View Full Version : Shamrock Rovers 400 Club Press Statement

27/05/2005, 12:04 PM
Shamrock Rovers 400 Club Press Statement

Issued May 27, 2005

The Shamrock Rovers 400 Club would like to refute claims by officials of Shelbourne FC and subsequently by officials of the Shelbourne supporters club, which were widely reported in the media over the course of the last week. It was alleged that "thugs wearing the green & white hooped shirts of Shamrock Rovers" attacked fans of Linfield FC. The attacks were alleged to have happened prior to the Setanta Cup Final at Tolka Park on Saturday 21st May.

The 400 Club has investigated the allegations made against Shamrock Rovers fans with the appropriate authorities. The Gardai in Santry, who were responsible for the policing outside the ground, reported only minor disturbances and were happy to confirm that it was a "relatively incident-free game" with no evidence of any Rovers fans being involved in any of the minor incidents reported. The security firm responsible for the matchday organisation also confirmed that no Rovers fans were involved in any such incidents. A number of fans were ejected from the stadium, none of whom were identified as Rovers fans.

At a time when the 400 Club is attempting to promote Shamrock Rovers FC and the role fans can play in securing the future of their great club, the allegations made are a cause of great concern and have come at a very delicate time for the club with potentially damaging consequences.

The 400 Club has sought legal advice on the allegations made by Shelboune officials and is seeking a retraction of the same as well as a full and frank apology by those who have made such claims, together with those sections of the media who reported them without corroboration from the appropriate authorities.

27/05/2005, 12:08 PM
together with those sections of the media who reported them without corroboration from the appropriate authorities.

Good on them, nice to see the media being tackled for unsubstantiated negative claims about the eL.

27/05/2005, 12:09 PM
Great statement. Well done.

I think you'll find it easier to knit fog than get an explanation or apology from Ollie and co however.........

27/05/2005, 12:27 PM
Funny, Shels have managed to swing a lot of us behind Rovers on this issue. It's almost been a popularity boost for Rovers when they most need our sympathy.

27/05/2005, 12:28 PM
The original one, issued by Shelbourne, was not specific, it said SRFC or Celtic thugs. It did not place the blame entirely on your door.

I take it that whoever released that edited the quote so as to appeal for sympathy.

"Thugs wearing the green & white hooped shirts of Shamrock Rovers OR SCOTTISH CLUB CELTIC FC"

And for the record, it was both! :P

27/05/2005, 12:32 PM
EnDai Rovers' statement is refuting the claims by both Ollie and the supporters club and Ollie's allegations were more specific. Some odd ambiguous comment to the effect that Rovers knew about it and did not prevent it.

27/05/2005, 12:33 PM
One of the good things about the effective 400 club take-over of Rovers during the examinership has been their willingness to release comments on this sort of thing. All too often clubs do nothing when this happens.

27/05/2005, 12:35 PM
I was just pointing out that the quote used by Shamrock Rovers has been edited to make it look more condemning. That's all.

Dricky
27/05/2005, 12:36 PM
Well done, that bitter fat little man needs to be brought in line as his intention was to point the finger at Rovers.

rebs23
27/05/2005, 1:07 PM
WAR It's a tricky game you are playing there. While you are correct no doubt is n't there a danger you are only feeding the media publicity for a non event and therefore extending the life of the story?
After all any journalist is only concerned about filling their quota of news stories. It's a delicate balancing act as to when to refute and when to ignore.
Surely this story about handbag hooliganism is dead by now?

manic da hoop
27/05/2005, 1:17 PM
Fair point Rebs 23. When $hels issued that rag of a statement on Monday I thought the papers would be all over the story like a rash the next day, but no. That said, irregardless of how much attention people paid to that piece of bull****, Rovers have to be seen to fight our corner. The idea that that little degenerate low-life can think that he can keep coming out and saying what he likes must be stopped, one way or another.

27/05/2005, 1:33 PM
Fair point Rebs 23. When $hels issued that rag of a statement on Monday I thought the papers would be all over the story like a rash the next day, but no. That said, irregardless of how much attention people paid to that piece of bull****, Rovers have to be seen to fight our corner. The idea that that little degenerate low-life can think that he can keep coming out and saying what he likes must be stopped, one way or another.

I share Rebs 23's concern that it'll just prolong any negative coverage, but agree with you that you need to stick-up for your club and someone needs to show Ollie he doesn't get life all his own way.

Surely you could've sneaked Ollie's conviction for selling dodgy cigarettes into the statement there somewhere though...... :D

fosterdollar
27/05/2005, 1:38 PM
The 400 Club looked into it, found it was unfounded and sought exoneration as anyone with any self respect would do. Fair play to them. Hope Shels are punished for it.

thomas
27/05/2005, 3:23 PM
Most of the national media covered the story made up by olly papers and radio. This was a non event painted as a guerilla assault by rovers fans.
Rovers fans are entitled to an apology from olly and cassiday and every other bandwagon jumper.

fbtn
27/05/2005, 3:37 PM
Well done Rovers.

Don't let the b***ards grind you down!!!

Gareth
27/05/2005, 4:02 PM
Some individuals wearing Rovers jersey were loitering at the top of Richmond Road looking for a bit of trouble. Most of us walking down to the game saw that. You can release a million statements saying what you like but the fact remains. After that, the rest of what is going on is handbags. Eitherway its over. As for Rovers seeking legal advice, if there was CCTV at the top of Richmond Road it should be easy enough to point out the jerseys.

thomas
27/05/2005, 4:06 PM
Some individuals wearing Rovers jersey were loitering at the top of Richmond Road looking for a bit of trouble. Most of us walking down to the game saw that. You can release a million statements saying what you like but the fact remains. After that, the rest of what is going on is handbags. Eitherway its over. As for Rovers seeking legal advice, if there was CCTV at the top of Richmond Road it should be easy enough to point out the jerseys.

Obviously you were able to read the minds of the people wearing Rovers jersies so...or maybe you just saw football fans standing around?

Time for Ollie to apologise and get over it. Nothing happened and making false accusations wont be tolerated.

27/05/2005, 4:07 PM
What will the 400 club say if Ollie does come up with the evidence.

27/05/2005, 4:08 PM
As for Rovers seeking legal advice, if there was CCTV at the top of Richmond Road it should be easy enough to point out the jerseys.

Fire ahead so, we've been waiting all week for evidence. The onus is on you and the Fat Controller to prove the allegations.

Incidentally, about 5 minutes after the statement was issued, you know who was on to our Press Officer swearing like a madman. He refused to offer any evidence or an apology and just screamed his head off for the entire call. He's so unprofessional it's untrue.

manic da hoop
27/05/2005, 4:11 PM

And just how on earth does he plan to do that?

Dricky
27/05/2005, 4:13 PM
He should be reported to the FAI for bring the game into disrepute, that sort of think enflames anger and can lead to trouble.

Gareth
27/05/2005, 4:19 PM
Obviously you were able to read the minds of the people wearing Rovers jersies so...or maybe you just saw football fans standing around?

Generally when you hear people shouting at other people and generally being confrontional you just get this inkling. I confess though, I am not a mind reader. Do you have remote vision seeing as most of you weren't there?

27/05/2005, 8:35 PM
Evidence. Did you see them involved in fighting?

Ollie is the greatest threat to the league ever. He is scum beyond recognition. Once a convict always a convict. He hates Rovers which is childish. Guess he cant get over the fact that 18 years on the road we stil have more fans than shels.

Ollie whats it like to be still living at home at your age YOU FILTH? HOPE YOU DIE

Green Force
28/05/2005, 9:47 AM
Generally when you hear people shouting at other people and generally being confrontional you just get this inkling.

Without being clairvoyant I would think all football fans behave in this way?

Dr.Nightdub
28/05/2005, 11:43 AM
Just on the "editing" of Shels' original statement...I would've thought the obvious explanation is that allegations about the behaviour of people wearing Celtic jerseys is not a direct concern of the Rovers' 400 Club.

Passive
28/05/2005, 11:43 AM
Incidentally, about 5 minutes after the statement was issued, you know who was on to our Press Officer swearing like a madman. He refused to offer any evidence or an apology and just screamed his head off for the entire call. He's so unprofessional it's untrue.

The man is a joke. In fact, the club is a joke.

Shels concede a goal - Fenlon cries until he's sent off.
Shels don't win a free kick - Collins cries until he's sent off.
Shels can't score - the players cry and kick until they're sent off.
Shels lose a game - Ollie cries and threatens to beat up opposition fans.
Shels don't win the league - Ollie cries and sues his rivals until he has brought the entire league into disrepute.

Ollie Byrne tried to fight two Bohs fans on two seperate occassions last night. The man is chairman of the champions of Ireland and he is trying to fight supporters. Are Shels fans not cringing with embarrassment over this? What a cheek - he accuses Rovers fans of being hooligans and then he tries to start fights at the very next game! It's comical what an arsehole he is.

28/05/2005, 3:14 PM
Well done Rovers. About time someone stood up to Oily

Gareth
28/05/2005, 3:20 PM
Without being clairvoyant I would think all football fans behave in this way?

Well maybe we find the root of why rovers cause trouble if you think being confrontational is the way all fans behave.

Green Force
28/05/2005, 7:39 PM
Sport is competitive, Football pits two teams against each other in a confrontationl manner and people enjoy watching that. All fans behave confrontationally. Some have too much agression, like olly, others are wind up merchants, like the briogad dearg but one way or the other a fan is out there to see someone get beaten and if thats not confrontational I dont know what is.

28/05/2005, 8:55 PM
Ollie Byrne tried to fight two Bohs fans on two seperate occassions last night. The man is chairman of the champions of Ireland and he is trying to fight supporters. Are Shels fans not cringing with embarrassment over this? What a cheek - he accuses Rovers fans of being hooligans and then he tries to start fights at the very next game! It's comical what an arsehole he is.

So Ollie was up to his old tricks again last night ? On two seperate occasions I have seen him have to be phsically restrained as he tried to attack supporters at Richmond Park. Filth is the only word for him. What makes it worse is that so many people make excuses for him, on the grounds that he is "passionate" and "loves his club" . He is a lowlife thug and that's all there is to it. If Shels fans aren't embarressed by him, they should be.

28/05/2005, 9:05 PM
IF shels lose 3rd game in a week on Monday will be fireworks for sure.

corkharps
28/05/2005, 9:17 PM
WAR It's a tricky game you are playing there. While you are correct no doubt is n't there a danger you are only feeding the media publicity for a non event and therefore extending the life of the story?
After all any journalist is only concerned about filling their quota of news stories. It's a delicate balancing act as to when to refute and when to ignore.
Surely this story about handbag hooliganism is dead by now?
100%
Sorry lads,while we all know Oily is wrong,I think ye shouldn't get dragged down to his level.Ye have enough on your plate at the moment and we all wish you the best with that,but this crap only brings more unwanted publicity on Rovers,Shels and EL!

28/05/2005, 10:05 PM
When compared to supporters opinions on Ollie Rovers fans are loved by everyone.

Does anyone even respect Oily anymore?

28/05/2005, 10:19 PM
Does anyone even respect Oily anymore?

Being honest .... and maybe Shels fans could enlighten us hear ..... anytime you hear the guys name, it is involved with something bad where he has provoked it or he has kept it going/made it worse. Given his position, you'd think he'd have more sense, but what is not acceptable, is something like this ... he should have tact and not make an árse of himself .... leadership, example.

I actually think he is living on the old idea of "he is passionate, gregarious, genius, has bells on" etc. .... but the guy is very far from that. He is "wearing out his welcome" to be honest ... and is bad for the league.

kdjaC
28/05/2005, 11:04 PM
Shelbourne FC have reacted angrily to a request by the Shamrock Rovers 400 Club over allegations that fans of Rovers were involved in the violence outside Tolka Park during Shelbourne's Setanta Cup final meeting with Linfield FC a week ago.

Shelbourne chief executive Ollie Byrne said that he stood over his accusation that "certain individuals who regularly attend Shamrock Rovers games were involved in the incidents on Lower Drumcondra Road in a very provocative and aggressive manner."

He said: "Some Shamrock Rovers fans and fans of another Dublin club were ejected from Tolka Park. Shelbourne FC will sternly defend their position and are now considering legal action against the individuals responsible for the running of Shamrock Rovers FC including the 400 Club and its members."
Email Services from RTE

In statement after the final, the Shelbourne fan club claimed that media reports of the violence had been greatly exaggerated and added that any violence that had taken place was carried out not by Shelbourne fans but by "thugs wearing the green and white hooped shirts of Shamrock Rovers or Scottish club Celtic."

This angered Shamrock Rovers fans who, through the Shamrock Rovers 400 Club, issued a statement demanding a retraction of the allegation.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/2005/0528/shelbourne.html

They were allowed in wearing colours, ffs the Indo had pics of distraught "Shelbourne Rovers" fans (actual words page 17 in mondays lil version).
As i said elsewhere, Does he ever know when to shut up? And will Rovers ever admit they have a large amount of scum within their nice group of fans.

kdjac

30/05/2005, 8:31 AM
Any sign of this evidence yet? He's had over a week to produce it... :rolleyes:

Roverstillidie
30/05/2005, 9:15 AM
"Some Shamrock Rovers fans and fans of another Dublin club were ejected from Tolka Park. "

which other dublin club and why has oily not named them with the same bluster?

30/05/2005, 3:07 PM

This should be good !! :p

Oily pulling a rabbit out of a hat is always good for a laugh !! :D