View Full Version : The Great Green Bobble Hat Thread
22/05/2005, 7:49 PM
Seeing as these are more difficult to come by than you'd imagine, going to start a thread for people to post up where they've been seen so others can get them. Probably one of the more bizarre threads here in a while, but sure nuts to it! :)
They're in Carrolls as a set with a scarf - think it's E12 or something. Celtic hats are there, but for reasons which have been gone into umpteen times before here, I think Ireland hats would be better... Nothing in Read's or Trinity Sweaters on Nassau Street bar a hat which is way too small. I picked up four in Grafton Crafts on Grafton Street - E5.95 each, two for a tenner. They have the IRFU crest on them as well, but sure, can't have everything! I had one myself all along too, so I have two over, so I'll bring them along and try and flog them (at cost (E5), obviously).
There's plenty of dark green ones, which is a bit annoying. Think the bright (jersey colour) green is much better.
22/05/2005, 9:17 PM
http://www.toffs.com/Products/Miscellaneous/BobbleHatsandScarves/8503.htm
Old skool!!!!!
Ask and thou shall receive
I have found my old Ireland bobble hat, its being packed first.
Babysis
23/05/2005, 9:49 AM
I am going a major search for a bobble hat or 10. Gonna check out Berwick street market at lunch. Will also see what i can get at the weekend in Glasgow. I will get as many as I can. :) 2 weeks today, bring it on :D
sylvo
23/05/2005, 10:06 AM
I've also got a nice Dart Vader mask which goes well with the bobble hat.
Babysis
23/05/2005, 10:12 AM
I've also got a nice Dart Vader mask which goes well with the bobble hat.
And a tri colour scream mask. :D
If whoever is getting them can get me 1
I will sort ye out with the cash whenever
24/05/2005, 5:34 PM
You're heading via Gatwick on the Sunday, aren't you? Can sort you out then if you want - on the same flight.
have you one or two of the irfu hats goin spare?
if you have another I would happily take it off your hands, as had no luck here over the weekend
Pete
24/05/2005, 6:21 PM
Would have one more spare, yep.
Just realised looking at the link Maribor posted that the hats I have technically don't have bobbles, but apart from that minor technicality, they're grand...!
24/05/2005, 6:24 PM
Great stuff lads . . . but before this turns into one of the greatest Irish away support stories ever . . . I'd just like to claim the credit for posting this idea up four months ago. See ye in Torshavn very very soon . . . for sure ya!!!! :D :D
Cheers - I'd forgotten who exactly had come up with the idea in the first place!
For the newbies (or the confused!), this is to honour the long-serving Faroese keeper who always wears a bobble hat playing games. It'll look cool if we pull it off! Plus it'll increase our chances of getting on telly! :)
Just realised looking at the link Maribor posted that the hats I have technically don't have bobbles, but apart from that minor technicality, they're grand...!
OK, I will take that one off your hands,
and I will try and source some bobbles. IIRC my ma can make them, may get her to throw a bundle into an envelope. how the hell we get them onto the hats is another thing but "have bobbles will travel" sounds like a plan to me
Pete
Babysis
25/05/2005, 8:57 AM
Im keeping my fingers crossed for getting a couple at the weekend. Either at Celtic, or at a market (el cheapo ones will do) :D
Oh and for anyone who might be interested, i shall be travelling with the obligatory green white and orange face paints. Worked wonders in Paris. Had a queue going in Corcorons for fellas getting tri colours on their foreheads, great fun :D
They are there for anyone who wants them :)
25/05/2005, 9:56 AM
An incredibly generous and thoughtful person sent me a bobble hat in the post today. It's the dogs undercarriage!
From Toffs and it does have a bobble.
Thank you, Mrs. Clause! ;)
25/05/2005, 12:42 PM
Look at the pic again- they do!
25/05/2005, 12:44 PM
I know they do - mine don't, though!
25/05/2005, 12:46 PM
I have one in my hand, they definitely do. :)
Eire06
25/05/2005, 12:51 PM
I have one in my hand, they definitely do. :)
You should take a picture of you in your lovely new hat and show us!! :D
You can be our model
25/05/2005, 12:54 PM
You should take a picture of you in your lovely new hat
Don't have a camera.
There's a picture on the website.
One of the guys has a link a few posts up.
All the info on the hats is there.
25/05/2005, 12:56 PM
http://www.spreadshirt.net/shop.php?op=article&ac=details&article_id=1211591#top
I can do bobble hats in this new shop :D
We can customise the text for the venture?
25/05/2005, 12:58 PM
I can do bobble hats in this new shop :D
We'll have to buy a few balls of wool and make our own bobbles. :)
25/05/2005, 1:00 PM
Sure what else are ye going to be doing on the flight :D
Eire06
25/05/2005, 1:00 PM
We'll have to buy a few balls of wool and make our own bobbles. :)
I remember making them in school they are really easy to make... :D
25/05/2005, 1:05 PM
they are really easy to make... :D
Two card donuts, wrap the wool around to cover them completely, cut the wool along the outer edge of the circle, run some wool in between the two cards and tie?
Eire06
25/05/2005, 1:07 PM
Two card donuts, wrap the wool around to cover them completely, cut the wool along the outer edge of the circle, run some wool in between the two cards and tie?
Were you the star pupil in your knitting class or what?? :rolleyes:
25/05/2005, 1:13 PM
Were you the star pupil in your knitting class or what?? :rolleyes:
I was knitting a scarf for a teddy bear once and kept picking up stitches so by the end it looked more like Y-Fronts. :o
Eire06
25/05/2005, 1:14 PM
I was knitting a scarf for a teddy bear once and kept picking up stitches so by the end it looked more like Y-Fronts. :o
wooo woolie Y-Fronts sound comfortable :D
Might need them if the temp in the Faroes drops :p
Pat O' Banton
26/05/2005, 12:57 PM
So thats what you were up to last week. :eek: :D
Babysis
26/05/2005, 3:19 PM
Here lads . . . has anyone got a spare bobble hat that I could buy off them? Haven't had the time to go looking for them. Are they on sale at Dublin Airport?
Also, does anyone know how bad the queues are at Dublin Airport at the moment? (Going through the scanners).
i am determined to get a good few. will post on here as soon as I know how many Ive got.
Babysis
26/05/2005, 3:28 PM
Thanks a million Louise. Let me know how you go.
I still have one more spare ticket by the way. It's sitting beside me so whoever gets it is in for some very good match analysis/burgers/drinks/whale meat/etc
No worries. Ive not got a hat for me, so its one for me and 5 or 6 more. plus balloons and tickertape and facepaints :)
I think i helped Seanieboy get rid of his 2 tickets :confused:
The only other person I noticed needing one was condex? I may be wrong but you could always PM them.
If not, Im sure myself and Mr o Banton will come across someone on tuesday who is looking, and if so will point them in your direction (although Ive not actually met you :eek: ) :D
I still have one more spare ticket by the way. It's sitting beside me so whoever gets it is in for some very good match analysis/burgers/drinks/whale meat/etc
I'm not guaranteeing that I won't puke on them TP. Same goes for whoever is on the plane beside me too.
Cowboy
26/05/2005, 7:05 PM
And I thought you were sitting beside me :)
Thanks a million Louise. Let me know how you go.
27/05/2005, 10:16 AM
Same goes for whoever is on the plane beside me too.
Thanks for the warning, I'll ensure that I don't make the mistake of getting a seat beside you. ;)
Babysis
31/05/2005, 8:34 AM
:D I let myself down this weekend. Saw loadsa green wooly hats, and kept meaning to go any buy some, but the pub distracted me :eek: , so i never did. im on a mission this weekedn though :D
31/05/2005, 2:03 PM
Anyone here heading out of Dublin on the Wednesday morning
I am. Might see you at the airport.
I expect to be hearing from them soon with confirmations of the details.
TP & Peader, I'll see the 2 of yee over there on matchday so. Sorry I backed out of the 1 dayer, decided to make a week of it.
01/06/2005, 9:13 AM
I'll see the 2 of yee over there on matchday
Not so sure about that now that I've read you're a brother to Beavis! :eek: :D
Babysis
10/06/2005, 5:20 PM
I wore my green wolly bobble hat. I did my bit :D
I wore my green wolly bobble hat. I did my bit :DHate hats but thanks to you - and the rain - I too wore one. :o
Babysis
12/06/2005, 3:48 PM
Hate hats but thanks to you - and the rain - I too wore one. :o
I think its fair to say it was neccesity at that point. Seen the clip of sylvo at the game looking a wee bit worried. You can just see the top of me bobble hat beside him. :D