View Full Version : Foot.ie decides - Ireland's best goal!

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14

Fixer82
14/07/2020, 3:54 PM
Holland
Holland

14/07/2020, 4:28 PM
Double Dutch.

Holland and Holland
Did you vote that way just so you could say "Double Dutch"? :p

Very very tight in the opening two games - 7-6 in each. Not going to say who's leading in case it swings any more votes!

Not so tight in the other two, though Ronnie Whelan v USSR has had somebody vote against it for the first time in the competition.

Next two matches tomorrow morning, as well as the result of the first two matches.

14/07/2020, 4:49 PM
Did you vote that way just so you could say "Double Dutch"? :p

I did - and i would like to thank you for making it possible :D

(i really didn't - Whelans was a shinner, Hollands was a clean, beauty of a strike - - both high profile games in their own right - - build up was a bit caveman for both so the cleanliness of the strike is what swung it for me)

As an aside, id be disappointed if Hoolohan's goal didnt make it at the expense of Whelan's. Both good goals, of course, but the build up and context of Wes' goal is so much better (in my opinion!).

14/07/2020, 8:56 PM
Ronnie Whelan one of those epic goals, perfect timing and technique, both qualities which stand a man to the good in other (more/less?) important spheres of life.
Matt Holland not only a brilliant strike from the newcomer, but broke the will of a star studded Portugal team and crowned a very solid morale boosting away performance by Ireiand. And Holland scored quite a few goals of that standard, no fluke.

15/07/2020, 7:21 AM
Holland & Holland.

15/07/2020, 7:42 AM
Controversial vote there from the poster named after Euro 88!

Anyways, we have our first two quarter-finalists, both triumphing on 7-6 scorelines. Glenn Whelan H v Italy, 2009 and Alan McLoughlin v Northern Ireland, 1993 are both through. It's a blankety-blank chequebook and pen for Wes Hoolahan N v Sweden, 2016 and Jason McAteer H v Holland, 2001

The unintelligble language/clothing retailer ties of Holland & Holland are both still open; Matty is up against Ronnie Whelan and Darron Gibson. These aren't as close, but votes still taken.

The next two pairs are -

Andy Reid H v Cyprus 2005 v Aiden McGeady A v Georgia, 2014

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HsE2v_z3rvA&t=0m24s
Time is 0:24; time-stamped link is here (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HsE2v_z3rvA&t=0m24s).

15/07/2020, 7:42 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GHjf0nWN0_0

Similar finishes - does McGeady's creation of space trump Reid's distance?

15/07/2020, 7:43 AM
And today's other tie is Kevin Doyle A v Slovakia, 2007 up against the last set-piece standing, Ian Harte H v Israel, 2005.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5vVu9Q2EgHc

15/07/2020, 7:44 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4r9x68LLAKs

15/07/2020, 7:45 AM
So as before, reasons encouraged! The last of the last 16 ties will be up tomorrow, and then into the quarter-finals on Monday.

And just to confirm - still taking votes on Matt Holland N v Cameroon, 2002 v Ronnie Whelan N v USSR, 1988 and Matt Holland A v Portugal 2000 v Darron Gibson H v Wales, 2011.

NeverFeltBetter
15/07/2020, 7:47 AM
McGeady - the set-up is much better and tbh I think the keeper should do better with Reid's.
Doyle - Not that I have something against set-pieces, but I think Doyle's strike is largely as good Harte's, but done without having the time to set yourself, examine where the keeper is standing, consider a bend, etc.

DeLorean
15/07/2020, 8:02 AM
Controversial vote there from the poster named after Euro 88!

Even though I voted for Ronnie Whelan's goal, the shin aspect does take away from it massively in terms of its greatness, for me anyway.

Anyway...

McGeady - easy choice, probably the most skillful goal we've ever scored. Reid's was excellent too but no comparison really. Not to mention the relative importance and timing of the two goals.
Doyle - I was behind the goals for this (my first away game) but just a much better goal anyway. To get so much power with so little back lift, and with his weaker foot from that distance, unreal. As mentioned earlier, I think Harte's should've been saved.

15/07/2020, 8:45 AM
Controversial vote there from the poster named after Euro 88!.

Yeah but I’m not Hannover88! Just think, my nickname here might be Hans, not Stutts. I prefer the latter.

But my rationale? I was behind the goal in Niigata. It was a beaut. He just stroked it, started outside the post and it curled back just inside, despite hitting it with the inside of his foot. It rescued our campaign. But for sheer “where did that come from” exuberance and that “moment in time” Whelan’s was hard to beat for sure.

And enough people have voted for shinners lately :)

15/07/2020, 8:47 AM
And next up, McGeady and Doyle for me.

Two of the most TV friendly goals we have ever scored.

I can't view youtube at work & can't really remember Harte's goal (I assume a trademark free kick?), but I'll never forget the other two.

15/07/2020, 8:50 AM
mcgeady
doyle

Fixer82
15/07/2020, 9:36 AM
McGeady
Doyle

Ps is it too late to change my previous vote to Whelan and Holland?

15/07/2020, 10:08 AM
Is that to hide the fact that you couldn't come up with a good pun? :p

Yeah, can do alright.

15/07/2020, 10:09 AM
Yeah but I’m not Hannover88! Just think, my nickname here might be Hans, not Stutts. I prefer the latter.
Just as well we didn't beat the Dutch, eh, Gelsenkirchs? :p

15/07/2020, 10:56 AM
McGeady & Doyle.

McGeady - I'm a self-appointed cheerleader, and I don't think he's ever got the credit he's deserved during a drab (footballing wise) part of our history.
The goal was peak McGeady. Nobody else we've had in my time playing for us, would have thought of attempting the spin, never mind trying it, and his shot was perfect.
all in the final minute of a must win game.
That it was in old USSR topped it off. Where he best performed in his club career.
Love you Aiden

Doyle's goal....where to start. I've lost count of the number of times I've watched it, and I still don't know how he's managed to get the ball to move in that direction, that quickly, and that sweetly, from the way he's kicked it. A piece of pure beauty.

Eirambler
15/07/2020, 11:42 AM
McGeady and Doyle for me too. The technique from McGeady sets his goal apart from Reid's and Doyle's goal for me is miles ahead of Harte's.

15/07/2020, 11:46 AM
Just as well we didn't beat the Dutch, eh, Gelsenkirchs? :pIt might have led to Munich88 though.

15/07/2020, 1:10 PM
McGeady/Doyle

15/07/2020, 1:19 PM
McGeady, he outmessies Messi.

Doyle, A dubious Dudu right handed attempted save, takes away a few slivers of sheen from Harte's glory strike.

15/07/2020, 1:47 PM
Whelan - Iconic, between himself and Van Basten I must have nearly broken my neck hundreds of times!
Holland - Peach of a goal, nice little build up, great strike. Edges the Gibson one because of the combination of power and accuracy.
McGeady - The little bit of skill for the turn tips it in his favour.
Doyle - On his bad foot, ridiculous power and accuracy.

16/07/2020, 7:46 AM
So no contest really in the second of the last 16 double-headers. Ronnie Whelan N v USSR, 1998 strolls to a 9-2 win over Matt Holland N v Cameroon, 2002, though will still be joined there by Matt Holland, as his goal A v Portugal, 2000 trumps Darron Gibson H v Wales 10-1.

Also unanimous support for Aiden McGeady A v Georgia, 2014 and Kevin Doyle A v Slovakia, 2007 in the next two matches - both 10-0 up, but still time for that to change. Or, well, for a consolation vote or two to come along.

Maybe the last of the last 16 ties will be tighter? We start with two goals, neither of which I'd see as a last 8 contender to be honest - but one will be there. It's Ray Houghton N v Italy, 1994 against Shane Long H v Germany, 2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vGQplbF_akc

16/07/2020, 7:46 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RJup10szLr0

16/07/2020, 7:48 AM
And the final pairing is two goals, either of which is a genuine last 8 contender I think. But only one will make it. Is it to be Robbie Keane H v Israel, 2005 or Jason McAteer A v Holland, 2000?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4r9x68LLAKs&t=0m14s

Time is 0:14; time-stamped link is here (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4r9x68LLAKs&t=0m14s).

16/07/2020, 7:49 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sVV-f9LoSLw&t=2m28s
Time is 2:28; time-stamped link is here (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sVV-f9LoSLw&t=2m28s).

DeLorean
16/07/2020, 8:04 AM
We start with two goals, neither of which I'd see as a last 8 contender to be honest - but one will be there. It's Ray Houghton N v Italy, 1994 against Shane Long H v Germany, 2015

You should've seeded the draw :p Seriously though, I wouldn't have a problem with either being there given their importance and both very good goals in their own way.

I'll go for Shane Long - Interesting tie actually but this just swings it for me, although it's kind of hard to justify it given the significance of Houghton's goal. It was just such an unexpected tonic after soaking up so much pressure, against the World Champions and arguably best goalkeeper in the world. It felt like we'd finally arrived at the new stadium too, long overdue, and our first significant victory over a powerhouse in so long. And obviously it was a brilliant finish and I would have really hated for Scotland to have qualified ahead of us. Houghton's was an unusual kind of goal, the way it fell for him and it only took a sort of half contact effort to do the trick with Pagliuca stranded well off his goalline, but credit Razor for that I guess. I suppose it was so early in the game too that we couldn't get too carried away.

Robbie Keane - McAteer's is a lovely move and finish but Keane's is probably the most difficult finish in football, with the ball coming over his head like that, top class, not to mention the pass from Reid.

Eirambler
16/07/2020, 8:12 AM
I'll go for Houghton for the first one, one of the truly iconic Irish goals, even if there was a hint of a deflection to take it over Pagliuca.

Second one is tougher but I'll go for McAteer. As much for the two back flicks in the build up as the finish, which was also quality. Keane's goal was excellent too to be fair, and I would have voted for it ahead of either of the goals in the first match up.

16/07/2020, 8:14 AM
McAteer in Amsterdam was one of the best goals we have ever scored imho. Keane's opener that night was quality too, and deserved.

Long beats Houghton. It wasn't a thing of beauty. I do actually think the touch with his knee to bring the ball under control was deliberate and the finish was emphatic, leaving the best keeper in the world at the time grasping at air. Houghton's goal in NJ, for all its significance was a bit of a lame lob that really should never have troubled any decent keeper.

NeverFeltBetter
16/07/2020, 8:23 AM
Long - I think it's the nature of the opposition, the sheer unexpectedness of it, Long's confidence to go for the jugular and his finish. I've always thought Houghton's was a little hit-and-hope (and, whisper it, the keeper should back up a foot and tip it over the bar); as soon as Long gets the ball you can tell exactly what he plans to do.
McAteer - No question for me. The opposition is strong, the build-up play is wonderful and the finish is excellent. Keane's is fine, but McAteer was another class.

DeLorean
16/07/2020, 8:24 AM
I'll go for Houghton for the first one, one of the truly iconic Irish goals, even if there was a hint of a deflection to take it over Pagliuca.

Was there? Didn't think so.

DeLorean
16/07/2020, 8:26 AM
Keane's is fine, but McAteer was another class.

Ah Jaysus. :o

16/07/2020, 10:29 AM
Ray Houghton - another iconic goal. Maybe the keeper is in a terrible position but it’s quick thinking to take on the shot the way he does.

McAteer - it’s one of my favourites of all the goals. It’s just so un-Irish in a way. A little flick pass, two quick back heel flicks and a brilliant strike.

16/07/2020, 10:42 AM
long / mcateer

Fixer82
16/07/2020, 11:20 AM
Houghton

McAteer

Houghton really sprints out of nowhere to intercept that header from one of the world's finest CBs.
Controls it well on his chest and has the audacity to chip Pagliuca to beat one of the tournament favourites.
The US commentary on YouTube is hilarious. They spend the whole game talking about Baggio and how amazing he is, even though we played them off the park that day. I think there's a few slips where they refer to us as English too.

McAteer just shades it past Keane because of how far out he was and how the Israeli keeper was a bit suspect, in no man's land, for Robbie's goal.

16/07/2020, 11:33 AM
Long, A wonderfully accurate drop kick from Randolph, Long let the ball do the work, just one touch off the shin but always in control, eyeballed a well positioned Neuer and hit the perfect shot.
and
McAteer - nothing to add to what has been said.

16/07/2020, 11:44 AM
You should've seeded the draw :p
Not my fault - ye voted Houghton ahead of Mark Kennedy in the groups and messed up my seeding!

16/07/2020, 12:23 PM
Houghton

McAteer

Houghton really sprints out of nowhere to intercept that header from one of the world's finest CBs.
Controls it well on his chest and has the audacity to chip Pagliuca to beat one of the tournament favourites.
The US commentary on YouTube is hilarious. They spend the whole game talking about Baggio and how amazing he is, even though we played them off the park that day. I think there's a few slips where they refer to us as English too.

McAteer just shades it past Keane because of how far out he was and how the Israeli keeper was a bit suspect, in no man's land, for Robbie's goal.

You could say both goalies (Pagliuca and Dudu) were a bit far out, Keane's was deliberate but had Ray spotted how far Pagliuca was off his line or did he just try his luck?

Fixer82
16/07/2020, 12:26 PM
You could say both goalies (Pagliuca and Dudu) were a bit far out, Keane's was deliberate but had Ray spotted how far Pagliuca was off his line or did he just try his luck?

Without a doubt he spotted him. Houghton was a very quick-thinking player.
I remember reading that he was constantly attempting it in training and never managed it.

16/07/2020, 1:16 PM
If he didn't spot him, he deserves a kick for what was otherwise a backpass! :)

16/07/2020, 1:28 PM
Without a doubt he spotted him. Houghton was a very quick-thinking player.
I remember reading that he was constantly attempting it in training and never managed it.

It's just I never heard Ray say "I spotted the goalie off his line", as most would say even if just to enhance the deliberate genius of the goal or eliminate any "he tried his luck with that shot" theory.

16/07/2020, 2:04 PM
I'm not convinced he spotted him. I just think he swung his wrong foot at the ball hoping to get a good enough connection.

Eirambler
16/07/2020, 2:36 PM
Was there? Didn't think so.

I've always thought it slightly clipped the defenders head, creating the bit of extra loft that took it over the keeper and reduced the pace of the ball enough to bring it down under the crossbar. Was a very unusual ball flight if it didn't.

To be fair none of the replays are conclusive though - the final replay in the clip below suggests a deflection to me.

https://youtu.be/vGQplbF_akc

16/07/2020, 3:22 PM
I'm not convinced he spotted him. I just think he swung his wrong foot at the ball hoping to get a good enough connection.

What Ray did say more supports your contention, he said a lot goes through your head in that moment, 'pass it to Steve Staunton on the left?' 'Where's Tommy Coyne - not in view' 'just hit the target and see what happens'.

16/07/2020, 3:58 PM
Long / McAteer

16/07/2020, 5:01 PM
So there'll be a result on the Reid v McGeady and Doyle v Harte games tomorrow morning. Still time to vote, even though it doesn't really matter at this stage :)

There won't be a new pairing tomorrow, but Houghton v Long and Keane v McAteer will remain open until Saturday morning.

Then into the last 8 on Monday - reckon like the snooker, this is the proper stage for it to reduce to one match at a time as well...

16/07/2020, 8:17 PM
McGeady over Reid. Under more pressure against better opposition.

Doyle over Harte. Just a beautiful strike, surprised Harte's freekick got this far tbh.

Long over Houghton. Houghton's was a massively important goal, but was quite lucky as the keeper should have sved it.

McAteer over Keane. Beautifully worked, which is rare enough for Irish goals. We played some good stuff back then.

17/07/2020, 9:20 AM
So that's 11-0 wins for Aiden McGeady A v Georgia, 2014 over Andy Reid H v Cyprus, 2005 (bit harsh on Andy tbh!) and for Kevin Doyle A v Slovakia, 2007 over Ian Harte H v Israel, 2005 (helped no doubt by geysir's shocking revelations regarding the Israeli keeper!)

The other two ties are still open until the morning, when we'll have our final 8.

Not sure leaving the voting open for 48 hours has added many votes - wonder is it better for the quarters next week to revert to 24 hours each? One a day, and then the following week is the two semis, a 3rd/4th place play-off and the big final, again with one each day. As easy for me either way of course.