View Full Version : taoiseachs salute

dynamo kerry
07/06/2005, 5:31 PM
since when did they start asking people to stand for this uber-mockery of a moment.

he's a td not a king

I can't say I like the idea of it and shant be standing at future games - I thought I was standing for the anthems on saturday and was less than pleased when I realised what was going on.

07/06/2005, 5:35 PM
It's the first time i ever had to stand for it and i did so and will do again if asked,i just hope people will not boo the next time

dynamo kerry
07/06/2005, 5:41 PM
oh yes I'd forgotten the booing.

I just don't think this kind of silliness has any place at an international. I've respect for the office of taoiseach but I wouldn't stand if bertie was opening my local supermarket. you wouldn't see wembley standing for tony blair

this kind of elevating of the taoiseach is yet another kick in the stones for bona fide democracy and promotes the elitism of these politician goons.

btw - sorry mods- should have posted in other forum- move when possible

07/06/2005, 5:52 PM
oh yes I'd forgotten the booing.

I just don't think this kind of silliness has any place at an international. I've respect for the office of taoiseach but I wouldn't stand if bertie was opening my local supermarket. you wouldn't see wembley standing for tony blair

this kind of elevating of the taoiseach is yet another kick in the stones for bona fide democracy and promotes the elitism of these politician goons.

btw - sorry mods- should have posted in other forum- move when possible

I agree with you,but even though i am not Berties biggest fan i still do not want to be disrespctful to him or the position

dynamo kerry
07/06/2005, 5:53 PM
fair enough. i see your point but being asked in the first place is inappropriate in my opinion.. the booing is tongue in cheek really and reflects the reality.

agree to disagree with you on the future standing.

soylent green
07/06/2005, 6:01 PM
I didn't stand for Bertie, I've no time for him or his poliitcs but I didn't boo him. But yet again, where is our head of state for the games? I think the President was at the Cyprus game last September and that's about it in the last few years.

dynamo kerry
07/06/2005, 6:02 PM
who was it who got the big cheer after we al booed bertie. there was a big laugh - was it the referee?

07/06/2005, 6:03 PM
fair enough. i see your point but being asked in the first place is inappropriate in my opinion.. the booing is tongue in cheek really and reflects the reality.

agree to disagree with you on the future standing.

what have we come to when the leader of our nation, whether you like him or not, cant be shown a bit of respect when he's presented at an international occasion?? and as for the pathetic booing... most of the clowns booing probably dont even have any reason to do so other than they are sheep and will do what others around are doing.
this kind of nonsense is yet another example of how unpatriotic we have become. imo Bertie has done far far more than any previous politician for sport in this country and should be respected for that alone

dynamo kerry
07/06/2005, 6:09 PM
all I'm saying is that he shoulnd't be put on a pedastel. He's only a politician.

not any better or worse than the others. I'm perfectly patriotic thank you very much. Patriotism does not include deifying an elected official.

dynamo kerry
07/06/2005, 6:24 PM
I think this should be compulsory.

Respect for Bertie (http://www.calvaryreallife.com/images/bowing.jpg)

legend

07/06/2005, 6:26 PM
what have we come to when the leader of our nation, whether you like him or not, cant be shown a bit of respect when he's presented at an international occasion?? and as for the pathetic booing... most of the clowns booing probably dont even have any reason to do so other than they are sheep and will do what others around are doing.
this kind of nonsense is yet another example of how unpatriotic we have become. imo Bertie has done far far more than any previous politician for sport in this country and should be respected for that alone

Exactly what i was trying to say but put better than i could put it

07/06/2005, 6:37 PM
I don't go to Ireland games any more, but when I did, I ALWAYS booed that idiot ahern every time he appeared and I would encourage people to do so in the future. He's an idiot and an enemy of irish sport- **** him

07/06/2005, 6:46 PM
But politically you hate Bertie Ahern anyway. If, say, Pat Rabbitte became Taoiseach and we didn't suddenly turn in to a land of milk and honey, would you boo him too or is it purely a party political thing?I don't support Pat Rabbitte either. Bertie has been bad for Irish sport, football in particular, and if he has the gall to turn up at Landsdowne looking for adulation he can forget it. ANY political leader who has shown Irish football the disrespect that this idiot has deserves to be booed- its not an anti-FF/Bertie thing, it's purely based on his record with regard to sport

07/06/2005, 7:32 PM
So, for clarification, on the basis of their past records, you would also have booed Bruton, Spring, Quinn, Dukes, Collins, and all the other party leaders who historically have shown, more or less, the same contempt for sport in this country?Well the issue didn't arise, because I wasn't at landsdowne when any of them were there! But in principle, yes I would have. What really gets me about Bertie is the whole eircom Park thing TBH. Anyway, I told Bertie exactly what I thought of his attitude to Irish sport on the one occasion I met him

07/06/2005, 7:52 PM
Bertie lost what little respect I had for him when he appeared as a pundit on the Premeriship. My God, talk about demeaning the Office in a feeble attempt "to be a man of the people". Pathetic.

I think should get rid of the Taoiseach's salute and the President's salute and all this nonsense of being presented to the teams.

07/06/2005, 8:03 PM
Bertie lost what little respect I had for him when he appeared as a pundit on the Premeriship.

When the hell did that happen?!? :eek:

07/06/2005, 8:08 PM
When the hell did that happen?!? :eek:
I'd actually forgotten all about that

07/06/2005, 8:22 PM
First we shoot the greatest man in the histrory of the country and now we can't show any respect for the leader of the country,and despite all this,we as a nation love to talk about how patriotic(spelling?) we are and how much we love Ireland :rolleyes:

dynamo kerry
07/06/2005, 8:35 PM
ireland isn't about it's politicians. You can be patriotic and have no time for politicians.

I've been at a fair few internationals now and have never been asked to stand for this 'salute' before. If it's only because bertie hasn't been at the other games then I ask 'why not'?

ps: I object to standing for any taoiseach. not just bertie and please don't use such sweeping statements as 'greatest man in this country' at least add a IMHO.

07/06/2005, 8:50 PM
ps: I object to standing for any taoiseach. not just bertie and please don't use such sweeping statements as 'greatest man in this country' at least add a IMHO.

I'm not arguing with you here but i must ask who do you feel is?

M@ttitude
07/06/2005, 9:08 PM
I go to footballl matches to watch football, not to salute a man who I dont know anything about, im ignorant to politics as are alot of people I know.. Shame on me but its my decision so if anyone walks out on the pitch other than the ireland team or there opponents i will boo them.. Chris doran, Mary mcaleese(spelt wrong i dont care), Bertie, Nelson mandella.. **** off im here to watch football!

dynamo kerry
07/06/2005, 10:13 PM
I'm not arguing with you here but i must ask who do you feel is?

I'm open to discussion on - this is hardly the forum - but I'd put your candidate in the list of possibles myself. It's the sweeping nature of your statement I have an issue with - not the idea itself ;)

08/06/2005, 8:15 AM
Personally I wouldn't bow or "salute" to any man or women be it the Taoiseach or Bishop Brennan. I can't stand all that sort of stuff. I try to live my life and honestly as I can but I am no better than any other man and they are no better than me. Just because they have a lofty position doesn't mean they are better people.

stojkovic
08/06/2005, 9:21 AM
Ah yes, Cathal Brugha. A personal favourite of mine too. Shot coming out of Hammond's Hotel. A nurse tried to hold his shattered though together as he bled to death...a hero AND a republican... :cool:
It always amazed me how coincidental it was that he was shot on Cathal Brugha Street.

The only person we should stand for is the President as Head of State and not some politician.

08/06/2005, 9:32 AM
It always amazed me how coincidental it was that he was shot on Cathal Brugha Street.
he he

I booed Bertie, I always do. It's a public forum, he's a public representative, so perfectly within my rights to show how I feel about him. If anythings disrespected that office, it's his hero CJH anyway...

Reasons to boo, apart from his politics....
1) Failure to support eircom Park.
2) Failure to deliver Abbotstown after scuppering eP
3) Failure to meet financial committments after the FAI ditched eP
4) Failure to support our league.
5) "Premiership" appearance
6) Only willing to comment on United, not our league
7) Bending over for McManus whilst the team he proclaims to love is sold out by the tax dodgy

08/06/2005, 10:13 AM
Tbh, while I wouldn't boo him because I just think it achieves nothing, a bit like booing one's own team, I agree with a lot of that. He is a political figure and, in a democracy, he is not entitled to command or expect respect from everyone at a public gathering.
I would add, I would find it a lot harder to justify booing the Head of State....

Edit - Unless it was Dana, but if she got elected I think I'd re-emigrate :eek:

Snoop Drog
08/06/2005, 10:27 AM
First we shoot the greatest man in the histrory of the country

What???? Someone's shot Ronan Keating???? :p

Aberdonian Stu
08/06/2005, 10:52 AM
My issue with it has nothing to do with Bertie personally. Were he president I probably would stand but he's not and such a salute should be reserved for the the head of state. Even if the head of state's powers are extremely limited.

08/06/2005, 5:37 PM
What???? Someone's shot Ronan Keating???? :p

:D :D :D

As far as i'm concerned Bertie is the head of state,This does not mean i do not respect the President or the position itself because i do but it's Bertie who is running the country and is trying to do the best for the country we live in and love(some of us)

In recent years we as a nation have been hypocritical because we have for many years laughed at the purely for show British Monarchy and yet we have devalued our own Presidency to almost the same standard.

In regards to standing for the salute,I will stand for anyone i feel is doing their best for me and my country even if it was one of you.

Gandhi
09/06/2005, 5:35 PM
i booed him but I'm a sheep :p maaa
seriously, how often do we get a chance to express a political opinion. how often are the elections. this govt stinks, they are a shower of right wing f***ers and yer man comes out and describes himself as a socialist well he can shove it up his a***, he deserves to be booed as far as I'm concerned and if other people want to boo him for different reasons to mine well its a free country :D

09/06/2005, 5:44 PM
he he

I booed Bertie, I always do. It's a public forum, he's a public representative, so perfectly within my rights to show how I feel about him. If anythings disrespected that office, it's his hero CJH anyway...

Reasons to boo, apart from his politics....
1) Failure to support eircom Park.
2) Failure to deliver Abbotstown after scuppering eP
3) Failure to meet financial committments after the FAI ditched eP
4) Failure to support our league.
5) "Premiership" appearance
6) Only willing to comment on United, not our league
7) Bending over for McManus whilst the team he proclaims to love is sold out by the tax dodgy

That would be my reasons too, it's a football stadium and he's looking for respect from football fans when he's done nothing but damage football in this country, he can forget it.

Add in some other reasons

8) His recent comments about not being sure if we should redo Lansdowne or build somewhere else. When we finally get a plan together this eejit is trying to f*ck things up again :rolleyes:
9) The main reason, for having the sheer nerve to call himself a lifelong Shels fan in the build up to the Deportivo match. He lives IN Drumcondra, bloody spitting distance of Tolka. His local is used by match day fans every time we play, that's how close he is, yet I've never once seen him there. I think he managed to make the Deportivo game in the end though, even coming home from a holiday early :rolleyes: And with his beloved Man U playing on TV on the same day too.

10/06/2005, 8:05 AM
:D :D

Nothing like trotting out the tired old ones. You only forgot to put in the bit about McDowell being a Nazi and the PDs being fascist...
Truth hurts Red Conor? Just ignore it anyway, shouldn't be too hard for FF to ignore something written down and placed in front of them....

10/06/2005, 9:29 AM

Red? Moi? When I have children and they're tucked away in some exclusive expensive fee paying school, then I'll be a true Irish 'Red'...
Being FF, surely you'd be taking the kids out of school to go on holiday anyway?

Ringo
10/06/2005, 12:25 PM
Anyway, I told Bertie exactly what I thought of his attitude to Irish sport on the one occasion I met him

Must have been $hiting himself :rolleyes: you wouldnt have booed ST. Jack Lynch :p

12/06/2005, 1:19 AM

Get off the stage ya twit .... where the fúck do you get off ya fúcking clown !!

most of the clowns booing probably dont even have any reason to do so

Are you for real ?? ..... You seriously cannot believe that .... you have manged to turn on your PC so you cant be that bad !! ..... get a hold of yourself willya, keep it together

another example of how unpatriotic we have become. imo Bertie has done far far more than any previous politician for sport in this country and should be respected for that alone

The state is closing in on 100 years old ..... step back and look at how you think the history books will read .... and this aint a party thing (if you take the time to look) .... who will go down in the books as a crook/charlaton ???
Remember .... it will be forever more !!

Xlex
13/06/2005, 6:47 PM
calm down A Face!

Correct me if I'm completely wrong but didn't ahern once comment on the fact that Drumcondra were his team. I know he made leanings towards Shels when it suited him but in reality if he was a Drums supporter then you couldn't blame him for not being naturally inclined to Shels...

14/06/2005, 7:43 AM
calm down A Face!

Correct me if I'm completely wrong but didn't ahern once comment on the fact that Drumcondra were his team. I know he made leanings towards Shels when it suited him but in reality if he was a Drums supporter then you couldn't blame him for not being naturally inclined to Shels...
Come off it Xlex. That's just a convenient out for him, normally followed by "I'm a supporter of the league now". How many times is he seen in eL grounds - I'd say I am in them more even these days :o :D

Xlex
14/06/2005, 6:15 PM
I'd say I am in them more even these days :o :D

ah sunny evenings down at the Carisle...

15/06/2005, 9:07 AM
ah sunny evenings down at the Carisle...
Jesus even that would be something... :rolleyes: :D