View Full Version : Will Smallbone M Southampton b.2000

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

gally
28/12/2019, 1:08 PM
Recently back from injury, on the bench today, have seen quite a bit of him past two years, very good player, couldn't find thread for him, please merge if necessary.

29/12/2019, 11:27 PM
Unfortunate name!

tommy_c12000
04/01/2020, 1:15 PM
Gets a start today, let’s see how he does. Obafemi on bench, long starts

youngirish
04/01/2020, 3:14 PM
Just scored. Is he defo committed to us as I know he was one of the top players in the U23 league last year?

tommy_c12000
04/01/2020, 3:15 PM
Just slotted a goal home, assist from Long. Hopefully he will get more chances now in prem league or else he’s done enough to secure a good loan move. Watched the first half, although in the background, with Idah taking centre stage. Seemed to play on the right of a diamond midfield, didn’t do a whole lot

04/01/2020, 3:17 PM
https://streamja.com/G0Rv

Olé Olé
04/01/2020, 3:34 PM
How does Smallbone qualify? I have some vague idea his mother is from Kilkenny.

Fizzer
01/02/2020, 1:41 PM
Makes the bench today against Liverpool along with Obafemi.

01/02/2020, 1:52 PM
Must... not.... pun...

01/02/2020, 2:26 PM
Must... not.... pun...You'd better not, one of the mods may have....... of contention with that.

05/02/2020, 1:38 AM
You'd better not, one of the mods may have....... of contention with that.

Fantastic.

EAFC_rdfl
10/02/2020, 11:00 PM
Supposedly plays out of his skin most games

22/02/2020, 1:06 PM
Starts on the day after his 20th birthday. Just misses out on a teenager stat Tets posted recently.

tommy_c12000
22/02/2020, 1:13 PM
Great news, let’s see how he does. Only downside is the inevitable run of puns which turns foot.ie temporarily into the lower quality YBIG. I’m with Tets

TrapAPony
22/02/2020, 1:21 PM
Great news, let’s see how he does. Only downside is the inevitable run of puns which turns foot.ie temporarily into the lower quality YBIG. I’m with Tets
Only downside is that he is English born which means if he does well at all then Gareth will be on the phone.

22/02/2020, 2:15 PM
He hit the post from a deflected shot a few moments before Long’s groin bundled in Southampton’s goal.

tommy_c12000
22/02/2020, 2:55 PM
Pretty impressive first half. Playing centre midfield. My concern is how lightweight he is, but showed some good strength bundling Grealish off the ball. I see him as a skinnier Jeff Hendrick, a nice footballer who will fade in and out of games. But I hope I’m completely wrong. Obviously a big flight risk, but let’s see what happens

youngirish
22/02/2020, 3:03 PM
Anyone know how he qualifiers for us? Parent? Grandparent? Drank a pint of Guinness once?

Olé Olé
22/02/2020, 8:07 PM
Is his mother a Kilkenny woman or is that Will Ferry?

samhaydenjr
23/02/2020, 2:49 AM
Only downside is that he is English born which means if he does well at all then Gareth will be on the phone.

Pretty impressive first half. Playing centre midfield. My concern is how lightweight he is, but showed some good strength bundling Grealish off the ball. I see him as a skinnier Jeff Hendrick, a nice footballer who will fade in and out of games. But I hope I’m completely wrong. Obviously a big flight risk, but let’s see what happens

Hopefully he'll have looked at Grealish and thought "four-and-a-half years since switching, and he's still awaiting his first cap"

Diggs246
23/02/2020, 8:44 AM
Is there any proof or noises about him defecting to England?

Eirambler
23/02/2020, 3:18 PM
I don't think there's anything specific to it, it's just that people always fear the worst now after Grealish and Rice and Smallbone is a relatively lower profile Irish underage player, hasn't played for the Under 21s I don't think and I haven't seen any interviews of him explaining his Irish connection or anything like that.

Hopefully there's an Ireland under 21 call up coming his way in a few weeks and he becomes part of Stephen Kenny's long term plans.

irishfan86
24/02/2020, 4:28 AM
Given how weak we are at central midfield, if Smallbone starts regularly for Southampton in coming weeks and does well, no reason he shouldn’t be in playoff squad. Especially if James McCarthy is unavailable or decides international football is too big a risk at this stage (I fear this).

Olé Olé
27/02/2020, 1:57 PM
https://youtu.be/Zgq7Z07m51o

Go to 1.19. His mother is "fully Irish". I don't like how he says "them".

greendeiseboy
27/02/2020, 4:19 PM

Aye, should have said "dem"

seanfhear
27/02/2020, 5:26 PM

Obvious flight risk.

elatedscum
27/02/2020, 7:16 PM
Obvious flight risk.

i wouldn't read too much into it either way. he's young and a bit nervous throughout the interview. some lads end up being Declan Rice and others Michael Obafemi. hopefully he's in the 21s squad and Stephen Kenny gets to work with him.

It's a fairly stacked area with Ronan, Molumby, Coventry, Knight, Taylor, Mandriou all having done well at that level, along with Kilkenny, Barrett, Lennon, Doyle-Hayes, Clarke and Kavanagh having been called up at one point or another but he's the only one starting in the premier league right now...

28/02/2020, 12:36 PM
Obvious flight risk.Coronavirus may put a halt to that.

Olé Olé
29/02/2020, 1:11 PM
Starts today, alongside both Long and Obafemi who partner one another up top.

tommy_c12000
29/02/2020, 3:53 PM
Watched the game today. Smallbone is very good on the ball, but has huge work to do on his defensive side of game. At one point championship-standard Bowen glided past him in second half as if he wasn’t there, pretty poor. Really need a defensive midfielder next to him, a young Hendrick as I said. If he’s smart enough he will continue with the irish u21s for now and see how he goes.

Obafemi has impressed me less and less as season has gone on. His ball protection and link play has deserted him in recent games and he looks unfit. Superbly taken goal apart, he was poor. Would definitely have Long ahead of him for Slovakia game

Deckydee
17/06/2020, 6:43 PM
Is there any proof or noises about him defecting to England?

Dont think so..https://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/smallbone-massive-dream-to-make-it-at-international-level-39287442.html

samhaydenjr
13/07/2020, 11:51 PM
Came on for twenty minutes against United and I've got to say, I was impressed - he showed for the ball regularly and looked composed on it, with a nice range of passing. I've just decided that I would be happy to see him in the last two Nations League games, particularly if the Luxembourg U21 game somehow becomes a dead rubber (although the U21s should be able to negotiate that tie without Smallbone anyway, especially as he hasn't played for them to now and they've done just fine)

Olé Olé
14/07/2020, 6:25 AM
He has the brilliant ability to receive the ball in tight positions and use his feet and decision making quickly. I just don't know where he can use that best or what type of midfielder he will be. It will be interesting to see what position he develops into.

Diggs246
14/07/2020, 7:02 AM
He has the brilliant ability to receive the ball in tight positions and use his feet and decision making quickly. I just don't know where he can use that best or what type of midfielder he will be. It will be interesting to see what position he develops into.

If he fast those type of players can turn into v good wingers

Eirambler
14/07/2020, 8:45 AM
It was so much better being able to enjoy Obafemi's late equaliser last night safe in the knowledge that he is committed to and confirmed as an Irish international. It's easy enough to imagine what would be the topic of discussion if that wasn't the case, his dual eligibility would be a bigger talking point than his goal.

Smallbone continues to look like a really decent talent whenever he plays. I'm still hoping that Kenny reconsiders things and gets him involved in the senior squad this autumn. The longer he leaves him with the under 21s the greater the chance there is of his dual nationality becoming a bigger issue than it needs to be.

Diggs246
14/07/2020, 9:28 AM
It was so much better being able to enjoy Obafemi's late equaliser last night safe in the knowledge that he is committed to and confirmed as an Irish international. It's easy enough to imagine what would be the topic of discussion if that wasn't the case, his dual eligibility would be a bigger talking point than his goal.

100% correct Martin O neill did us a service capping him just before he was sacked

Smallbone continues to look like a really decent talent whenever he plays. I'm still hoping that Kenny reconsiders things and gets him involved in the senior squad this autumn. The longer he leaves him with the under 21s the greater the chance there is of his dual nationality becoming a bigger issue than it needs to be.

Nations league all the way

ColourfulPeanut
14/07/2020, 10:13 AM
That's the simple solution really. Call him up to the Nations League squad, which he deserves on merit anyway. If he says no then grand, tell him where to go and we continue developing players who want to represent us.

samhaydenjr
15/07/2020, 2:24 AM
That's the simple solution really. Call him up to the Nations League squad, which he deserves on merit anyway. If he says no then grand, tell him where to go and we continue developing players who want to represent us.

I wouldn't put it that harshly - he is at that point where he has to make that decision - that is the nature of multi-nation eligibility in international football. So if it looks like he is ready to step up to senior international level, as it increasingly does, Kenny should inform him that he is ready to call him up and ask if he is ready to make that decision. If he says yes, like Obafemi did, then blood him in based on preparing him for the World Cup qualifiers, not based on tying him down. If he says he wants some time, I know it might not be a great sign, given what happened with Rice and Grealish, but he should still be given a chance to do a job for the U21s rather than being frozen out. It might even help him make his decision. But I think Kenny should be indicating his willingness to call Smallbone up as soon as possible to give him time to make a final decision before the Nations League games.

Quick sidenote - from the point of view of their international careers to now, it appears that Rice made the right call for himself, Grealish definitely made the wrong call with no caps so far, and Michael Keane probably made the wrong call as he has only ten caps at the age of 27, when he could have had 25-30 with us. What do people think would have happened if Grealish and Keane had stuck with us? Would we have done better at Euro 2016? Would we have qualified for the last World Cup? Would we already be in the draw for these Euros?

Olé Olé
15/07/2020, 5:33 AM
Depends on how you define the 'right' and 'wrong' call but I think you could argue Keane made the right call. He has earned more England caps than I think a player of his ability would have earned in previous years.

I think Grealish wanted to play for England more than Rice did but England wanted Rice more than they wanted Grealish.

I'm confident on Smallbone. I think Kenny is too.

Diggs246
15/07/2020, 5:38 AM
I wouldn't put it that harshly - he is at that point where he has to make that decision - that is the nature of multi-nation eligibility in international football. So if it looks like he is ready to step up to senior international level, as it increasingly does, Kenny should inform him that he is ready to call him up and ask if he is ready to make that decision. If he says yes, like Obafemi did, then blood him in based on preparing him for the World Cup qualifiers, not based on tying him down. If he says he wants some time, I know it might not be a great sign, given what happened with Rice and Grealish, but he should still be given a chance to do a job for the U21s rather than being frozen out. It might even help him make his decision. But I think Kenny should be indicating his willingness to call Smallbone up as soon as possible to give him time to make a final decision before the Nations League games.

Quick sidenote - from the point of view of their international careers to now, it appears that Rice made the right call for himself, Grealish definitely made the wrong call with no caps so far, and Michael Keane probably made the wrong call as he has only ten caps at the age of 27, when he could have had 25-30 with us. What do people think would have happened if Grealish and Keane had stuck with us? Would we have done better at Euro 2016? Would we have qualified for the last World Cup? Would we already be in the draw for these Euros?

I wouldn't agree. For me its simple your called up and if u decline we move on and say goodbye.

In relation to the 2nd question. I'm not sure how much of a difference keane would have made over all, as our defence isnt too bad. But I would agree if we had grealish and rice then we would be already in the euros

seanfhear
15/07/2020, 8:15 AM
I wouldn't agree. For me its simple your called up and if u decline we move on and say goodbye.

In relation to the 2nd question. I'm not sure how much of a difference keane would have made over all, as our defence isnt too bad. But I would agree if we had grealish and rice then we would be already in the eurosIf a person was honest and could go back in time one would not say no to Keane, Rice or Grealish.

Thems the breaks and in the end the players have to make the decision they are happy with. Playing full Internationals (all be it friendlies may be pushing it though ).

youngirish
15/07/2020, 11:24 AM
Anyone any reason to think Smallbone could be a flight risk other than he was born in England? From my understanding his mother is Irish born and bred whilst Rice and Grealish had far more tenuous links through a grandparent or 2.

If his mother is anything like me with my English born sons she will have fed him Guinness from his bottle, constantly blared the Wolf Tones around the house, forced him to eat Curly Kane for dinner twice a week and beat him for not standing with his hand on his chest when Amhran Na Bhfiann came on the telly. If she did all that then there's no chance he will jump ship.

If she didn't do it then she's not really Irish herself.

Diggs246
15/07/2020, 11:24 AM
If a person was honest and could go back in time one would not say no to Keane, Rice or Grealish.

Thems the breaks and in the end the players have to make the decision they are happy with. Playing full Internationals (all be it friendlies may be pushing it though ).

Its my only principle in the world! don't take it away from me.

15/07/2020, 11:43 AM
Anyone any reason to think Smallbone could be a flight risk other than he was born in England? From my understanding his mother is Irish born and bred whilst Rice and Grealish had far more tenuous links through a grandparent or 2.

If his mother is anything like me with my English born sons she will have fed him Guinness from his bottle, constantly blared the Wolf Tones around the house, forced him to eat Curly Kane for dinner twice a week and beat him for not standing with his hand on his chest when Amhran Na Bhfiann came on the telly. If she did all that then there's no chance he will jump ship.

If she didn't do it then she's not really Irish herself.I've threatened my son with knee capping, while buying him the new Irish jersey every time one comes out. Carrot & stick approach. It's working so far. I actually had to calm him down when Mandzukic scored against England in Russia, telling him it's tactically better (in relation to his English mother) to appear less partisan.

elatedscum
15/07/2020, 2:24 PM

I think with Grealish we would have qualified for World Cup 2018 and with him and Rice we would have qualified for Euro 2020. To be honest, Grealish is a player that would probably totally change the way we could play. You only had to look at Declan’s 3 caps to also see the difference he made to us.

Michael Keane would have been a regular I imagine. He’s definitely ahead of Keogh and Long in the reckoning, both of whom have played some important games. Up until this season, he probably would have been ahead of John Egan as well. But I don’t think the difference between Keane and say Clark is anything like the difference between what Grealish would give you and Jeff Hendrick or between Declan and Hourihane or Browne

Eirambler
16/07/2020, 9:20 PM
Thought Smallbone played well again tonight for Southampton. Lovely crisp, accurate passer of the ball, always looking to move the ball forward wherever possible as well.

Played right midfield tonight but for me, if and when Kenny does want an out and out 10 in the team, he looks like the best man for the job at the moment.

16/07/2020, 10:22 PM
If a person was honest and could go back in time one would not say no to Keane, Rice or Grealish.

Kenny has stated emphatically he will only come calling once and if there's a hesitation or even a mild stutter he'll put down the phone.

i think we can rest assured though with the allegiance of McClean's children.

Razors left peg
16/07/2020, 10:44 PM
Kenny has stated emphatically he will only come calling once and if there's a hesitation or even a mild stutter he'll put down the phone.

Kenny has been pretty clear on that, he also said that he is 100% confident about anyone that was in his U21 set up. Not sure Smallbone can be put in that bracket but Id say a lot of questions were asked behind the scenes after Kenny took over to make sure we didnt have another Rice.

gastric
16/07/2020, 11:37 PM

i think we can rest assured though with the allegiance of McClean's children.

But wouldn't they be English born? Certainly a flight risk!:eek:

17/07/2020, 8:35 AM
I don't know how Southampton only drew that game. They are a pretty slick footballing side when they're in the mood.