That'll do.

Let's sit back Kerr-style!!!

aye need to thump another couple in, hate the scoreline 2-0 now :eek:

08/06/2005, 7:51 PM
Sounds like we're playing positive.

tonycuna
08/06/2005, 7:52 PM
After unlucky saturday, all is good to win! c'mon! c'mon! c'mon!

gimbly
08/06/2005, 7:58 PM
totally agree bro....

beautifulrock
08/06/2005, 8:03 PM
second half not playing well at all, Elliott working hard up front,

08/06/2005, 8:06 PM
corners are awful, given tips another one around the post

08/06/2005, 8:08 PM
looks like doc coming on

08/06/2005, 8:14 PM
Duff having a shocker

MacAonghusa
08/06/2005, 8:16 PM
Ireland :ball: :ball: - :eek: Faroe Isl.

08/06/2005, 8:17 PM
2-0 game over. We will take it

gimbly
08/06/2005, 8:19 PM
job done

bring on france

08/06/2005, 8:19 PM
2-0 torture over
would have liked more goals but fine with 3 points :D

08/06/2005, 8:28 PM
Gary Doherty is shocking, christ he was even woeful against the Faroes on his little camero appearence. He got a ball in around 10 yards of space and still fecked up. It's time we put his international career to bed once and for all.

Awful performances from most bar Elliot who worked his arse off and after the penalty his confidence really grew, unlucky not to score.

I'm begining to see why people want to see pre qualifyers for world cup qualifying groups though, that Faroes side is a disgrace. The pitch and stadium I can forgive them for, but at 2-0 down their keeper was taking an age to take a goal kick. They then sub off their lone striker. Bloody time wasteing when you're loseing 2-0. If that's the height of your ambitions you shouldn't be out there.

08/06/2005, 8:28 PM
2-0,Morrison have could been out there al night and he wouldn't have scored and can O'Shea learn to play a simple pass.Nice to see i predicted the right score again

FarBeag
08/06/2005, 8:34 PM
Thank God for Elliot.A definate straight swap for Robbie if injured.He was the only real positive out there apart from Given who did his stuff.Duff will never be as bad again.I am sure we can put the performance down to pure end of the season tiredness. It was not pretty but we top the table and hopefully will be well rested for the French invasion.

08/06/2005, 8:54 PM
There's about 10 match threads open so here's on for match reaction.

There was no midfield in the first half. It was going from defence to attack. Duff, Reid, Keane and Kilbane were non existant. Kerr must have mentioned this at half time because Reid got a lot of the ball and we created a lot more.

Elliott had a bad first half but was definitely the best player in the second half.
Duff was crap, worst I've ever seen him for Ireland.
Roy wasn't at his best.
Carr was below par yet again.
Morrison was terrible.
Reid and Elliott played well but the rest were average at best.

Anyway. 2-0, Decent result to take home when you consider their record and the weather.

Comic Book Guy
08/06/2005, 9:07 PM
Pretty dire tonight, should be fresh for the French game, we have a friendly against Italy in August?? Can anyone confirm this?
Hope Kerr plays a complete second string for that Friendly and does not risk key players the way Robbie Keane got injured playing a needless friendly against Australia in August 2003 prior to a crucial game with Russia.
W.r.t tonight I thought Morrison was terrible, Carr and Duff poor as well.

Irish Pride
08/06/2005, 9:10 PM
Happy with the result. We were shocking in the first half. really poor and they could of scored a few. I thought Elliott was excellent in the second half, we needed someone to set the tempo in the second half and who would of thought it would of been young Elliott?
Deserved his man of the match.

What a week for Ian Harte. Scores the opener against Israel and scores the opener against the faroes. Some people said he would never play for ireland again. But he is still alittle suspect at the back.

O'shea did ok, what you would expect from him against a team like the faroes. Needs to step it up big time. Duff had a horrible game, really bad but if Duff is going to play bad for ireland......let him play bad against the smaller teams.

How bad was Morrison.....Shocking. You think this guy would play well against the faroes. he was muck. Deserved to be taken off.

Job done. If results go out way in the group i think 7 points will be enough for top spot but we need to beat france or swiss.

livehead1
08/06/2005, 9:21 PM
ye they were very poor tonight but im willing to give them all the benefit of the doubt. i dont need to go into the reasons such as pitch etc...but there are many reasons so we'll let em off :p

08/06/2005, 9:28 PM
Fcuk the performances at this stage - just gimme the 3 points!!

Rebal Boy
08/06/2005, 9:28 PM
I said to myself going into this gam saying that we should win this atleast 3-0. I'll take the 3pts :) but we just must improve ahead of the France game. The pitch was very poor too. Ireland should be beating teams lke this by alot more anyway.

Neish
08/06/2005, 9:32 PM
Not much of a match, and no one preformed especially well bar Elliot who I was impressed with. But I'm not complaining 3 points is 3 points afterall, and we are back on top of the group.

Bring on France

hamish
08/06/2005, 9:33 PM
Power of prayer works folks, relief all round. Whew!!!!

Don't know if it's relevant but we won by two goals there - same as France and Cukooclockland and weren't they nearer full strength for their wins while we had quite a few missing????

Heart goes out to you folks who missed the game and diverted all over the place.

Was that GavinZac interviewed on TV3 - looked kinda like him????

08/06/2005, 9:40 PM
I can see Israel dropping points away to the Faroes... ;)

liam88
08/06/2005, 9:47 PM
Power of prayer works folks,
Tell it to PP-da man :D
Serious like am glad for the 3 points, The fact remains we had to win 4 games to qualify-now we have to win 3 games to qualify. The lads will have a good rest over the summer and give France a humping when we resume :D
Bit of a dodgy performance but as has been said all that matters is the 3 points in the bag an hopefully Israel may well drop points to the Faroes......and how i will luagh :D
Though primarily we got to rely on our own performances and we can do this. We could have won it in Paris-no reason we won't in Lansdowne!

edit: now I appreciate the pitches the Faroese play on I can't slag the pitch!
Just want to stress i was never making any excuses for anything-just a few difficult circumstances e.g. fans not making it didn't do us any favours but 3 points! yay!

hamish
08/06/2005, 9:51 PM
Liam88 - you wouldn't be happy what Bill O'Herlihy said about Cobh Ramblers. :eek:

He said something like Cobh Ramblers would beat the Faroes.

Still, TG 2-0, can now give up the fags.

My stomach's in a knot though.

saints alive
08/06/2005, 9:56 PM
A Dodgy Peno And An Owen Against The Faroes. We Have To Get Better If We Want To Get To Germany.

Islander
08/06/2005, 10:00 PM
C'mon guys! Blaming the pitch, the weather, the opposition's rough play for your teams bad performance. I don't think they played bad at all. On the day our lads (the Faroese) had a perfect first half, making your guys looking a bit unhappy. However, the Irish won, they got their 3 points, what's more to ask for? Still, I think the criticism of the Faroese lads are uncalled for, remember, the part-timers played on the same pitch, under the same rain and fog - and they succeeded in getting the Irish to struggle. I listened to the Irish radio on the net after the match. hehe.. talking about our officials cutting the pitch in such a manor that it should suit our players, did anyone say paranoia? :p Our players do their matches on artificial grass .. they are not used to real grass at all! :D

And the Irish supporters have been fantastic. Both before, during - and now - after the match. Proud representatives for the Green Island! :)

Cheers, and please have me excused for inviting myself in. ;)

08/06/2005, 10:08 PM
C'mon guys! Blaming the pitch, the weather, the opposition's rough play for your teams bad performance. I don't think they played bad at all. On the day our lads (the Faroese) had a perfect first half, making your guys looking a bit unhappy. However, the Irish won, they got their 3 points, what's more to ask for? Still, I think the criticism of the Faroese lads are uncalled for, remember, the part-timers played on the same pitch, under the same rain and fog - and they succeeded in getting the Irish to struggle. I listened to the Irish radio on the net after the match. hehe.. talking about our officials cutting the pitch in such a manor that it should suit our players, did anyone say paranoia? :p Our players do their matches on artificial grass .. they are not used to real grass at all! :D

And the Irish supporters have been fantastic. Both before, during - and now - after the match. Proud representatives for the Green Island! :)

Nobody's making excuses. We're happy with the 2-0 win, well most of us. Not a lot of team score more than that against you. The reason I mentioned the weather is because you usually don't see high scoring games in such fog and rain. Very hard working team the Faroes are. Fair play!

I'm actually just very happy nobody's suspended for the France game. I don't know what Keane did to get booked.

liam88
08/06/2005, 10:09 PM
Islander!

Good man!! Agree with ya there and pleased to hear from you and hear a bit about the Faroe Islands-sounds a very interesting place! Good luck against Israel-will be cheering you on; can ya post me a Faroese flag for the game? :D
Was interested; on sky sports they said one of your players was away taking his exams in Norway this week? Do you know about this-is it part of the schooling system that some exams are taken in Norway?
Take care :)

Gerrit
08/06/2005, 10:14 PM
Sh!te. The one game I hoped Ireland would NOT win... Rather saw them beat Israel and draw in Faroes... :(

(sorry, told this before, I am too obsessed with the Far North and cannot support against a Scandinavian country, even if I also hugely like the opposition)

Ireland deserved it, but... that penalty was doubtful. Mikkelsen hardly touched him, maybe a bit but Elliott did go down very easily. Learnt well from Dudu Awat I'd say :D without saying it was no penalty. I said that you can discuss on it...

Oh well, Faroes hopefully beat Cyprus so that they got at least one win, and Ireland hopefully qualifies for the WC, then both my Ireland-wellwishes and Scandinavia-passion have been fulfilled. :)

Islander
08/06/2005, 10:15 PM
Was interested; on sky sports they said one of your players was away taking his exams in Norway this week? Do you know about this-is it part of the schooling system that some exams are taken in Norway?
Take care :)

It was the defender Jón Rói Jacobsen - he plays his football in Denmark, and does his studies at the same time. He went back to Denmark to sit exams. That's the charm of beeing a part-timer. :)
If you are having an academic education, most of us study in Denmark - but more and more study in other contries.

hamish
08/06/2005, 10:19 PM
My stomach is also in in a knot - but it's more to do with an impending credit card bill for a 10-hour stay in Dublin Airport.
I'm livid. The things people sacrifice for that team. Do you think they appreciate it?

Tuff Paddy - saw a bloke interviewed on TV3 and he was told by the travel agents to check with his insurance company. Hope you, and all the others, get your money back - is there a chance do you think??

What a bummer for you. :(

hamish
08/06/2005, 10:24 PM

Like Gerrit, have great respect for the progress you guys are making in the Faroes.
With only a population of 40,000 and spread over many islands, the mere fact that you are competing at international level is fantastic given the massive expense involved.
Also, unlike the team we played last Saturday, your players didn't feign injury and try to get players sent off or make the yellow card signal to the referee. Givc me honest players any time.

When I get well again, I intend to visit your beautiful country as I'm sure many Irish will do.

Good luck in the remaining games, hope the Irish left some beer for you!!

Islander
08/06/2005, 10:38 PM
Also, unlike the team we played last Saturday, your players didn't feign injury and try to get players sent off or make the yellow card signal to the referee. Givc me honest players any time.

When I get well again, I intend to visit your beautiful country as I'm sure many Irish will do.

Several of the players said, both before and after the match, that the Irish team suited very well to the Faroese. Perhaps mainly because both teams play like men, act like men and cry like men! ;)
Scottish and Irish internationals have generally cought great interests here.

I wish you a speedy recovery! I have heard rumours that a specially brewed stout is all sold out here! hehe.. oh yes.. you drink like men too! :D

Gerrit
08/06/2005, 10:40 PM
Like Gerrit, have great respect for the progress you guys are making in the Faroes.
With only a population of 40,000 and spread over many islands, the mere fact that you are competing at international level is fantastic given the massive expense involved.

Agreed 100%

I really hoped they'd win or draw here, and that Ireland would win all remaining games and qualify. That would have been the ideal.
I was the only lad in the pub who supported the Faroes, after the game someone even apologised to me for Ireland winning the game :)

By the way: chance of success is low but... If you are a very lovely girl with long red hair, wearing a black top with bald shoulders, wearing a jeans pants and having watched the game on TV in the pub "Auld Dubliner" (Temple Bar) with a female friend (half long blonde hair), then please let me know when you're in that pub again and maybe we can have some after-the-game talks over a nice drink ;)

Gerrit
08/06/2005, 10:41 PM
Islander, check your Private Messages, sent you a PM

hamish
08/06/2005, 11:07 PM
Agreed 100%

I really hoped they'd win or draw here, and that Ireland would win all remaining games and qualify. That would have been the ideal.
I was the only lad in the pub who supported the Faroes, after the game someone even apologised to me for Ireland winning the game :)

By the way: chance of success is low but... If you are a very lovely girl with long red hair, wearing a black top with bald shoulders, wearing a jeans pants and having watched the game on TV in the pub "Auld Dubliner" (Temple Bar) with a female friend (half long blonde hair), then please let me know when you're in that pub again and maybe we can have some after-the-game talks over a nice drink ;)

Don't listen to him girls. He wanted me to check out totty from the Ladies European Cup on another thread. Gerrit, I'm watching you!!!!! :D :D :p

hamish
08/06/2005, 11:11 PM
Several of the players said, both before and after the match, that the Irish team suited very well to the Faroese. Perhaps mainly because both teams play like men, act like men and cry like men! ;)
Scottish and Irish internationals have generally cought great interests here.

I wish you a speedy recovery! I have heard rumours that a specially brewed stout is all sold out here! hehe.. oh yes.. you drink like men too! :D

Thanks for the good wishes Islander.

A journalist on one of the UK channels said the Faroes looks like the Lake District in England while an Irish reporter said it looke like Ireland's Connemara - not too far from me!!!

By the way, our women are just as good as the men drinking beer!!!

Colbert Report
08/06/2005, 11:27 PM
We didn't play especially well but given the conditions 2-0 isn't a bad result. If we were playing them on a good pitch in good weather we would have beaten them 5 or 6 nil rather easily. Fair play to the Faroes, they were trying right until the end.

Seriously though, is their stadium literally cut out of a hill??

boysingreen
09/06/2005, 12:20 AM
Roy was yellow-carded for dissent, if memory serves me right over Morrison's disallowed goal (offside) early in the first half.

It was a match to forget no doubt. For all the talk of the conditions, the tally was the same on paper as the Faroes trip to Lansdowne, and only slightly worse when you match up the goals (Torshavn: Penalty, deflection. Lansdowne: Penalty, loose ball poked in).

The bad news is we have two unconvincing performances to sit on for the summer break. The good news is we'll have forgotten all by September, and the time will finally be here where a half-ass performance won't be acceptable.

dr_peepee
09/06/2005, 8:16 AM
Unfair to judge anyone last night in those conditions. The pitch was terrible. The technique from the players reminded me of when you wear the wrong runners on an Astro turf pitch. Then of course there was the weather.

I thought some of the stick morrsion got, and undoubtedly will get, was undue. Elliot played well last night but I'm not reading too much into it. Morrison is still our number 2 forward.

And appart from the gick match we had to suffer to incompetent local televison coverage.

Job done. Nothing to be gained trying to take anything else from that game. Allthough Steven Carr did look overwieght and sluggish.

Papa Zulu
09/06/2005, 8:16 AM
3 points in the bag, lets hope it continues, Take the French for what the worth and we'll stuff them on home turf :)

onenilgameover
09/06/2005, 8:56 AM
Carr, Duff, Kibane (Apart from the 40 yard cracker! Still can't believe he scored) Doherty, Morrisson all awful! Took two hours for my hands and feet to regain feeling and me stomach has seen better days.

Congrats to you Islander and your team you do your country proud!

Bring on the French..........

09/06/2005, 9:46 AM
I'm delighted with that result. The Faroes bring nearly everyone down to their level up there & we were no exception.

Isn't it amazing how quickly the time goes by when you're desparate to score? The second half on Saturday seemed like about 20 minutes long and the first half yesterday was over before I knew it.

I can barely comment on anyone's performance as I was so anxious during the first half that I barely noticed who was doing what. How bad was our defending from that corner just before Harte's peno?

Stupid yellow card for Roy, though probably overly fussy refereeing. A pity we didn't have him as ref on Saturday. Duffer sailed close to the yellow-card wind on a couple of occasions. Heart-in-mouth when he pulled that guy's shirt.

Was Morrisson not onside for the goal? I thought he was behind the ball when it was squared to him and he only became "active" later in the move.

Fair play to Kerr for taking a chance on Elliott - he made the difference. And fair play for taking Clinton off at the right time too.

Job done. Our best XI against France, full house, evening KO etc. & we'll raise our game against good opposition. I doubt I'll be there though as sprog 2 is due that week, but I've booked my flights all the same.

MacAonghusa
09/06/2005, 10:21 AM
As mentioned, fair play to the Faroes team who were up for a great game. There's fans who can be damn proud of what their team has achieved. Imagine the hassle of producing a team there, on small islands with a limited pool of players, limited resources and a bitch of a winter. Well done lads!

Don't forget the Irish link to the Faroes, there were celtic settlements on the islands about a thousand years ago! :)

onenilgameover
09/06/2005, 10:31 AM
To be sung to the tune of Que Sera....

Kevin Kilbane Kilbane...he hit it off their Captain...He's big and he is da man...Kevin Kilbane Kilbane...

Congrats Zinedine...I knew ye had it in ye!

Gerrit
09/06/2005, 6:50 PM
Don't listen to him girls. He wanted me to check out totty from the Ladies European Cup on another thread. Gerrit, I'm watching you!!!!! :D :D :p

Sorry but if I see a stunning woman I won't look away, and boy that girl yesterday was stunning, even for the (usually high) Irish standards :eek:

09/06/2005, 7:54 PM
Sorry but if I see a stunning woman I won't look away, and boy that girl yesterday was stunning, even for the (usually high) Irish standards

1. "and boy that girl"...? I know you wear eyeliner, but are you blurring the genders now? :p

2. "that girl yesterday was stunning, even for the (usually high) Irish standards". Gerrit, come ON! :eek: Even if we're being nice to ourselves, we Irish in looks are twenty per cent colleen and eighty per cent potato (as Mrs PP has it). That's one in five daicent women at most, even including all the foot.ie beauties. :) I think you need glasses... :p

:ball: PP