View Full Version : who are Irelands most famous club?
Why are people so obsessed about Roddy? It's not about the manager, it's about securing the future of Ireland's most successful and most famous club.KOH
how do you measure this? thought i'd google the club names. Used the same format for each one. Name & football club
Premier Division in order
Results 1 - 10 of about 26,700 for bray wanderers football club. (0.23 seconds)
Results 1 - 10 of about 30,900 for finn harps football club. (0.25 seconds)
Results 1 - 10 of about 50,700 for longford town football club. (0.23 seconds)
Results 1 - 10 of about 51,900 for shamrock rovers football club. (0.14 seconds)
Results 1 - 10 of about 59,400 for shelbourne football club. (0.09 seconds)
Results 1 - 10 of about 89,900 for ucd football club. (0.33 seconds)
Results 1 - 10 of about 93,600 for drogheda united football club. (0.49 seconds)
Results 1 - 10 of about 98,400 for derry city football club. (0.19 seconds)
Results 1 - 10 of about 112,000 for bohemians football club. (0.60 seconds)
Results 1 - 10 of about 137,000 for waterford united football club. (0.75 seconds)
Results 1 - 10 of about 256,000 for cork city football club. (0.26 seconds)
Results 1 - 10 of about 264,000 for st patrick's athletic football club. (0.21 seconds)
Pats would seem to be the winner with Cork city a close second. Rovers way down the bottom.
Dublin City surprised me :eek:
Results 1 - 10 of about 519,000 for dublin city football club. (0.38 seconds) :D
26/05/2005, 1:41 PM
Results 1 - 10 of about 519,000 for dublin city football club. (0.38 seconds) :D
I presume thats a píss take :confused:
Eire06
26/05/2005, 1:43 PM
how do you measure this? thought i'd google the club names. Used the same format for each one. Name & football club
Put quotation marks around the club name to get the exact phrase and its a different story!!
"dublin city football club"
Results 1 - 10 of about 1,250 for "dublin city football club". (0.07 seconds)
Not doin the rest cause couldn't be bothered!! :rolleyes:
I presume thats a píss take :confused:
Yes :D :D :D
Put quotation marks around the club name to get the exact phrase and its a different story!!
"dublin city football club"
Results 1 - 10 of about 1,250 for "dublin city football club". (0.07 seconds)
Not don't the rest cause couldn't be bothered!! :rolleyes:
Results 1 - 10 of about 163 for "shamrock rovers football club". (0.11 seconds)
Results 1 - 10 of about 989 for "galway united football club". (0.60 seconds)
Results 1 - 10 of about 493 for "cork city football club". (0.06 seconds)
how could we measure this?
26/05/2005, 2:07 PM
Results 1 - 10 of about 163 for "shamrock rovers football club". (0.11 seconds)
:eek: :eek: :eek:
26/05/2005, 2:07 PM
Eire 06 is right. Sure any article which says a bit about any dublin club is going to use the words dublin & city.
26/05/2005, 2:09 PM
Results 1 - 10 of about 935 for "longford town football club". (0.31 seconds)
26/05/2005, 2:10 PM
Shamrock Rovers I would have thought to be the most famous. You don't need an internet search for it.
26/05/2005, 2:12 PM
Shamrock Rovers I would have thought to be the most famous. You don't need an internet search for it.
Don't be so sure anymore. A lot of foreign people I talk to only know Shelbourne due to their recent European exploits.
Results 1 - 10 of about 690 for "shelbourne football club". (0.05 seconds) :p
carrickharp
26/05/2005, 2:15 PM
Results 1 - 10 of about 497 for "finn harps football club". (0.06 seconds)
26/05/2005, 2:18 PM
Who ever writes "X football club" on a website? "X FC" is much more likely.
26/05/2005, 2:21 PM
Results 1 - 10 of about 690 for "shelbourne football club". (0.05 seconds) :p
We get the joke already Ringo. ;)
Results 1 - 10 of about 68 for "ucd football club". (0.05 seconds) ;)
26/05/2005, 2:32 PM
The football club part isn't necessary. Just leave UCD and you'll get the accurate picture.;)
yeah your right, we'll just leave out city & football club ;)
atfconline
26/05/2005, 2:47 PM
Results 1 - 10 of about 3,070 for "athlone town football club". (0.30 seconds) :D
26/05/2005, 2:48 PM
Your search Dublin City Football Club did not match any documents.
Suggestions:
- Make sure all words are spelled correctly.
- Try different keywords (e.g. 'Home', 'Farm', or 'Everton')
- Try more general keywords
- Try following a real club :D
PS:
- Note that there is no such entity as 'Bohemians FC'. Try to keep up!
26/05/2005, 8:06 PM
I'd disagree.
Firstly - what exactly is "most famous". I'm assuming it's that if you asked people around the world to name an Irish club, it would need to be the first one they said.
Football fans all over Europe pretty much know the names of one or two clubs in every country. This knowledge is mostly gained through those teams appearing in, and doing well in, European competition.
At the moment, I'd say Shels would be by far "the most famous club". Their victory over Split combined with their games against Deportivo and Lille gave them a lot of exposure, and people's memories aren't very long.
The English lads I play football with have only really heard of Shels, though one did say Cork when I asked them about Irish footie (though I reckon that was more of an obvious guess). One lad had also heard of Glentoran through a Uni mate, and most knew Linfield (albeit with a bit of prompting in cases.
I'd say that would be repeated around Europe - particularly in Spain, France and Croatia. I doubt if Rovers would even be the most famous club in Poland, even though they played Odra 3 years ago....
26/05/2005, 9:22 PM
Results 1 - 10 of about 174,000 for "Celtic FC". (0.23 seconds)
Ringo
26/05/2005, 10:06 PM
Results 1 - 10 of about 174,000 for "Celtic FC". (0.23 seconds)
if you use the same method as the other google's
Results 1 - 10 of about 35,700 for "celtic football club". (0.11 seconds)
but i do wondor what the fcuk that hs to do with the thread :D
26/05/2005, 10:08 PM
Results 1 - 10 of about 531,000 for Glasgow Celtic Football Club. (0.17 seconds...just to keep the sh!te rollin' :D
Results 1 - 10 of about 104,000 for Derry City Football Club. (0.26 seconds)
I tried Dublin City but the result came back as "who?"
Results 1 - 10 of about 1,720 for "derry city football club". (0.42 seconds)
Results 1 - 10 of about 3,770 for "Bray Wanderers AFC". (0.31 seconds)
Or
Results 1 - 10 of about 57,800 for "Bray Wanderers". (0.09 seconds)
27/05/2005, 1:35 PM
This internet search results thing means feck all.
It doesn't make you the most famous Irish football club, merely by coming up on the web a lot !
Youse hures couldn't agree on the colour a s h i t e! ;)
What will it be next? Who has the longest serving tae lady?
27/05/2005, 6:48 PM
Results 1 - 10 of about 1,720 for "derry city football club". (0.42 seconds)
Were ya never taught that names start with CAPITAL letters? ;)
jofyisgod
27/05/2005, 7:05 PM
Pains me to say it, but being in an English school, the most recognised are Shels. Partly due to Harchester matches (Dream Team thing at Tolka), but the Champs League did them no harm last year either.
Rovers also well known thanks to Champ Manager
BobtheDrog
30/05/2005, 1:17 PM
Results 1 - 10 of about 367 for "drogheda united football club". (0.39 seconds)
BobtheDrog
30/05/2005, 1:22 PM
theres more hits for fabio than there are for ucd
Results 1 - 10 of about 70 for "declan fabio o' brien". (0.34 seconds)
anto eile
30/05/2005, 1:35 PM
Results 1 - 10 of about 26,700 for bray wanderers football club. (0.23 seconds)
Results 1 - 10 of about 30,900 for finn harps football club. (0.25 seconds)
Results 1 - 10 of about 50,700 for longford town football club. (0.23 seconds)
Results 1 - 10 of about 51,900 for shamrock rovers football club. (0.14 seconds)
Results 1 - 10 of about 59,400 for shelbourne football club. (0.09 seconds)
Results 1 - 10 of about 89,900 for ucd football club. (0.33 seconds)
Results 1 - 10 of about 93,600 for drogheda united football club. (0.49 seconds)
Results 1 - 10 of about 98,400 for derry city football club. (0.19 seconds)
Results 1 - 10 of about 112,000 for bohemians football club. (0.60 seconds)
Results 1 - 10 of about 137,000 for waterford united football club. (0.75 seconds)
Results 1 - 10 of about 256,000 for cork city football club. (0.26 seconds)
Results 1 - 10 of about 264,000 for st patrick's athletic football club. (0.21 seconds)
Pats would seem to be the winner with Cork city a close second. Rovers way down the bottom.
totally flawed system. st pats for example will just give everything with saint patrick in the name. dublin city will return anything about the city of dublin in general,same for cork city,google will return anything about the city of cork in general .that system is not accurate at all
30/05/2005, 2:30 PM
Shove your google searches up your ars*s,it has to be Shamrock Rovers
totally flawed system. st pats for example will just give everything with saint patrick in the name. dublin city will return anything about the city of dublin in general,same for cork city,google will return anything about the city of cork in general .that system is not accurate at all
We know that , we were messin. :D We did start putting in quotes.
This internet search results thing means feck all.
It doesn't make you the most famous Irish football club, merely by coming up on the web a lot !
brings me back to my point , how do we measure it?
Mark Breen
30/05/2005, 3:03 PM
I'd have to say Shamrock Rovers as well
30/05/2005, 3:52 PM
brings me back to my point , how do we measure it?
It can only be done anecdotally.
I live in England and have a lot of friends who are very much into their football, and who know that I'm big into my Irish football. For example - the lads I play footie with every Monday night have only really heard of Shels - again mostly because of their run last year. I also go to lectures on football run at the University of London every Wednesday, which attracts a broad spectrum of people from the game (incl one football league chairman, a former board member of ENIC, and a number of staff from various teams). There's always general football chat in the pub afterwards, and again - they've all pretty much heard of Shels, but most could name you at least one other team as well. Therefore - rather than just making a wild guess about who's the most famous, in my experience it's (sadly) Shels. Which stands to reason, given that the main way people know clubs is through their European exploits (how did you ever heard of Rosenborg...?)
At least one other poster based in Engalnd has said the same thing.
This idea that Rovers is the best known Irish club in the world is just a faded notion of self-importance. I'm not having a go, but I'm convinced that's the truth. There's no way that Rovers are better known than Shels in Spain, France or Croatia - 2 of which are amongst the biggest football markets in Europe. Bohs would probably be better known than Rovers in Germany, after their Kaiserslautern exploits, which is Europe's single biggest football market. I'd personally doubt if Rovers would be better known than Shels in Poland or the Czech Republic, which was where Rover's last European games were, primarily because neither of their opponents were big teams and it was the Intertoto cup.
So whilst it's difficult to measure imperiacly, common sense and anecdotal evidnce seems to suggest Shels.
jofyisgod
30/05/2005, 4:11 PM
It can only be done anecdotally.
I live in England and have a lot of friends who are very much into their football, and who know that I'm big into my Irish football. For example - the lads I play footie with every Monday night have only really heard of Shels - again mostly because of their run last year. I also go to lectures on football run at the University of London every Wednesday, which attracts a broad spectrum of people from the game (incl one football league chairman, a former board member of ENIC, and a number of staff from various teams). There's always general football chat in the pub afterwards, and again - they've all pretty much heard of Shels, but most could name you at least one other team as well. Therefore - rather than just making a wild guess about who's the most famous, in my experience it's (sadly) Shels. Which stands to reason, given that the main way people know clubs is through their European exploits (how did you ever heard of Rosenborg...?)
At least one other poster based in Engalnd has said the same thing.
That was me, agree 100% wiuth this. It's Shels lads, no matter what Google says ;)
Buller
30/05/2005, 4:52 PM
Someone please tell me this thread is a joke!!
30/05/2005, 4:55 PM
This thread is a joke. ;)
I wouldn't even lower myself to debate who Ireland's most famous club are.
Dr.Nightdub
30/05/2005, 10:36 PM
Within Ireland, Rovers are most likely the best-known club. Abroad, for the reasons people have given, it's probably Shels.
Now away off with yiz and debate whether either amounts to actual "fame".
harry crumb
30/05/2005, 11:30 PM
Shamrock rovers.
if it said Rovers were the best known team , you'd have it for post of the month :rolleyes:
31/05/2005, 7:31 AM
Derry City the Irish answer to Berwick Rangers ! :D
31/05/2005, 8:50 AM
Derry City the Irish answer to Berwick Rangers ! :D
The Irish answer to Monaco more like..... ! :D
ccfcgirl
31/05/2005, 9:32 AM
Id say Shamrock Rovers .
31/05/2005, 9:44 AM
Only 2 teams have been mentioned here - Shels and Rovers.
Those saying Shels are giving reasons - primarily their recent European record.
Those saying Rovers are giving zero reasons. If you're going to give an opinion on what you think is the best known Irish club ("In the land of the blind, the one-eyed man is king..."), try and give a valid reason as well. Otherwise it's just meaningless opinion...
Ringo
31/05/2005, 10:19 AM
Going on the recent run in Europe, i'd have to agree with shels.
31/05/2005, 12:52 PM
This idea that Rovers is the best known Irish club in the world is just a faded notion of self-importance. I'm not having a go, but I'm convinced that's the truth. There's no way that Rovers are better known than Shels in Spain, France or Croatia - 2 of which are amongst the biggest football markets in Europe. Bohs would probably be better known than Rovers in Germany, after their Kaiserslautern exploits, which is Europe's single biggest football market. I'd personally doubt if Rovers would be better known than Shels in Poland or the Czech Republic, which was where Rover's last European games were, primarily because neither of their opponents were big teams and it was the Intertoto cup.
So whilst it's difficult to measure imperiacly, common sense and anecdotal evidnce seems to suggest Shels.[/QUOTE]
You are having a go. You're "convinced that's the truth" :D On your last post you said that Rovers wouldnt even be the best known Irish club in Poland. Now that is the dumbest post in the history of the internet. Take it from me I was there 2 years ago and we were all over the papers because of our last game there in 94.
Slovan Liberec not a big team?!! They beat Milan the year before we played them FFS.
As for Spain well I was there in Valencia in January and the old guys there knew our name cos we played them in the 60s in Europe. Naturally they knew shels as well. Liam Buckley and Alan Campbell went to Spain from Rovers.......
The obvious answer is Rovers. Other fans here have admitted it. It is not anecdotal evidence. I would suggest you take off your ollie hating glasses and get used to it. What a clown..........
Partizan
31/05/2005, 3:19 PM
Ireland's most famous club, its gotta be Shamrock Rovers for history and tradition. Outside of Ireland, Shels, Bohs and Rovers would be the most widely recognised in that order.
Waterford's name would have been knocking around the footballing environs of continental Europe due to our regular involvement in European football up to the mid 80s but since then its... Waterford who? :confused: