View Full Version : Transfer Rumours 2005

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8

OpenGoal
29/07/2005, 10:44 AM
i know but we here in clare keep hearing how good the football & teams in limerick are.. shannon olympic are an average clare league team... having said that they will consider this a great result...

also just trying to get point across if summerville looking to win first division in limerick . they shoul be beating the likes of shannon olympic

I wouldnt gauge too much from that result. Summer ville said they were missing a few players, and I know olympic were missing 4-5 regulars, but good result for us all the same. Average team Old Boy, excuse yourself :D

papa-j
29/07/2005, 11:20 AM
I wouldnt gauge too much from that result. Summer ville said they were missing a few players, and I know olympic were missing 4-5 regulars, but good result for us all the same. Average team Old Boy, excuse yourself :D

ya old boy get it right.Olympic are not just average, they are VERY average. In fact they are Special!!! :D :D

OpenGoal
29/07/2005, 12:56 PM
ya old boy get it right.Olympic are not just average, they are VERY average. In fact they are Special!!! :D :D

What a biting wit you have papa-j. I shall look forward to more of your insightful musings as the season goes on. :rolleyes:

old boy
29/07/2005, 1:12 PM

nice one :D :D :D

papa-j
29/07/2005, 1:31 PM
What a biting wit you have papa-j. I shall look forward to more of your insightful musings as the season goes on. :rolleyes:

Hacker / opengoal my little olympian friends, twas said in jest. I'm sure we will have plenty to say to each other once the season kicks off.

Meanwhile any new faces at Olympic, anyone Special??? (couldn't resist) :D

OpenGoal
29/07/2005, 1:44 PM
Hmmm............. I s'pose youre keeping your lapdog old boy amused so at least you have an audience. Maybe if you threw him a ball and asked him to find the corners we'd be spared his posts for the first half of the season.

Dont know about any new signings, heard Eamonn O'Neill scored vs summerville, so he must have gotten a call-up and there were rumours of John Ryan from bunratty also joining but cant confirm.

how about Newtown, are ye strong this year? anyone in (or more importantly out - we might try and poach them)?

papa-j
29/07/2005, 2:19 PM
Hmmm............. I s'pose youre keeping your lapdog old boy amused so at least you have an audience. Maybe if you threw him a ball and asked him to find the corners we'd be spared his posts for the first half of the season.

Dont know about any new signings, heard Eamonn O'Neill scored vs summerville, so he must have gotten a call-up and there were rumours of John Ryan from bunratty also joining but cant confirm.

how about Newtown, are ye strong this year? anyone in (or more importantly out - we might try and poach them)?

movin on...we had eamonn at Newtown a few years ago, decent player. John Ryan would be a good signing for ye too. All of last years players signed again & we have a few new faces training with us. We'll be decent on paper but winning something will depend on the work ethic & attitude to training. Heard nobbers has been reinstated as Park Manager..any info on what went on there?

summervilleman
29/07/2005, 3:00 PM
Yes we will be pushing for promotion this season but a loss in a pre season friendly to an average clare league team is not a disaster in any way lads....Thats why there are pre-seasons...Trying out new things and new players and if they don't work in a pre-season then u are going to try something else in another game.....Its all about learning....learn from your mistakes...also can't win them all...wouldn;t dig to much into any pre-season games either...When the league starts up and we lose a few games then i will start to worry!!

OpenGoal
29/07/2005, 3:34 PM
Who was your goalkeeper the other night summervilleman, apparently the best player on the park?

OpenGoal
29/07/2005, 3:40 PM
movin on...we had eamonn at Newtown a few years ago, decent player. John Ryan would be a good signing for ye too. All of last years players signed again & we have a few new faces training with us. We'll be decent on paper but winning something will depend on the work ethic & attitude to training. Heard nobbers has been reinstated as Park Manager..any info on what went on there?

Eamonn O'Neill, nice player all right, on his good days he can create havoc. On bad days, even more havoc, usually ending in him getting an early bath. Also heard a rumour that Pa Twomey will be with Olympic next year. Dont know muchabout him, but if he is anything like his brother he cant be too bad.

old boy
29/07/2005, 4:06 PM

NOBODY'S LAPDOG... HAVE NO CONNECTIONS TO PAPA-J
ARE U GETTING ME MIXED UP WITH SOMEBODY ELSE !!! :p :p

barryk
04/08/2005, 2:12 PM
The following players were listed in the Leader as having played with their side last season. Does anyone know if they are still with the same team this season?

Balla
Alan Johnson
Anthony McCormack
Brian Fitzgerald
Brian O'Doherty
Damien Conway
Damien Leo
David Dunphy
Frank Lee
Gareth Ryan
Gary Ryan
James Ryan
Jamie O'Sullivan
Keith Fitzgerald
Ken McNamara
Phillip Collopy
Ray McMahon
Robert Earls
Stephen Leo
Thomas Butler
Tom Daly

Carew
Albert Slattery
Cyril Maher
Dave Liston
Denis Griffin
Denis Whelan
Ger Constable
Gordon Stewart
James Naughton
Jason Collopy
Jason Devlin
John Carey
Mike Carey
Mike Ryan
Noel Higgins
Owen Moloney
Pat Koyce
Paul Dillon
Paul Quinn
Robert Kelly
Ter Bussoli

Fairview
Barry Heffernan
Brian Buckley
Brian Lawlor
Cian Hanrahan
Dave Wall
Derek Whyte
Gary Hannon
James Hayes ULAA
Jason Purcell
John Fitzgerald
John Lyne
Keith Fitzgerald
Kevin McCarthy
Mark Houlihan
Martin Neary
Mike O'Malley
Morgan Lewis
Owen Lynch
Paul O'Donnell
Sean Lipper
Stuart Fitzgerald
Trevor Cosgove
Trevor Higgins
Wayne Colbert

Hill Celtic
Anthony Hoare
Arthur Clarke
Barry Lynch
Bernard Corbett
Billy Quinn
Brian Begley
Brian Corbett
Brian Fitzgerald
Brian O'Riordan
Colin McNamara
Craig Slattery
Daithi Noonan
Darragh McMahon
David Stewart
Ger Crawford
Gerard Doran
James O'Neill
Jamie Daly
Jamie McNamara
John Boyle
John Corbett
Kieran Hannon
Kieran O'Byrne
Michael Thompson
Mike O'Neill
Pat McCallig
Paul Goodman
Peter Clarke
Richard Meehan
Ross Bermingham
Sean Corbett
Stephen Grant
Stephen Rooney
Tom McInerney
Tony Doran
William Hayes

Boro
Aidan Hogan
Alan O Keeffe
Alan Sheehan
Anthony Curtis
Anthony Tobin
Barry Boland
Barry Conway
Brian Lawlor
Conor Lynch
Darren Keane
Dave Brown
David Moloney
Dom Fitzgerald
Ger Fitzgerald
Jason O'Connor
Jason O'Keeffe
JJ Hartigan ULAA
Joe Sheehan
Jude Curtis
Kevin Timmons
Mark Houlihan
Nigel Casey
Pat McEvoy
Peter Clarke
Shane Madden

Mungret
Adrian Costello
Barry O'Grady
Brendan O'Sullivan
Brian Ahern
Brian Barry
Darragh O'Brien
Darragh O'Grady
Darren Hennessy
Dave McCoy
Des O Donoghue
Eoin Mullins
Gary Long
Gary Purcell
Ger Bourke
Ian Hughes
John Moran
Keith McNicholas
Ken McNamara
Ken Ryan
Kieran Barry
Lee Whittaker
Lou Quigley
Martin Mulvanney
Neil O'Driscoll
Niall Hanrahan
Paddy Naughton
Paddy Ronan
Pat O'Donoghue
Paul Hennessy
Paul Scales
Robert Donnelly
Ronan Keane
Sean McManus
Shane Clifford
Thomas O'Gorman
Tom McGrath
Vincent Naughton

Park
Albert Finnan
Brian Keane
Darren Griffin
Darren Ryan
Darren Whelan
David Russell
Declan Adams
Declan Devitt
Eddie Dunne
Evan Glynn
Fintan Quinn
Gareth Quirke
Jamie Cullen
Jason O'Donnell
Karl Scott
Liam Murphy
Mike Devitt
Neil O'Brien
Paddy Canavan
Paul Downes
Paul O Loughlin
Philip Purcell
Richard Murphy
Sean McDonald
Shane McCarthy
Shane O'Connor
Shane Purcell
Thomas O Hare
Tony McInerney

Pike
Alan Finucane
Brian Fitzgerald
Colm Enright
Dainis Bokans
Dara Droog
Daryl Eade
Dave O'Grady
David McNamara
David Morris
Declan Casey
Declan Considine
Dermot Phelan
Frank Stewart Regional
Kevin Fitzpatrick
Martin O'Neill
Museliu Bashua
Pat McGarry Carew Park
Pat Mitchell
Paul Coleman
Ronan Hanrahan
Seamie Lawlor

Regional
Anthony O'Shaughnessy
Barry Sheehan
Bobby Horan
Brian O'Connell
Brian Ringrose
Brian Sexton
Danny Fitzgerald
Danny Galvin
Darren Griffin
Darren Horan
Darren O'Sullivan
Declan Nash
Don Caulfield
Eoin O'Hagan
Frank Stewart
Jason Fitzgibbon
John O'Donoghue
Mark Finucane
Mark Sheehan
Mike Behan
Mike Lyons
Mike Reidy
Paul O'Riordan
Richard Meaney
Shane O'Connor
Shane O'Donoghue
Tim Sheehan
Tom O'Dowd
Tony McNamara
Wayne McNamara

l.f.c......
04/08/2005, 2:27 PM
Carew
Albert Slattery
Cyril Maher
pat mcgarry
lou quigley
noel noonan
johhny corbett
bubbles
jason o connor
Denis Whelan
mike carey
pat koyce
paul quinn
Ger Constable
Gordon Stewart
James Naughon
Jason Devlin
John Carey
Mike Ryan
Paul Dillon
damian constable

carew park squad for next season

widow
04/08/2005, 3:43 PM
excellent squad, must be favourites for the premier league this year, no one can compete with a squad like that

flipper
05/08/2005, 11:25 AM
you mean damian quinlivan instead of damian constable do you?

Goals4fun
05/08/2005, 2:32 PM
excellent squad, must be favourites for the premier league this year, no one can compete with a squad like that

good squad.
will 45% of them be happy to sit on the bench when they would get a game each weekend with a lot ofr premier teams.

widow
05/08/2005, 2:46 PM
ya put the teams they'd get on would be battling to stay up,
some of those new signings the top clubs wouldn't go near, too much trouble

Happy Zapper
08/08/2005, 2:33 PM
ya put the teams they'd get on would be battling to stay up,
some of those new signings the top clubs wouldn't go near, too much trouble

How can you say they will be favourites to win the prem league and then say the above. What player there is too much trouble? Never understand people saying that. Maybe I am reading it wrong?

summervilleman
08/08/2005, 9:48 PM
Who was your goalkeeper the other night summervilleman, apparently the best player on the park?

That would have been brian slattery...fine keeper...Played very well on the night..He is our 3rd choice keeper belive it or not......

LimerickYouth
09/08/2005, 10:26 PM
I bet the Limerick Junior teams are hot on the heals of the Limerick U 21 players. Some good quality there! Anyone one heard anything?

red metal
09/08/2005, 11:10 PM
Abbey utd the current sligo leitrim champions will be making a good push for the fai junior cup with the signing of KEITH CARTY/COLIN JINKS/JOHN GAFFNEY/NEIL MCKENNA/GLEN SHANNON/DAMIEN SHANNON/DAMIEN SCANLON.Carty and Scanlon are still with Castlebar until the end of the season!And then they will join up with there old team mates!and the rest join from glenview who were last years beaten finalist in the con cup!these guys are all top players but the pick for me is glen shannon!

widow
11/08/2005, 8:19 AM
anyone know who ross cosgrave is gone to after being released by limerick?

Roadend
11/08/2005, 10:19 AM
anyone know who ross cosgrave is gone to after being released by limerick?

He was up training with Fairview.

Bonovox
11/08/2005, 11:58 AM
Ross Cosgrave has signed with the 'View

widow
11/08/2005, 1:29 PM
if he gets back to what he was, he'll be a significant signing for the view. Fairviews defence was dodgy tho last season even with buckley, now he's gone I think they'll struggle at the back. They've signed ian bennis rumour has it, can someone from the view confirm this?

backodanet
11/08/2005, 1:33 PM
They've signed ian bennis rumour has it, can someone from the view confirm this?

he has signed but i think he is struggling with injury

what happened to lewis and lynch

lim abroad
11/08/2005, 3:18 PM
didn't lynch retire last season i think and lewis is just a dodgy keeper.heard that mick ahearne was up training with them as well

widow
11/08/2005, 3:39 PM
mick aherne has played and trained with a few clubs this pre season. heard he signed with regional. Lewis is gone to wembley, lynch has signed for the view

lim abroad
12/08/2005, 11:32 PM
is heffernan gonna play for the view this year?

clownboy
15/08/2005, 7:11 AM
Ya Barry Heffernan has signed with the View

abbeyvale
15/08/2005, 7:14 PM
Ya Barry Heffernan has signed with the View

Ger Collopy, Alan Morton, John Barry, John Clifford, Graham Carey, Pa Barry & Peter Clarke (all Abbey last season) Brian Doherty (Ex Balla), Leonard O'Grady & Derek Hannon (ex Dines) have all signed with Star Rovers.

progress
15/08/2005, 9:29 PM
i think if u have a look at the facts widow,it was the forwards that let fairview down at the end of last season,simply they didnt have a decent forward apart from davey wall.i think thats where there problem was.do u agree.they still didnt concede many goals,but were not scoring at the other end.

clownboy
16/08/2005, 6:15 AM
i HEARD THAT Frank Browne , Mick Aherne, Rossi And Brendan Hugehes have signed with the View.They are all great signings for them and they will definately challenge now for the league although i still think they will need another forward to partner Davey wall cos he will get 20 goals no doubt but i cant seem them coming from anywhere else although Mick Aherne would score a few playing on the right i would say

widow
16/08/2005, 7:41 AM
frank browne wow!

flipper
17/08/2005, 9:42 AM
frank browne wow!

i agree widow, WOW!They still havent replaced kelleher and barrett.

abbeyvale
19/08/2005, 9:27 PM
i HEARD THAT Frank Browne , Mick Aherne, Rossi And Brendan Hugehes have signed with the View.They are all great signings for them and they will definately challenge now for the league although i still think they will need another forward to partner Davey wall cos he will get 20 goals no doubt but i cant seem them coming from anywhere else although Mick Aherne would score a few playing on the right i would say

Mick Aherne???? you must be kidding me, he's as bad as Browne

lim abroad
19/08/2005, 11:24 PM
it'll be interesting to see if rossi can stay injury free and recapture the form he showed 3 seasons ago

abbeyvale
31/08/2005, 5:23 PM
it'll be interesting to see if rossi can stay injury free and recapture the form he showed 3 seasons ago

Looks like he has

summervilleman
31/08/2005, 6:38 PM
I agree with u abbeyvale and he's doing a good job scoring by the sounds of it as well!!!

abbeyvale
15/09/2005, 5:52 PM
I agree with u abbeyvale and he's doing a good job scoring by the sounds of it as well!!!

Paddy Mitchell (ex Pike) has signed with Fairview.

Mike (Jaws) Ryan has taken over the Mungret Prem side. (They'll definatley go down now)

l.f.c......
16/09/2005, 9:20 AM
monty has signed with carew park the player signed the form last week and balla signed it this week official. i think that could turn out to be a great signing for carew they lacked a bit of pace of front that signing could really help carew push for honours this season.

clownboy
16/09/2005, 9:28 AM
Ya he is a handy player alright but i think that he will add to their already terrible discipline(he is prone to a sending off or 2 ) problems..What is it now 4 red cards in six games for Carew.I heard there is a bit of hassle in the camp too Paul Quinn walked off against Regional and Pa Mcgarry in the last game against Granville apparantly on his way to the Boro..Dont know how true that is though But he does go through a lot of clubs ...we will have to start calling him Tiger :o :o

l.f.c......
16/09/2005, 9:34 AM
3 players sent off not 4 but agree thats still pretty poor as for mcgarry and paul quinn everthing grand there both had long talks with the manager and everything is fine. but discipline needs to improve if they can get that right they will be a very hard team to beat but getting it right is the prob

clownboy
16/09/2005, 9:41 AM
Ya definately they area good team and squad..I can see them taking points off the The likes of the View Boro Pike and Balla But throwing silly points away against the likes of Regional and Hill celtic

Monster
16/09/2005, 10:12 AM
Carew look to be very strong this season - that is a good signing.If fairview can keep all the young players they have at the moment they will be a force again in a year or 2 down the road i reckon.

Nemesis
16/09/2005, 10:30 AM
Paddy Mitchell (ex Pike) has signed with Fairview.

Mike (Jaws) Ryan has taken over the Mungret Prem side. (They'll definatley go down now)

What a joke, how can Mungret justify getting rid of Pat Irwin and replacing him with Jaws Ryan, talk about not learning from your mistakes. If any of the mungret lads are logged on - run while you have a chance and don't look back.

clownboy
16/09/2005, 10:33 AM
What happened there did they get rid of him or did he walk??

Nemesis
16/09/2005, 10:33 AM
monty has signed with carew park the player signed the form last week and balla signed it this week official. i think that could turn out to be a great signing for carew they lacked a bit of pace of front that signing could really help carew push for honours this season.

Carew have plenty of fire power and Monty will only add to that, where they will struggle in in the back

Nemesis
16/09/2005, 11:06 AM
What happened there did they get rid of him or did he walk??

I was told it was the former, it just goes to show the kind of thinking that goes into things. Did they not look at his previous clubs and what happened there? Was he not the manager of mungret before and what happened then. Mungret always found it hard to attract players but now .. forget it.

water boy
16/09/2005, 11:08 AM
What a joke, how can Mungret justify getting rid of Pat Irwin and replacing him with Jaws Ryan, talk about not learning from your mistakes. If any of the mungret lads are logged on - run while you have a chance and don't look back.

1a next year...1b year after if he manager and so on......a total waister