View Full Version : Sligo Rovers vs lack of atmosphere

garykelly
18/05/2005, 8:45 AM
Lads, we all know the atmosphere has been non-existent in The Showgrounds. The visit of Dublin City is a big big game even at this stage of the season. The trust have suggested that all supporters willing to generate an atmosphere stand on the terrace behind the goals. For people wanting The Shed open, it will be practice for standing up once more :D For other supporters, I would say forsake the comfy surroundings of the Western Stand and show your support on the terrace. The trust will have flags up and try to get as much color as possible. If you have a flag then bring it along.

Members of the trust will be in Mooneys Bar (across from The Showgrounds) from 6pm on match night. So feel free to come in and have a chat and put up any questions you may have. The aim for the trust is to make going to games a full evening event, and not just 90 minutes in The Showgrounds.

C'mon Lads - Let's get some noise going at The Showgrounds.

Cheers

1 9 2 8
18/05/2005, 1:39 PM
A few of us stand in the back row of the new stand near the away dug out why not join us ;) we do try to get the noise levels up but we lack the numbers (only around 10 or so) it's very hard to generate an atmosphere in the railway end or beside the shed because they no roof

nephin
18/05/2005, 2:04 PM
A few of us stand in the back row of the new stand near the away dug out why not join us ;) we do try to get the noise levels up but we lack the numbers (only around 10 or so) it's very hard to generate an atmosphere in the railway end or beside the shed because they no roof

Its hard to get noise levels up when there's only a few that try and get the crowd going but at least ye try.I think if we gathered enough people over by the shed end there would be a good enough atmosphere. The more that get together the better.
However there always seem to be a few people that go the to the matches to have a good aul moan :D

1 9 2 8
18/05/2005, 3:03 PM
Would the trust be interested in organising tifo flags most other clubs have them to add to the atmosphere the material would cost around €50 they get the poles for the flags on www.tifo.it

Click on the links to see tifo flags
Shels Supporters 1 (http://www.student.dcu.ie/~lennonc2/imgs/photos/home/shells02.jpg) Shels Supporters 2 (http://www.student.dcu.ie/~lennonc2/imgs/photos/home/shells03.jpg)

Da Real Rover
18/05/2005, 3:53 PM
The problem is that the majority of people in the new stand dont want to sing so it is very hard to get chants going in the there. Back of the goals sounds like a good idea and i agree it wont be great for creating an atmosphere but it will probably be the best place for it cause any thing would be better than the way it is now.

garykelly
18/05/2005, 3:55 PM
Would the trust be interested in organising tifo flags most other clubs have them to add to the atmosphere the material would cost around €50 they get the poles for the flags on www.tifo.it

Shels Supporters 1 (http://www.student.dcu.ie/~lennonc2/imgs/photos/home/shells02.jpg) Shels Supporters 2 (http://www.student.dcu.ie/~lennonc2/imgs/photos/home/shells03.jpg)

Re: Standing at Back of Stand

It's great that soemone is trying to create an atmosphere to to be honest the Western Stand isnt the place for it. I can hardly hear the noise coming from your end and when people around and including me try and join in people just look at you ! I think we should join together away from the stand altoghther where we can be heard. standing behind the goal that rovers are attacking is ideal. When we were in athlone, alot of us were scattered in the groun. Alot of people joined up behind the goal for the 2nd half and eventually there was a better atmosphere.

I think if everyone came to a trust meeting just to meet people then we'd know each other in the ground and be able to organise where to support the lads from better.

Re: Tifo Flags

This is a great suggestion and it has been discussed before in the trust. These flags although expensive are the ideal and are exactly what are needed

The problem we have here is two-fold:-

a) Manpower

B) Money to go do it

A) The trust currently is a small group of people. We need people to get on board and help out. So for example if someone joined and was interested in creating an atmosphere then that person could be charged with looking into it and ideas to fund it. This would be alot better than a small few people doing alot of work. Currently we are snowed under, so we have to take each idea in turn. ie. work on them in a queue system as opposed to at the same time due to lack of man ( or women :o ) power

B) As always money governs what can and cant be done. When the trust is up and running we hope to be able to raise the money to carry out alot of work. In the mean time something as simple as a bucket collection at games could be put towards a specific purpose as buying those tifo flags. Of course something like that would need to be discussed with the club, but is there anyone willing to help out in the department of creating a better atmosphere.

I'm sure the cost is alot more than €50 to get a proper set.Cork funded theirs last year through supporter donations. I will look into it becuase it's an excellent idea and should be followed through. But I cannot give a timescale on it.

Cheers

Da Real Rover
18/05/2005, 4:10 PM
I noticed the flares on tifo aswell, they mighten be a bad addition when the shed opens up.

18/05/2005, 4:18 PM
I think if everyone came to a trust meeting just to meet people then we'd know each other in the ground and be able to organise where to support the lads from better.

What about people from the trust standing outside the ground and hand out leaflets telling people about the trust's aim of creating an atmosphere and tell them what part of the ground to go to?

nephin
18/05/2005, 4:20 PM
I noticed the flares on tifo aswell, they mighten be a bad addition when the shed opens up.

Are flares allowed into the showgrounds?
I wouldn't think they would be.

garykelly
18/05/2005, 4:23 PM
I wouldn't think they would be.

Re: Flares

Officially Flares arent allowed according to Uefa guidelines.

Re: Sligoman

Yeah a good suggestion Sligoman, I'll reserve a bundle for you to hand out on Saturday night :D See you on the terrace.

18/05/2005, 4:26 PM

No, they're not. According to the official Showgrounds rules:

Ground Regulation 2: Fireworks, smoke cannisters, bottles, glasses, cans, flags, banners, poles, laser pens, flares or any similiar articles or containers including anything that could be used as a weapon are not permitted within the stadium. Persons in possession of such articles may be refused entry or ejected from the stadium

;) :D

18/05/2005, 4:29 PM
flags, banners,

Such a stupid thing to ban. Is this the club's excuse for a lack of atmosphere? :D :D

18/05/2005, 4:30 PM
Re: Sligoman

Yeah a good suggestion Sligoman, I'll reserve a bundle for you to hand out on Saturday night :D See you on the terrace.

:D :D :p

1 9 2 8
18/05/2005, 5:39 PM
Flares are banned from all EL grounds but most clubs turn a blind eye to them as long as they are used sensibly
I think alcohol is banned too :D

Da Real Rover
18/05/2005, 5:48 PM
I think if they are not pegged onto the pitch or goalkeeper there wouldnt be any major problem with them. Also they create a wicked atmosphere.

Petmuller
18/05/2005, 6:18 PM

Last season I happened to be sitting beside a guy from Bray when we played them in the Showgrounds and we were cahtting amoung other things about ground athmosphere. Now Bray wouldn't spring to mind when you visualise athmosphere but he was one of a few that had tried to generate. Anyway he told me that they had two tifo flags and they had contacted Rovers prior to the game to get permission to take the flags to the game and permission was denied. So before any money is spent on flags etc I think it would be wise to check first with the club to see would they be allowed.
At a game towards the end of last season I was in the gate behind a guy with a young kid and the kid had a small Rovers flag. The man was stopped by one of the stewards and told the flag wasn't allowed, so in order for the guy to go in he had to allow the steward to remove the stick from the flag. At the time I thought it was a bit over the top but it did happen.
Since then I have noticed people, children, with flags in other grounds but no one seems to pass any heed. :confused:

garykelly
18/05/2005, 6:27 PM
Last season I happened to be sitting beside a guy from Bray when we played them in the Showgrounds and we were cahtting amoung other things about ground athmosphere. Now Bray wouldn't spring to mind when you visualise athmosphere but he was one of a few that had tried to generate. Anyway he told me that they had two tifo flags and they had contacted Rovers prior to the game to get permission to take the flags to the game and permission was denied. So before any money is spent on flags etc I think it would be wise to check first with the club to see would they be allowed.
At a game towards the end of last season I was in the gate behind a guy with a young kid and the kid had a small Rovers flag. The man was stopped by one of the stewards and told the flag wasn't allowed, so in order for the guy to go in he had to allow the steward to remove the stick from the flag. At the time I thought it was a bit over the top but it did happen.
Since then I have noticed people, children, with flags in other grounds but no one seems to pass any heed. :confused:

will definitely check with club before anything is done. the flag situation is poor. next thing UEFA will tell us that no jerseys are allowed, no singing, Much like a GAA game :D Have they infiltrated Uefa :D ;)

1 9 2 8
18/05/2005, 6:38 PM

Considering that those flags are sold inside the ground in the clubs official shop I think that’s one of the most stupid things Rovers officials have done:mad:

garykelly
18/05/2005, 6:50 PM
Considering that those flags are sold inside the ground in the clubs official shop I think that’s one of the most stupid things Rovers officials have done:mad:

Its a UEFA thing and not down to Sligo Rovers. It's in the club licencing policy. It wont stop us putting up stickless flags on fences and banners. It's just the sticks they are worried about.

So if anyone has a flag (no sticks now. down with that sort of thing) put it up behind the goals on the shed end. try to get some colour going

Derek
18/05/2005, 10:48 PM
Where do away fans sit?

Apparently Dublin have put on four coaches and have sold ALL tickets(200 approx). So Sligo watch out!

What was that? the alarm clock. Time to get up out of bed, that was a lovely dream.

Redzer
19/05/2005, 9:50 AM
Its a UEFA thing and not down to Sligo Rovers. It's in the club licencing policy. It wont stop us putting up stickless flags on fences and banners. It's just the sticks they are worried about.
Then UEFA should give us a visit, cos there more sticks, inside the ground in the form of rubbish and debris that would make a bonfire which would put the Shankhill Road 12th of July bonefire to shame. :D

Red Army
19/05/2005, 12:42 PM
Where do away fans sit?
In the stand with the blue seats (jinks Ave. stand) :)

Re: Flags with "sticks"

Any one see last nights UEFA cup final the Sporting fans had loads of "flags with sticks" :rolleyes:

Da Real Rover
19/05/2005, 3:49 PM
In the stand with the blue seats (jinks Ave. stand) :)

Re: Flags with "sticks"

Any one see last nights UEFA cup final the Sporting fans had loads of "flags with sticks" :rolleyes:
Evreyone knows that when it comes to enforcing rules UEFA are a joke, all bark and no bite.

madjack
19/05/2005, 4:14 PM
we need a Delia lads... god be with the days of Nancy Callaghan... anyone remember her?

19/05/2005, 6:00 PM
what about mary mcleyden ? ;)

garykelly
20/05/2005, 10:42 AM
So what's the consensus out there ? are all the supporters who want to create an atmosphere joining together at the Dublin City match ?

Behind the goals on the Shed end ???? I think the stand isnt ideal for anything like signing/shouting/etc. Least supporters can be heard out on the terrace.

Redzer
20/05/2005, 11:18 AM
I cannot see much of a crowd gathering behind the goals end, especially if its raining. Its difficult to create an atmosphere in an open section of ground.
Maybe, if you had a drum to make a bit of noise it might work, but otherwise I cant see it happening.

nephin
20/05/2005, 11:23 AM
So what's the consensus out there ? are all the supporters who want to create an atmosphere joining together at the Dublin City match ?

Behind the goals on the Shed end ???? I think the stand isnt ideal for anything like signing/shouting/etc. Least supporters can be heard out on the terrace.

I'll be there anyway by the shed end.
Anyone else?
I hear there is a number of Dublin City fans coming down. We don't want them creating the atmosphere for us.

20/05/2005, 12:38 PM
Someone mentioned a drum.Its only a suggestion but wouldn't we be better off buying a drum rather than the flags?.A drum would create a great atmosphere and plenty of noise as can be seen by the impact the drum makes at finn haprs matchs.

garykelly
20/05/2005, 1:08 PM
I cannot see much of a crowd gathering behind the goals end, especially if its raining. Its difficult to create an atmosphere in an open section of ground.
Maybe, if you had a drum to make a bit of noise it might work, but otherwise I cant see it happening.

Well it wont happen if people dont try. Athlone is an open ground. noise was made there. finn harps too behind the goals. great atmosphere. galway a bit of atmosphere. dublin city game had atmosphere.

Notice these were all away games !!! look if people dont want to stand up and try to make our home ground noisy then that's fine. but on the same token the same people shouldnt be complaining about a lack of atmosphere. nobody is going to do it for us. Fair enough if it rains cos nobody wants to get wet.

Re: Drum

We can do this no problem. Is there someone out there willing to play it ? It would need to be played in the shed. people in the west stand would compliain of the noise :D If anybody is willing to donate to a fund to buy a drum. The list price on tifo.it is 59 euro. So if we raised say 200 - 250 euro we could get the drum, flags and a few whistles and plastic clubs to hand out to kids. what do ye think ? If anyone knows if this can be done cheaper somewhere else, then let us know.

cheers

Da Real Rover
20/05/2005, 1:50 PM
Well it wont happen if people dont try. Athlone is an open ground. noise was made there. finn harps too behind the goals. great atmosphere. galway a bit of atmosphere. dublin city game had atmosphere.

Notice these were all away games !!! look if people dont want to stand up and try to make our home ground noisy then that's fine. but on the same token the same people shouldnt be complaining about a lack of atmosphere. nobody is going to do it for us. Fair enough if it rains cos nobody wants to get wet.

We can do this no problem. Is there someone out there willing to play it ? It would need to be played in the shed. people in the west stand would compliain of the noise :D If anybody is willing to donate to a fund to buy a drum. The list price on tifo.it is 59 euro. So if we raised say 200 - 250 euro we could get the drum, flags and a few whistles and plastic clubs to hand out to kids. what do ye think ? If anyone knows if this can be done cheaper somewhere else, then let us know.

cheers
I agree with ya there Gary that whatever the case we should all gather in one place, where ever it may be. The problem is that since the shed was closed everyone was scattered around the ground and so there has been little atmosphere. So if its not raining we should all gather behind the goals and where would we gather if there was rain. But we should stick together in one area.

nephin
20/05/2005, 1:57 PM
http://www.met.ie/forecasts/
A few showers never killed anyone :D

Redzer
20/05/2005, 2:35 PM

cheers
Right, bring in a collection jar to the game. I will start off with 20 yo-yo donation.

kkontour
20/05/2005, 2:48 PM
Hard to beat a drum if the stewarts take the sticks off you

20/05/2005, 2:57 PM
they wont take it...they dont have the bottle...

just get badhran[the thing that christy moore plays]...that'll do

once the shed gets opened we'll be sound....

but if we all gather tomorrow behind the goal at the railway end[we usually attack there in the 1st half] id happily go......we arent embarassed to be loud....and i for one find a rain shower quite sexy.....if you know what i mean....

20/05/2005, 2:59 PM
The sticks are a musical accesorie and there is nothing in the rules about that...........

Petmuller
20/05/2005, 3:35 PM

cheers

My opinion on this Gary is that for away games us supporters are more likely to have a few gargles before the game hence the mood to sing etc. What the club needs is a good clubhouse where supporters can meet prior to the game, lubricate the vocal cords and get in the mood for the game. If this were the case then the roof on the new stand wouldn't be strong enough to withstand the noise levels :D
So instead of collecting for a drum let's collect for a clubhouse ;)

1 9 2 8
20/05/2005, 3:54 PM
My opinion on this Gary is that for away games us supporters are more likely to have a few gargles before the game hence the mood to sing etc. What the club needs is a good clubhouse where supporters can meet prior to the game, lubricate the vocal cords and get in the mood for the game.
Well Mooneys is just across the road and O’Neill’s isn't far away either plenty of places for Rovers supporters to lubricate their vocal cords and get in the mood for the game :cool:

I remember a few years ago when Rovers beat Harps 3-0 in Finn Park their was about 10-15 of us behind the goals in the rain singing our hearts out :)

Will you be on the terrace Petmuller?:D

Petmuller
20/05/2005, 4:38 PM
Will you be on the terrace Petmuller?:D

Holding your hand 1928, holding your hand :D :D :D

20/05/2005, 6:14 PM
Rumour has it wild rover will make his long awaited return to the terrace of the showgrounds.When he gets signing anatmosphere will certainly be created..The voice of an angle, 'jaun paublo' that is. Trust me,you wont miss him.......

Da Real Rover
21/05/2005, 10:45 AM
Its a grand day so i guess we'll be on the terrace behind the goals.

1 9 2 8
22/05/2005, 11:31 AM
...should have went to the back of the stand :cool:

22/05/2005, 2:21 PM
yee can see how its done when we arrive in our droves to the showgrounds,we'll have drums flags songs etc so if yee got a group of people together and tried to make it sound like yere the home team there would be some atmosphere.Of course we'll be the loudest!

harpskid
22/05/2005, 3:21 PM
Hoping for a good atmosphere for the League Cup game too lads!

Hope ye get a good gang of singers together to make some noise. we'll have a big crowd with us as well. Has the makings of a great tie :cool:

shedhead
22/05/2005, 5:21 PM
ya really lookin forward to both matches especially haprs in cup. It could be a friendly and it still will be class atmosphere. id proberly rather knock harps out of the league cup then win it.

22/05/2005, 9:56 PM
Hoping for a good atmosphere for the League Cup game too lads!

Well if the shed is opened, you will, and if it's not, you wont! :o

blueviking1980
22/05/2005, 11:27 PM
Where do away fans sit?

Apparently Dublin have put on four coaches and have sold ALL tickets(200 approx). So Sligo watch out!

What was that? the alarm clock. Time to get up out of bed, that was a lovely dream.

Dont build up my dreams like that Der! :D

Da Real Rover
23/05/2005, 3:48 PM
yee can see how its done when we arrive in our droves to the showgrounds,we'll have drums flags songs etc so if yee got a group of people together and tried to make it sound like yere the home team there would be some atmosphere.Of course we'll be the loudest!
Do they ever stop. The shed will be open for the Galway game, so no doubt we'll be keeping ye Galway fans quite.

ali2005
23/05/2005, 3:58 PM
does anyone remeber when some oposition fans ran into the shed as the crowd who usually sing in the shed went to stand behind the goals. once they seen them in the shed, the opposition fans ran like f**k!!!!!
:D :D :D

Da Real Rover
23/05/2005, 4:07 PM
They werent wareing purple all over with matching handbags and some lovely 6 inch stelleto heels. :D