointed by the Crown. They have the right to speak but not to vote. Points of law raised in debate are often referred to them for explanation and clarification.

http://www.gov.im/

The Isle of Man is situated in the heart of the British Isles. The country is an internally self-governing dependent territory of the British Crown. It is not part of the United Kingdom but is a member of the British Commonwealth.
IOM

Tynwald, the Island's 1,000 year old Parliament, makes its own laws and oversees all internal administration, fiscal and social policies. External issues, such as foreign representation and defence, are administered on the Island's behalf by the U.K. Government. The Island makes an annual payment for these services.

As a Crown dependency, the ultimate responsibility for the government of the Island is vested in the Crown. By long standing convention, the U.K. Government does not legislate for the Island except with the specific consent of the Island's Government.

The Island has it's own Income Tax and Customs and Excise services and is an established low tax area enjoying total independence from the UK on matters of direct taxation. There is low corporate and personal tax and no capital transfer or inheritance tax. As a consequence the Island has developed into a flourishing and internationally respected offshore business centre.

gaf1983
18/06/2005, 3:53 PM
Sure Wales, the Faroes, Scotland and Northern Ireland aren't outright independent states yet they are all FIFA members.

Are Surinam members of FIFA? Think of the players they've produced down through the years - Davids, Seedorf, Kluivert, Rijkgaard and Gullit among others. In an issue of FourFourTwo Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink picked his dream team and nearly all the players were from Surinam - they'd have been class if they had their own team. Then again I suppose most of their players moved to Holland very young and came up through the Dutch football system so perhaps it's better that they went on to represent Holland.

18/06/2005, 8:43 PM
Are Surinam members of FIFA?
Yep - they play in CONCACAF. Beat Aruba 10-2 before losing 4-2 to Guatemala this time around according to rsssf (http://www.rsssf.com/tables/2006q.html#nca)

Gerrit
18/06/2005, 11:19 PM
You can't compare Gibraltar with Pleastine - They're on a different level :eek: I don't see why Gibraltar should play international games - they're not a "nation" - so they can't play against Us, France etc, obviously this can't be applied retrospectively, so Faroes, San Marino etc are free to continue. With parts of Moldova, Azerbarjan etc wanting to proclaim "proper independence" - "fake" countries like Guernsey or the Falklands certainly don't carry as much credence. :) :)

Palestina is also not a sovereign state yet. The similarity with Gibraltar is that both had/have political objections towards membership. FIFA ignored objection in Palestina's case and not in Gibraltar's case. Seems they're more afraid to be on the bad books with Spain than they are afraid of debating with Israel... I think if you ignore political issues for Palestina you should also do it for Gibraltar and the Falklands.

Gerrit
18/06/2005, 11:33 PM
Vatican City is a state in it's purest technical form. I personally, don't recognise the Vatican as a sovereign state, but merely as an area of Rome. Rome is in Italy, it's in football terms, under the guise of the Italian FA. I think if The Vatican make an application to join FIFA, it should be rejected out-of-hand.

TRC and GRC make up Cyprus. Nicosia, where Cyprus often play International games, is on the border of the two areas. Cyprus is a recognised member of UEFA, and FIFA. Case closed.

Tibet is occupied by China, fair enough. Therefore, it comes under the auspices of the Chinese FA. China is a member of FIFA. If/when Tibet is an independent sovereign state, the situation can then be reviewed.

Look lads, if every region in the world applied for FIFA membership, there would be about 400 members. Where do you draw the line? Quebec, Lapland, Catalonia, the Basque country? :confused: These regions are not independent sovereign states, so any application for FIFA membership from them should be rejected, until the political situation in those regions changes to such an extent that their applications should be reviewed.

Unfortunately (??) your opinion that the Vatican is just an area of Rome does not change the fact that Vatican City is an internationally recognised independent state. Their FA is already busy with membership application and odds are 90% they will be allowed in - there are no reasons for FIFA to refuse membership to a sovereign country with a structured FA. So no matter if you like it or not, the Vatican will most likely join up and play Ireland, France and other countries in the very near future.

TRC and GRC make up Cyprus geographically. Administratively there are two units, just like Ireland is divided politically between Northern Ireland and Eire. Turkish Rep of Northern Cyprus is administratively nor culturally affiliated with the part south of the border, so that they form an own football entity is not more than normal. I would hope that the two parts will unite soon, both politically, socially and in football terms, but unfortunately we are not very close to a united Cyprus I'm afraid.

And Tibet should be allowed in IMO. The Chinese FA will not do much to develop the game in the area, and Tibet is a country (that happens to be occupied and thus administratively part of the PR China).

I have no problems and am even pro membership for colonies. Maybe not if they're close to the mainland, like in the case of Isle of Man. But the Falklands for example are so far away from the UK mainland that they will not associate with the football teams of England, Scotland, Wales or Northern Ireland. Add the fact that due to the distance no clubs will enter English tournaments and thus the fact that it's unlikely that a Falklands native will ever be selected for one of the four mainland UK teams. So I'd say in this case the membership of Falklands would be justified, same for Greenland, Gibraltar, St-Helena (though haven't shown interest in joining FIFA, ...).

The fact that we'd have more countries is an organisation problem for FIFA to handle with, and this should not stop countries or far-away and more or less sovereign places to be able to join. If we stop people and nations from playing because FIFA could have the problem of having to organise more games, then we make football an elitist game. Don't forget that Ireland has no more rights to claim a place than some of the countries mentionned ; a Tuvaluan has as many rights as an Irishman, and refusing their membership is like looking down on them.
Greenland for example is maybe administratively part of Denmark, but they have their own parliament, language, cultural identity, laws, ... They're very far from Danish mainland as well. I'd say it would only make sense to let them in.

Then a sidenote: i don't know who refered to San Marino in the same breath as the Faroe Islands... San Marino is a fully sovereign country and is even older than Italy itself. They remained independent when all other smaller states in the region formed Italy. San Marino is a country just like Eire, Belgium, UK, Germany, ... They're as sovereign as the ROI.

19/06/2005, 6:34 AM
it's unlikely that a Falklands native will ever be selected for one of the four mainland UK teams

I thought there were only three teams on the "mainland". :eek:

Get the map out, Gerrit... :p

:ball: PP

Islander
19/06/2005, 1:45 PM
Let's not forget that countries, areas or what you might choose to call present and forthcoming minnow members FIFA, would have to compete in their representative part of their world. So the Vatican must also be a member of UEFA to take part in qualifying for the WC and EC. The Falkland Islands must be a member of the South American Football Confederation to qualify for the WC and Copa America etc etc. Man, I like the thought of the Falklands beating the crap out of the Argentineans! :eek:

Does anyone know if there is any automation in when becoming a FIFA member, you also become a member of ex. UEFA or other football organisation?

Gerrit
19/06/2005, 3:45 PM
No. Some countries (San Marino and Mongolia for example) affiliated to FIFA first and affiliated to their continent's federation a few years later. I don't think though that a continental organisation will have any objections once a state has been accepted by FIFA.

You can also apply for a federation from another continent, but it's more unlikely the federation will let them in. IN THEORY, New Zealand could apply for UEFA membership. The only few of these teams that were given exceptions are Surinam (CONCACAF instead of Conmebol), Israel (UEFA instead of AFC), Kazachstan (UEFA instead of AFC) maybe soon Australia (AFC instead of OFC :mad: ). Not sure if Guam is administratively in Asia (where they play) or in Oceania.
Israel being an exception though, they were let in by UEFA after both AFC and the African federation kicked them out because of political issues. Then UEFA picked them up. They have a lot in common with Derry, don't they ? ;)

I'd love Falklands in the Conmebol beating those Brazilian ego's. One of my football dreams is a game in Maracana, packed with 200000 arrogant Brazilians, all being devastated after tiny Falklands beat the full-strenghth Brazil in their own ground. :cool:

Gerrit
19/06/2005, 4:34 PM
www.nf-board.com = site for the alternative World Cup for non-FIFA members (participators include Western Sahara, TR Northern Cyprus, Greenland, ...)

Qwerty
19/06/2005, 6:14 PM
No. Some countries (San Marino and Mongolia for example) affiliated to FIFA first and affiliated to their continent's federation a few years later. I don't think though that a continental organisation will have any objections once a state has been accepted by FIFA.

You can also apply for a federation from another continent, but it's more unlikely the federation will let them in. IN THEORY, New Zealand could apply for UEFA membership. The only few of these teams that were given exceptions are Surinam (CONCACAF instead of Conmebol), Israel (UEFA instead of AFC), Kazachstan (UEFA instead of AFC) maybe soon Australia (AFC instead of OFC :mad: ). Not sure if Guam is administratively in Asia (where they play) or in Oceania.
Israel being an exception though, they were let in by UEFA after both AFC and the African federation kicked them out because of political issues. Then UEFA picked them up. They have a lot in common with Derry, don't they ? ;)

I'd love Falklands in the Conmebol beating those Brazilian ego's. One of my football dreams is a game in Maracana, packed with 200000 arrogant Brazilians, all being devastated after tiny Falklands beat the full-strenghth Brazil in their own ground. :cool:

In all fairness Brazilians are not arrogant about their football teams, they have a much better claim to be the 'best fans in the world' as opposed to our arrogant claims to this trophyless title.

Gerrit
19/06/2005, 6:44 PM
I don't like Brazil at all, I'm looking through coloured glasses on this one. I always support against them.

Brazilian football is not my thing at all. All their technical trics, trying to ridiculise the opponent... The few Brazilian fans I met are also true gloryhunters - perhaps it's a wrong image but the ones I met were all the sort of folks that find it the most normal thing in the world if Brazil wins everything without even having to tire themselves. Maybe I just met the wrong fans...

Best fans in the world ? I'd nominate Jamaica for that. Very colourful, always present (despite the average Jamaican not having that much money to travel), always very noisy but never taunting, never causing any troubles.

anto eile
19/06/2005, 7:17 PM
I don't like Brazil at all, I'm looking through coloured glasses on this one. I always support against them.

Brazilian football is not my thing at all. All their technical trics, trying to ridiculise the opponent... The few Brazilian fans I met are also true gloryhunters - perhaps it's a wrong image but the ones I met were all the sort of folks that find it the most normal thing in the world if Brazil wins everything without even having to tire themselves. Maybe I just met the wrong fans...

Best fans in the world ? I'd nominate Jamaica for that. Very colourful, always present (despite the average Jamaican not having that much money to travel), always very noisy but never taunting, never causing any troubles.
but i wonder how many jamaicans regularly attend club games of their local team??and howm many of them attended international games before they got good in 1998
maracana holds 90,000 so youd be hard pressed to stick 200,000 into it these days :p

gaf1983
19/06/2005, 8:13 PM
Gerrit you seem to love trivia about small nations' football teams.

Cowboy
20/06/2005, 9:06 AM

Would the same rules apply as per Puerto Rico where any American can play, IE Falklands could pick any British passport holder.