View Full Version : Atmosphere in the Faroes
Pat O' Banton
19/05/2005, 12:46 PM
Probably should be good, but are we doing anything?
I've got a load of balloons to chuck on at the start, but a couple more people could bring some? Please no popping them like some hilarious characters were doing when Peadar as handing them out in Paris?
Anything else? Tickertape type stuff, holding up green, white and orange cards?
19/05/2005, 12:47 PM
Green bobble hat in honour of their keeper!
If everyone brought one, it'd look cool!
Bringing a small bodhrán over as well.
Babysis
19/05/2005, 12:48 PM
Probably should be good, but are we doing anything?
I've got a load of balloons to chuck on at the start, but a couple more people could bring some? Please no popping them like some hilarious characters were doing when Peadar as handing them out in Paris?
Anything else? Tickertape type stuff, holding up gree, white and orange cards?
We had great fun giving out balloons in Paris. It would have worked if there had not been so many idiots. That an ticker tape are easy and we can all bring loads.
19/05/2005, 12:51 PM
I've got a load of balloons to chuck on at the start, but a couple more people could bring some
I'll look into getting some more.
Thanks for reminding me, I'll look out for one at the weekend.
Green is very much the "in" colour this season so there's loads of cool clothes in the shops.
That an ticker tape are easy and we can all bring loads.
I found it very hard to get green and white ticker tape before Paris.
Only managed to get few rolls of "streamers" in Wollies.
Pat O' Banton
19/05/2005, 12:51 PM
Good shout on both, will do.
May post on Soccer Central and even contact the Irish papers to ask them to put something in so that as many people know what is happening (that's if we do get a few definate ideas together.)
Babysis
19/05/2005, 12:54 PM
Well stick to balloons then. Its simple and everyone can get hold of some.
I know some lads on here have inflatable viking helmets. Not fussed about the bobble hat personnally, but im sure they are easy enough to pick up
Pat O' Banton
19/05/2005, 12:55 PM
May 'borrow' some green, white and orange paper from work and shred it. However with tickertape there has to be a good few people doing it as it looks rubbish otherwise. Volunteers for handing it out may be required.
Babysis
19/05/2005, 12:57 PM
May 'borrow' some green, white and orange paper from work and shred it. However with tickertape there has to be a good few people doing it as it looks rubbish otherwise. Volunteers for handing it out may be required.
Well there is at least 20 people going to the Faorese night on Tuesday, probably the best time to give out stuff then. Followed by before the game.
has the faroes night defo been arranged?
as for colour and atmosphere, have my stupid felt viking hat and will probably be draped in a very large flag. will have a hunt at the weekend for some stuff as goin into central london,
P
19/05/2005, 2:10 PM
I would hope to have the t-shirts done so that people can order them as well.
However a combination of college exams, sorting tickets for the Israel game and a number of other things mean that if we have any photoshop experts or anyone who could do up the graphics quicker than I could, please pm me.
Paulie
19/05/2005, 4:20 PM
I work in Dublin City and have been keeping an eye out for a plain green bobble hat but I have yet to see one. If any of you do see one will ye post up here.
Babysis
19/05/2005, 4:24 PM
Its one of those mad things where by you will see loads of bobble hats about, but when you finally need to buy one, there are none around. :rolleyes:
Will keep an eye out and see.
19/05/2005, 4:35 PM
Will keep an eye out and see.
That's the kind of thing you might see up in Covent Garden or somewhere like that.
Babysis
19/05/2005, 4:37 PM
That's the kind of thing you might see up in Covent Garden or somewhere like that.
I was thinking more like cheapo clothes shops. Will leave you to try covent garden - rather you than me.
19/05/2005, 4:42 PM
If someone finds some, they should buy a $hit load of them and people can sort them out (in a good way ;) ) in the Faroes.
19/05/2005, 4:50 PM
*Kev's mind drifts off to customs in Vagar airport
Faroese customs official, in heavy Sandanavian accent
"Have you anything to declare?"
Member of travelling party
"Naw, a few bottles of booze to keep me going, but that's it boss"
Faroese customs official
"Well then craazy Irishman, explain these fifty bobble hats that were in your luggage"
Member of travelling party
"Well, you see, its all to do with this internet message board, and....
Faroese customs officials, interrupting
"Ah, the internet you say, we have heard about you footie people"
Shouting to nearby police
"Feed him to the puffin, we'll have none of his chapeau high jinks on this island"
*Kev's mind drifts back to the fact that he has an exam in 48 hours and really should be revising, rather than dreaming up mad scenarios on internet forums
Pat O' Banton
19/05/2005, 6:01 PM
*Kev's mind drifts off to customs in Vagar airport
Faroese customs official, in heavy Sandanavian accent
"Have you anything to declare?"...
*Kev's mind drifts back to the fact that he has an exam in 48 hours and really should be revising, rather than dreaming up mad scenarios on internet forums
:D Very good.
I remember revising for my A' levels, I deciced rather then the world of Robert Walpole and the birth of the idea of Prime Minstership in 18th century Britain, I painted each individual straw on a sombrero red and white for the '93 cup final against Sheff. Wednesday.
If we give it out before the Tuesday nite out it'll all get lost in the gutter that night just like the phone & my dignity every Saturday night in town.
19/05/2005, 6:50 PM
If we give it out before the Tuesday nite out it'll all get lost in the gutter that night just like the phone & my dignity every Saturday night in town.
:D :D
I had a proper Ireland Bobble hat which I got just before euro 88, and now I think i've lost it. That would be a good idea if people wore them.
19/05/2005, 8:03 PM
I work in Dublin City and have been keeping an eye out for a plain green bobble hat but I have yet to see one. If any of you do see one will ye post up here.
I was thinking Dublin Airport would be a good last resort - if it's green and likely to be bought by gullible Americans, Dublin Airport has it. So we can just take advantage of the Americans again...! :) Failing that, Carroll's?
has the faroes night defo been arranged?
I e-mailed off about two weeks ago to say we were pretty much sure tohave the 30 we needed...haven't heard anything since. They can be a bit slow with the e-mails like that - yer man we're renting bikes off just e-mailed today a week after I e-mailed him...was beginning to give up hope! Will drop them a line again anyway and see what the craic is.
Babysis
20/05/2005, 8:30 AM
Btw,you can er,buy :rolleyes: Green bobble hats @ Parkheed.....which doubtless the PC brigade will say,has no relevance.
ooo Im going up there next weekedn for Jackie macs testimonial. will see what i can find. We really need a market. ~They are bound to have them.
20/05/2005, 8:46 AM
Btw,you can er,buy :rolleyes: Green bobble hats @ Parkheed.....
Have they got writing on them?
Is there still a Celtic shop in the Jervis Shopping centre?
I haven't seen my ticket yet but are there seat numbers on them?
If not, we could all group together.
I haven't seen my ticket yet but are there seat numbers on them?
If not, we could all group together.
Yep, they have seat numbers.
Pat O' Banton
20/05/2005, 12:07 PM
As with the balloons I'm happy to bring over some tickertape (well shreded paper) but transporting enough to make it worth while doing will mean that others will need to bring some. Anyone thinking about this can they stick their name down on this thread.
Babysis
20/05/2005, 12:10 PM
count me in. pack of 20 or 30 balloons, its not difficult or expensive. just green right?
Pat O' Banton
20/05/2005, 12:11 PM
count me in. pack of 20 or 30 balloons, its not difficult or expensive. just green right?
Green white and orange I'd say, same with the paper.
Babysis
20/05/2005, 12:14 PM
Green white and orange I'd say, same with the paper.
Ok, well put me down for 20 or each for the balloons. If i can get more i will. also going on the hunt for bobble hats. If we all tell as many people as we can, the balloons might actually work this time. Anyone going with stand up, can you tell them about it too. Im so looking forward this now. cant wait. :D
20/05/2005, 12:31 PM
count me in. pack of 20 or 30 balloons
I arranged 1,000 green balloons for Paris so I'll try to do the same again.
Need to make a few calls.
Probably wont know until closer to the day.
Junior
20/05/2005, 12:31 PM
more likely to work due to the numbers travelling - what is it 2k????
good luck with the trip - I am jealous as anything. This was the one trip that I really wanted to go on when the draw was made and I can't make it - gutted!!!
Babysis
20/05/2005, 12:37 PM
I arranged 1,000 green balloons for Paris so I'll try to do the same again.
Need to make a few calls.
Probably wont know until closer to the day.
thats great, but its not fair to out it all on one person. If everyone brings 5 ballonns, it will work.
20/05/2005, 12:43 PM
Hmmm...random elipses, inappropriate smiles, incomplete sentences and indecipherable abbreviations - is davros back among us? (Or have I just not noticed what everyone else has known for the past ages? :) )
Junior
20/05/2005, 1:26 PM
Hmmm...random elipses, inappropriate smiles, incomplete sentences and indecipherable abbreviations - is davros back among us? (Or have I just not noticed what everyone else has known for the past ages? :) )
Pineapple stu - I think you need a new username. Now to choose...Poirot, Inspector Clueso, Sherlock............................... :D
20/05/2005, 1:33 PM
is davros back among us?
Hardly!
I can actually make sense of these posts. :D
but its not fair to out it all on one person.
If I can get them as I did for Paris then it's no bother.
They're bloody heavy though!
Babysis
20/05/2005, 2:53 PM
Hardly!
I can actually make sense of these posts. :D
If I can get them as I did for Paris then it's no bother.
Fair enough. i just think everyone needs to pitch in, or never again complain about atmosphere at games :)
20/05/2005, 3:45 PM
The Derry City contingent will hopefully(assuming we are breaking no UN Charter on the rights of puffins) have:
A drum,
A pair of megaphones,
A bugle
(Aye, and I might get a change of clothes in the bag as well)
Junior
20/05/2005, 4:01 PM
what are they, lead balloons?
I'll get me coat.........................
more likely to work due to the numbers travelling - what is it 2k????
good luck with the trip - I am jealous as anything. This was the one trip that I really wanted to go on when the draw was made and I can't make it - gutted!!!
Now young man you've only got youself to blame, if you will go out and do things like get married, its your own fault no one elses. ;)
Junior
20/05/2005, 8:13 PM
Now young man you've only got youself to blame, if you will go out and do things like get married, its your own fault no one elses. ;)
Too true, I'll be back though.
Hope you'll be attending?
Still be at the home games for this campaign.
Colie
21/05/2005, 12:40 PM
I couldn't agree more. People that think they should be allowed into all the games because they're mad Ireland fans but haven't been able to go away because of the wife & kids are not right. Getting married & having kids gets in the way of enjoying Ireland football.
[QUOTE=Junior]
Hope you'll be attending?
Will be indeed.
I couldn't agree more. People that think they should be allowed into all the games because they're mad Ireland fans but haven't been able to go away because of the wife & kids are not right. Getting married & having kids gets in the way of enjoying Ireland football.
Plus buying a house and paying the bank back for the rest of your life as i'm finding out now.
Pat O' Banton
24/05/2005, 6:21 PM
The Derry City contingent will hopefully(assuming we are breaking no UN Charter on the rights of puffins) have:
A drum,
A pair of megaphones,
A bugle
Are you lot going to try to go down the front of the stand with the megaphone and start off the chanting? I've seen it done on the continent and normally works.
24/05/2005, 6:54 PM
Are you lot going to try to go down the front of the stand with the megaphone and start off the chanting? I've seen it done on the continent and normally works.
That'd be class Pat, get practising and we'll listen out for you all on the telly..... :D
Pat O' Banton
24/05/2005, 7:26 PM
That'd be class Pat, get practising and we'll listen out for you all on the telly..... :D
When I, how can I put it, have one to many sweet sherries, I develop a sever stutter. Which means that if I had the mega phone it would sound a bit like Grandmaster Flash or Public Enemy singing 'Come on you boys in Green' :eek: :D or as one other foot.ie poster put 'it farkin sounds as if your one of those American cattle traders!' Take a bow Mr. Lopez ;)
Colie
24/05/2005, 10:07 PM
A drum,
A pair of megaphones,
A bugle
Are you one of the total legends that was at Belfield for your away game. I asked why don't you bring them to Ireland games & you have delivered. I didn't think it was possible for Derry City fans to go up in my estimation after their mammoth performance in the face of a tragic l-0 defeat away to The College but yee have. Legend supporters
Santa or Superman like before? Or Could we be talking Scamp (Leprechaun) or St Patrick suits, coz I might be up for that if anyone else is. Imagine 50 St Paddy's going mental.
This is going to be such a laugh.
24/05/2005, 10:15 PM
Leprehauns?Who are we? Plastics Paddies?(Apologies to Plastic Paddies)
The DC posse always seek to innovate and we are trying to source Viking soothsayser outfits :D
Colie
24/05/2005, 10:18 PM
The DC posse always seek to innovate and we are trying to source Viking soothsayser outfits :D
Wouldn't surprise me one bit. Go for it. Youes will command everlasting respect no matter what. :cool:
Babysis
25/05/2005, 8:52 AM
2 halloweens ago i went to Derry, and 4 of the people i was out with were dressed in full viking gear, furry skirt, boots, vest, helmet the works. Looked very good. If its fancy dress you need, my betting is on being able to get it there :D Great idea
25/05/2005, 9:24 PM
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=58449&item=5394883847&rd=1
http://www.wonderlandparty.co.uk/cgi-bin/ss000037.pl?SS=Viking&PR=-1&TB=A&SHOP=
Fore those that can't source a bobble hat :D