View Full Version : Preview: Shelbourne vs Cork City

30/05/2005, 12:14 AM
Preview: Shelbourne vs Cork City

A true top of the table clash on Monday night as Shelbourne host Cork City at Tolka Park. Just goal difference separates the two clubs at the top of the table and although they've already met in two highly competitive games this year, this is the first league meeting.

Shelbourne vs Cork City
(Tolka Park - 7:45 pm - Premier - Live on Setanta Sports)
Referee: TBA

Read more at www.irishfootballonline.com (http://www.irishfootballonline.com/news_story.php?newsid=2907)

redgav
30/05/2005, 8:44 AM
Be soooooo sweet if we can pull a result out of the bag up here .Hopefully the ref is strong tonite .Jaysus ,I can't remember what the feeling of victory leaving Tolka park is like .C'mon City

30/05/2005, 8:56 AM
A draw would be more than acceptable.

I really want to get some sort of result, otherwise we will have the usual hysterical reaction from the usual suspects......

30/05/2005, 11:07 AM
yeah we dont need people saying our season is over tonight.

redgav
30/05/2005, 11:50 AM
A draw would be more than acceptable.

I really want to get some sort of result, otherwise we will have the usual hysterical reaction from the usual suspects......

Thats the trouble in a nutshell, we are never more than a draw or defeat away from bedlam .....sometimes I really wonder why the offal site is allowed stay open ,it has to be having a detrimental effect

Heres hopin for a city win , A dodgy decision for us would be sweet ;)
Regardless ,the way we've been playing this season away from home , theres no reason why we can't takle them .Its taken a dodgy decision in the last 3 games for them to nick a 1 nil ,that streak has to run out sooner or later

Gareth
30/05/2005, 2:17 PM
Lads, Live updates on the shels site for any of you that cant travel. www.shelbournefc.ie and go to the matchzone live updates. Hope it keeps ye in touch!!

30/05/2005, 3:03 PM
For people who cant make it up to Tolka ....

The Evergreen, The Horse shoe and The Northgate Tav are all showing it !!

I would have thought that maybe Cashmans and a few places like that would show the game aswell but the three above are definitely showing it.

Come on City !!

Gareth
30/05/2005, 3:22 PM
do you get setanta on Chorus (is that ur tv providers?) A Face? Or is it subscription all the way??

30/05/2005, 3:27 PM
do you get setanta on Chorus (is that ur tv providers?) A Face? Or is it subscription all the way??

You can get it on Chorus Digital and not totally sure but can you get it on pay per view terms aswell ??

30/05/2005, 3:40 PM
Also ...

Hallys Bar, Blackpool are also showing it.

Weekly City Lotto draw on there afterwards.

iceman
30/05/2005, 6:29 PM
Lads this game is on LIVE on Setanta Sports

yan
30/05/2005, 6:45 PM
anyone with the line up?

iceman
30/05/2005, 7:51 PM
Dont have the line up Yan but I'll try to get it for you - its scorless at half-time

daveh
30/05/2005, 7:52 PM
Devine
Bennett
Murray
O'Brien
Fenn
O'Callaghan
Woods
O'Donovan
Doyle
Gamble
Horgan

Subs
O'Halloran
O'Flynn
McNulty
Kevin Murray
Coughlan

daveh
30/05/2005, 7:55 PM
Apparently only a crowd of about 1600 at the game aswell,thats fairly abysmal for a top of the table clash,even for shels

daveh
30/05/2005, 8:04 PM
1-0 to city!!!!!!!roy in the 53rd min

jofyisgod
30/05/2005, 8:08 PM
1-0 to city!!!!!!!roy in the 53rd min
Great-come on lads, get a second....

jofyisgod
30/05/2005, 8:13 PM
O'Flynn replaces Doyle

It would be mad to see JOF score tonight.
Updates on official CCFC site sourtesy of ShelsWeb.

jofyisgod
30/05/2005, 8:23 PM
2-0 apparently, i'll have the scorer in a sec

Cork came on the attack through a huge gap in the Shels defence. A shot pinged off a Shels player, and the helpless Williams could only punch into his own net.

daveh
30/05/2005, 8:25 PM
looks like it rebounded of a shels player and went in but who cares!!!
2-0 to city!!!!!

30/05/2005, 8:29 PM
doubtcha roy!

did i ever tell ye the story of how its my doing that roy is at our club? ;) :D

daveh
30/05/2005, 8:37 PM
from the shelsweb update

"As time ticks away Shels are uncontrolled and frantic."

brilliant!!

daveh
30/05/2005, 8:43 PM
full time,2-0 city!!!!!!!

top of the league!!!!!

Soper
30/05/2005, 8:44 PM
Well done City.

I've always had a soft spot for ye since ye had that black and yellow away kit all those years ago.

30/05/2005, 8:49 PM
At least Shelbourne got their 3 in a row :D

30/05/2005, 8:56 PM
Was hopin' for a draw TBH, but as consolation - its always nice to see Shels get beat... :D

30/05/2005, 8:59 PM
CORK CHEATS !!!!!!!!!!! :mad: :mad: :mad:

30/05/2005, 9:04 PM
Well done City.

I've always had a soft spot for ye since ye had that black and yellow away kit all those years ago.

http://www.shedend.com/gavinzac/2-0.JPG

Soper
30/05/2005, 9:06 PM

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAH!

I see we have a Fenlonist in here - blaming all but themselves :D

Fair_play_boy
Was hopin' for a draw TBH, but as consolation - its always nice to see Shels get beat... :DAh that's ok. :)

iceman
30/05/2005, 9:16 PM
Well done City - lets hope some action is taken against Shels now as there was to be no contact between Fenlon and Collins yet Collins was on the phone for 90% of the game - typical Shels.

sullanefc
30/05/2005, 9:21 PM
He had a right go at "the people who run the league" "preventing him from doing his job" in the TV interview afterwards on Setanta.

sullanefc
30/05/2005, 9:22 PM

Explain please? All goals ligit. unlike last time.

hamish
30/05/2005, 9:25 PM

Jaysus, GavinZac, is that you? :eek:

You Footiepersons are so fcuking YOUNG. Makes me feel even more like an old cnut. :o

By the way, congrats City - back on thread.

What did youse think of David Jeffery??

30/05/2005, 9:32 PM

You Footiepersons are so fcuking YOUNG. Makes me feel even more like an old cnut. :o

im 20. you cant judge how young i am in that photo!

although, i lok about 10 in this one

http://www.shedend.com/gavinzac/sleepy.jpg

hamish
30/05/2005, 9:35 PM
im 20. you cant judge how young i am in that photo!

although, i lok about 10 in this one

http://www.shedend.com/gavinzac/sleepy.jpg

I'd say about 10 pints too many, lucky devil. :D
I remember drinking pints. :(

30/05/2005, 9:37 PM
I'd say about 10 pints too many, lucky devil. :D
I remember drinking pints. :(

awake from wednesday morning to saturday night (around 3 or 4 am), i reckon i did alright :D

hamish
30/05/2005, 9:41 PM
awake from wednesday morning to saturday night (around 3 or 4 am), i reckon i did alright :D

Fair fcuks to you GZ. That's what I call stamina.

How did the exams go??

Hopefully well - are you finished them yet?? The result this evening will give you that extra drive if you're not finished yet.

Jim Smith
30/05/2005, 9:50 PM

Well Sir Hamish, two words to cheer us oldies up: "car insurance". Now I bet you never thought those words would make you smile :eek:

hamish
30/05/2005, 9:57 PM
Well Sir Hamish, two words to cheer us oldies up: "car insurance". Now I bet you never thought those words would make you smile :eek:

You're an oldie too. :eek: That probably means you're 25.

Know that film from the late 60s/early 70s - where people are killed off at 30. Damned if I can remember it but it feels like that for me on this website.

Here's even better news. Can't drive since 2000 so I have no car insurance costs/worries but I lnow what you mean.

Let the young pups suffer and pay the price, I say. Fcuk them all. :D

30/05/2005, 9:58 PM
Explain please? All goals ligit. unlike last time.

Maybe they should explain why eamon collins was seen on his mobile many times during the game

Soper
30/05/2005, 10:12 PM
Maybe they should explain why eamon collins was seen on his mobile many times during the game
It's that phone sex addiction it is.

His bills gonna be sky high if it continues.He needs help.

yan
30/05/2005, 10:14 PM
http://www.shelbournefcchat.100megs12.com/chat/viewtopic.php?t=2851

looks like shels fans are turning on jason byrne

30/05/2005, 11:10 PM
Shels fans have been saying for the last few games this season that Jayo doesn't seem up for it and spends most of the game moaning and shaking his arms about. He obviously isn't the cause of the poor form recently, but its not helping. He thrives on confidence, and he doesn't seem to have any. :o

30/05/2005, 11:19 PM
Shels fans have been saying for the last few games this season that Jayo doesn't seem up for it and spends most of the game moaning and shaking his arms about. He obviously isn't the cause of the poor form recently, but its not helping. He thrives on confidence, and he doesn't seem to have any. :o

Hes Robbie Keanes cousin y'know !! :eek: :rolleyes: :p

31/05/2005, 8:43 AM
He had a right go at "the people who run the league" "preventing him from doing his job" in the TV interview afterwards on Setanta.

Sure he spent 90 minutes on the phone to Collins, he was still directing EVERYTHING that happened on the field.

All we were missing was looking at the pair of them hopping up and down on the sidelines looking like a chorus line from Munchkinland in the Wizard of OZ :D

ccfcgirl
31/05/2005, 9:25 AM
Brillian result .top of the league .I had city backed to win 2-0 .And i done a doUble with them with west ham .Im some happy camper to-day .Roll on Finn Harps :p

kevincronin2000
31/05/2005, 10:42 AM
ya backed city to win aswell last night. They were 3/1 with cashmans who did they think we were playing? "brazil" any way nice one cheap trip.

www.rte.ie/aertel/p238.htm never looked so good as it does this morning.

yan
31/05/2005, 5:12 PM
won most games
lost least games
scored most goals
conceded least goals

most important

most points!!! :D :D :D