View Full Version : Fog on the Faroes!

PaulB
08/06/2005, 9:47 AM
Just talked to a fiend of mine who went on the 1-day trip. Stuck in Norway, apparently fog in faroes, so no aircraft can land. They'll know at 2pm whether its a no-go or not. Hate that..

Eire06
08/06/2005, 9:49 AM
there are 2 flights stuck in Dublin....
And one of those flights are waiting for the plane that is deverted to Norway to come back for them!! If it doesn't happen quickly they will miss the match altogether thats if it is going ahead

there is talk about cancelling the Game :mad:
announcement at 12!! Could be just rumers

PaulB
08/06/2005, 9:59 AM
Would be astonished if they cancelled the game..

Eire06
08/06/2005, 10:03 AM
Would be astonished if they cancelled the game..
Well heard from someone in the Faroes that the can't see a foot in front of them!!
That was a good while ago so may have cleared up since if it hasn't a match can't really be played in the conditions can it??
The lads stuck in Dublin airport are very pi$$ed off.. not being told anything.. the plane in Norway has to get to the Faroes and back to Dublin soon or they won't make it :eek: :(

08/06/2005, 10:23 AM
Lads, this is a feckin joke.
We are all suck in Dublin.
Serviceair are telling us what some fan told them that his mate sent in a text from Norway. Thats the "official" information we are getting.
eTravel, who are they? No one here by that name! :mad:

We heard that the game might be in doubt but the fog seems to be lifting.

We have been on to the various media groups to tell them what a farce this is.

Eire06
08/06/2005, 10:24 AM
Is raining there now and fog is starting to lift..
Reports from the FAI say that if they can't play today they will try and play tommorrow!! But if the Fog is lifting the match will prob go ahead

Tired&Emotional
08/06/2005, 10:31 AM
Are the flights from Dublin via Oslo or direct to Faroes?

Eire06
08/06/2005, 10:32 AM
Are the flights from Dublin via Oslo or direct to Faroes?
They are direct, just had to divert because couldn't land in Faroes

Tired&Emotional
08/06/2005, 10:36 AM
Cheers...just looking on Aertel for departures from Dublin. No mention of delays but no mention of flights to faroes either even though they're probably chartered..?? Am I missing something :confused:

Aertel is usually on the ball with flights at Dublin airport...

Danny
08/06/2005, 10:42 AM
http://www.dub.aero/AR_Dublin/live/Lv_pres_Search_Departures.asp

Says that neither of the flites this mornign have left yet.
Texted a mate over there earlier (she flew yesterday) and it was very dense fog at that time

08/06/2005, 10:42 AM
I assume I'm not the only superstitious one amongst the ranks. I think this is a good omen.

Same thing happened on way to Malta in 1987 [edit: sorry - 1989] I think.

Ireland to win 2-0 so.

Tired&Emotional
08/06/2005, 10:46 AM
http://www.dub.aero/AR_Dublin/live/Lv_pres_Search_Departures.asp

Says that neither of the flites this mornign have left yet.
Texted a mate over there earlier (she flew yesterday) and it was very dense fog at that time

Cheers for that.....didn't realise the flights were earlier this morning. Aertel is from 11am at this stage. Much better website for times....ta

Tired&Emotional
08/06/2005, 10:48 AM
I assume I'm not the only superstitious one amongst the ranks. I think this is a good omen.

Same thing happened on way to Malta in 1987 I think.

Ireland to win 2-0 so.

Not at all...I'll cling to any theory that bodes well & gets us a solid 3pts at this stage to start the run of 4 straight wins of course :)

Danny
08/06/2005, 10:55 AM
Talking to another mate in Dublin airport since 6am.
There's supposed to be announcement to them at noon altho the travle agent he went with said they could leave anytime before 4pm and be there in time for the match.

Glad i didnt go now ;)

KCFC 2IC
08/06/2005, 10:55 AM
Some of the web-cams out there seem to show a fairly foggy and wet looking Thorshavn.

http://www.mmdfactory.com/webcam/Faroe_Islands/Torshavn__Faroe_Island_Webcam.html

https://www.trygging.fo/Privat/WebCam.htm

Tired&Emotional
08/06/2005, 10:59 AM
Forecast (BBC World) is for sunny intervals today so hopefully fog will lift over the next few hrs.....

I'd be goin' demented if I was waitin in the airport now not knowin what's goin' to happen.....back to duty free for more booze, I reckon :D

Danny
08/06/2005, 11:54 AM
Just been on today fm news that its unlikely that any of the flites will get to Faroes today.

Also said airport could be closed for next couple of days so fans already there could be stranded til the w/e

08/06/2005, 11:59 AM
Also said airport could be closed for next couple of days so fans already there could be stranded til the w/e
Bet you're disappointed you didn't go now. :)

fosterdollar
08/06/2005, 12:00 PM
There seems to be fack all to do do over there though

08/06/2005, 12:11 PM
What are the chances of the beer running out??

Eire06
08/06/2005, 12:16 PM
Oh I wish I went and booked to go Yesterday..
The chance to be stranded on an island with a squad of footballers would be a dream come true.. :D ;)

PaulB
08/06/2005, 12:45 PM
Seems all OK now per FAI Site:-

World Cup tie in the Faroe Islands to go on as scheduled

Early morning rain and fog in the Faroe Islands interfered with flights into the island carrying Irish fans ahead of tonight's World Cup tie between the Faroe Islands and Ireland.

The airport on the Island was closed for a time but there never was a doubt about the game going ahead as planned.

The Irish visitors were delighted to see the fog disappear after mid-day when visibility reverted to normal after the early mist had been burned off.

The FAI released the following statement to put fans' fears to rest:

"Despite the wet and foggy conditions that have affected parts of the Faroe Islands, including the airport, the FAI has been informed that tonight's World Cup qualifying tie in the Torsvollur Stadium in Torshavn is to kick-off at 7.30 pm (Irish time) as scheduled."

Eire06
08/06/2005, 12:56 PM
The 3 flights from Dublin have offically been cancelled!!

Hard luck to all who had booked them... :(

davey
08/06/2005, 1:11 PM
They'll be gutted allright - pig sick.

Eire06
08/06/2005, 1:12 PM
They'll be gutted allright - pig sick.
The one thats was stuck in Norway is going to try and land at the Faroes.. so good luck to them!!

Bit disappointing there will be very little Ireland supporters at the game now!!

JimmyP
08/06/2005, 1:56 PM
from unison.ie, could affect the support:

Hundreds of Irish football fans are set to miss tonight's crucial World Cup qualifiers.

Thick fog has caused the only airport on the Faroe Islands to close.

One flight out of London last night was forced to divert to Copenhagen, where's its remained since due to the conditions.

A charter flight from Dublin this morning has been diverted to Stavanger in Norway, while another charter plane has yet to leave.

All flights are currently on hold, and hopes are slim that the weather will improve.

The closed airport is fifty kilometers away from the capital, where the game is due to take place, but fog is slowly starting to descend over the city.

The team hotel in hills overlooking Torshavn, is already shrouded in mist, with players and management unable to see anything beyond a few yards in front of them.

The game's not in danger yet, but the players, media and supporters who are there may be forced to stay another night.

fosterdollar
08/06/2005, 1:57 PM
Planes have been cancelled is the latest i think, Jimmy

stojkovic
08/06/2005, 2:10 PM
FAI website says that the game is going ahead tonight

Eire06
08/06/2005, 2:41 PM
this is already posted here (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=26050)

Poorly McGrorry
08/06/2005, 2:43 PM
Arrived in the Faroes on Sunday & have logged onsite via the Torshavn local library - latest news we hear that there's 300 fans stranded in Norway. Spoke to one or two of the locals who say that the fog should clear this evening and the airport should reopen tomorrow. Not much comfort for those stranded and god knows what delays are in store for the people coming back from the Faroes over the next few days - I imagine that the planes still have to land here before anyone can leave.

That aside, the scenery is just like being in Connemara! :)

JimmyP
08/06/2005, 2:47 PM
Apologies, I don't go into the other forums

08/06/2005, 2:58 PM
Such a bloody pity. Is there many Irish over there atm Poorly McGrorry?

Tired&Emotional
08/06/2005, 3:13 PM
Such a bloody pity. Is there many Irish over there atm Poorly McGrorry?

Might be wrong but he must be gone to the boozer...lucky b@stard ! ;) :)

Hope ya don't get lost in the fog on the way, Poorly McGrorry.......:D

08/06/2005, 3:43 PM
Arrived in the Faroes on Sunday & have logged onsite via the Torshavn local library - latest news we hear that there's 300 fans stranded in Norway. Spoke to one or two of the locals who say that the fog should clear this evening and the airport should reopen tomorrow. Not much comfort for those stranded and god knows what delays are in store for the people coming back from the Faroes over the next few days - I imagine that the planes still have to land here before anyone can leave.

That aside, the scenery is just like being in Connemara! :)

Hello P. Hope you, Pat and all are having a ball out there. Enjoy the game.

:D PP

08/06/2005, 3:58 PM
As was said on the radio, there's around 300 Irish fans going around Norway dressed up as in their giant green leprechaun suits, it must be confusing the hell out of the locals :D

Hopefully if they stay stuck there they can at least find an Irish boozer, it would be especially bad for them if they couldn't even get to see the match at all.

Eire06
08/06/2005, 4:17 PM
As was said on the radio, there's around 300 Irish fans going around Norway dressed up as in their giant green leprechaun suits, it must be confusing the hell out of the locals :D

Hopefully if they stay stuck there they can at least find an Irish boozer, it would be especially bad for them if they couldn't even get to see the match at all.
The crowd that were stuck in Norway are on the plane now! haven't heard from them in a good while so I'm presuming they are on the way home...

EDIT: It has been confirmed they are on their way home to Dublin and are very p'd off :eek:

08/06/2005, 5:08 PM
Oh I wish I went and booked to go Yesterday..
The chance to be stranded on an island with a squad of footballers would be a dream come true.. :D

jesus now you're talking! :D Skinny-dipping with clint! :eek: :D

seriously, sorry to hear all the carry-on with the flights, must be frustrating to say the least! Take care Green Army! Have fun Poorly McGrorry et al! :D

supasparx
08/06/2005, 5:43 PM
I cant imagine what those on the flight home, and ones stuck at Dublin are feeling at the moment :mad:. What a nightmare, especially to be in the air on the way there! :eek:

I just hope a decent win will ease the frustration.
C'mon Ireland!

08/06/2005, 5:46 PM
This has been the most frustrating day ever. Back in the door of the house in Oxford now with a very large hole in my pocket where my wallet used to be.
E-Travel are $hit. The flight situation today in Dublin was a disgrace. We were sent from one gate to another, made to wait forever, no information whatsoever.
We knew more than they did because Peadar's mate John Larkin was stuck in Norway and they were texting each other.
The latest we're hearing is that the fog will go down as an "act of God" and we won't see a penny back.
I'm livid. Three match tickets down the drain. What an expensive pain in the hole.
Good luck to anyone who made it.
E-TRAVEL - THIS IS WHY I BOOKED TO GO OUT ON THE TUESDAY YOU C UNTS.

:mad: Jesus, so sorry to hear that TP, you must be livid indeed. Such a carry-on, don't think they know the meaning of customer service.

Best wishes to the missus, she's due soon isn't she? :)

liam88
08/06/2005, 6:00 PM
Lads I'm gutted for ye! Peader, TP (congrats btw!) and all the others who got stuck am realyl sorry to hear that :(
Hope there's a chance of ya getting your money back? Hopefully 3 points will make ya feel a bit better but I know your still going to be well hacked off :( I know it won't be the same but I hope you enjoy it in the pub or wherever ya end up watching it.

08/06/2005, 6:01 PM
and to add insult to injury BMI charged me 153 euros to change my flight from Friday am to this afternoon.
At least the Provos wear masks.

:eek: :D you must be scared to ever book a flight ever again!

Yep, baby due two months today, though if it's delivered by E-Travel it'll end up in Norway due to fog.

:D Something to look forward to ... :)

SuperDub
08/06/2005, 9:38 PM
I was one of the group stuck in norway there was 90 of us not a couple of hundred. It was very disappointing but the fog could'nt be helped. Unlike the lads in dublin we were kept informed by the chap from sadlier travel at all times even though we booked with etravel. The trip was run by sadlier & Celtic Horizon tours.

Atlantic Airways did everything in their power to get us in and even i could see the cloud cover was very poor. Visability was down to 200 metres and it needed to be 1200 Metres. The pilots kept us informed at all times and as i said the situation was out of their control.

When we were circling the faroes for the 2nd time today they took the decision to return to dublin and they were given a round of applause for their efforts. While we were all disappointed i did'nt hear anyone complain.

supasparx
08/06/2005, 9:59 PM
Have you any chance of money back? As transfers and accom. weren't used. :confused:

onenilgameover
09/06/2005, 8:38 AM
I was one of the group stuck in norway there was 90 of us not a couple of hundred. It was very disappointing but the fog could'nt be helped. Unlike the lads in dublin we were kept informed by the chap from sadlier travel at all times even though we booked with etravel. The trip was run by sadlier & Celtic Horizon tours.

Atlantic Airways did everything in their power to get us in and even i could see the cloud cover was very poor. Visability was down to 200 metres and it needed to be 1200 Metres. The pilots kept us informed at all times and as i said the situation was out of their control.

When we were circling the faroes for the 2nd time today they took the decision to return to dublin and they were given a round of applause for their efforts. While we were all disappointed i did'nt hear anyone complain.

So so sorry for those who braved this trip and didn't make it. Fair play to yis all the same hope yis are able to get a refund...Glad the pilots made some effort on this flight and that yis saw that it just wasn't possible. :o

Poorly McGrorry
09/06/2005, 9:33 AM
Hello P. Hope you, Pat and all are having a ball out there. Enjoy the game.

:D PP
Hi PP - How's the form, hope Mrs.PP has made a fully recovery from the "bear handshake" she received at Paris. I'm posting this at the national library in Torhsavn as our flight is delayed 'til this afternoon (fingers crossed!).

My guess is that there was about 400 fans that made it to the game (n.b. davros was spotted by a few on tv munching on a sarnie). As the team couldn't leave last night they ended up in the Eclipse nightclub where a few of the fans gave Kerr their thoughts on the teams recent performance - no sign of RMK though!

The Faroese women were well up for it - some great lookers as you would expect given their Scandinavian heritage - no doubt a few other posers will be confirming the same over the next few days!

fosterdollar
09/06/2005, 9:35 AM
(n.b. davros was spotted by a few on tv munching on a sarnie)
Poor guy looked wet and frozen. For a minute i thought it was some hobo outside the stadium. sorry davros

Poorly McGrorry
09/06/2005, 9:40 AM
Poor guy looked wet and frozen. For a minute i thought it was some hobo outside the stadium. sorry davros

Considering that he got out of his pit a couple of hours before the game, I thought that he looked fresh as a daisy! :D

09/06/2005, 5:50 PM
davros was spotted by a few on tv munching on a sarnie

Indeed, for I spotted him myself. He was sporting a rather natty line in Provo headgear too. :eek: :D

Safe journey...

:ball: PP

10/06/2005, 5:01 PM
Indeed, for I spotted him myself. He was sporting a rather natty line in Provo headgear too. :eek: :D

Safe journey...

:ball: PP

Always hogging the limelight, so he is :rolleyes: :D

lopez
12/06/2005, 2:23 PM
Comiserations to all that didn't make it. Must say the old a*se hole went a bit and my smug face was removed when it dawned on me that I might be stuck on this overblown version of Craggy Island for a week. :eek: with Pat O'Banjaxed (Father Dougal), Sylvo (Father Ted: although the state of him most nights he was vying for the father Jack title), Babysis (Mrs Doyle. Thanks for those early morning cuppas. And next time get those lazy b*stards to do some washing up) and another chap, B. (Father Jack/Ted). I was voted in as either the visiting Father Hernandez or (presumably being the only one present with children) the Bishop. :D We did all make the Craggy Evening Herald (and will try to get a photo from the journalist who wrote the article).

Big up to the other foot.ie blokes we met. Finn, OneRedArmy, Beavis's brother and the other Finn Harps boyz. As for RMK and the eclipse boys? RMK was spotted hillwalking at 4 am while there's a dodgy video circulating that may well find its way onto a number of Gay websites of a semi-naked Clinton, Grahaam and Cunningham hugging and dancing together in the aforementioned nitespot. :o