View Full Version : Restart 31st July

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

01/07/2020, 1:07 PM
I guess we're not so much talking about ramifications anymore as opposed to a start date again. Time for a little bit more positivity I think.

Interview with Ollie Horgan on local radio this morning suggesting we'll be back where we left off, so Harps travel to Shamrock Rovers on 31st July.

Streaming is still on the table with small numbers of fans allowed after the first few games, so I for one, can't wait for it to get going again in four weeks time.

One thing that'll be interesting, whether or not we get the 5 subs that all other leagues seem to have brought in.

01/07/2020, 2:53 PM
Time for a little bit more positivity I think.

Interview with Ollie Horgan...

2020 is a wierd one.

disgruntled
02/07/2020, 9:18 AM
2020 is a wierd one.

Weird is one way to describe it.
Confusing would be another.
Still don't know whether we're back or not after recent events?

D24Saint
02/07/2020, 9:57 AM
One thing that'll be interesting, whether or not we get the 5 subs that all other leagues seem to have brought in.

It would be a positive move. The part time players coming back could struggle with 90 mins so it would be best to allow the extra subs. It will also be beneficial to get young players experience and game time. It could benefit the clubs with stronger squads more but their starting XI should be fitter than the part time lads anyway.

02/07/2020, 3:46 PM
Under current circumstances I can see the rationale behind 5 subs. But if a permanent change then it takes away from the tactical side of the game being able to sub almost half a side. Part of the intrigue is the way valuable 3 subs are used, the annoyance when a sub is forced due to injury limiting options further. 5 subs devalues that aspect of tactics needed in naming a squad etc. But then I suppose VAR was called as ruining some of the suspense of the game. Next it will be roll on roll off subs though that might cut timewasting while giving the officials some headaches..

EatYerGreens
03/07/2020, 3:50 PM
Under current circumstances I can see the rationale behind 5 subs. But if a permanent change then it takes away from the tactical side of the game being able to sub almost half a side. Part of the intrigue is the way valuable 3 subs are used, the annoyance when a sub is forced due to injury limiting options further. 5 subs devalues that aspect of tactics needed in naming a squad etc. But then I suppose VAR was called as ruining some of the suspense of the game. Next it will be roll on roll off subs though that might cut timewasting while giving the officials some headaches..

I agree with the general run of your point here but think you're giving managers too much credit re subs.

It's rare to see one happening in the first 65mins of a game if it isn't forced. And the number you see after 85mins are on the clock is pretty big really. In those situations their only tactical use is either desperation or as a time-wasting move. I reckon there's often much more of a roll-of-the-dice aspect to subs than tactical genius.

oriel
11/07/2020, 8:55 PM
Fixtures out Monday I hear, and also same day FAI Cup Draw.

Hearing games will be mostly in line with what was already in sequence before C-19, but one exception might be the Dundalk v Rovers game to be moved out to Sept or Oct to accommodate more fans.

Now that's one I'm looking forward to, should be a cracker and live on tv.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
11/07/2020, 9:59 PM
Play it in the order it was in already. No exceptions.

12/07/2020, 5:32 AM
I agree with the general run of your point here but think you're giving managers too much credit re subs.

It's rare to see one happening in the first 65mins of a game if it isn't forced. And the number you see after 85mins are on the clock is pretty big really. In those situations their only tactical use is either desperation or as a time-wasting move. I reckon there's often much more of a roll-of-the-dice aspect to subs than tactical genius.

It is rare and I've wondered why eg a managers stubbornness to switch things up early if things arent working - an admission that tactics or payer selection were wrong; Hoping a player will play in to the game maybe. Having fresh players to come on at the latter end of a game is less of an issue generally in the game with better strength and conditioning. Some pundits have said when it has happened that it damages a players confidence but a player shouldnt be that brittle. Keeping a sub or 2 in hand in case of an injury of course. Using subs to run down the clock is one of those areas that ye can see refs being told to crack down on by properly adding additional time (stopping the clock for injuries/subs etc rather than adding time has been mooted in the past along with the 4th official being the time keeper). It would still be tactical if subs were kept in hand to break momentum on teams that finish strongly or score a lot of late goals!? I dont think it is necessary really as while seasons has been interrupted teams have had what 4-6 weeks back training? Though on this i'm thinking more of the bigger leagues and not where there are P/T players and delays in agreeing a return due to finances etc. If managers dont think more about tactical subs they should! Its not a particularly big deal either way I just dont really see the need for 5 subs.

total hoofball
12/07/2020, 3:03 PM
Hearing games will be mostly in line with what was already in sequence before C-19, but one exception might be the Dundalk v Rovers game to be moved out to Sept or Oct to accommodate more fans.
If the FAI/Rovers/Dundalk think more fans will be safely able to attend games by September/October while we are freely letting in Americans and re-opening pubs in July/August then that's complete delusion

oriel
12/07/2020, 5:45 PM
Looking forward to the re-start, but still think its absolutely ridiculous we couldn't have completed a 27 game league, and to play 22 more.

We could easily have run the season to end of Nov or into early Dec, we have been closed for almost 5 months, now games on for 3 months and another close down for over 3 months, 13 games is just far too short.

D24Saint
12/07/2020, 5:50 PM
Looking forward to the re-start, but still think its absolutely ridiculous we couldn't have completed a 27 game league, and to play 22 more.

We could easily have run the season to end of Nov or into early Dec, we have been closed for almost 5 months, now games on for 3 months and another close down for over 3 months, 13 games is just far too short.

I agree, but reckon players contracts had a big part to play. I’d say some clubs were reluctant to extend contracts particularly when the PFAI maintains that clubs are liable for salary during the lockdown.

oriel
12/07/2020, 6:14 PM
I get that, of course, but if a lot of clubs weren't paying players during the shut down with no club income, at least the extended season would have provided clubs with that income.

Decision made now, so it is what is it.

13/07/2020, 9:38 AM
We might not get to play the rest of the 13/14 games due to a second wave, not sure where we were going to get a 27 game season played.

13/07/2020, 9:44 AM
Absolutely.

No point extending the season, extending contracts, adding extra costs - and running the risk that we don't finish the season as a result.

There's a second wave in Israel, Serbia and Romania right now, worse than the first wave in each case. It's a very legitimate concern.

oriel
13/07/2020, 2:34 PM
In hindsight, these are fair points guys. Important to get the season back up then see where we are next season.

Unprecedented times, and a very challening year.

14/07/2020, 7:21 PM
Absolutely.

No point extending the season, extending contracts, adding extra costs - and running the risk that we don't finish the season as a result.

There's a second wave in Israel, Serbia and Romania right now, worse than the first wave in each case. It's a very legitimate concern.

Immunity is now almost a cert to be temporary so everything we do now should be with a view to future disruption likely, certainly over the next 18months. So far though, we are at the 14 day point from initial lifiting of some restrictions and by and large things are stable. The real test being when pubs/clubs reopen and what that does.

14/07/2020, 8:03 PM
Immunity is now almost a cert to be temporary.
Hadn't heard that. That's very worrying.

Luxembourg is another country after starting a second wave. Hasn't reached first wave levels yet, but it's on the way.

Partly contact testing is inflating numbers compared to the first wave I would say. But with pubs opening next week, I think a second wave here is quite likely before the season's end...

How's the vaccine trials coming along?

total hoofball
14/07/2020, 10:05 PM
Hadn't heard that. That's very worrying.

Luxembourg is another country after starting a second wave. Hasn't reached first wave levels yet, but it's on the way.

Partly contact testing is inflating numbers compared to the first wave I would say. But with pubs opening next week, I think a second wave here is quite likely before the season's end...

How's the vaccine trials coming along?
A couple are in stage 3 trials already, Pfizer's looks promising though these can fail at the final hurdles

If there is no vaccine identified by new year's eve then don't be surprised if we have another taxpayer funded closed-doors 18 game season for 2021

15/07/2020, 6:11 PM
No announcement as of yet as Govt still in meeting with NPHET but omens dont look good if pubs reopening is going to be deferred.

15/07/2020, 6:25 PM
RTÉ reporting crowd limits mayn't be increased from 200 to 500 next week as previously planned. That'd be a big blow for all clubs.

https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2020/0715/1153529-blow-for-gaa-and-fai-as-crowd-restrictions-are-to-stay/

D24Saint
15/07/2020, 6:35 PM
RTÉ reporting crowd limits mayn't be increased from 200 to 500 next week as previously planned. That'd be a big now for all clubs.

https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2020/0715/1153529-blow-for-gaa-and-fai-as-crowd-restrictions-are-to-stay/

Jaysus just as there was a glimmer of hope. I can’t see 2020 making reeling in the years , awful year so far.

15/07/2020, 7:16 PM
Confirmed 200 crowd limit in place until 10 August (https://www.rte.ie/news/politics/2020/0715/1153499-politics-cabinet/).

Pubs shut until then too.

Briuk
16/07/2020, 10:54 AM
I think the clubs had power to negotiate something better in terms of matches to play. Maybe a couple of weeks more of season without salaries being paid in November, but with clubs paying during lockdown would have been possible. At the end everyone has to make sacrifices

EatYerGreens
16/07/2020, 11:52 AM
Confirmed 200 crowd limit in place until 10 August (https://www.rte.ie/news/politics/2020/0715/1153499-politics-cabinet/).

Pubs shut until then too.

That basically means 'behind closed doors' once you subtract the players, officials, backroom staff, media etc. I can't see most clubs wanting to get into a bunfight over 50-100 spaces for ordinary fans (though would be awesome if they did).

redobit
16/07/2020, 2:16 PM
So behind closed doors football. A few games without fans is one one thing but it could rumble on and you could have a league season with no fans. Which hardly seems worth it, even with the streaming it would get boring very quickly and fans wont be interested unless they can get to games. Pretty worrying overall.

EatYerGreens
16/07/2020, 3:27 PM
So behind closed doors football. A few games without fans is one one thing but it could rumble on and you could have a league season with no fans. Which hardly seems worth it, even with the streaming it would get boring very quickly and fans wont be interested unless they can get to games. Pretty worrying overall.

It is what it is though. The R number is increasing in Ireland, the pandemic is far from over, and there's not a whole lot can be done about it all to be honest.

DCWA
16/07/2020, 11:20 PM
Just get the stadiums open to buck no capacity limits and we shall play ball everything else is secondary

redobit
17/07/2020, 8:58 AM
It is what it is though. The R number is increasing in Ireland, the pandemic is far from over, and there's not a whole lot can be done about it all to be honest.

True enough. As you said the pandemic is far from over. BCD would be fine for one season for half a dozen games at home each, but if it ran into next season then there would have to be a serious rethink. Hopefully it doesnt come to that but there doesn't seem to be much light at the end of the tunnel atm.

D24Saint
17/07/2020, 2:03 PM
https://www.derryjournal.com/sport/football/derry-city-boss-declan-devine-excited-about-new-league-ireland-streaming-service-2916030?amp

I admire his enthusiasm but reckon he is a bit delusional.

17/07/2020, 5:10 PM
Streaming service is being launched on Wednesday. Should be interesting to hear more finer details about it.

17/07/2020, 8:58 PM
Suggestion we may go back to Phase 2 if daily cases rise above 100. 32 cases today; double recent days

https://www.independent.ie/world-news/coronavirus/if-we-hit-100-covid-cases-per-day-were-going-back-to-phase-2-what-would-that-look-like-again-39376043.html

D24Saint
17/07/2020, 9:34 PM
Suggestion we may go back to Phase 2 if daily cases rise above 100. 32 cases today; double recent days

https://www.independent.ie/world-news/coronavirus/if-we-hit-100-covid-cases-per-day-were-going-back-to-phase-2-what-would-that-look-like-again-39376043.html

Id find that an absolute nightmare. I reckon the government will have to acknowledge the benefit to physical health and the detriment to mental health in all this.

Neish
17/07/2020, 9:58 PM
https://www.derryjournal.com/sport/football/derry-city-boss-declan-devine-excited-about-new-league-ireland-streaming-service-2916030?amp

He is from Derry of course he is delusional

DCSIL
18/07/2020, 7:06 AM
If it’s along the lines of Gaa go I’ll be getting one.. much needed for those of us outside of Ireland for years not having to rely on Skor

18/07/2020, 11:52 AM

He might be a bit delusional but then again this type of service has to start on a professional standard level sometime.
And would this not be the optimum time to launch it?
How many subscribers do you think will buy into the package?

total hoofball
18/07/2020, 1:46 PM
He might be a bit delusional but then again this type of service has to start on a professional standard level sometime.
And would this not be the optimum time to launch it?
How many subscribers do you think will buy into the package?
I'd say 15,000 subs is achievable which is basically the LOI hardcore fanbase and I think the price point they've set it at reflects that, can't see no more than 20,000 which Devine somewhat mentions

18/07/2020, 2:10 PM
Well, Devine is talking about 20k watching one game, which isn't going to happen. (Or if it does, check the odds for unusual patterns)

That said, of course he's going to be upbeat about it in the media.

I think the reality is more likely as redobit suggests - people will get bored of the streaming, especially if it's poor (i.e. FAI) standard. It's not remotely the same as going to the match.

D24Saint
18/07/2020, 2:23 PM
Well, Devine is talking about 20k watching one game, which isn't going to happen. (Or if it does, check the odds for unusual patterns)

That said, of course he's going to be upbeat about it in the media.

I think the reality is more likely as redobit suggests - people will get bored of the streaming, especially if it's poor (i.e. FAI) standard. It's not remotely the same as going to the match.

I can barely tolerate watching football on the TV with high end productions. Id say watching a low quailty presentation on a laptop will be intolerable. Nothing compares to being at a match the scent of curry chips and deep heat on Friday night cant be beaten.

oriel
19/07/2020, 8:33 PM
I can't watch the English football at the min, well to be fair never that attracted to it bar the championship but I can see the point here on the general sporting public not taking LOI GO service with no fans at matches.

More so, I can't see any fans at matches in LOI until 2021 given the current state of affairs.

20/07/2020, 8:18 AM
I can't watch the English football at the min, well to be fair never that attracted to it bar the championship but I can see the point here on the general sporting public not taking LOI GO service with no fans at matches.

More so, I can't see any fans at matches in LOI until 2021 given the current state of affairs.

Its certainly heading in that direction currently. There may be the slightest of opportunity for LoI streaming games with the EPL and Championships only having a couple of games left. Maybe some addicted to football types will tune in for a fix. Depends on quality and cost; if its true that it will be between €50-70 for domestic and international season passes it's not going to get many of even the most fanatic or curious football fans signing up. With some games also being televised on RTE, to a lesser extent Eir, will people bother? €5 per game while potentially costing more seems an easier sell imo than a 'season' pass!?

20/07/2020, 10:08 AM
Personally, I think the expected €55 is great value and my father has already asked me about that one, having not been at a LOI game in 30 years.

It could go much better than people think.

20/07/2020, 11:05 AM
The language should be colorful.

20/07/2020, 4:10 PM
Personally, I think the expected €55 is great value and my father has already asked me about that one, having not been at a LOI game in 30 years.

I'd be willing to pay it myself and maybe you are right and Im being too negative. I do think that there is a psychological barrier in what people would pay. €5 per game seems like the bargain eg. €65 or whatever it will be for international streaming i think will put off overseas football fan.

joey B
21/07/2020, 7:09 PM
Cork confirming no fans until restriction's are eased and attendance's are allowed to increase.......

https://www.corkcityfc.ie/home/2020/07/21/update-on-match-attendance-for-season-ticket-holders/

22/07/2020, 1:55 AM

Think that's the balance they're looking for. Obviously people like us paying 55 quid is far less what we would if we were going to games (well, if we were paying at the gate) but this seems to be aimed at people who like the LOI but don't go to many/any games. Could work out OK for us, and be decent for promotion.

The Lilywhites
22/07/2020, 9:26 AM
https://www.watchloi.ie/

This looks brilliant and well priced. €5 game pass is a great idea, which wasn't previously mentioned in reports.

All clubs buying ST holders a season pass (at a cut price) is good business too.

NeverFeltBetter
22/07/2020, 11:00 AM
I think they're good prices for established LOI fans, but not so much if the aim is to get in new people. Just anecdotally, the EPL-heads in my office turned their noses up at the price, but it isn't like they were racing to get to Dalymount anyway.

The Lilywhites
22/07/2020, 11:04 AM
I think they're good prices for established LOI fans, but not so much if the aim is to get in new people. Just anecdotally, the EPL-heads in my office turned their noses up at the price, but it isn't like they were racing to get to Dalymount anyway.

How much would you charge, out of interest?

It's around 55/56 games, so a euro a game (fair enough very few are going to watch every game, but still). I don't think the game pass could be much cheaper than a fiver, really.

D24Saint
22/07/2020, 11:07 AM
It’s a well presented package so well done to the FAI but sadly reckon it will only appeal to the hardcore. On top of that fans will potentially group together to watch games. I also know a lot of ST holders that can barely use their mobile phone never mind an online streaming service.