View Full Version : The Setanta Cup final match latest
22/05/2005, 3:00 AM
I assume Linfield won? Jaysus, c'est pas bien , je crois!!!! Nil points :D Sorry, bit drunk and i have been watching eurovision :o tonight and partying afterwards :D , if there was racist chanting that's fcuking discraceful and deserves shooting on the spot! :mad:
I feel a bit stupid commentating as i am from down and fermanagh so don't have a local team in any of the leagues to support, all GAA up in there!
So i think i'll bugger off and leave it to you experts... :o
Gerrit
22/05/2005, 3:06 AM
Drunk in Scotland ? How can that happen ? :eek: :)
Yes, Linfield won, and though I'd rather have seen otherwise: they deserved to win this game and to win this tournament.
You wouldn't have liked the game I think. The song on Brian Kerr was coming up again, even though the guy has nothing to do with this particular game... We just won't give him piece of mind it seems :D
I agree with the bottler commenst about Jason Byrne. He was shocking in the euro campaign last season - cannot pass & can't score when really counts. He also bottled it last night & when he misses a couple of chances his head drops too easiely.
Maybe Moore will wake up for euor campaign but doesn't have the desire for league games.
Seems its only the solid defence (when Heary playing) that is keeping shels together as they've ridden their luck this season.
I know we shouldn't be surprised but only getting 3500-4000 home support (including any neutrals) for HOME CUP FINAL shows shels will never attract support domestically.
Roverstillidie
22/05/2005, 7:37 PM
"One guy even pointed an Israeli flag towards us, two weeks before Ireland's important WC qualifier vs Israel. That's very very low and asking for problems."
eeehhhmm, i think that would be a political statement there gerrit....
"Why did Shamrock Rovers fans come up to Tolka while they normally don't even come near it ?? No coincidence, Rovers play in the same jerseys as Celtic, so unless we suddenly became best friends with Rovers ( ) they were there only to get on the nerves of Linfield fans."
why pick on us? rovers fans always go to the euro games of other dublin clubs, and are thanked for it. and we played there for a few years, what do you mean 'dont go near it'?
why shouldnt we go? not our fault celtic copied our jersey design :D as it happens we do get on quite well with celtic, but im a bit lost to why we were unwelcome in tolka as opposed to other clubs. with respect, you are new to following $hels, but i think you had better get your facts a bit straighter before you mouth off....
Gerrit
22/05/2005, 7:47 PM
If you're there to support us, always welcome of course. I just find it a bit strange to see it but maybe I was overattentive because of the Celtic jerseys in the audience... There were more fans of other EL clubs than when we played Ports, also a loyalist Northern team, so I find it a bit hard to believe everyone of the neutral fans just came out of interest or support. Maybe I'm being overattentive to it though. Those with no bad intentions are welcome of course.
and yeah, it's not your fault Celtic copied your design :D
I know we shouldn't be surprised but only getting 3500-4000 home support (including any neutrals) for HOME CUP FINAL shows shels will never attract support domestically.
Erm, the stadium was split, with Linfield having the larger section. The Shels parts were packed. Probably had about 4500 seats allocated and 4000 arses on said seats.
Old stand has 3000 max capacity, new stand has 1000 - How do you get 4500? Are you also suggesting shels wouldn't be allowed sell more tickets than their half of the stadium allowed?
22/05/2005, 8:43 PM
Look, there were more Union Jacks then I ever saw at once in my life, but no problem with that, it's their national flag so no problem. Some of us brought Irish tricolores, no problem with that. But then, why the heck were there so called "Linfield fans" pointing Rangers flags in our direction, even the Dublin Loyal (Dublin based Rangers fanclub) managed to get into the Linfield section and tried to make us riotting by pointing their flag at us. Luckily nothing happened. One guy even pointed an Israeli flag towards us, two weeks before Ireland's important WC qualifier vs Israel. That's very very low and asking for problems. Gerrit - you can't say you weren't warned (by me ! :) ) about the type of minority hanger-on's that Linfield attracts. Now you know why.
But were there only troublemakers in Linfield's end ? No. Unfortunately, some people found it necessary to wear Celtic jerseys. You see this now and then at the games, but why (don't tell me it's coincidence) there were more today than usual ? Why did Shamrock Rovers fans come up to Tolka while they normally don't even come near it ?? No coincidence, Rovers play in the same jerseys as Celtic, so unless we suddenly became best friends with Rovers ( :rolleyes: ) they were there only to get on the nerves of Linfield fans.
Gerrit - you've completely lost it now fella. This was a major event - a cup final - the first of its kind in 20 years. There was expected to be quite a significant neutral support - as has been mentioned all week on this site - and yet you're questioning the motive of Rovers fans for turning up wearing their own club's tops ? It's provocative that they do so becuause it looks like Celtic's top ?? What the feck ? If I'd been there I would've worn my Derry top. Would that have been inflammatory because it's not 'Londonderry'...? Regardless - firstly, that act of wearing a Celtic top does not make you a "troublemaker", and I'm frankly shocked that in Ireland someone wearing such a top at ANY football game causes such immense surprise for you. Secondly - believe it or not, Celtic tops in the crowd may also have been a sign that the Final attracted curious observers who aren't regaulars at EL football. There's loads of Celtic tops on display at Ireland games. It was the same at Shels big Euro games. Celtic tops are the only vaguely Irishy football top the non-EL fans have. So don't be reading into it that it makes them all arch-bigots. And you've really gotta re-think this idea that Rovers fans paid money on the door to stand in their own tops just becuase it's similar to Celtic's. Madness....
You probably couldn't hear it where you were in the ground, but there were "insulting chants". The Billy Boys, The Sash, God Save the Queen, Rule Britannia, and other songs that I don't recognise/know the name of - they all got an airing, some on multiple occassions. And let's not forget the monkey chants....
[QUOTE=Gerrit]Thanks as well to the lady from Linfield who gave me a scarf for my still growing collection... A scarf from the Londonderry-based fanclub of Linfield, so quite a unique collector's item ! Thx !
(for the nationalists here: I use the name 'Londonderry' because this is how it's printed on the scarf... So don't shoot me ! I tend to write Doire as this is not insulting to neither !)
I hope you asked her why she doesn't support her local Irish League team (Institute)....? :)
22/05/2005, 8:57 PM
i dont think Shels really took this Setanta cup very serious TBF. Its not that important anyways. Dont worry, we will be all sorted for the CL qualifieers
Ah come on now ;) . I would say that it's THE most important competition on this Island (excluding European games).
22/05/2005, 9:26 PM
I agree with the bottler commenst about Jason Byrne. He was shocking in the euro campaign last season - cannot pass & can't score when really counts. He also bottled it last night & when he misses a couple of chances his head drops too easiely.
Maybe Moore will wake up for euor campaign but doesn't have the desire for league games.
Seems its only the solid defence (when Heary playing) that is keeping shels together as they've ridden their luck this season.
If Jason Byrne was a 'bottler' he wouldn't have scored our most important league goal last season and wouldn't consistently score for us at important times, or have two goals in an FAI cup final, not to mention the goals that removed Cork from the cup a couple of seasons back in their own backyard. He's a frustratingly inconsistent player (Who is himself easily frustrated, which is usually the problem), that's all there is to it.
Spot on about Moore though, we shouldn't really be suprised, it's the story of his career. He's always had the talent.
I'd be more worried about your own attendences btw, average attendence this season of 3,000 according to your own chairman, that's only a few hundred more than us and everyone knows you're the best supported team ever and we have no fans! :eek:
. I would say that it's THE most important competition on this Island (excluding European games).
In fairness now, obviously we took it seriously and wanted to win so that excuse was just rubbish, but the league is and always will be far more important than any cup competition.
Old stand has 3000 max capacity, new stand has 1000 - How do you get 4500? Are you also suggesting shels wouldn't be allowed sell more tickets than their half of the stadium allowed?
Wasn't sure of exact figures, so took a gamble at a reasonable midway figure.
What I was trying to say was that Shels allocation was pretty much full.
There was fencing etc set up seperating the sections, there's no way they could have changed that. Besides, there was no need to. :p
Bosco
22/05/2005, 10:26 PM
In all fairness dcfcsteve,true gerrit should not have been suprised to see celtic tops as they are common at most football matches.But you cannot denie,that a good majority of these celtic "fans" were not there to watch the game but only to cause trouble and to provoke the linfield fans.
22/05/2005, 11:15 PM
Couldn't agree more. Byrne is the type of player who's very good at eL level, but any step up at all and he's found out.
22/05/2005, 11:36 PM
In all fairness dcfcsteve,true gerrit should not have been suprised to see celtic tops as they are common at most football matches.But you cannot denie,that a good majority of these celtic "fans" were not there to watch the game but only to cause trouble and to provoke the linfield fans.
I disagree Bosco. To claim that a "good majority" of those in Celtic tops were only there to cause trouble is a completely unsupportable and very harsh statement. Also - from a distance a Celtic and Rovers top look the same, so I bet some of the tops Gerrit assumed were Celtic were in actual fact Rovers.
As further evidence, look at the rest of Gerrit's statement. He mentions the actions of Linfield fans using Rangers and Israeli flags to goad the Shels fans. But there was no mention of any return goading from the Shels end - just Gerrit's assumption that wearing green and white hoops automatically renders you a trouble-maker. If people went out of their way to pay-in looking for touble, why didn't Gerrit see any return provocation from them (e.g. Celtic flags, aggressive waving of the tricolour etc) ? After all - that's why they were there ? Very meek trouble-makers these ones, who turn up just to be seen in a certain top....
Besides - the SPL/Premiersh!te brigade don't care about Irish football -regardless of whether 'mini-Rangers (i.e. Linfield) are involved or not. I really can't see many of them being that bored for a spot of trouble that they'd pay to sit through something that they themselves believe is absolute rubbish, just so they can be seen in green and white hoops. As C3P0 would say, it does not compute.
I'd therefore seriously question if more than a tiny handful of the attendance were people in Celtic tops there solely looking for trouble. I'm sure there were a few - there always are - but nowhere near a "good majority" of them.
22/05/2005, 11:43 PM
.......should not have been suprised to see celtic tops as they are common at most football matches.........
And at hurling matches! Several on display at Limerick v Tipp. on Saturday including one gobsh*te who ran accross the field after the game ended.
22/05/2005, 11:50 PM
If people went out of their way to pay-in looking for touble, why didn't Gerrit see any return provocation from them (e.g. Celtic flags, aggressive waving of the tricolour etc) ? After all - that's why they were there ? Very meek trouble-makers these ones, who turn up just to be seen in a certain top....
That's EXACTLY what they did, along with singing their own songs. Most of them got kicked out before the second half.
23/05/2005, 9:38 AM
That's EXACTLY what they did, along with singing their own songs. Most of them got kicked out before the second half.
I stand corrected (though I still don't accept the assertion that everyone there in a green and white hooped top was a trouble-maker).
Bad to hear there were langers there, but good news that they got booted out. How many got evicted ?
Controversial Post:
Did $hels REALLY take it seriously?:eek:
Nuttsy sat on the bench all night, none of the usual histrionics, foul-mouthed abuse of officials or opposition, no jumping up and down like a demented leprachaun. Bosco seemed to be the one who was managing for the evening. The money was very important, but the lack of aggression from the bench, and listening to Honker afterwards where he mouthed off a bunch of cliched platitudes about it being a final and important, yada, yada, yada, I got the impression that $hels didn't care.....
What was Moore sent off for, btw?
Fenlon had a virus before the match so obviously not as energetic as usual.
Moore saw sent off for foul & abusive language towards the referee.
23/05/2005, 12:51 PM
I stand corrected (though I still don't accept the assertion that everyone there in a green and white hooped top was a trouble-maker).
Bad to hear there were langers there, but good news that they got booted out. How many got evicted ?
Looked to be around 15 or so in one section of the Drumcondra End stand anyway and the majority got booted out.
Beavis
23/05/2005, 4:14 PM
No insulting chants by the way. No Billy Boys, no SASH. Not even God Save The Queen or Soldier's Song (even those are not sectarian songs, it could have been seen as a sectarian act). Linfield fans shouted 'Northern Ireland' and Shels fans reacted by shouting 'Ireland'. I'd classify this as teasing and not intended as sectarian.
Not sure how you missed it (given how loud they were) but I heard GSTQ more than once, and Rule Britannia which personally makes my blood boil.
Linfield fans gave a lesson in vocal support, although giving them the Riverside was handing them the initiative, its far more acoustic than the stand at the Drumcondra End. I was there with Pats a few weeks back it was very easy to shout yous down.
Which is exactly why i said the "majority",linfield fans were also attacked(undeserving or not,i dont know) by a group of celtic "fans" outside the ground