View Full Version : Restaurant Toilets!

Malby
08/06/2005, 12:18 PM
My Mrs was out shopping recently with our little one who had to go the loo. There was none in the supermarket so she brought her into a cafe beside it. The staff refused to let her use it as she was not a paying customer (she's six months pregnant and the kid is 8). Needless to say my kid got caught short and I'm fuming over this!

Does anyone know if they were within their rights to do this? Or if there is any way I could (legally) get back at them? I've written to local press and they've published but without naming and shaming.

Frank Blue
08/06/2005, 12:24 PM
My Mrs was out shopping recently with our little one who had to go the loo. There was none in the supermarket so she brought her into a cafe beside it. The staff refused to let her use it as she was not a paying customer (she's six months pregnant and the kid is 8). Needless to say my kid got caught short and I'm fuming over this!

Does anyone know if they were within their rights to do this? Or if there is any way I could (legally) get back at them? I've written to local press and they've published but without naming and shaming.

Jeez. I find this bad. I hate how this happens, as you can never find one when you need one. The Italians seem crazy at times, but they have a good law on this - you can ask in any restaurant to use the toilets, and they cannot refuse (well that's how it was when I was last there some years back).

So taking this issue up with a politician may be a way too.

08/06/2005, 12:27 PM
i thought thats how it was here too that they were in the public domain or something but you see signs everywhere for customers use only. :(

Frank Blue
08/06/2005, 12:30 PM
i thought thats how it was here too that they were in the public domain or something but you see signs everywhere for customers use only. :(

If they refuse in Italy, they face a fine. I don't know why this isnt more widespread across developed countries. Are we seen as animals, unable to respect toilet facilities in restaurants, or what?

(Well I have been to some restaurants and the toilet facilities have been shocking and have been eating there :eek: )

Malby
08/06/2005, 12:35 PM
Jeez. I find this bad. I hate how this happens, as you can never find one when you need one. The Italians seem crazy at times, but they have a good law on this - you can ask in any restaurant to use the toilets, and they cannot refuse (well that's how it was when I was last there some years back).

So taking this issue up with a politician may be a way too.
I think it might be the case here as well. Someone told me this was on Gerry Ryan a while back and thats what was said but I don't know if its true.

My councillor friend is looking into it for me. He is also checking out all their planning permissions etc :D

08/06/2005, 12:43 PM
Surely you'd be better lobbying for public jacks in the shopping centre, rather than lobbying for private jacks being open to everyone? Or even lobbying the supermarket that she was actually a customer of to have public toilets in them?

Seems perfectly reasonable to me that a business that has to maintain and clean their premises only let customers use them. You wouldn't expect to be let use one of their tables to eat butty's you brought in the supermarket.

Pathetic you're even complaining on here imo, let alone getting councillors to check the planning permission.

08/06/2005, 12:43 PM
I would think a private business is within its rights to refuse entry to non-paying customers even if bad publicity.

Anyone been to New York? They sell you monster size drinks & then almost impossible to get access to toilets even if a paying customer. :eek: 24oz cup of coffee for $1 & noweher to p!ss. :rolleyes:
Toilets are really small & may require a key for them hooked onto a tray or something so you can't sell it.

Malby
08/06/2005, 12:49 PM
Surely you'd be better lobbying for public jacks in the shopping centre, rather than lobbying for private jacks being open to everyone? Or even lobbying the supermarket that she was actually a customer of to have public toilets in them?

Seems perfectly reasonable to me that a business that has to maintain and clean their premises only let customers use them. You wouldn't expect to be let use one of their tables to eat butty's you brought in the supermarket.

Pathetic you're even complaining on here imo, let alone getting councillors to check the planning permission.
Have you any kids? I'll bet not cause if it happened to any of yours you wouldn't find it pathetic.

I never said it was a shopping centre, it was a small local supermarket.

08/06/2005, 12:52 PM

I think you're dead right Malby.

It's common decency to leave someone use the facilities, especially in the situation you describe. It's not like a pregnant woman and an eight year old were looking for toilets free of UV lights so they could shoot up ffs :mad:

08/06/2005, 12:55 PM
The problem is still the supermarket. That's where your missus was a customer not the place you have the problem with.

The Cafe should be bottom of the list of complaints - the supermarket would have toilets, they just wouldn't let your missus use them despite her spending money there.

Malby
08/06/2005, 12:59 PM
I think you're dead right Malby.

It's common decency to leave someone use the facilities, especially in the situation you describe. It's not like a pregnant woman and an eight year old were looking for toilets free of UV lights so they could shoot up ffs :mad:
Ty Tiktok

Frank Blue
08/06/2005, 1:03 PM
The problem is still the supermarket. That's where your missus was a customer not the place you have the problem with.

The Cafe should be bottom of the list of complaints - the supermarket would have toilets, they just wouldn't let your missus use them despite her spending money there.

The supermarket should have let her use them too. Common decency, especially considering the circumstances. I think a decent restauranteur would have taken a sympathetic view of things too.

As I said, Italy has a law on this, so next time you are there remember that and think of this situation.

MaybeMalby
08/06/2005, 1:11 PM
I think it's just courtesy. If someone would knock on my door and politely ask if they could use the toilet, I'd let them. Certainly if it's a pregnant woman with a little kid. I don't see why it would be very different for a restaurant. What is the world coming to?

noby
08/06/2005, 1:18 PM
Yes the coffee shop should have let them use their toilets. Common courtesy.
But, more importantly, YES the supermarket should have a toilet.

Things like supermarket toilets, or lack there-of, never bothered me until I had kids. Then you become very aware of toilets/baby changing areas and the state of them.
Nowadays, a baby friendly supermarket would get my vote any day, and for that I have to compliment SuperQuinn in Waterford.

jofyisgod
08/06/2005, 1:50 PM
Yes the coffee shop should have let them use their toilets. Common courtesy.
But, more importantly, YES the supermarket should have a toilet.

Things like supermarket toilets, or lack there-of, never bothered me until I had kids. Then you become very aware of toilets/baby changing areas and the state of them.
Nowadays, a baby friendly supermarket would get my vote any day, and for that I have to compliment SuperQuinn in Waterford.

This is pretty shocking-must have been awful for your young fella and wife.
This raises questions about society as a whole-what decent person wouldn't allow a young child and pregnant mother to use a bathroom?! Amazing.

Slightly off topic, but these jacks, most notably in town (Cork), are nasty places. Do they ever fúcking clean them? Also hotspots for crime at night, i have been told.

08/06/2005, 1:52 PM
I still don't see why the onus is on the premises where she wasn't a customer, rather than the one she was :confused:

jofyisgod
08/06/2005, 1:57 PM
I still don't see why the onus is on the premises where she wasn't a customer, rather than the one she was :confused:

It's just that even if she wasn't a customer anywhere at all, that guy in the restaurant turned away a child and pregnant mother. Unnacceptable.

I agree that the other place should be sorted too though.

08/06/2005, 1:59 PM
Could've been avoided if she'd ordered a tea or a coke or something though.

Malby
08/06/2005, 2:06 PM
Jebus Macy! The Supermarket didn't have one the cafe did!! Yes I know the supermarket probably had a staff toilet but thats besides the point.

The fact is she walked into a cafe were she knew there was a toilet and they refused her the use of it. I have a sneaking suspicion that they are not allowed do this.

08/06/2005, 2:17 PM
Macy are you a PD voter by any chance?

The supermarket has toilets for its own staff. If she asked (which she probably didn't feeling awkward) they should have let her use them. My parents owned a supermarket and if someone asked them could they use they would allow. Jesus even if someone had no money and was dying of thirst they'd give them water. No one has to so pedantically follow regulations and rules as to deny a fellow human a simple amenity. That also goes for the café. Feck whether the pregnant mother and young child are paying customers or not.

stojkovic
08/06/2005, 2:26 PM
Got caught short meself once in Liverpool.

Went into a McDonalds and headed straight for the jax.

I could here 'Excuse me, excuse me" from the security guard but I kept walking and didnt turn around.

Came out later and there's your man blocking the doorway commenting that our toilets are for customers waffle.

I pulled open the door and said 'I wont do it again', smiled and walked away. He went ballistic.

08/06/2005, 2:37 PM
Macy are you a PD voter by any chance?
:mad: Worst insult I've ever got on here... :D

The Cafe should probably have let them into the jacks, however, it's not anyone's right to demand to use something on private property (unless you're a communist party voter?).

Problem is the supermarket, that's where she was spending her money, and that's who should be getting the complaints.

08/06/2005, 2:52 PM
:mad: Worst insult I've ever got on here... :D

The Cafe should probably have let them into the jacks, however, it's not anyone's right to demand to use something on private property (unless you're a communist party voter?).

Touché. :D

Macy I see where you are coming from in some pedantic way however in a more moral sense you think we would afford people come basic rights like use of a toilet in times of desperation no matter the preceeding situation.

Metrostars
08/06/2005, 3:04 PM
I've been in the same situation in the past with my kids over here in the US, "you have to be a customer" story. Especially when they just out of diapers/nappers and learning to go.

I usually say "Right then, can I have a menu and a table oh and I need to use the bathrooms first". Come back out and I say "eh, I don't like what I see on the menu, but thanks anyway" and drop them a few quarters.

08/06/2005, 5:11 PM
This is typical of the pregnant women agenda - always looking for freebies.

anto eile
08/06/2005, 9:25 PM
in spain the custom is you can use a toilet,if youre not a customer, but you are meant to leave a small tip. i.e. 50 cent.
most places on te continent youve to pay for public toilets, it can cost a small fortune if youre interrailing

Closed Account 2
08/06/2005, 9:39 PM
Got caught short meself once in Liverpool.

Went into a McDonalds and headed straight for the jax.

I could here 'Excuse me, excuse me" from the security guard but I kept walking and didnt turn around.

Came out later and there's your man blocking the doorway commenting that our toilets are for customers waffle.

I pulled open the door and said 'I wont do it again', smiled and walked away. He went ballistic.

Ah the good old McSh*te with lies... did it a few times interrailing myself, hang around by the order queue / check out for a minute or so before you do the business and then you never get stopped by a security guard.

hamish
08/06/2005, 9:42 PM
Can be a downside too lads.

A good few years ago, having a party in the house here, mum went to use the jacks, opened the door and found a mate of mine with his girlfriend shagging each other senseless. Me mum. she was so shocked, had to make her a cup of tea to help her get her voice back!!! :D

Mate became Mayor of the town a few years ago - there's a joke there somewhere???

Ever happen to you lot???

Neish
08/06/2005, 9:49 PM

Next time you use the toilet mail it to them

hamish
08/06/2005, 9:54 PM
Next time you use the toilet mail it to them

Yeah, especially after a curry!! :D

liam88
08/06/2005, 10:04 PM
Malby I'm with you all the way-Macy your being well out on this; it must have been so uncomfertable for Malby junior and upsetting for Malby's wife-not over dramatising but it's a basic human right not to have to wet yourself. If the little lad went up the side of the Cafe they'd be ready to sue but their perfectly happy to let him go home soaking wet and sore; not nice.
I'd understand it more with a shop that had a staff only toilet as these are not normally covered by insurance etc. for the public so hardly anybody asks-but for a Cafe is just rediculous!
What gets me even more is that Malby's wife actually had the decency to ask if her son could use the toilet and not just go straight in (as to be honest she should have a right to) and they still said no!
Sounds to be like not only a stupid rule but a stupid adherance to it! When I was on the make Poverty History all night vigil in London the toilets in Trafalgur square were locked and we couldn't find any other public ones so we went to the Hargandaze Cafe in Piccidily Circuis and said "can we use your toilets" and the chap says "I really shouldn't let you" so I said "I understand that but we're out all night and the toilets in trafalgur sqaure are locked" so he did! Ok he broke their own rule but he understood it was a decent reason like Malby's wife had!

Obviously not as bad as refusing toilet facilities but when we were younger me and brother in a supermarket and my dad getting lots of food so he gave us 50p each for the vending machine and we went and sat in the (half empty) shop restuarent. Manager came over and kicked us out because we bought drinks from the machine and not the restaurent!
Ok it's their rule that you have to purchase food from the restaurent and I respect that but surely you can make an exception for an 8 year old and a 10 year old waiting for their dad when they are making no mess and the restaurent is half empty anyway! What harm was it doing? The manager didn't understand when my dad went and talked to him.

Woah just realised how much i've written but it really gets to be stuff like this your wee lad shouldn't have had to go through that! Ok shop rules are rules but there are always exceptions-it's people who arn't clever enough to realsie this who have to paly everything by the book and cause these problems!

09/06/2005, 7:25 AM
Actually asked the missus about this last night - her being a former retail manager.....

The supermarket should've let Mrs Malby use their toilets. She used to work in a major supermarket chain, and in the smaller stores without Customer Toilets, customers would be let use the staff ones (once they were escorted in the back of the shop).

Something has also occured to me - could there have been insurance problems for the cafe if a non-customer had slipped or something in the toilet?

Frank Blue
09/06/2005, 7:31 AM
Actually asked the missus about this last night - her being a former retail manager.....

The supermarket should've let Mrs Malby use their toilets. She used to work in a major supermarket chain, and in the smaller stores without Customer Toilets, customers would be let use the staff ones (once they were escorted in the back of the shop).

Something has also occured to me - could there have been insurance problems for the cafe if a non-customer had slipped or something in the toilet?

This is true about insurance. However, look at it this way, it is everywhere - you go in a store, browse, but buy nothing and have an accident in the store - you can sue. There have been examples of councils being sued after people tripped on uneven paving stones, etc.
So I think it is nonsensical to use this as an excuse.

09/06/2005, 7:49 AM
So I think it is nonsensical to use this as an excuse.
I actually have no idea, I just wondered.