View Full Version : How many will ireland score?
Captain Tinrib
07/06/2005, 8:08 PM
lets be hounest boys, were gonna (should) destroy these group of no hope partimers, but how many will we score? im saying 5 :rolleyes:
07/06/2005, 8:09 PM
I reckon 1-0 or 2-0 :ball:
07/06/2005, 8:10 PM
We don't score a lot - 3 at most.
Captain Tinrib
07/06/2005, 8:12 PM
I reckon 1-0 or 2-0 :ball: well if we play the way we did on saturday u could be right,but if we play like we can (against the likes of holland,portugal even BRAZIL etc) we would score 13
07/06/2005, 8:15 PM
1. OG by Faroes :p
nah seriously ...
1. Morrison
Captain Tinrib
07/06/2005, 8:17 PM
1. OG by Faroes :p
nah seriously ...
1. Morrison these *******s are ranked 133 places below us. if we cant score more than 3 we should be ashamed to be irish, this is like chelsea v dagenham & redbridge! :mad:
if we cant score more than 3 we should be ashamed to be irish,
calm down a bit there fella! Ireland never score that many goals- was it 2-0 against the faroes at landsdowne? About the same I reckon
FarBeag
07/06/2005, 8:21 PM
Captain Tinrib lets be hounest boys, were gonna (should) destroy these group of no hope partimers, but how many will we score? im saying 5
5 goals, you are kidding arent you??Who is going to score them when the
only player that scores all of our goals apart from the odd one is out.I think one or two at the most but i really really hope your prediction is better than mine.
Captain Tinrib
07/06/2005, 8:23 PM
calm down a bit there fella! Ireland never score that many goals- was it 2-0 against the faroes at landsdowne? About the same I reckon well to be hounest i am asking for a bit to much, but im thinking of them getting a backlash from that nightmare last saturday.
M@ttitude
07/06/2005, 8:32 PM
I expect a major backlash from us tomorrow,, I can see a big win, im sticking a fiver on a Duff hattrick...
07/06/2005, 8:35 PM
Faroe Islands (FRO) 1:3 (0:1) Switzerland (SUI)
Faroe Islands (FRO) 0:2 (0:1) France (FRA)
Faroe Islands (FRO) 3:2 (2:0) Malta (MLT)
Faroe Islands (FRO) 1:3 (1:1) Lithuania (LTU)
Faroe Islands (FRO) 1:2 (0:1) Iceland (ISL)
Faroe Islands (FRO) 0:2 (0:0) Germany (GER)
Faroe Islands (FRO) 2:1 (0:1) Kazakhstan (KAZ)
Faroe Islands (FRO) 3:2 (2:0) Kazakhstan (KAZ)
Faroe Islands (FRO) 2:2 (2:0) Scotland (SCO)
Faroe Islands (FRO) 3:1 (0:1) Liechtenstein (LIE)
Faroe Islands (FRO) 1:2 (1:2) Poland (POL)
Faroe Islands (FRO) 0:3 (0:2) Russia (RUS) - 5/9/2001
if anyone expects us to win by more than 2, dream on. :)
Captain Tinrib
07/06/2005, 8:40 PM
Faroe Islands (FRO) 1:3 (0:1) Switzerland (SUI)
Faroe Islands (FRO) 0:2 (0:1) France (FRA)
Faroe Islands (FRO) 3:2 (2:0) Malta (MLT)
Faroe Islands (FRO) 1:3 (1:1) Lithuania (LTU)
Faroe Islands (FRO) 1:2 (0:1) Iceland (ISL)
Faroe Islands (FRO) 0:2 (0:0) Germany (GER)
Faroe Islands (FRO) 2:1 (0:1) Kazakhstan (KAZ)
Faroe Islands (FRO) 3:2 (2:0) Kazakhstan (KAZ)
Faroe Islands (FRO) 2:2 (2:0) Scotland (SCO)
Faroe Islands (FRO) 3:1 (0:1) Liechtenstein (LIE)
Faroe Islands (FRO) 1:2 (1:2) Poland (POL)
Faroe Islands (FRO) 0:3 (0:2) Russia (RUS) - 5/9/2001
if anyone expects us to win by more than 2, dream on. :) i noticed u missed this result switzerland 6 faroe islands 0
07/06/2005, 8:42 PM
i noticed u missed this result switzerland 6 faroe islands 0
They're only home results.
dynamo kerry
07/06/2005, 8:42 PM
2-0 ireland.
3-1 even. anyone else who witnessed us go down 1-0 go andorra at home knows what I'm on about. choking on my bovril so I was.
barely had time to get wet in the rain before the moutnain men scored.
Captain Tinrib
07/06/2005, 8:44 PM
They're only home results. true but if swiss can score that many against them we should, were better than scotland malta kazhakstan russia and hey.maybe in the french :ball:
M@ttitude
07/06/2005, 8:50 PM
true but if swiss can score that many against them we should, were better than scotland malta kazhakstan russia and hey.maybe in the french :ball:
Well said, we have to keep the faith!!
07/06/2005, 9:05 PM
Well said, we have to keep the faith!!
Honestly, no we don't. :) If we expect the players to hammer them, they won't. If we take the pressure off them, they'll score more. Its in the history of Irish football and that hasn't been seen to change as of yet.
M@ttitude
07/06/2005, 9:21 PM
We need to give players like our forwards confidence, make them think they're legends.. Morrison knows people think he's a bit of a donkey but when he starts scoring he doesnt stop until he gets injured.. The irish public can be harsh on letting there feelings known on whos there favourite player and who they dont rate at all but want to keep in the team until someone better comes along..
Irish Pride
07/06/2005, 9:59 PM
I think for the ireland squad they would want a big win to put all the bad press behind them but for the fans. Most would take any win with the injuries. Lets not forget....we are missing Dunne,Finnan,Breen,Keane,O'Brian, plus O'Shea will be at center half which is disappointing. And it rumors are true the ginger pele will be up front with the low confidence morrsion.
So its hard to know what to expect.
but i will go for a 4-0 win for the irish. harte,(12/1 for first goal ;) ) Duff(2) and Morrison
07/06/2005, 10:04 PM
I think for the ireland squad they would want a big win to put all the bad press behind them but for the fans. Most would take any win with the injuries. Lets not forget....we are missing Dunne,Finnan,Breen,Keane,O'Brian, plus O'Shea will be at center half which is disappointing.
One of their players can't play as he has to sit a business exam. :D
Irish Pride
07/06/2005, 10:06 PM
One of their players can't play as he has to sit a business exam. :D
lol......please tell me your joking. i might chance my score-line prediction to 7-0.
onenilgameover
07/06/2005, 10:17 PM
3............. Morisson, Keane, (Langer) and Elliot my god he better start Elliot
07/06/2005, 10:20 PM
lol......please tell me your joking.
No, I actually heard it on Off the Ball on Newstalk tonight. :)
Neish
07/06/2005, 10:41 PM
I'd say Ireland will win 2 or 3-0
08/06/2005, 12:19 AM
They are a bit erratic:-
Iceland (ISL) 9:0 (0:0) Faroe Islands (FRO) 10.07.1985
Iceland (ISL) 1:0 (0:0) Faroe Islands (FRO) 12.07.1985
Don't be too surprised if they score either :eek:
Prediction 2-0. (to Ireland ;) )
Thunderblaster
08/06/2005, 1:29 AM
Does the Faroe Islands 1-0 Austria mean anything to you? :eek:
Hibs4Ever
08/06/2005, 6:53 AM
2-0 Harte (5euro on him at 10/1) and Morrison
Colm55
08/06/2005, 8:14 AM
Does the Faroe Islands 1-0 Austria mean anything to you? :eek:
means something but not a lot, that was their first competitive game, back in '92 (??) haven't done much since, i'm still on for three nothing
Littlest Hobo
08/06/2005, 8:52 AM
some rumours about that morrison is injured and is doubtful :confused: Fooking great news :mad: If thats the case I'll be happy with 1-0.
barglee
08/06/2005, 9:26 AM
4-0 Ireland
Keane-Roy
Morrison 2
Doherty
Think there will be an element of a backlash from Ireland.
Hope Elliot starts as strainght swap with Keane.
Given
Carr OSheas Cunningham Harte
Reid Keane Kilbane Duff
Elliot Morrison
That team should wallpo the faroes!
p.s. isnt it strange how Harte is almost automatic choice now at left back?
08/06/2005, 9:27 AM
I'm going with 2-0. Solid game, think Andorra away in the last world cup qualifiers.
Munsterchick
08/06/2005, 9:33 AM
0-2 Can't see where anymore would come from.
[Remembers Lichetenstein. :eek: ]
Munsterchick
08/06/2005, 9:34 AM
some rumours about that morrison is injured and is doubtful :confused: Fooking great news :mad: If thats the case I'll be happy with 1-0.
Did his back in yesterday apparently.
Littlest Hobo
08/06/2005, 9:51 AM
Did his back in yesterday apparently.
Any news on his condition. :confused:
Just readin from the BBC site and they say Kerr is not concerned about Clints, sayin he should be fine.
Munsterchick
08/06/2005, 9:53 AM
Any news on his condition. :confused:
Just readin from the BBC site and they say Kerr is not concerned about Clints, sayin he should be fine.
I wasn't under the impression it was anything serious, more of a niggling concern. I reckon he'll play.
stojkovic
08/06/2005, 9:57 AM
Lads a report on the Swiss game (6-0) said the Swiss had only six chances and they all went in. How many did we miss on Saturday.
Hope its 3 or 4-0 but I'd just be happy with the three points.
Without Robbie I cant see who will score. Clint will get one and maybe a Harte free kick. Keano wont be getting forward and we dont see too many from Reid, Duff, Holland, Kilbane, Kavanagh etc. Maybe its time for them.
Dun Laoire
08/06/2005, 12:05 PM
Faroe Islands 1-1 Ireland. I kind of predicted this would be a banana skin match well before Isreal, even after the dissapointment of the draw last saturday i still think we will drop points here! I pray that i'm wrong.
Remember this is just my opinion.
carnstien
08/06/2005, 1:06 PM
If the team was picked appropriately we would score 5 easily, but when you consider that the midfield will contain wasters like Holland and Kilbane (probably on the left) and our 2 best attacking player, Duff and Reid will both be out of position, which is especially detrimental to Duff, I think we will be doing well to get one.
08/06/2005, 1:13 PM
If the team was picked appropriately we would score 5 easily, but when you consider that the midfield will contain wasters like Holland and Kilbane (probably on the left) and our 2 best attacking player, Duff and Reid will both be out of position, which is especially detrimental to Duff, I think we will be doing well to get one.
Switzerland, France, Germany and Poland couldn't do it. In fact, I'm not going looking but I doubt the Faroes have conceded 5 goals at home in a long, long time. We are not renowned for scoring much, especially under Kerr. BTW, how do you play both Duff and Reid in position? :)
carnstien
08/06/2005, 1:14 PM
Given
Carr OSheas Cunningham Harte
Reid Keane Kilbane Duff
Elliot Morrison
That team would indeed have little trouble, but I reckon what Kerr will do is play Duff up front, so he might as well not be on the pitch. Play Kilbane on the left, where he will create nothing. Play Reid out of position on the right and play Matt "Mr. Invisible" Holland in the middle.
Thats what I think he will do, I hope I'm wrong, but if thats the team he selects I find it hard to believe we will score more than one, but I suppose with Roy back there is at least hope that Holland and Kilbane will up their games.
carnstien
08/06/2005, 1:16 PM
Switzerland, France, Germany and Poland couldn't do it. In fact, I'm not going looking but I doubt the Faroes have conceded 5 goals at home in a long, long time. We are not renowned for scoring much, especially under Kerr. BTW, how do you play both Duff and Reid in position? :)
Well it is my own personal opinion that Andy Reids best position is central midfield. He often operated there for Forest and it's where he can make most use of his world class passing ability, so I would play him there and Duff on the left.
Sorry for being unclear on that.
JimmyP
08/06/2005, 1:18 PM
Seeing as Duff publicly said that he's better on the wings at a press conference over there already, if it doesn't work out, it won't look good for Kerr at all.
I understand that people are crying out that Elliot is "unproven" at international competitive level, but how is he ever supposed to be if we don't give him a go? It's the Faroe Islands, and we're stuck for options - no better opportunity, in my opinion.
p.s. - I don't think I've seen any mention of Alan Lee anywhere! ;) :D :p
Tired&Emotional
08/06/2005, 1:21 PM
Well it is my own personal opinion that Andy Reids best position is central midfield. He often operated there for Forest and it's where he can make most use of his world class passing ability, so I would play him there and Duff on the left.
Sorry for being unclear on that.
I think most of us are aware of your 1st choice CM as O'Shea & A.Reid by now.....it also hasn't a snowball's chance in hell of becoming a reality so I think you should give it a rest & let it go mate :confused: :D
In the spirit of the thread....0-3 :)
08/06/2005, 1:35 PM
Feck this. 4-0 Ireland! Duff x 2, Roy Keane and Ian Harte.
carnstien
08/06/2005, 1:36 PM
I think most of us are aware of your 1st choice CM as O'Shea & A.Reid by now.....it also hasn't a snowball's chance in hell of becoming a reality so I think you should give it a rest & let it go mate :confused: :D
In the spirit of the thread....0-3 :)
Actually my 1st choice central midfield is is Andy Reid and Roy Keane, with Duff and Finnan (when fit) doing the damage on the wings. I just thought O'Shea would have been a good option to fill in for Roy against Israel. And judging by the result we did get O'Shea and Reid would have been well worth a try.
Tired&Emotional
08/06/2005, 1:37 PM
Do I hear five, anyone....?! ;)
08/06/2005, 1:40 PM
p.s. - I don't think I've seen any mention of Alan Lee anywhere! ;) :D :p
You might aswell have me or you there :rolleyes: :D
08/06/2005, 6:38 PM
Morrison just put the first one in the back of the net now but was offside :(
08/06/2005, 9:19 PM
2-0 Harte (5euro on him at 10/1) and Morrison
Spot on, its well worth a bet on Harte scoring first especially with
Keane not playing (not sure who would take penalties in that case).
08/06/2005, 9:50 PM
we got 1 and an og so im almost right :p