View Full Version : Bulgaria V Republic of Ireland - Thursday, 3rd September 2020 - UEFA Nations League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9

03/09/2020, 3:25 PM
Jaysus. That's a front line for a friendly, not a competitive match where a manager wants a good start to their career!

Olé Olé
03/09/2020, 3:44 PM
McClean now unlikely to play due to a hand injury sustained in training today.
I saw his hand wrapped up in this video of training yesterday on the FAI's Twitter so he was carrying the injury. It might be just safer to play him in the next game and Connolly tonight.

https://twitter.com/FAIreland/status/1301452374339452928

03/09/2020, 3:52 PM
Jaysus. That's a front line for a friendly, not a competitive match where a manager wants a good start to their career!

In my mind, there's a clear line of thinking amongst fans, incl those on here, with regard to selection - and it's simple. There's never going to be the absolute right time to change something in international football, but there has to be A time. And this is where the divide is imo - this is as good a time to do it. If not now, then it won't be Finland either, and it won't be Slovakia. If it's not Slovakia, then it won't be until next year, and the problem only rolls further on down the road.

That aside, and referring to the Echo team (assume that they've been in touch with Idah's people) I wouldn't be surprised either if the formation is a little different to what was anticipated. It could as easily be McCarthy and Hourihane as a 2 with Hendrick O'Dowda and Connolly behind Idah, with Hendrick and Connolly tucking in more than traditional wingers and letting Doherty and Stevens provide the width.

03/09/2020, 4:15 PM
I suppose this is the catch with fewer friendly games alright.

If you think of Mick McCarthy's first games - you hadn't heard of half of those players. Some worked, some didn't. By the time of the first qualifier, we had a decent side already, including Harte, O'Neill and others.

It'd be an interesting line-up for a friendly. But if there aren't any, then I guess we have to just throw the guys in at the deep end for what could be a key enough game in the group.

But let's see how it goes. Maybe it's the covid talking, but I haven't looked forward to a game this much in a long time.

03/09/2020, 5:15 PM

If you think of Mick McCarthy's first games - you hadn't heard of half of those players. Some worked, some didn't. By the time of the first qualifier, we had a decent side already, including Harte, O'Neill and others.

It'd be an interesting line-up for a friendly. But if there aren't any, then I guess we have to just throw the guys in at the deep end for what could be a key enough game in the group.

But let's see how it goes. Maybe it's the covid talking, but I haven't looked forward to a game this much in a long time.

You're a better diplomat than I am UCDStu.

DeLorean
03/09/2020, 5:21 PM
Maybe it's the covid talking, but I haven't looked forward to a game this much in a long time.

I think it might be the Trap/MON/Mick talking. I suppose Connolly has a season of regular PL football behind him and has already played in important games for us. O'Dowda is reasonably experienced at this stage, though he needs to start delivering in a bigger way for club and country. Idah is a bold call for sure.

Olé Olé
03/09/2020, 5:31 PM
Randolph
Doherty Egan Duffy Stevens
Hendrick McCarthy Hourihane
O'Dowda Idah Connolly

That's the team.

03/09/2020, 5:31 PM
Ireland:*Randolph; Doherty, Egan, Duffy, Stevens; Hendrick, McCarthy, Hourihane; Connolly, Idah, O'Dowda.

03/09/2020, 5:32 PM
It's probably also the fact that I get to go to the pub for the first time in fecking ages :)

Razors left peg
03/09/2020, 5:37 PM
O'Dowda only one I'd question but exciting team

ColourfulPeanut
03/09/2020, 5:39 PM
I'm happy with that except I'd have any other option instead of O'Dowda. He shouldn't have even been in the squad for me.

Scrufil
03/09/2020, 5:52 PM
Interesting choice of team alright. Anyone know where someone might view the game online?

03/09/2020, 6:09 PM
O’Dowda the one none of us saw coming. He’s obviously a super trainer in these camps because he seems to impress every manager. He’s shown flashes of quality, it’ll be interesting to see the shape and if he’s a bit deeper than Idah and Connolly. Looking forward to this.

03/09/2020, 6:10 PM
I think it's a tad early for Idah to be a senior international but good luck to him. And I like the O'Dowda pick - if it's a continuation of how the U21s played under Kenny.

Olé Olé
03/09/2020, 6:22 PM
I'm assuming O'Dowda is picked with the intention of him showing pace and work rate on that right hand side, especially when Doherty goes forward.

03/09/2020, 6:23 PM
With this 433, I hope we do okay with it, but at the same time that it's exposed for being a formation on the wayward path and that Kenny accepts our real truth in future lies with 4231.

03/09/2020, 6:35 PM

I have logged in tonight to say almost exactly that.

Really looking forward to this game and really happy with the side put out. As Kingdom says abnove, change may as well come now, because there is never a good time.

Also, howya lads! :cool:

pateen
03/09/2020, 6:56 PM
Any stream for the game lads?

NeverFeltBetter
03/09/2020, 6:57 PM
Not too shabby so far. Think Idah is doing well.

boovidge
03/09/2020, 7:02 PM
Any stream for the game lads?

soccerstreamsz dot com

03/09/2020, 7:13 PM
Ref is awful but decent start from us. Front 3 looking sharp, Doherty finding it a bit tougher than i thought to get into the game. Good pressing from midfield.

03/09/2020, 7:17 PM
That press from Ireland is beautiful. The Bulgarians are really struggling with it. Great to see us holding possession too. Hasn’t quite clicked in final third yet.

03/09/2020, 7:23 PM
McCarthy not at the races so far. Very sloppy in possession.

03/09/2020, 7:23 PM
I like Duffy but he’s such a weak link trying to play out. He’s made some woeful passes in dangerous areas.

03/09/2020, 7:24 PM
McCarthy not at the races so far. Very sloppy in possession.

Yeah he’s had a few heavy touches and lost it cheaply too. He’s a big part of the shape and getting the press right though.

03/09/2020, 7:29 PM
Duffy is an old fashioned centre half with Ireland. No harm in that at times. Kenny stamp is obvious already with only a few days with the squad. Onwards and upwards imo. No helter skelter stuff - great for the purists nd not just as seat of the pants stuff hoping for a ball to break, So far so good but not crated much in the final third.

Need to be more clinical with chances like that cut back and O'Dowda should have done a bit better.

At least the is an obvious struture, game plan, style and I would even say composure in possession. Its been a while for that. Randolph even same to have licence to be a sweeper keeper!

Scrufil
03/09/2020, 7:32 PM
Methinks if offside not given penalty for Bulgaria at the box.

03/09/2020, 7:38 PM
60% possession in the first half, I dont think we had that against Gibraltar.

Scrufil
03/09/2020, 7:41 PM
Are 5 subs allowed?

zero
03/09/2020, 7:41 PM
interesting game. we are the better side but they've nearly got in on 2 or 3 occasions.

idah growing into the game a little bit but he will need to do more.

seanfhear
03/09/2020, 7:42 PM
Are 5 subs allowed?
The commentator said 3 if I heard him correctly.

03/09/2020, 7:47 PM
60% possession in the first half, I dont think we had that against Gibraltar.

Decent half for a first outing under a new manager. Possession obviously needs to be converted to chances. That half flew by and not too many groans for a hoof ball etc. As a new work in progress, not too shabby. Changes off the bench will effect things, If there is a number changes at HT or soon after the restart. Id like to see just a couple of changes at most until 70mins or so. SK is reluctant to make early changes so we will see.

placid casual
03/09/2020, 7:54 PM
Only in the Ireland team would you have 2 centre midfielders who actively hide from receiving the ball.
I like the idea of Idah & Connolly upfront - if we can find someone to pass it to them in dangerous positions, they could really shine, in my opinion.

03/09/2020, 7:57 PM
It’s weird seeing us being on the front foot. It will take some time before it hopefully clicks. With us pushing Bulgaria back it’s not helping Idah (who has held ball up & looks sharp) though. I bet he’d love to run at them with space on offer.

This game must be close to all time fouls per minute record. Very stop start.

03/09/2020, 7:59 PM
FFS. Kiss of death. All from Hourihane playing another poor pass.

03/09/2020, 8:01 PM
Midfield not coverimg themsleves in glory there.

03/09/2020, 8:08 PM
Disappointed with the goal conceded. Egan looks a rolls Royce of a player but probably has to share the blame with Duffy for the space for the goal. Connolly looks so dangerous and we probably should have a couple of goals at this stage.

Still there to be won. I said when Kenny got the job that we’re going to lose more games that we used to draw but that we’ll also win more of them. This game is a decent example.

03/09/2020, 8:09 PM
Bulgaria's second goal in the last year
Both against us.

This is easier on the eye than before, but the same end result for now

boovidge
03/09/2020, 8:10 PM
I said when Kenny got the job that we’re going to lose more games that we used to draw but that we’ll also win more of them. This game is a decent example.

Problem is that in tight qualification group, not losing is often more important than winning

zero
03/09/2020, 8:12 PM
Disappointed with the goal conceded. Egan looks a rolls Royce of a player but probably has to share the blame with Duffy for the space for the goal. Connolly looks so dangerous and we probably should have a couple of goals at this stage.

Still there to be won. I said when Kenny got the job that we’re going to lose more games that we used to draw but that we’ll also win more of them. This game is a decent example.

I'd take a draw here but it doesn't look like we'll get one.

03/09/2020, 8:20 PM
Why are we playing at such a slow pace? It’s easy for Bulgaria to shuffle across when it’s walking football.

zero
03/09/2020, 8:23 PM
thank god we've another game in a few days.

03/09/2020, 8:27 PM
Couple of players reverted to type after HT, gonna take a while to iron that out. Hendrick not good enough for International football and hasnt been for a few years. Midfield is gonna be Kenny's biggest headache. Weve good options everywhere else.

eekers
03/09/2020, 8:28 PM
Bulgaria are four games into their season. We are in pre season.

03/09/2020, 8:28 PM

It is a bit toothless. In terms of results McCarthy went a long while without a win. This new style is high risk/high return. My only real worry about SK as an international manager is the limited time he has with player to build a system. Its possible one of the few positives of current situation is that a lot of games, in international terms, condensed.

03/09/2020, 8:29 PM
Why are we playing at such a slow pace? It’s easy for Bulgaria to shuffle across when it’s walking football.

I think Duffy’s touch there sums up why. Very tired, added to a new system, players taking an extra touch that shouldn’t be needed. There’s a lot of promise, would be nice to at least draw, but all is not lost either way.

Insidetherock
03/09/2020, 8:34 PM
for all the talk of Doherty/Coleman, Doherty hasnt done a solitary tap this whole game

Nothing

Insidetherock
03/09/2020, 8:35 PM
PS, still think we score last minute.. hon Ireland

03/09/2020, 8:35 PM
We’re getting Irelanded here. It’s almost funny the irony of it. The way they’re just piling bodies in the middle of the defence and hit us for a cheap goal.

03/09/2020, 8:36 PM
Ha, and how many times have we conceded a late one like that too!!