View Full Version : Jim Goodwin

Scunnycelt
03/06/2005, 1:48 PM
Anybody have any info on him.I believe he has played U21 for Republic of Ireland.
We have just signed him from Stockport Co.

Cheers
Celty

03/06/2005, 11:59 PM
He has one senior cap, came on as a sub against Finland in a 3-0 win after the 2002 World Cup. He joined Stockport after being released by Celtic. Err, that's pretty much all I know about him!

Scunnycelt
04/06/2005, 9:30 AM
Thanks for that :)

livehead1
04/06/2005, 1:43 PM
o ye...and hes SHI*E

Junior
28/01/2013, 8:42 AM
How about this for a thread bump!

Anyway fair play to Jim who featured yesterday in St Mirrens Semi-Final League Cup 3-2victory over Celtic. He had picked up 3 bookings during the competition inlcuding one yesterday and was under the impression he would miss the final as a result, anyway that was incorrect and he will be able to lead St Mirren out against Hearts in the Final on St Patricks day.

Heres his wiki for those interested, featured in the Irish U16 team that won the UEFA Championship in 1998. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jim_Goodwin

28/01/2013, 9:04 AM
Good win Jim.

28/01/2013, 10:44 AM
Lead singer of Doves is the first thing I thought of.

Crosby87
28/01/2013, 11:34 AM
http://t1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTHUOWlSZRenbK7GQjwWLlVHoNeEShZY jzfDStIwnO6HDWVHK7-EQ

Looks a bit like the people from that skin head movie from the early 90s. I think Russell Crowe was in it.

28/01/2013, 12:05 PM
http://t1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTHUOWlSZRenbK7GQjwWLlVHoNeEShZY jzfDStIwnO6HDWVHK7-EQ

Looks a bit like the people from that skin head movie from the early 90s. I think Russell Crowe was in it.Romper Stomper - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Romper_stomper

Supreme feet
28/01/2013, 12:05 PM

Looks a bit like the people from that skin head movie from the early 90s. I think Russell Crowe was in it.

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5262/5590122649_aa3d29c80b.jpg

Your man on the right - definitely!

28/01/2013, 5:06 PM
I have that Soundtrack. Excellent if you can ignore the knuckle-dragging :-)

Himself, John O'Shea and John Thompson were all ahead of me at centre half for that Ireland age-group. B@stards.

AlaskaFox
28/01/2013, 6:17 PM
How about this for a thread bump!

Anyway fair play to Jim who featured yesterday in St Mirrens Semi-Final League Cup 3-2victory over Celtic. He had picked up 3 bookings during the competition inlcuding one yesterday and was under the impression he would miss the final as a result, anyway that was incorrect and he will be able to lead St Mirren out against Hearts in the Final on St Patricks day.

Heres his wiki for those interested, featured in the Irish U16 team that won the UEFA Championship in 1998. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jim_Goodwin

3-2? That was a Good win.

I'll get my coat.

Sullivinho
28/01/2013, 6:50 PM
http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5262/5590122649_aa3d29c80b.jpg

Your man on the right - definitely!

Vinny Jones on the right there, surely.

DannyInvincible
28/01/2013, 6:59 PM
And Karel Poborský in the middle.

Crosby87
28/01/2013, 10:17 PM
So I guess I wasn't the only teen who ran out and bought red shoelaces after seeing that.

29/01/2013, 3:55 PM
Did Goodwin score an absolute screamer with the outside of his foot a few years ago, or am I confusing him with someone else?

29/01/2013, 4:31 PM
This place is as good as any, cos i cant remember where this point came from originally. I was ridiculed about the prospect of it but its true !! :D

http://www.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/doping-doctor-treated-tennis-players-athletes-footballers-and-a-boxer-3369659.html

DannyInvincible
30/01/2013, 8:54 AM
This place is as good as any, cos i cant remember where this point came from originally. I was ridiculed about the prospect of it but its true !! :D

http://www.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/doping-doctor-treated-tennis-players-athletes-footballers-and-a-boxer-3369659.html

You posted about it here: http://foot.ie/threads/167523-Euro-2012-General-Discussion?p=1609174&viewfull=1#post1609174

Was also mentioned here: http://foot.ie/threads/167888-Spanish-player-on-drugs

30/01/2013, 10:48 AM

http://www.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/doping-doctor-treated-tennis-players-athletes-footballers-and-a-boxer-3369659.htmlI was actually surprised at how few footballers have been linked. It seems to be only a handful.

30/01/2013, 10:55 AM
I think we had a similar conversation back when POS originally brought it up, but I'd have thought PEDs are less likely to offer a significant edge in football than in other more sports, so the incentive to actually use them isn't there to the same extent. Footballers aren't so reliant on speed and raw athleticism as swimmers, cyclists or runners.

30/01/2013, 11:27 AM
Stamina is important though, as is recovery. Drugs and/or blood doping can help in both regards.

30/01/2013, 11:55 AM
Stamina is important though, as is recovery. Drugs and/or blood doping can help in both regards.
They can help but where's the incentive? You risk a 2 year ban for a slight improvement in athletic performance. Like I said, cyclists dope because it allows them to train harder and recover quicker, meaning they can be stronger, faster and have more endurance. But when a footballer is one on one with the keeper, a big engine or bulging biceps are of limited use to him.

30/01/2013, 12:20 PM
But when a footballer is one on one with the keeper, a big engine or bulging biceps are of limited use to him.
Yep, nothing could have saved Battiston from this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6R2flrDsQUk

bluemovie
30/01/2013, 12:25 PM
Why has Jim Goodwin's thread become a discussion on doping???

30/01/2013, 12:58 PM
Its about stamina not about speed.

But this genetic doping can heal injuries so fast, its like stem cell growth(regeneration) on LSD.

30/01/2013, 1:20 PM
Yeah but stamina is not as useful an attribute in football as other sports is the point, so you're not going to get a lot of people taking performance-enhancing drugs because they don't enhance your performance that much.

30/01/2013, 1:26 PM
Yeah but stamina is not as useful an attribute in football as other sports is the point, so you're not going to get a lot of people taking performance-enhancing drugs because they don't enhance your performance that much.

Stamina is massive in football. How many times are goals scored late in games because teams have gotten tired and made silly mistakes? Plus the demands of three games a week at times means recovery is absolutely crucial in the modern game. The amount of ground covered by modern day players in a game is staggerring and increased stamina and recovery powers could give teams a substantial advantage. I'd definitely be leaning towards a belief that performance enhancing substances are being used in football and that if a testing regime as strict as cycling was introduced there's the potential for a massive scandal. Of course it wouldn't be in the best interests of FIFA for that to happen so I don't think it's very likely, unless they are forced into it by one of these inquires producing same fairly indesputible evidence and causing a major scandal anyway.

30/01/2013, 1:30 PM
I'm not saying stamina isn't important, I'm saying it's not as important as it is in other sports which have had drugs scandals. Anybody can have stamina - it's why players like Keith Andrews and Nigel Reo-Coker keep getting contracts - it's not like the best footballers are the best footballers because they can run around for longer periods. There's not the same competitive advantage that there is in cycling or swimming, which is why those sports are riddled with PEDs and football so far has avoided any major scandal in spite of regular testing.

edit: of course Keith Andrews is also a scorer of important goals

30/01/2013, 1:45 PM
Why has Jim Goodwin's thread become a discussion on doping???
because Paul hasn't figured out the search option

30/01/2013, 3:14 PM
Or Paul in desperation, can't get over his perception of being ridiculed and wants to present evidence that some footballers have visited the notorious Dr.Drug, as verifying beyond doubt that the entire Barca team of 2006 were toked up their eyeballs :)

30/01/2013, 9:06 PM
The switched-off defending for Real's equaliser puts paid to the myth of PEDs at La Masia :)

31/12/2013, 12:25 AM
Goodwin cited for an incident at the weekend: http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11781/9094425/st-mirrens-jim-goodwin-handed-sfa-charge-following-clash-with-dundee-united

TheOneWhoKnocks
08/11/2014, 3:06 PM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/jim-goodwin-must-realise-slamming-4577707

Goodwin punished by his club after committing third on pitch assault in as many years.

Fitzpatrick said: “Players like Jim will never change their robust style but he has to realise he’s now a first-team coach.

“He has to lead by example – slamming elbows into opposition players’ faces is wholly unacceptable and you can’t have that on the park. Jim has to operate within the laws of the game like every other player.

“The abuse Jim takes from the stands and from the opposition fans and sometimes opposition players is not right either. I feel sorry for Jim to an extent and he has accepted his punishment. I’m not offering that as an excuse but he’d still be the first name on my teamsheet every week. His attitude brings a steeliness and he’s an old-school footballer.

09/11/2014, 11:53 AM
Banned for elbowing Aidan Connolly, son of Paddy Connolly (http://www.fitbastats.com/scotlandu21/player.php?playerid=178).

Is he worth stealing? Not sure how far back Paddy's presence in Scotland goes, ie. if his parents or Grandparents were inevitably from Donegal.

DannyInvincible
16/02/2015, 11:29 AM
Goodwin nutmegs David Villa in a St. Mirren friendly against New York City and really rubs it in:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aYOQgx6U0j4

16/02/2015, 12:57 PM
followed that up with his first goal since 2012 at the weekend!

DeLorean
28/06/2019, 3:59 PM
Named St. Mirren manager - https://www.stmirren.com/news/club/all-news/2917-jim-goodwin-named-as-new-st-mirren-manager

zero
18/02/2022, 4:06 PM
may/likely to be on his way to aberdeen after a successful spell at st mirren.

https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2022/0218/1281704-aberdeen-given-permission-to-speak-to-jim-goodwin/

a bigger club. hopefully he will continue to give irish lads a chance. getting ronan on board could be his first move?

seanfhear
18/02/2022, 4:21 PM
I wanna dream ~ ~ An Irish Alex Ferguson in the making !

tommy_c12000
19/02/2022, 4:27 PM
This is a great move and wonderful opportunity for Jim. Best of luck to him! Started already today. 1-1 draw away to Motherwell, Aberdeen remain 8 in table. Hopefully can finish season strongly and develop some more irish talent during the summer at a higher level!

seanfhear
19/02/2022, 6:33 PM
3rd biggest club in Scotland, I reckon anyway. A great opportunity.

tommy_c12000
28/01/2023, 3:44 PM
After a promising start, not looking good for Jim at Aberdeen. 4-0 down away to Hibs, mass exodus of away support at half time. Unfortunately his number may be up. Disappointing as I was really hoping he would do well

seanfhear
28/01/2023, 3:59 PM
After a promising start, not looking good for Jim at Aberdeen. 4-0 down away to Hibs, mass exodus of away support at half time. Unfortunately his number may be up. Disappointing as I was really hoping he would do well
Hard ~ Well impossible to survive this ~ Football management is a tough business.

JR89
28/01/2023, 4:10 PM
I'm just shocked they even left him in charge after losing to a junior team from the sixth or seventh tier in the Scottish cup.

Olé Olé
28/01/2023, 4:21 PM
Sacked. Something has gone desperately sour on the basis of that result in the Cup and now that hammering by Hibs.

seanfhear
28/01/2023, 4:35 PM
These results would suggest that the players wanted Goodwin out ~ They are unbelievably bad results.

Diggs246
29/01/2023, 9:25 AM
He'll defo get the Irish job now!

JR89
29/01/2023, 9:45 AM
Well he fits one of the main criteria that will suit the FAI, cheap and available.

seanfhear
29/01/2023, 10:24 AM
I hope he bounces back ~ we need as many Irish managers doing well as possible.

I see a Lee sharpe was his assistant ~ Is it the famous / infamous Manchester United Lee Sharp ?

BOOMSHAKALAKA
29/01/2023, 10:30 AM
Well he fits one of the main criteria that will suit the FAI, cheap and available.

And failed in Scotland?