View Full Version : shels or linfield

Pages : 1 [2] 3

Ultan
18/05/2005, 11:36 AM
Some of you people are funny. You'd think that bigotry and terrace violence emanates from those exclusively of an Orange persuasion...

18/05/2005, 11:42 AM
Where is the "None of the above" option?

18/05/2005, 12:25 PM
Even with Linfield as the other option 40% of people won't support Shels. I'm sure numbers would be much greater if Glentoran were in the final. :eek:

I have no interest in sectarianism in football. I think Linfield manager David Jeffrey has been the personality of the Setanta Cup so far.

18/05/2005, 12:30 PM
Some of you people are funny. You'd think that bigotry and terrace violence emanates from those exclusively of an Orange persuasion...

You expecting trouble from Shels fan Ultan....? :confused:

Dublin12
18/05/2005, 12:34 PM
Someday,I would like to see a league of ireland team in the champions league,at the moment Shels are the best team in Ireland and the more money they have the better chances they have of getting the breakthrough.I don't support Shels but really hope they win,especially against such bigot's as Linfield .COME ON SHELS.

Jim Smith
18/05/2005, 12:34 PM
The Garda will be prepared and everyone in Ireland knows about Linfield FC and their heritage, security will be tight at this game - I would be very surprised if there was any trouble on Saturday.
I wish I was as sure as you about this. The Garda don't have a great track record when it comes to crowd control and I'd be concerned about goings on away from the ground bth.

As for who do I want to win? I see Shelbourne as our (CCFCs) biggest rivals - no I don't hate them - and I'm too West of Scotland (tribal - or petty and small minded if you like :) ) to support them.

Ultan
18/05/2005, 12:48 PM
You expecting trouble from Shels fan Ultan....? :confused:
No, but I think other football fans, from certain eL regulars to the pride of the Seltic barstoolers, would. My post came from remarks here which seem to suggest the main reason for wanting $hels to win is down to the bigoted and unrurely element of the Linfield fans, as if they were the only team with that particular type of following...

18/05/2005, 12:55 PM
Same situation (different clubs) for many eL fans.

I would have thought Shel$ fans would have accepted that a lot of people dislike them by now.

btw I hope shels get knocked out in 1st round of CL this season. Shels progress last season has done nothing for CCFC or the rest of the eL. Shels got tv & media coverage not the league. Rivalry is part of football i couldn't care less who wishes CCFC the best or not in games.

While I agree that there's nothing wrong with cheering against us, the fact that we're hated is something that I love (You wouldn't hate us if we were ****, and didn't when we were) what you've said there is plain wrong. Shels gaurenteed Longford and yourselves got seeded last season and the amount of matches shown on TV after the European run, including a Cork one, was alot down to the interest Shels created. The league benefitted alot from what Shelbourne did.

Shelsman
18/05/2005, 1:03 PM
I was hoping Glentoran had won last night. I'll never forget getting a thumping as a 15-year-old kid from a bunch of drunken Linfiend supporters in the 80s. I know these are different times but I'll be shouting for Shels on Saturday. I know Linfield and Glens is a fierce rivalry but Bohs and Rovers can be pretty severe too.

Anyone ever remember a group of Shels fans behaving like this? I don't.

BTW steveyg2004 I have to agree with a previous post that David Jeffrey has been a complete gentleman in all his interviews and post match comments so far. Is he different when interviewed in an Irish League context?

I would've supported Cork City or Longford had they reached the final against an IL side as I'd sooner see the money go to an eL club.

higgins
18/05/2005, 1:08 PM
Shels progress last season has done nothing for CCFC or the rest of the eL

That has to be one of the worst posts ever??

I take it Pete you will be calling for cork to be put into the UNSEEDED pot for the 1st round draw? .... The fact you will now get at least 4 games in europe has nothing to do with Shels :mad:

Do you want UEFA's number so you can take your spot in the unseeded half?

18/05/2005, 1:27 PM
There's no way I'd ever cheer on probably the most anti-Irish team in world football.

Anyone know any Linfield tunes?
"God Save the Queen", "No surrender", "Dirty Fenian b*****d". Need I go on?

18/05/2005, 1:30 PM
"A rising tide lifts all boats".

Feck it - I've decided that I'm supporting Shels on Saturday.

We've all been smuggly bragging for years about how much better the Eircom league is than the Irish League. The results of the competition show far have done nothing to prove this, and Linfield winning the competition would in fact completely destroy this much-cherished view that EL fans have.

Parochial self-interest needs to be put aside for the greater good of the EL.
Bragging rights for the league is just as important as bragging rights for any one club here.

I'm supporting Shels.....

bluemovie
18/05/2005, 1:38 PM
Apart from Cork being their usual bitter selves (ironic considering Murphy's is brewed there), the vast majority of eircom League fans want Shels to win on Saturday. Even if it wasn't Linfield, I'd always shout for the eircom League team. I even wanted Cork and Rovers to do well in Europe in recent seasons. Cork are so pathetically-bitter they said that if Blues were in Europe and had to play in Turner's Cross, they would all turn up and shout for the opposition. Despite this, I want them to win in Europe this year in the same way that I want Shels to win on Saturday against a non-eL team.

18/05/2005, 1:43 PM
I'll be cheering on Linfield for the win tbh - anything to stop the Poisonous Little Dwarf and Oily getting their hands on the €uro.

And as for the seeding thing in Europe - I'm pretty sure it was Bohs who dragged the co-efficient rating up sufficiently for our clubs to be seeded in future competition.

Then Shels went and undid the good work by losing to the Maltese Ice Cream sellers.

I'm pretty sure that the success in Europe that Shels had last season was due in some part to our performances against Aberdeen, Kaiserslautern, etc.

18/05/2005, 1:51 PM
I'm pretty sure that the success in Europe that Shels had last season was due in some part to our performances against Aberdeen, Kaiserslautern, etc.

Not true at all, it got Bohs seeded but Shels were unseeded last year. Now we've dragged the co-efficent up for everyone to be seeded this year unless the fair play draw messes everything up.

18/05/2005, 1:54 PM
Not true at all, it got Bohs seeded but Shels were unseeded last year. Now we've dragged the co-efficent up for everyone to be seeded this year unless the fair play draw messes everything up.

Thanks for the clarification - i was pretty sure that we would have got all the other clubs seeded in future draws.

And how restrained of you not to mention Levadia :D

18/05/2005, 2:01 PM
The main thing you run did was get yourself seeded for the next five years, the win in Germany was worth more to Bohs than to any other league club as you got a big club co-efficent because of it which didn't go to any other league clubs.

And I think it's fair to say the less said about Levadia the better :D

steveyg2004
18/05/2005, 2:14 PM

BTW steveyg2004 I have to agree with a previous post that David Jeffrey has been a complete gentleman in all his interviews and post match comments so far. Is he different when interviewed in an Irish League context?

I would've supported Cork City or Longford had they reached the final against an IL side as I'd sooner see the money go to an eL club.

David Jeffrey is quite frankly the biggest bulls*itter in Irish League football. He talks balls to the media and to anyone who knows him (he has been around for near 30 years now) we know he is hardcore Linfield through and through. Let me give you an example -

In the Football Show leading up to the title decider at the Oval, there was a feature done with David and Roy Coyle chatting walking round a wee forest area - David came out with the statement that there is a huge respect and admiration between Glentoran and Linfield as clubs, it's players, management, board (fair enough), and most of all its supporters!!!!!!!!!!! When it went back to the studio with Logie and Beacom, they both looked at each other and Logie said, Glens and Linfield fans....huge respect Beacey?
Stephen Beacom replied "They hate each other - Absolutely cant stand each other."

Sanity was restored - A blind corpse could see that the fans are 'rivals' and cant stand each other and the respective clubs - David Jeffrey has been involved with Linfield for nearly 25 years as player and manager - He knows the score in that regard, and the fact he was able to come up with that statement while keeping a straight face shows that he is the king of spin.....nope, make that bare faced lies - How can hatred be interpreted as respect and admiration.

The David Jeffrey that speaks out in the media is a sanitised, politically correct version of the real man and I can't take him seriously.

I have lost count of the times he has angered us Glens fans by his ayatola antics before each match, parading round the pitch hands aloft saluting his fans and punching the air before the match has even begun.

He also does commentary on the Irish Cup final and things, and he is a complete bloody hoot - He calls everyone by their christian names eg Vincent Arkins for f*cks sake :D. Ill give you that he is a character, and when the Blues aren't winning the league and we are, I quite like him.;)

18/05/2005, 2:21 PM
My god were you describing David Jeffrey or Pat Dolan there? :D

steveyg2004
18/05/2005, 2:22 PM

So the Bohs do the donkey work and the Shels claim ALL the credit for getting to the finishing line. Unless you are now going to deny that your previous posts didn't in fact take ALL the credit with no mention of the Bohs!! :rolleyes:

18/05/2005, 2:26 PM
So the Bohs do the donkey work and the Shels claim ALL the credit for getting to the finishing line. Unless you are now going to deny that your previous posts didn't in fact take ALL the credit with no mention of the Bohs!! :rolleyes:

You what? Bohs, like every team who won in Europe, got the co-efficent for the country up however simply without Shels European run last year Cork and Longford would not be seeded, I said that in answer to the person who said Shels run did nothing for Cork and the rest of the league.

You're looking for things that aren't there.

18/05/2005, 2:31 PM
I'll be supporting Shels on Saturday. I do think our league is better but have no evidence to show that based on results so far.

I would always support an EL side in Europe also or against any team from outside our league. Appreciate Shels have never been real rivals to us (but that will change soon hopefully) but think support for the league should transcend club rivalry.

Above all though I really hope for a cracking game on saturday night, decent crowd, great viewing figures and a showcase for both leagues. Setanta have put a lot of money into football on this island and it is important for all of us that this is a success on and off the field. We could do with a few Roman Abramvichs or even Malcolm Glazers investing in domestic football..

18/05/2005, 2:37 PM
You what? Bohs, like every team who won in Europe, got the co-efficent for the country up however simply without Shels European run last year Cork and Longford would not be seeded, I said that in answer to the person who said Shels run did nothing for Cork and the rest of the league.

You're looking for things that aren't there.

Cork and Longford are not confirmed as seeds yet afaik. Based on last year's revised format for the UEFA Cup they are likely to be but could be squeezed out.

Shels will be seeded in the 1st qualifying round as they have a club coefficient. Our country coefficient is close for a champions league seeding.

All clubs that won and drew in Europe contributed to our coefficient. Both Bohs and Shels have contributed some great nights and some embarrassing disasters. Bohs win in Germany doesn't apply after this year. Shels will be the only team with a club coefficient thanks to their draw with Lille.

Mr_Parker
18/05/2005, 2:39 PM

David Jeffrey is quite frankly the biggest bulls*itter in Irish League football. He talks balls to the media and to anyone who knows him (he has been around for near 30 years now) we know he is hardcore Linfield through and through. Let me give you an example -

In the Football Show leading up to the title decider at the Oval, there was a feature done with David and Roy Coyle chatting walking round a wee forest area - David came out with the statement that there is a huge respect and admiration between Glentoran and Linfield as clubs, it's players, management, board (fair enough), and most of all its supporters!!!!!!!!!!! When it went back to the studio with Logie and Beacom, they both looked at each other and Logie said, Glens and Linfield fans....huge respect Beacey?
Stephen Beacom replied "They hate each other - Absolutely cant stand each other."

Sanity was restored - A blind corpse could see that the fans are 'rivals' and cant stand each other and the respective clubs - David Jeffrey has been involved with Linfield for nearly 25 years as player and manager - He knows the score in that regard, and the fact he was able to come up with that statement while keeping a straight face shows that he is the king of spin.....nope, make that bare faced lies - How can hatred be interpreted as respect and admiration.

The David Jeffrey that speaks out in the media is a sanitised, politically correct version of the real man and I can't take him seriously.

I have lost count of the times he has angered us Glens fans by his ayatola antics before each match, parading round the pitch hands aloft saluting his fans and punching the air before the match has even begun.

He also does commentary on the Irish Cup final and things, and he is a complete bloody hoot - He calls everyone by their christian names eg Vincent Arkins for f*cks sake :D. Ill give you that he is a character, and when the Blues aren't winning the league and we are, I quite like him.;)

Just passing through and nice to see a fellow ILF'er here. Just to back up Stevey has said, you only need to read his comments following last nights game to see for your self

"It was particularly nice to do it at the Oval in front of the Glentoran supporters," said Jeffrey.

"We gave them a right thrashing. There are a lot of people who have given us abuse and this will have shut them up."

Also his recent comments in the press about Cliftonville FC have lead to Cliftonville taking legal advice on the matter.

18/05/2005, 2:40 PM
Cork and Longford are not confirmed as seeds yet afaik. Based on last year's revised format for the UEFA Cup they are likely to be but could be squeezed out.

Yeah it depends on the fair play draw, ie if the team who gets entered from the fair play draw has a bigger co-efficent it pushes them down the list, but hopefully they'll be seeded.

18/05/2005, 4:01 PM
There seems to be a strong theme running through this thread, that you Oirish people want Shelbourne to win because they are from the same country as you.

Well, let me tell you now - I hope on Saturday that the Shels give our cross-city rivals an absolute thrashing. Im not sure if this is the case down South (tho it is football like), but local rivalries are what keeps the game alive, and there isn't one as passionate as that between Linfield and Glentoran anywhere else in Ireland - It has a history, Id dare say many of you know it, and it is the biggest rivalry in the whole of Ireland and has been for years. It's a good thing of course, and its also what supporting a football team boils down to at the end of the day.

With rivalry, you usually hate a few of the players, almost always the manager (Fat David Jeffrey), and you don't want them to win things as they will constantly gloat about it for a year.

I am aware that you think others should want Shelbourne to win based on the same principal as in European competition, as in it will boost the overall status of the Eircom League, but here's the thing - If someone said to me if Linfield can manage to get to the Quarter Finals of the Champions League and as a result of this the Irish League winners will automatically qualify for the group stage, Id still probably want Linfield to get hammered in the first preliminary round. Any one else think like me?

So D2 Red, shut the feck up about someone's principals being a fecking joke you numpty, and acknowledge that tribal local rivalry has been the lifeblood of football for years.

Superb post SteveyG. Should be put in a frame.
It's ironic that those who are objecting to southerners backing 'bigoted' Linfield are the very ones who are digging the sectarian trench deeper.
I'm backing Linfield because they are a progressive club with active anti-sectarian policies; because if they win they will deprive $hels of money which they will use negatively to sabotage other club's squads; because Shels are imposters in north Dublin; because I like the cut of the Linfield manager's jib, bull****ter or no; because Shels' owner is bizarrrely bitter towards the real north Dublin club; and, last but not least, because it will upset D2 Red. :D

Gerrit
18/05/2005, 4:10 PM
Shels, but what's wrong with a Cork fan supporting Linfield here ? I would support any Northern team rather than another EL side that is serious competition to Shelbourne.

Please people, forget the very slight minority up there singing Billy Boys, try to dismantle the link between football and politics. Same with the Rangers vs Celtic thing, everytime I was in a pub seeing a game of one of these teams it seems to be more about politics than about sports...

If a Cork fan decides Saturday to support Linfield, I can understand and will not judge it. On the contrary, I'd do the same if Glentoran, Ports or Linfield were playing Cork or Longford in the final. It's about sports, not about politics, and in sporting terms it's only normal you rather not see your big concurrents win a giant amount of money.
I find it deeply regrettable that someone (don't know who) replied with Billy Boys lyrics when a Cork fan asks if they know a Linfield chant. We all saw om IrishLeagueForums.net what the majority of Linfield fans thinks of sectarianism. They judged what happened in Longford as much as any catholic, nationalist EL fan.

Gerrit
18/05/2005, 4:11 PM
and a sidenote: "you support an EL side over a non-EL side anytime"... Right yeah :rolleyes: say the same people who were mocking last season on Bohs' elimination by some Estonian amateur team.

18/05/2005, 4:17 PM
I supported Bohs against Tallin last year but it didn't stop me laughing at them afterwards (same with Shels against Hibs of Malta). I hoped they'd win but I'm not going to pass up the chance to take the pi$$ out of them after they lost. I don't see why supporting a team in one match means that you can't go back to disliking them afterwards. :confused:

Gerrit
18/05/2005, 4:31 PM
I support Belgian clubs in Europe, with the exceptance of Anderlecht. I disliked them ever since I was a young kid, and support the other team no matter what the consequences may be for Belgian football. If Standard or Bruges play Europe, they have my sympathy unless it's vs Rosenborg (but happened only once so far...)

Let's face it, hating a team is just as normal as liking a team. I can understand Cork fans supporting Linfield on Saturday, as I said I'd support the Northern lads as well if it wasn't Shels they were playing. It's only normal, unless of course you can't stop from adding a political undertone to the confrontations. But let's please stop from doing that, this is just a football game Shelbourne FC vs Linfield FC and not a Nationalist vs Unionist battle ; let's ignore the very slight minority of fans who think it is, we've seen enough that for the average Shelbourne and LInfield fan it is nothing political.

BobbySands
18/05/2005, 4:42 PM
For all the talk here about supporting our domestic league over our English counterparts theres a lot of Eircom league supporters here supporting Linfield. While theres no law against being a hypocrite it takes away from the smug, self righteous stance often adopted by the many here who look down their noses at the Celtic, Man U etc supporters who are constantly being ridiculed. C'mon Shels.

Shelsman
18/05/2005, 4:54 PM
I'm backing Linfield because they are a progressive club with active anti-sectarian policies; because if they win they will deprive $hels of money which they will use negatively to sabotage other club's squads:D

I don't see how Shels have 'sabotaged' other clubs' squads........yes they sign the best players, but it's up to the original club to keep the player under contract if they want to hold on to them. If they can't do that then the player is entitled to sign for whichever club they like / whichever club offers them the best terms.

I'd say that Bray were glad of the money Shels paid for Jason Byrne.....

Da Real Rover
18/05/2005, 5:01 PM
But what makes a team Gerrit is there fans. And once again you look at clubs fans with far right political leanings such as Millwall, Lazio, Ferencavors, Real Madrid and Lazio. You would not criticise a Jewish person for having a bias against Lazio, even if a 'minority' of Lazio fans wave around Swatstikas or when they made a banner, go back to Auschwitz. Just as you would not criticise a black person for having a bias against Real Madrid even if its only a 'minority' of fans that are making monkey noises. I see it no differently for a Catholic person having a bias against Linfield. And if you say that politics has nothing to do with football you really do have your head in the sand for the past century.

Gerrit
18/05/2005, 5:03 PM
For all the talk here about supporting our domestic league over our English counterparts theres a lot of Eircom league supporters here supporting Linfield. While theres no law against being a hypocrite it takes away from the smug, self righteous stance often adopted by the many here who look down their noses at the Celtic, Man U etc supporters who are constantly being ridiculed. C'mon Shels.

Linfield are (Northern) Irish, not English. I don't think they will like to be called English themselves, there's a world of difference between English and British. Northern Iron has a quite large fanbase in that area...

Gerrit
18/05/2005, 5:05 PM
But what makes a team Gerrit is there fans. And once again you look at clubs fans with far right political leanings such as Millwall, Lazio, Ferencavors, Real Madrid and Lazio. You would not criticise a Jewish person for having a bias against Lazio, even if a 'minority' of Lazio fans wave around Swatstikas or when they made a banner, go back to Auschwitz. Just as you would not criticise a black person for having a bias against Real Madrid even if its only a 'minority' of fans that are making monkey noises. I see it no differently for a Catholic person having a bias against Linfield. And if you say that politics has nothing to do with football you really do have your head in the sand for the past century.

I know, but I rather don't join in playing that game. And don't forget part of the Linfield support are just as decent anti-sectarian people as you and me.

Of course some clubs have a support that leans towards a certain political preference, but that doesn't mean we have to play that game as well. That way we'll never get to ban the link between football and politics, a link that many football fans worldwide would love to see dismantled.

18/05/2005, 5:16 PM
Halo-polishing par excellence. I don't think the position you describe as hypocritical is in the least bit inconsistent.
Linfield are on the same island and can be seen live without the aid of a ferry, Ryanair jet, or helicopter. I have far more respect for their mainstream, non-bigoted fans, and for fans of any other club on the island (even Shels! :D ) than for E. P. 'supporters'.

Da Real Rover
18/05/2005, 5:43 PM
I know, but I rather don't join in playing that game. And don't forget part of the Linfield support are just as decent anti-sectarian people as you and me.

Of course some clubs have a support that leans towards a certain political preference, but that doesn't mean we have to play that game as well. That way we'll never get to ban the link between football and politics, a link that many football fans worldwide would love to see dismantled.
I know that not all Linfield fans are bigots and its bad to start branding all there fans but that does not mean that you must treat Linfield like a regular club. it takes a sizeable minority to give a club like Linfield the reputation it has. Trying to deny its reputation while there chanting for fenian blood is frankly naive and a bit ignorant. I think its a bit much to be dressing it up as PR friendly club when the evidence is there to see for the past decades up until modern day.
Also clubs are the fans they represent and because of that clubs also represent the fans many ideoligies which includes politics. For example Livorno are seen as the most left wing club in Italy, Livorno the city was actually the founder of the Communist party in Italy. Hence the fans politics are represented through the club. So i believe that it is naive to think you can separate there ideoligies from there club as it is a major factor why people support there club, because it represents there feelings on a bigger platform.

1 9 2 8
18/05/2005, 5:49 PM
I wonder what Rovers' political bias is? :D ;)

Gerrit
18/05/2005, 5:58 PM
I prefer to treat Linfield as a normal club just like Shels, Sligo or whatever EL club rather than joining the political issues thing. What happened in the past is the past, and recently I've seen some nice effords from clubs as Linfield to ditch sectarianism and ban it from their stands. It may take a while before the minority crying for Fenian blood is completely gone, but they do make effords - so why not trying to move on and see them as a regular club ?? There is ink and there is Typp-Ex. The typp-ex is there for a reason ; sometimes we have to try to forget the past reputation or acts of someone and try to move on with the current form of the person or in this case club. The current Linfield fans and board have made effords towards banning the sectarian element, so I prefer watching at that rather than keep on nagging about a part of their fans that is becoming more and more a minority.

And what you say about Livorno, Ferencvaros, Real, etc makes sense, but you should not forget that a club cannot literary ban every single troublemaker from coming to their games. No club can prevend some people with less good intentions from entering their ground. To use a fictive example, if a neo-nazi starts to support Shelbourne and comes to the games, does that make Shelbourne a neonazi club ?? Don't think so...

And off the record: as far as I know there are no such people in the Tolka stands, so keep funny comments on this example for yourself please :D

18/05/2005, 6:41 PM
We have been successful lately, we have money, maybe if you won something once in a while you wouldn't be so bitter.
Read what I've said here and elsewhere. My hatred of Shels has never been a secret and pre-dates them winning trophies. I hate Shels for many reasons, very little to do with the amount of trophies they've won.

Also for somebody who hates Shels, you spend a lot of time on our message board!
I spend time on other message boards, to talk to other fans. As I have clearly pointed out, more than once, I have nothing against Shels fans, its the club I hate.

18/05/2005, 6:43 PM
My god were you describing David Jeffrey or Pat Dolan there? :D
LOL :D :D

18/05/2005, 6:44 PM
rubbish, absolute and utter rubbish

18/05/2005, 7:08 PM
Though choice! Dublin scum or Northern scum? :confused: . Dublin scum it is :D :p

18/05/2005, 7:48 PM
Anyone But Shels. To hell with the politics. For practical reasons as much as blind hatred :p The last thing we need is $hels getting their hands on more wads of dosh.

18/05/2005, 8:03 PM
I WILL BE SUPPORTING FORZA SHELS OF COURSE :) :) :) :)

were going to teach the Irish league a lesson about footie ;)

18/05/2005, 8:17 PM
Anyone But Shels. To hell with the politics. For practical reasons as much as blind hatred :p The last thing we need is $hels getting their hands on more wads of dosh.
Its nothing really to do with politics. The majority of Linfield fans hate us Irish. I don't know how any Irishman could support them.

steveyg2004
18/05/2005, 8:57 PM
Its nothing really to do with us. The majority of Linfield fans hate us Irish. I don't know how any Irishman could support them.

I hate Linfield but that's a pretty sweeping statement by anyone's standards!! :eek:

18/05/2005, 8:58 PM
Its nothing really to do with us. The majority of Linfield fans hate us Irish. I don't know how any Irishman could support them.
You've conducted a poll of all Linfield fans then have you? Majority me hole. Most of them probably couldn't give a ****. They're football fans- fair enough they may have different politics to me or you, but that's irrelevant in this instance.

Fortuna1886
18/05/2005, 9:03 PM

Not at all, some of my best friends have friends who are Irish ;)

Seriously though I can see why people have a problem with our perceived image but it really isn't representative of the bulk of our support. Don't get me wrong we our obviously mainly from a pro unionist background but that doesn’t automatically equate to being anti Irish. Linfield and football in general didn't cause the problems in our society up here, but it does reflect them.

One poster here says he wouldn't treat us as a normal club or words to that effect which saddens me, I like most on here am a passionate supporter of my wee club and the Irish League in general. I don’t follow Scottish or English football, just Linfield. I don’t support them for any religious or cultural reason, purely for the fact that they where the first team I was taken to see, could have been Crusaders, Distillery or Christ forbid the Glens.

We do have a few half-wits who leech onto us and we are trying to remove them but I’d be lying if I thought it will ever be totally eradicated, but believe me when I say it certainly isn't tolerated let alone encouraged.

18/05/2005, 9:16 PM
Not at all, some of my best friends have friends who are Irish ;)

Ah come on now you are takin the p!ss ;)

I haven't seen any Linfield fans coming on here with sectarian comments. Only people with those comments have been people trying to show how bigoted Linfield fans are supposed to be.

Heres a tune for Tolka:

"Convict Chairman! Convict Chairman!"
Get a nice flags with that written on it & stand back for the fireworks :D