View Full Version : anyone heading to oxegen ?

anto1208
09/06/2005, 11:46 AM
did ye manage to get tickets , ive had mine for a while ....

so who is heading

Drumcondra Red
09/06/2005, 11:53 AM
I'll be heading down with a load of people, got camping tix, always a laugh, going on the Friday!!!

09/06/2005, 11:54 AM
i made the mistake of buying mine early presuming all my friends would follow suit so now most of them dont have tickets :) still going though!

fosterdollar
09/06/2005, 12:01 PM
just reminded me to book the monday off work!

anto1208
09/06/2005, 12:06 PM
i made the mistake of buying mine early presuming all my friends would follow suit so now most of them dont have tickets :) still going though!

same as me there are afew of us that got tickets but at least half missed out, idiots !!

im staying in the car park this year even though i have a camping ticket , since you have to keep all your clothes and booze in the cars (so they dont get robbed ) im going to sleep in the car aswell save me walking in and out ,

Gareth
09/06/2005, 12:30 PM
I am going down to the Campsite on the Friday. Did that last year too. Had the odd privilege of having my tent up with round 10 others first. The mistake I made one year was coming down at like 3 am on the Saturday morning a little drunk and with a tent to put up.

I will have my car, but I will stay in my 9 man tent :) Its got three rooms :) I leave all the stuff in the car too. My car is small enough to fit in another car so if I can manage that I will.

09/06/2005, 12:33 PM
Missed out on ticket, anyone selling??

My car is small enough to fit in another car so if I can manage that I will.

Must be a big car if it can fit another one inside it!

fosterdollar
09/06/2005, 12:36 PM
Must be a big car if it can fit another one inside it!

he was syaing he would put it inside another car.

BTW, can everyone shut the hell up about putting stuff in their cars. I don't want to come back to smashed windows and banjaxed doors on monday morning.

anto1208
09/06/2005, 12:54 PM
bring a lock for your tent, a tent near ours was visited by some one looking for the toilet and left them a nice pile of 2 day festival s**t in the middle of the tent !now ye know how bad that must smell from the toilets

plus my cousin had all his clothes robbed the first day !!

09/06/2005, 1:12 PM
Im going camping too + so are one or 2 others that post here that havent done the roll call yet.

Maybe we should have a foot.ie meet up on Friday night and all get totally wasted? :)

Drumcondra Red
09/06/2005, 1:18 PM
Friday? Night? Wasted? I do believe so!!! :D

Gareth
09/06/2005, 1:20 PM
My car would not be worth breaking into.

As for a foot.ie group, you can gatecrash the Shelsweb one we are having :) Probably more than an average Tolka crowd :)

fosterdollar
09/06/2005, 1:51 PM
My car would not be worth breaking into.

It would if the skobies got the impression they had a good chance of finding your weekend's supply of booze/money in it.

Gareth
09/06/2005, 2:14 PM
Is it illegal to put poison into the cans and leave them in your car :) That would be the best way to get your own back. Or better fill the cans full of laxitives? They rob you but you clean them out :)

anto1208
09/06/2005, 2:26 PM
well ill be there anyway so if ye see a evertonian wandering around in a daze its probily me ,

we should have a meet up ,friday night is allways nice and relaxed

fosterdollar
09/06/2005, 2:31 PM
we should have a meet up ,friday night is allways nice and relaxed
i wouldnt be so sure. Last year i lost the plot altogether, got steamboats and couldn't find me tent for ages. It was class craic getting in though. As usual campsite A was full really early and when we got round to B they were filling it from the far end, forward. So we stood around for a few minutes until all hell broke loose and we all busted through the rather inept rope 'barrier' to fill the space at the front of campsite B. Got a lovely location at the base of a tower. Easy to find.... well, that's the theory anyway. Had our own little village with about 8 or 9 tents between 20 or so people. God i love that festival.

Gareth
09/06/2005, 2:43 PM
Friday night was a good laugh last year. Friday day was better though. Had the tent up and hung round with my mates and two nordy's in the carpark at the car. Lovely sunny day (unlike the rainfest for the next two days). I hate walking to Campsite B and as a result I make sure I am in A. I did get punched in the smacker last year whilst on the phone by a randomer. Wasn't too impressed with that!!!

fosterdollar
09/06/2005, 2:58 PM
FI did get punched in the smacker last year whilst on the phone by a randomer. Wasn't too impressed with that!!!

WTF, that happened myself and two lads i know as well. Wasn't on the phone but. Must be some fcukers doin it for a laugh. Must say i did actually think it was funny at the time, believe it or not.

anto1208
09/06/2005, 3:02 PM
for some reason people find it funny to go around smaking folk trying to have a laugh same peolple jump on tents etc .....

great news guys brighteyes are confirmed for the sat in the green room , make sure ye get to see these guys , absolutly brilliant

plus babyshambles might also be a late addition there recent gig in dublin was the best gig ive been to

09/06/2005, 3:06 PM
BTW, can everyone shut the hell up about putting stuff in their cars. I don't want to come back to smashed windows and banjaxed doors on monday morning.
Leave it inside Gareth's tent?

fosterdollar
09/06/2005, 3:08 PM
Leave it inside Gareth's tent?

Ah i'll only have to move it on sunday night to make way for Green Day's rig

Neish
09/06/2005, 3:21 PM
Aye, a bus of 15 Harps fans heading to the Derry Vs Harps game on the friday night then heading stright to Punchestown from there after the match.

Top 5 acts I'm looking forward to:
James Brown
Greenday
Kasabian
The Killers
Ian Brown

09/06/2005, 9:14 PM
Ive never been before so I dont know where to head if theres going to be a meet up but could I suggest that everyone has thier teams shirt on so we can spot eachother?

Drumcondra Red
09/06/2005, 10:29 PM
Might be getting a banner done to put over my tent, well Gar's is bigger so maybe his!!! :D I'll let yis know!!!

anto1208
10/06/2005, 8:00 AM
if ye only take one bit of advice for the weekend its make sure you see bright eyes they play in the green room ( same as ian brown) on the sat .

also if they make it babyshambles are a must see

james brown after that
kasabian are worth a watch ,

after that the rest aint great

Drumcondra Red
10/06/2005, 8:25 AM
Wouldn't be much bothered with James Brown, Razorlight are are a must!

Gareth
10/06/2005, 9:07 AM
I am not wearing a jersey at Oxegen. But I think the only way to find someone is to erect a FOOT banner :) hehe Drums Red is clearly eager with the banner-making.

I am in Galway this weekend and I am missing the Shels Cup game. Oxegen means I am missing another game too. Darn.

Bright Eyes is worth a look alright.

10/06/2005, 9:27 AM
Wouldn't be much bothered with James Brown, Razorlight are are a must!
You should bother with James Brown, absolute class when I saw him at one of the V festivals....

anto1208
10/06/2005, 10:02 AM
You should bother with James Brown, absolute class when I saw him at one of the V festivals....

i think ,at least i hope he is being sarcastic james brown or razorlight no contest . im sick of these bands like razorlight franz ferdinand killers etc no staying power , i was sick of there albums after a few listens its just pop music , but they are all only getting big here now so ive 3 months of them being every where then they will dissapear again .

Beavis
13/06/2005, 1:16 PM
Top 5 acts I'm looking forward to:
James Brown
Greenday
Kasabian
The Killers
Ian Brown

If you like Kasabian you'll probably like the Bloc Party Album(Silent Alarm), quality stuff. I think they're on after Kasabian at the Ticket Stage.

Cannot wait,actually my first time, less than a month now and Oasis the week after.
Just btw how is the new Oasis album? Havent had chance to hear it all yet

Drumcondra Red
13/06/2005, 1:54 PM
i think ,at least i hope he is being sarcastic james brown or razorlight no contest . im sick of these bands like razorlight franz ferdinand killers etc no staying power , i was sick of there albums after a few listens its just pop music , but they are all only getting big here now so ive 3 months of them being every where then they will dissapear again .

If I wanted to see an old man attempting to dance, trying it on with young women dancing beside him, I'd go home and watch my sister's wedding video! If it comes down to James Brown or Razorlight, give me Razorlight thank you very much!

It annoys me when you see people live that shouldn't be playing anymore, their voice just doesn't sound the same, nor do the songs!!!

13/06/2005, 2:09 PM
If I wanted to see an old man attempting to dance, trying it on with young women dancing beside him, I'd go home and watch my sister's wedding video!

Ah leave your old man alone boy! :p

Gareth
13/06/2005, 2:13 PM
Bands of Interest

Queens of the Stone Age
yourcodenameis:milo
Kerbdog
Josh Ritter
Bright Eyes
Interpol
Doves
Foo Fighters
Kaiser Chiefs
Killers

there are a ton more I wanna see and will see but thats my top ones I would be going for.

And probably in that order.....

13/06/2005, 2:29 PM
Bands of Interest

Queens of the Stone Age
yourcodenameis:milo
Kerbdog
Josh Ritter
Bright Eyes
Interpol
Doves
Foo Fighters
Kaiser Chiefs
Killers

there are a ton more I wanna see and will see but thats my top ones I would be going for.

And probably in that order.....

Gareth,your really letting the side down

Gareth
13/06/2005, 2:38 PM
D2 Red - My reply...

Queens of the Stone Age - Class live. seen them twice and they are excellent. The new album is pretty good too.

yourcodenameis:milo - newish band. The album is good. Not great but more listens required. Nice and heavy though.

Kerbdog - Legends :)

Josh Ritter - One of the better singer songwriters around with two solid albums to boot.

Bright Eyes - His folky album is not half bad

Interpol - Antics is excellent

Doves - Always been a fan. They were class in the Olympia recently

Foo Fighters - Sh*te last album. The new one sounds ok. They still have three very good albums and the Colour and the Shape is magic.

Kaiser Chiefs - Awh gotta stick one of the new poppies in.

Killers - Purely cos I had the album before nearly any irish person and I missed them live twice despite having tickets.

Why do I let the side down? Oh New Order too. For Joy Division reasons. I forgot Ian Brown too.

Speranza
13/06/2005, 3:21 PM
Can't wait til this year, has the best line-up of the last 3 years. Missing City vs. Ha**s though :mad:

Friday is the best day of trhe weekend, the buzz in the campsite is qaulity. Will have my DCFC tricolour with me so I'll be easy to spot.

fosterdollar
13/06/2005, 3:34 PM
Anyone know where i could get 2 x Weekend camping tickets by any chance?

Neish
13/06/2005, 6:36 PM
Can't wait til this year, has the best line-up of the last 3 years. Missing City vs. Ha**s though :mad:

Friday is the best day of trhe weekend, the buzz in the campsite is qaulity. Will have my DCFC tricolour with me so I'll be easy to spot.

The Harps supporters club I'm in F.B.T.N. had originally offered to hold a joint bus going to the event after the game on friday night, but after no intrest and several of our own lads pulling out we just booked a 15 seater bus, which is fully booked now. Delighted that I'm not missing the game but not looking forward to trying to get the tent up at 3 or 4 in the morning.

Ps Prefered Saturday night myself, after a day of music looking forward to another and everyone is in by this stage

13/06/2005, 10:15 PM
D2 Red - My reply...

Queens of the Stone Age - Class live. seen them twice and they are excellent. The new album is pretty good too.

yourcodenameis:milo - newish band. The album is good. Not great but more listens required. Nice and heavy though.

Kerbdog - Legends :)

Josh Ritter - One of the better singer songwriters around with two solid albums to boot.

Bright Eyes - His folky album is not half bad

Interpol - Antics is excellent

Doves - Always been a fan. They were class in the Olympia recently

Foo Fighters - Sh*te last album. The new one sounds ok. They still have three very good albums and the Colour and the Shape is magic.

Kaiser Chiefs - Awh gotta stick one of the new poppies in.

Killers - Purely cos I had the album before nearly any irish person and I missed them live twice despite having tickets.

Why do I let the side down? Oh New Order too. For Joy Division reasons. I forgot Ian Brown too.

You've kinda of answered your own question,All of the above are not worth a ****

Gareth
13/06/2005, 10:26 PM
D2 Red, I don't really agree with your musically tastes so. No harm in that. Different opinions. I hope to god your not going to oxegen unless its for the dance tent cos most of the bands I listed are of the typeset of most of the bands playing :)

To say Kerbdog, New Order, QOTSA, Interpol, Foo Fighters etc to name a couple are **** means you dont like that genre of music. Simple as that I guess....

anto1208
15/06/2005, 12:43 PM
If I wanted to see an old man attempting to dance, trying it on with young women dancing beside him, I'd go home and watch my sister's wedding video! If it comes down to James Brown or Razorlight, give me Razorlight thank you very much!

It annoys me when you see people live that shouldn't be playing anymore, their voice just doesn't sound the same, nor do the songs!!!

get a maroon 5 cd they seem to be right up your street for music taste

Drumcondra Red
15/06/2005, 4:20 PM
In fairness I've actually got quite good taste in music believe it or not! I saw James Brown live think it was Reading festival, and it honestly looks like its time for him to hang up the cape, and if it came down to it I'd go see Razorlight instead of JB as I haven't seen them live yet and really like their CD!!

And I think Maroon 5 are shíte!!!

15/06/2005, 4:35 PM
Anyone know where i could get 2 x Weekend camping tickets by any chance?

Yeah, HERE: http://search.ebay.ie/Oxegen-Tickets_W0QQfkrZ1QQfromZR8

15/06/2005, 5:40 PM
im headin,34 of us goin in bus,should be fun!!

Gareth
16/06/2005, 8:17 AM
My mates a Dublin based Sligo Rovers fan. Wear a jersey or two and make his weekend :)