View Full Version : Songs for Saturday(for us)

Beavis
02/06/2005, 7:44 PM
Just after reading the Israel guys post, do we have any good ones for tomorrow.

I think Green army could work well if theres is a drum and people are willing to sing it for a prolonged period. You hear some eL fans do it for ages and it can sound class to have a constant noise, ie esp Derry, Rovers, Pats

I'd like to hear The One Road get a rendition as it always seems to on away trips but rarely at home.

Any other suggestions

Drumcondra Red
02/06/2005, 7:48 PM
Do we have a drum???

zinedineontour
02/06/2005, 7:53 PM
Do we have a drum???

are you allowed a drum in lansdowne ?

Beavis
02/06/2005, 7:54 PM
Do we have a drum???
Actually was in town today trying to get one, was hoping some store might have some old thing for cheap that might do the job but everything was over €200 which I couldn't afford. If anyone has some kind of bass drum to sell I would be delighted.
AFAIK some Derry fans have one some away games.

Drumcondra Red
03/06/2005, 7:38 AM
I don't see it as a problem bringing one in, it just depends on whether anyone going has one to bring!

GK for the Town
03/06/2005, 8:38 AM
More, More, More - Clinton Morrison, Clinton Morrison !!
this will have to be sung loud, If he hears us singing that at the start of the game, his confidence will rise straight away cause he's cocky and loves the attention. Hopefully in return he'll bang in the Firstgoal, which could make a lot of people money.

GK for the Town
03/06/2005, 8:46 AM
We could try and make a bit of a Celtic effect, Stand up & hold scarves up singing You'll never walk alone(open to suggestions). This always shows passion and sometimes we need to show a bit more passion,,.
I'll be in the South Terrace shouting my head off for the game anyway

Duffer
03/06/2005, 9:38 AM
ARGHHHHHH yiz just got me all excited there until i remembered I'm watching in a feckin pub.

Plenty of noise though lads we always do best when the crowd is loud.

davey
03/06/2005, 9:43 AM
Lets face it, we've never had the greatest songs. I like fields of, boys in green as much as the next man but they won't be in any anthology of great footy songs. What we've gotta do tomorrow is create NOISE. Just shout shout shout until we've got gone hoarse :D

03/06/2005, 9:47 AM
We could try and make a bit of a Celtic effect, Stand up & hold scarves up singing You'll never walk alone(open to suggestions). This always shows passion and sometimes we need to show a bit more passion,,.
I'll be in the South Terrace shouting my head off for the game anyway
http://www.thepeoplesflag.com/web/videos/france/neverwalkalone.mpeg

zinedineontour
03/06/2005, 9:59 AM
The hairs on the back of my neck stand up when I think of Paris.
When people make the effort we are one incredible nation.
Sadly LR is full of corporate toss pots, Man Utd and Celtic fans whose love for their club can never match their love for Ireland.

that it is but on occasions like holland at home the crowd were brilliant ... i think the 730 kick off will help for sure and think we will have good atmosphere at this one especially if we got an early goal ...

davey
03/06/2005, 10:12 AM
Maybe we should start having later kick offs then, if that makes a difference? People get a lot more nationalistic after a few scoops. :D
I just don't get the people who go to matches and sit on their holes, like the two fellas in front of us in Paris. They might as well have spent the night in a nursing home.

Don't get me started on the number of people I saw asleep in the Stade de France :mad:

Duffer
03/06/2005, 10:17 AM
It's them tosspots that have tickets for tomorrow. :mad:

GK for the Town
03/06/2005, 10:23 AM
http://www.thepeoplesflag.com/web/videos/france/neverwalkalone.mpeg

Is that a Video Clip ? I cant access it cause my work computer is a peice of sh*t. I was in Paris though and i remember it as one of the best occassions in my life, but we shouldnt have to only travel the world to have good support/atmosphere. lets give it a good go this Saturday and mayeb all the people who didnt witness the games like Paris can be attracted into upkeeping a great atmosphere. Our home record deserves a great atmosphere.

Armando
03/06/2005, 10:35 AM
I've got a song for Duffer we can all enjoy as he tears into their defence. It's to the tune of KC and the Sunshine Bands 'Baby Give it up':
'Na na na na na na na na na na na, Damien Damien Duff, Damien Duff, Damien Damien Duff'.....(and so on).

I was in a boozer in Waterford a few months back and this song came on. We all sang the above lyrics. It sounded great.

GK for the Town
03/06/2005, 10:55 AM
I've got a song for Duffer we can all enjoy as he tears into their defence. It's to the tune of KC and the Sunshine Bands 'Baby Give it up':
'Na na na na na na na na na na na, Damien Damien Duff, Damien Duff, Damien Damien Duff'.....(and so on).

I was in a boozer in Waterford a few months back and this song came on. We all sang the above lyrics. It sounded great.

I like it !!! it came up before with my mates when we were thinking about songs only we had
'C'mon(as in come on),C'mon,C'mon,C'mon Duff !, -- Damien Damien Duff, Damien Duff, Damien Damien Duff'.....(and so on).

Try think of a few more ..

Babysis
03/06/2005, 11:04 AM
Sylvo I hope you are gonna be carrying on "The Power of Duff" song.
Or "all you need is Duff". Trying to think of your other greats from Paris :D

Duffer
03/06/2005, 11:07 AM
all you need is Duff is a great one but it's trying to make it sound loud is the problem the same with Keano to the tune of New York New York.

magic moments
03/06/2005, 12:23 PM

Or how about woah woah on the wings of duff!!!!(by madness)

Colie
03/06/2005, 1:11 PM
I will be doing "Team of Gary Breens" up to number 14. Please join in coz I've been singing on my own for the last 2 or 3 matches.

"It must be Duff" & "All ye need is Duff"

GK, defo on for joining "More, more, more; Clinton Morrison, Clinton Morrison", love it. Obviously "Clinton Morrison, la, la, la, la, la, la etc..." is a classic too.

This probably won't work, but still it's only 4 lines so might give it a whirl for a laff....
"Show me the way to Nicosia,
Basel, Paris & Tel Aviva.
If yer in the Faroes aswell we'll see ya
Coz, we're on the road to Germany"

Defo "Green Army". Be nice if we could get that going for 10 or 15 minutes.

Anyho, I'll be making the effort & I hope yee are too & it's not a load of talk like often happens. The Boys need us.

loscherland
03/06/2005, 1:13 PM
You are Isreal
No one like you
Coz you're $h!t

(If he's on the RTE panel or comentating)
Nial Quinns disco pants are the best
they go up from his waist past his chest
Nial Quinns disco pants are the best
Nial Quinns
Disco pants

Green Army
Green Army

Clinton Morrison
Tra la la la la
Clinton Morrison
Traaa la la la la la...

GK for the Town
03/06/2005, 1:36 PM
Where abouts will most of you's going to the game be in the stadium ? I agree that Green Army is a great song to keep the noise level up. And most people will know the words :p :D

Babysis
03/06/2005, 2:00 PM
I will be doing "Team of Gary Breens" up to number 14

We had that in Glasgow last weekend. the 2 fellas singing it went to 14. they were still doing it on the train on Monday morning :eek: Brilliant song.

Cae sera sera, were going to Germany was very good in Paris - Although i dare say some will say its tempting fate to sing it :rolleyes: - maybe keep that till the end if its all going well :)

03/06/2005, 4:06 PM
the match needs lots of noise, clinton morrison, please sing to him, he promised he'd score twice for me this game, ya know ;) :D

Colie
03/06/2005, 4:53 PM
All the EL's are North Terrace. I'll be the one singing about Gary Breen....

Sliogán Dóite
05/06/2005, 10:20 PM
Chosen people, you're having a laugh!