View Full Version : Dalyer Days - Attendances?

davey
20/05/2005, 12:47 PM
I was just wondering what sort of crowds we used to get when we played at Dalymount Park. A quick google search revealed nothing, apart from record crowd of 47000 against England in 1957. Anyone know? Any site with crowd stats?

20/05/2005, 1:38 PM
I don't know about the old days but there was a friendly against Italy in the mid-80s (lost 2-0 I think) where the crowd was a jam-packed 40k or threabouts.

But there were also some games (Poland & Mexico friendlies, the 8-0 win against Malta...) where the crowd was ridiculously small. There was a decent crowd - about 25k - at a 0-0 draw against France in about '89 when Andy Townsend made his debut I think.

onenilgameover
20/05/2005, 3:40 PM
I think I was at that game with me dad (against the French)...but don't remember it too well...was only 11. Was Batts in goal or did we play them in 87 aswell. My first game and I have the programme for it was the Brazil game in 87 were only 17,000 turned out. Why was there so much changing of venues in those days? Has this anything to do with poor turn outs?

20/05/2005, 3:49 PM
Tuesday, February 7th 1989

Friendly

Dalymount Park, Dublin

Republic of Ireland 0
France 0

Ireland: Packie Bonner (Glasgow Celtic), Chris Morris (Glasgow Celtic), Mick McCarthy (Glasgow Celtic) capt, Paul McGrath (Manchester Utd), Chris Hughton (Tottenham Hotspur), Ray Houghton (Liverpool), Ronnie Whelan (Liverpool), Andy Townsend (Norwich Cty), Liam Brady (West Ham Utd), Frank Stapleton (Le Havre), Tony Cascarino (Millwall)

Subs: John Aldridge (Liverpool) for Stapleton 75 mins

Manager: Jack Charlton

France: Bats, Kastendeuch, Silvestre, Battiston, Sonor, Amaros, Blanc, Sauzee, Durand, Papin, Paille

Subs: Toure for Paille 45 mins, Roche for Silvestre 73 mins, Vercruysee for Blanc 66 mins

Referee: Lloyd (Wales)
So yes, Bats was indeed in goals for France. Well remembered!

21/05/2005, 12:28 PM
I was just wondering what sort of crowds we used to get when we played at Dalymount Park. A quick google search revealed nothing, apart from record crowd of 47000 against England in 1957. Anyone know? Any site with crowd stats?

I do not know of any official stats, but unnofficially one that would have to be considered was the WCQ 1972 against France. We arrived early enough to gain entrance on the north side of the "stadium". The road was jam packed with thousands queueing. There were just two turnstiles open and eventually the gates were opened (or fell down) to let the crowd in.
Whatever the official attendance was, then add on about 8,000. I have attended many packed Dalymount games but none of them came close to that night. Great athmosphere and a real victory. By my own reckoning at Dalymount 35,000 was cosy, 40,000 was a squeze, 45,000 tight, very tight, possibly relieved by a few hundred climbing up to sit on the shed.

21/05/2005, 12:54 PM
my uncle told me of manys a time when he was walking out of dalymount, your feet wouldnt be touching the ground, you were just being carried along by other people. :eek: :)

hamish
21/05/2005, 1:18 PM
Was at Ireland v Holland game in 84 I think, Gullit debut and Micky Robinson could have easily had us up 3-0 at half time. Crowd was massive and you could only see one half of pitch. I was on terrace where Bohs have a training pitch now. Must have been 40,000 at that, dangerously overcrowded.

lopez
21/05/2005, 1:33 PM
Was at Ireland v Holland game in 84 I think, Gullit debut and Micky Robinson could have easily had us up 3-0 at half time. Crowd was massive and you could only see one half of pitch. I was on terrace where Bohs have a training pitch now. Must have been 40,000 at that, dangerously overcrowded.It was a Euro 84 qualifier played in October 1983 and was my one and only visit to Dalyer (Lansdowne was having a new East Stand fitted). Great atmosphere spoilt by the Dutch coming back from 2-0 down to win 3-2, but it was f*cking dangerous leaving the ground. There were no steps from the terrace onto the street just a kind of mud bank. No way this ground could ever get a safety licence now. One thing that was apparent was that there were no Dutch support (Dr. Herrema excepted) of note, especially when you consider the turnout they brought to Germany in 1988. Total silence when the goals went in.

hamish
21/05/2005, 1:40 PM
Was it 83 lopez? Jeez, my memory is fcuked - I have the programme tucked away somewhere. You're dead right about the danger aspect, it was sardine time that night. To make matters worse a mate of mine I brought to the match had his jacket stolen from my car plus broken window and the engine overheated near Lucan and we nearly drove into a fallen tree on the Birr Portumna road.
Silence at Dutch goals was eerie, you're right there. Bummer all round.

lopez
21/05/2005, 2:22 PM
Was it 83 lopez? Jeez, my memory is fcuked...That's because you must be one of the few older c*nts on here than me if you not only had a car then (I didn't pass my test till November) and was able to afford the insurance. :) I didn't mind the chaos at the time but I'd sh*t myself now if I came up against that again.

hamish
21/05/2005, 2:39 PM
That's because you must be one of the few older c*nts on here than me if you not only had a car then (I didn't pass my test till November) and was able to afford the insurance. :) I didn't mind the chaos at the time but I'd sh*t myself now if I came up against that again.

Ah but a cnut is a useful thing!!!! I can't drive anymore so that my cheer ya up a bit.

Yeah, the insurance I paid over the years was outreageous and I genuinely sympathise with you at that, man, 'cos it's obscene for young drivers at present.
As for the driving test, do you know what one of the things the bo!!ix failed me on - not being assertive enough at a junction. I mean, how the fcuk was I suppose to drive into a funeral cortege - that actually happened??? :eek:

21/05/2005, 5:10 PM
we nearly drove into a fallen tree on the Birr Portumna road.

Alright lads. Hello sirhamish, we haven't had the pleasure. :)

My auld fella (who useta work with Lopez) is from Clonfert and I have family in your neck of the woods sh (Hymany Park in the town). Small world but, as Mrs PP says, you wouldn't want to paint it.

:D PP

hamish
21/05/2005, 5:17 PM
Alright lads. Hello sirhamish, we haven't had the pleasure. :)

My auld fella (who useta work with Lopez) is from Clonfert and I have family in your neck of the woods sh (Hymany Park in the town). Small world but, as Mrs PP says, you wouldn't want to paint it.

:D PP

Nice to meet you Plastic Paddy. Yeah, Hymany Park, just down the road. It's right beside the B'sloe Town FC ground. I'm sure I know your relations as I've loads of friends there, most of them in football.
Clonfert I can see from my front window - just up the road.
Keep in touch, man. :)

davey
22/05/2005, 3:14 PM
Some great stories ! Too young to go to Dalyer myself, but must have been hairy on a big match day :D

I seem to remember us playing a game at the RDS sometime in the late 80s - is this a dream? What were the circumstances behind it?

22/05/2005, 3:50 PM
The biggest crowd I remember at Dalymount was a friendly against Italy where the crowd were also seated along the touchline inside the fence.

Dalymount was a death trap. There was one gate down and the crush going out it was incredible. I was at such games as the 3-0 over the Soviet Union and the Mick Leech final Rovers 3-0 Waterford where there were huge crowds of 30k+.

lopez
22/05/2005, 8:18 PM
The biggest crowd I remember at Dalymount was a friendly against Italy where the crowd were also seated along the touchline inside the fence.Total madness that night I heard. If I'm correct that was a pay-on-the door set up, FFS. I picked up a copy of Guerin Sportivo in London the following week and the magazine thought it was a huge joke with people standing on the touchline.
...Yeah, the insurance I paid over the years was outreageous and I genuinely sympathise with you at that, man, 'cos it's obscene for young drivers at present.
As for the driving test, do you know what one of the things the bo!!ix failed me on - not being assertive enough at a junction. I mean, how the fcuk was I suppose to drive into a funeral cortege - that actually happened??? :eek:Mine wasn't too bad in Sasana (£150 a year) but I remember a friend who was paying about IR£1K for insurance in 85. Dunno if that's if you don't take the test. You sound about the only one that bothered. Word was that everyone drove around with a provisional licence and learner plates until they died back then. :)

hamish
23/05/2005, 12:43 AM
Some great stories ! Too young to go to Dalyer myself, but must have been hairy on a big match day :D

I seem to remember us playing a game at the RDS sometime in the late 80s - is this a dream? What were the circumstances behind it?

I think against Wales in the early nineties.

hamish
23/05/2005, 12:50 AM
The biggest crowd I remember at Dalymount was a friendly against Italy where the crowd were also seated along the touchline inside the fence.

Dalymount was a death trap. There was one gate down and the crush going out it was incredible. I was at such games as the 3-0 over the Soviet Union and the Mick Leech final Rovers 3-0 Waterford where there were huge crowds of 30k+.

Yeah, OwlsFan, the Russia game was amazing. I was lucky to get a stand ticket just above the entrance to the dressing rooms. Remember Terry Mancini that day?
The crowds at League of Ireland were massive in the late sixties. A thousand pound gate usually equated with a 5,000 crowd or thereabouts in those days and I remember Athlone getting lots of £1000 gates in 1968, 1969 and 1970. The crowds at that Mick Leech game was around 40,000 I think. Cork Hibs used to get regular crowds of 10,000 and Waterford got regular 6,000 crowds.

hamish
23/05/2005, 12:55 AM
Total madness that night I heard. If I'm correct that was a pay-on-the door set up, FFS. I picked up a copy of Guerin Sportivo in London the following week and the magazine thought it was a huge joke with people standing on the touchline.Mine wasn't too bad in Sasana (£150 a year) but I remember a friend who was paying about IR£1K for insurance in 85. Dunno if that's if you don't take the test. You sound about the only one that bothered. Word was that everyone drove around with a provisional licence and learner plates until they died back then. :)

Still a lot, I believe, doing it despite Brennan's crack down. When I did the test, it was the year following a general amnesty which gave tens of thousands of prov. drivers a full licence so I reckon that the government lost so much money on that amnesty that they upped the fail rate to make up the defecit. I wasn't a car owner when the amnesty was given - just shows how screwed the country was in the late 70s, 80s - fcukin' bongo-bongo land.

23/05/2005, 8:46 AM
Tuesday, February 5th, 1985

The great Paul McGrath makes his Irish debut - game held up as huge crowd spills out onto Dalymount pitch

Friendly

Dalymount Park, Dublin

Republic of Ireland 1 (Waddock)
Italy 2 (Rossi pen., Altobelli)

Ireland: Packie Bonner (Glasgow Celtic), Chris Hughton (Tottenham Hotspur), Mark Lawrenson (Liverpool), Mick McCarthy (Man City), Jim Beglin (Liverpool), Gary Waddock (QPR), Kevin Sheedy (Everton), Liam Brady (Inter Milan), Tony Galvin (Tottenham Hotspur), Frank Stapleton (Manchester Utd) capt, John Byrne (QPR)

Subs: Paul McGrath (Manchester Utd) for Lawrenson 9 mins, Ronnie Whelan (Liverpool) for Galvin 29 mins, Alan Campbell (Santander) for Byrne 76 mins

Manager: Eoin Hand

Italy: Tancredi, Bagni, Vierchowod, Scirea, Bergomi, Cabrini, Conti, Tardelli, di Gennaro, Rossi, Altobelli

Subs: Serena for Conti 72 mins, Dosena for Rossi 72 mins

Referee: Keizer (Holland)

The attendance was 40K plus on that day. Not a bad Irish team either and pretty much the side that jack led us to Germany with.

davey
23/05/2005, 9:01 AM
I think against Wales in the early nineties.

yep, you're right. Can't believe I don't remember this game. Why did we play at the RDS? Liam Daish :eek:

Wednesday, February 19, 1992

The first - and so far only - full international to be played at the Royal Dublin Society

Friendly

RDS, Dublin

Republic of Ireland 0
Wales 1 (Pembridge)

Ireland: Packie Bonner (Glasgow Celtic), Chris Morris (Glasgow Celtic), David O'Leary (Arsenal), Liam Daish (Cambridge Utd), Denis Irwin (Manchester Utd), John Byrne (Sunderland), Roy Keane (Nottingham Forest), Terry Phelan (Wimbledon), Andy Townsend (Chelsea) capt, Kevin Sheedy (Everton), Tony Cascarino (Glasgow Celtic)

Subs: Alan McLoughlin (Southampton) for Townsend 45 mins, John Aldridge (Tranmere) for Phelan 55 mins, Niall Quinn (Manchester City) for Cascarino 68 mins

Manager: Jack Charlton

Wales: Southall, Phillips, Young, Aizlewood, Symons, Bowen, Horne, Speed, Pembridge, Saunders, Hughes

Sub: Blackmore for Speed 45 mins, Bodin for Young 62 mins, Hodges for Pembridge 81 mins, Neilson for Saunders 86 mins

Referee: Mumenthaler (Switzerland)

23/05/2005, 10:12 AM
I missed Gullit's winner in '83. There was a lot of people sitting on the shed roof and it was really dangerous. Somebody above spoke of a death trap.

The PA announcer was literally begging people to some down off the roof. I was at the Phipsoro end, looked up to see what was happening on the shed and missed Gullitt's goal. I think a lot of people at our end of the ground missed the goal.

stojkovic
23/05/2005, 10:42 AM
I was at the Italy match in 85. Jaysus.
Everything said already is true but i would like to add another fact.
A mate was outside and there was a crush on the turnstiles and gates.
A Garda made a decision and opened the gates to relieve the crush as someone could have died. Thousands poured in and spilled over onto the pitch.

A policeman made the same decision at Hillsborough four years later and look what happened.

The FAI in their wisdom allowed 'pay at the door'.
Italy were reigning World Champions FFS.
Nodoby told the FAI obviously.

Remeber Rossi getting mobbed when he got taken off and some slapper gave him a bunch of flowers.

23/05/2005, 12:13 PM
The crush at Italy was something else alright. As a 15 year-old & prior to Hillsborough etc. I was so naive as to think it wasn't a problem.

Does anyone remember the surge on the South Terrace when we equalised against Spain in the 3-3 draw around 1983? I must have been swept about 50 yards in a matter of seconds.

stojkovic
23/05/2005, 12:58 PM
Does anyone remember the surge on the South Terrace when we equalised against Spain in the 3-3 draw around 1983? I must have been swept about 50 yards in a matter of seconds.
Jaysus - yes I do. Was it Kevin O'Callaghan's cross for Stapo's header.

Worse crush at Lansdowne was France in 81 (won 3-2). Before kick off.
54000 inside and fcuk knows how many went home.
I started on the South Terrace which was too packed.
Managed to come out and climb over railings into the Schoolboy Terrace for safety. The stewards were letting us do it because they hadnt a clue what was going on. A mate went home before kick off and watched it in telly.

Great day but someone could have been seriously hurt.

lopez
23/05/2005, 12:59 PM
I missed Gullit's winner in '83. There was a lot of people sitting on the shed roof and it was really dangerous. Somebody above spoke of a death trap.

The PA announcer was literally begging people to some down off the roof. I was at the Phipsoro end, looked up to see what was happening on the shed and missed Gullitt's goal. I think a lot of people at our end of the ground missed the goal.FFS, I remember that now. Wasn't the roof starting to buckle. I thought they were going to come through taking out those below. :mad:

Away from Ireland , I was at the Forest celtic game the same year and a crush happened there also. Luckily there were no fences otherwise Hillsborough would have happened earlier.

Dotsy
23/05/2005, 1:50 PM
Jaysus - yes I do. Was it Kevin O'Callaghan's cross for Stapo's header.

Worse crush at Lansdowne was France in 81 (won 3-2). Before kick off.
54000 inside and fcuk knows how many went home.
I started on the South Terrace which was too packed.
Managed to come out and climb over railings into the Schoolboy Terrace for safety. The stewards were letting us do it because they hadnt a clue what was going on. A mate went home before kick off and watched it in telly.

Great day but someone could have been seriously hurt.

The Spain game is the most vivid memory I have of any Ireland match I attended as a schoolboy. A kid standing a few feet away from us was caught up in the surge after one of the Ireland goals and ended getting crushed up against one of the crush barriers. Poor kid took the full force of it between his legs. Taken away by the ST. John's ambulance. It brought a tear to the eye of many of the blokes there that day.

lopez
23/05/2005, 6:10 PM
The Spain game is the most vivid memory I have of any Ireland match I attended as a schoolboy. A kid standing a few feet away from us was caught up in the surge after one of the Ireland goals and ended getting crushed up against one of the crush barriers. Poor kid took the full force of it between his legs. Taken away by the ST. John's ambulance. It brought a tear to the eye of many of the blokes there that day.I was on the South Terrace that day too over towards what was the old East Stand (1st visit to Lansdowne for me). Didn't it also kick off with a load of Spanish (students??) and Irish fans on the East stand terracing. Bloke in front of me complained that he got poisoned in a pizza parlour in Dun Laoghaire by Spaniards. :D :rolleyes: I had a vision of Dino's Bar and Grill made famous by thin Lizzy.

It wouldn't surprise me what happened to the poor kid though, although I found that game not so bad as the Holland game (2nd Dublin visit) a year later. Some people hark back to the terraces (different from German system where allocated spaces are given to standing). I think they were an insult to the working class. Stories you hear about people unable to move at half time, so they p*ss on your shoes or in your pocket. Glad to see the back of them.

fergalr
23/05/2005, 10:18 PM
I was on the South Terrace that day too over towards what was the old East Stand (1st visit to Lansdowne for me). Didn't it also kick off with a load of Spanish (students??) and Irish fans on the East stand terracing.
I was on the south terrace that day as well. My mature recollection is that the poor Spanish kids were run out of the East Stand and chased across the rugby pitches by a mob of hardened teenage gougers.

Great comeback that day - Ashley Grimes's finest moment in green.

lopez
23/05/2005, 10:37 PM
I was on the south terrace that day as well. My mature recollection is that the poor Spanish kids were run out of the East Stand and chased across the rugby pitches by a mob of hardened teenage gougers.

Great comeback that day - Ashley Grimes's finest moment in green.My distant recollection was that the Gards came in and calmed everything down. It appeared all handbags but I do think they had to leave early. The reverse almost happened in Zaragoza the following year with the Irish fans. I got hit by a full small can of lager thrown from behind. :mad:

Was a great comeback all the same that day. Other thing I remember was that Lennie Murphy got riddled with bullets the night before. :D

24/05/2005, 9:24 AM
At a Shamrock Rovers friendly at Milltown in 83/84 there were only about 60 people there. Weather was foul. So, showing a sharp mind for maths, I decided to enter the HT raffle. I came second & won a brand new Mitre football signed by the squad that drew 3-3 with Spain. I still have it I think.

The winning prize was a Umbro "Crown Paints" Liverpool shirt signed by the side that had just played Rovers (I think).

Any bidders? Only joking - I couldn't sell it.

24/05/2005, 1:13 PM
Mick Martin got booed by a small section of the crowd that day against Spain. He didn't have a good game but booing your own players, if they are doing their best, really bugs me.

Which reminds me of the goal John Sheridan scored in the 1-3 defeat by Spain. Didn't seem important at the time but got us through on goals scored to the USA!

And then there was the great 1-0 win over Spain on a dog of a pitch. One of the best atmospheres ever at Lansdowne.

24/05/2005, 1:21 PM
I don't know about the old days but there was a friendly against Italy in the mid-80s (lost 2-0 I think) where the crowd was a jam-packed 40k or threabouts.

I remember this night well. The gates were kicked in and thousands spilled in. How somebody wasn't killed I don’t know. Think it was Paul McGraths debut.
Left at half-time it was that dangerous.

Match in 73 I think, bunked off school to see Liam Brady's debut v Russia. Gates went in that day as well. Place absolutely stuffed, so much so burst all buttons of my new crombie with the crush.

24/05/2005, 1:27 PM
Which reminds me of the goal John Sheridan scored in the 1-3 defeat by Spain. Didn't seem important at the time ...

Oh yes it did! Quite a few of us immediately saw the significance of that goal.

lopez
24/05/2005, 2:13 PM
...And then there was the great 1-0 win over Spain on a dog of a pitch. One of the best atmospheres ever at Lansdowne.Last time it was pretty easy to get tickets for Lansdowne. Could this be a coincidence with the great atmosphere that day. I think Luis Suarez said it was one of the worst atmosphere for a side of his to have played against. He also described the Irish team as a bunch of green wolves. I also heard a story that appeared in an Irish paper that TVE was flooded with complaints about how spanish viewers could hardly hear the comentator. No chance of that now. :(

24/05/2005, 2:33 PM
Talking of tickets for Spain game, my recollection is that all the usual sources (FAI direct, Elvery's, Mick Dowling etc.) were all sold out pretty quick but a with a bit of cunning you could get them. I think I might have got mine from UCD football club. Everyone was asking what the **** was going on.

From that point on it was impossible. A once & for all shift in the ticket situation.

I yearn for the atmosphere of those games. As I was trying to point out in a recent thread the atmosphere was hostile but without any of the rubbish some of the modern day fans seem intent on bringing to the ground.

24/05/2005, 3:42 PM
Don't forget Holland in 2001 and there will be a good atmosphere for the French and Swiss games.

When it counts the fans are up for it - I have faith in them. Don't worry about the graveyard atmosphere for friendlies.

stojkovic
24/05/2005, 4:31 PM
Which reminds me of the goal John Sheridan scored in the 1-3 defeat by Spain. Didn't seem important at the time but got us through on goals scored to the USA!
Likewise Aldo's goal against Mexico in Orlando was the same, got us through on goals scored.

24/05/2005, 5:21 PM
And what a goal that was! I remember counting the number of passes that were made to create that goal. I've forgotten the precise number but it was an excellent build up and one of the best goals under Jack's reign. Second perhaps to the Ronnie Whelan special against Russia in Hanover.

Just looking at the attendances for the qualifiers for Euro 1988. The attendances for the qualifiers in Dublin varied widely, in the days before block booking. The Scotland match attracted 49,203 spectators, Belgium 44,600 while 26,000 watched our final game against Bulgaria and 18,000 attended the Luxembourg match.

I wonder what the highest ever attendance for an Irish home game was ?

Pat O' Banton
24/05/2005, 5:42 PM
Some people hark back to the terraces (different from German system where allocated spaces are given to standing). I think they were an insult to the working class. Stories you hear about people unable to move at half time, so they p*ss on your shoes or in your pocket. Glad to see the back of them.

Don't know if I can agree with you there hombre, can't speak for Dalymount and some places were undoubtely unsafe ; from my memory; the away end at the old Den spings to mind. Your right some were an insult to working class people who paid their hard earned regularly; hands up Crystal Palace and your find exibition of the work of the British Steel industry.
But some like the North Bank (Arsenal) could offer a decent view of the match as well as an atmosphere. Others while they had the probems of perimiter fencing never felt overloaded even when sold out (Old Traffords old Scoreboard End was good like that) and many had decent gangways. What we lacked was the forsight from those in charge of the game to realise that you could over load terraces and these could be potential death traps, then again who ever cared about that as long as you had all that money crossing the turnstyles. :(

Do I get kicked out of the Booze Shack for insubordination? :eek: :D

stojkovic
25/05/2005, 9:27 AM
Just looking at the attendances for the qualifiers for Euro 1988. The attendances for the qualifiers in Dublin varied widely, in the days before block booking. The Scotland match attracted 49,203 spectators, Belgium 44,600 while 26,000 watched our final game against Bulgaria and 18,000 attended the Luxembourg match.

I wonder what the highest ever attendance for an Irish home game was ?
I can tell you what one of the lowest attendances was.
In May 1987 at Lansdowne - 17,000.
It wasnt v Malta or Cyprus.
We played BRASIL.
We beat them 1-0 and all those fickle fans stayed away.
I had half the upper west stand to myself.
A digrace, but I bet if you asked 'fans' if they were there that day you would have about 200,000 claiming they were.

lopez
25/05/2005, 12:00 PM
...Do I get kicked out of the Booze Shack for insubordination? Njet comrade! You'll just get sent into internal exile into the kitchen. :D

Of course standing can be safe. Look at the German Stadiums where flip up seats allow that to be the case? And I was at the Arsenal v Spurs game a few weeks back in the Spurs section and everyone was standing (although the section had one small door as an exit). My objection is the majority terraced stadium, no bogs and pack them all in scenario. Still good riddance to them IMO.

We played BRASIL.
A digrace, but I bet if you asked 'fans' if they were there that day you would have about 200,000 claiming they were.Ah come on Stojkovic: The 'fans' had a very good reason for missing this game. The Tans were playing the Jocks live on TV. :rolleyes: Wasn't the NI game (Omagh fundraiser) in 99 similarly p*ss-poorly attended because of a certain cross-water cup final constested by two teams whose names escape me and attended by a well known, tattooed, Belfast-based, director of terrorism.

For someone that never visited Lansdowne Road that often I travelled up from Cork for the Brazil game (meeting Conchita's mother for the first time :eek: ) so I have to admit I'm one of the 200,000. :D

25/05/2005, 12:23 PM
I have to admit I'm one of the 200,000. :D

So am I but attendances at a friendly didn't upset me. I remember us beating the Soviet Union 1-0 in front of only 28k in a competitive game (bearing in mind Lansdowne could hold around 50k in those days:

IRELAND 1-0 U.S.S.R.
Almost 10 years after Ireland had surprised the Soviet Union with a 3-0 win at Dalymount Park the Irish again pulled off another surprise in the opening game of their World Cup qualifying campaign. The Soviet's came to Dublin on a run of 12 games unbeaten and few gave Ireland much hope of an upset which was reflected in an attendance of just 28,000 at Lansdowne Road.
The only game came mid way through the second-half when a great run by Michael Robinson ended with a cross for Mickey Walsh who steered the ball past Dasaev in the Russian goal. Ireland rode their luck later when the Soviet's hit the woodwork twice but held on to give Ireland manager Eoin Hand what was to be his second last win.

All these Johnny come lately fans amuse me. Huge uproar when RTE lost the viewing rights to our home games to SKy. Where were all those fans when we really needed them ?

25/05/2005, 12:25 PM
And here's one I can't even remember! Any of our Cork brethern remember this one ?

IRELAND 0-0 SPAIN
Ireland played a home fixture outside of Dublin for only the second time in their history when they hosted Spain in Cork for a friendly international. The only other time Ireland had played outside of Dublin was also in Cork when they played Hungary in 1939. Unfortunately the home fans had little to cheer about in a game that produced no goals.

Ireland: McDonagh, Langan, Hughton, McCarthy, O'Leary, Brady, Daly, Waddock, Galvin, Campbell, Robinson. Subs: O'Reagan for Hughton (65 mins.), P. Byrne for Langan (81 mins)

davey
25/05/2005, 6:38 PM
You got a date for that game?

26/05/2005, 12:06 PM
We played BRASIL.
A digrace, but I bet if you asked 'fans' if they were there that day you would have about 200,000 claiming they were.

Well I do have a vague memory from national school days in 1968, a wet wedensday evening, a 2-3 loss to the Czecks complete with a Charlie Hurley own goal and only 13,000 turned out.

26/05/2005, 12:28 PM
You got a date for that game?

26th May 1985
Flower Lodge, Cork
International Friendly

fergalr
26/05/2005, 12:44 PM
Last time it was pretty easy to get tickets for Lansdowne. Could this be a coincidence with the great atmosphere that day. I think Luis Suarez said it was one of the worst atmosphere for a side of his to have played against. He also described the Irish team as a bunch of green wolves. I also heard a story that appeared in an Irish paper that TVE was flooded with complaints about how spanish viewers could hardly hear the comentator. No chance of that now. :(
That was a few days afte Hillsboro wasn't it?

In exile at the time, I watched it on TV with the locals in Rotterdam - they too were stunned by the constant crowd noise downing out the commentator.

fergalr
26/05/2005, 12:48 PM
Wednesday, February 19, 1992
The first - and so far only - full international to be played at the Royal Dublin Society

My vote for the worst ever atmosphere at a home game. Awful game, awful pitch, stuck in the side stand miles behind the pitch (!). Boozed-up Welsh fans taunting us for our lack of home support.

fergalr
26/05/2005, 12:52 PM
Wasn't the NI game (Omagh fundraiser) in 99 similarly p*ss-poorly attended because of a certain cross-water cup final constested by two teams whose names escape me and attended by a well known, tattooed, Belfast-based, director of terrorism.
There were 12,000 at that game if I recall correctly. Again, awful game and awful atmosphere. The few of us who were there were outshouted by Ian Dowie's rellies. I think that was the period under Mick when we could't win a game to save our lives.