View Full Version : 2020 season arrivals and departures
Pages :
[
16]
placid casual
09/09/2020, 1:19 PM
Yeah good point. Think Byrne might tho.
As for Mandriou, don't think boez have suffered with him out of the team so they may see it as no loss.
Given the choice I would have said take Corcoran instead but he now seem injury prone, which is a shame as he's a proper striker.
Is Danny a bit p*ssed off with Bohs after their "gargled" team news press release?
Looks like he couldn't care less now about Bohs after that, which was disgraceful towards a player to be honest.
There's a pair of them in it. Where do you think the joke came from in the first place? Obviously has the ability to play at a higher level, but the bloke will be playing LSL in a couple of years if he carries on down his current trajectory.
redobit
09/09/2020, 3:21 PM
Yeah good point. Think Byrne might tho.
As for Mandriou, don't think boez have suffered with him out of the team so they may see it as no loss.
Given the choice I would have said take Corcoran instead but he now seem injury prone, which is a shame as he's a proper striker.
Dinny too fond of the Gah too.
The Lilywhites
09/09/2020, 4:27 PM
There's a pair of them in it. Where do you think the joke came from in the first place? Obviously has the ability to play at a higher level, but the bloke will be playing LSL in a couple of years if he carries on down his current trajectory.
I thought the joke came from his missus being in Ibiza and posting silly stuff on social media.
The club put it in an official press release (yeah, I read their nonsense excuse afterwards), it's no wonder people laugh at the league if people in it think that's acceptable!
I thought the joke came from his missus being in Ibiza and posting silly stuff on social media.
The club put it in an official press release (yeah, I read their nonsense excuse afterwards), it's no wonder people laugh at the league if people in it think that's acceptable!
Obviously it was amateur hour from Bohs, but I don't think the joke had anything to do with the social media stuff from the week before. More likely it's well known at Bohs that he's not living the life.
09/09/2020, 6:14 PM
Reckon it has to be Jack Byrne getting his move to across the water that is the reason why the Mandriou move is gathering fire.Thats what Sun said today btw.
The Lilywhites
09/09/2020, 8:04 PM
Obviously it was amateur hour from Bohs, but I don't think the joke had anything to do with the social media stuff from the week before. More likely it's well known at Bohs that he's not living the life.
Fair enough. He tweeted at the time that it was damaging to his reputation, and he's right, as I now assume he is a drunk. Someone else posted on here the other day asking if he didn't start against Rovers because he's been on the drink. That kind of stuff sticks.
It's bad when it's come directly from your own club in an official communication. Wouldn't blame him for jumping to Rovers.
sbgawa
10/09/2020, 9:37 AM
According to todays Indo 300k of the 1.5M doherty transfer fee is going to Belvadere as they had a sell on plus under FIFA rules both themselves and Home Farm (who he also played for) get money as well bringing Belvos take up to 500k
Still a massive windfall for bohs but game changing money for Belvo.
Belvo deserve a break as they have gone backwards with no access for their school boys to League of Ireland underage.
A lot of their best players now going to St Kevins who get to play in the League of Ireland underage leagues and are the other local club.
2 Year Contract
10/09/2020, 9:51 AM
Belvo deserve a break as they have gone backwards with no access for their school boys to League of Ireland underage.
A lot of their best players now going to St Kevins who get to play in the League of Ireland underage leagues.
Belvedere, along with Crumlin United, Cherry Orchard and Esker Celtic, have an official partnership with Pats that usually gives pats dibs on their better players for the 13s/15s/17s/19s
sbgawa
10/09/2020, 10:08 AM
Belvedere, along with Crumlin United, Cherry Orchard and Esker Celtic, have an official partnership with Pats that usually gives pats dibs on their better players for the 13s/15s/17s/19s
True but the fact the Kevins players get to continue on playing in their own club grounds with their existing coaches including their own gear when they play away from home (bizarrely) means they dont have to leave the club for them it is seamless and gives them a huge advantage over Belvo.
For the Belvo kids they have to leave the club if they want to play LOI, in that scenerio over time the better players locally at 8,9, 10 etc are going to Kevins to start with.
Sidefx
10/09/2020, 2:39 PM
Sheridan leaving Waterford for Wigan?
https://www.thesun.co.uk/sport/12635076/wigan-waterford-john-sheridan-financially-administration/
redobit
10/09/2020, 2:58 PM
Will Bohs need planning permission for the new bronze statue of Bob Marley or can they go just go ahead with it.
The Lilywhites
10/09/2020, 3:00 PM
Sheridan leaving Waterford for Wigan?
https://www.thesun.co.uk/sport/12635076/wigan-waterford-john-sheridan-financially-administration/
Perth might get the Waterford job?
10/09/2020, 5:39 PM
Perth might get the Waterford job?
Who???
Will Alan Reynolds come back? He was not happy with Lee Power's running of the club over past year so might not be interested in a return while Power is still chairman. Their relationship is not as good as it was.
Maybe current coaches Franny Rockett and John Frost might be left in charge to see the season out.
Word on the street is that this guy is favourite for the role
https://www.culturenorthernireland.org/sites/default/files/styles/slideshow_-_non-scaled_full_width/public/al.jpg
pateen
05/10/2020, 8:58 AM
With Dundalks' renewed wealth, will we see them dipping into the transfer market.
Deadline day today, no?
05/10/2020, 9:08 AM
Been very little talk on the ground about the possibiliy realy though some think we should go all out for a striker on short contract terms to try and pick up additional points/money. But those sort of arrangements seldom pay off imo. Well maybe McNamara all the way back in a first relegation play off did, but itd be a real surprise if anyone came in and would probably have been under consideration before the EL playoff.
D24Saint
05/10/2020, 9:24 AM
Dan Ward & Martin Rennie both gone by mutual consent. I reckon Ward had a bit about him if nothing exceptional either, Martin Rennie was one of the worst strikers we have had in recent years and is certainly up there with Glen Fitzpatrick.
ger121
05/10/2020, 7:16 PM
Twardek gone to jaga...jagie...eh..Sheridan’s old club. Reported to be €40k which for a player with 5 weeks left on his contract is a nice bit of business by the club.
05/10/2020, 7:22 PM
Twardek gone to jaga...jagie...eh..Sheridan’s old club. Reported to be €40k which for a player with 5 weeks left on his contract is a nice bit of business by the club.
I imagine Sligo will get a cut off it will they? Class player!
joey B
05/10/2020, 7:53 PM
I imagine Sligo will get a cut off it will they? Class player!
Why would Sligo get a cut, did he not sign for Bohs as a free agent?
joey B
06/10/2020, 2:14 PM
Daire O'Connor leaves Cork.
The Lilywhites
06/10/2020, 2:40 PM
Daire O'Connor leaves Cork.
Huge bust up in Cork. Even FORAS tweeted today that it's a "sinking ship".
Fenn doing some job with Cork. Couldn't happen to a nicer fella.
06/10/2020, 2:49 PM
Where have they said that?
(I see one mention of the phrase on the CCFC forum, but no mention where it's from)
Edit - actually, it was a reply to Denis Hurley that's since (not surprisingly) been deleted.
Yossarian
06/10/2020, 2:56 PM
I’d guess one if the admins on the Foras twitter account forgot to change to their personal account before tweeting. Not a good look though.
I wouldn’t like to see Cork relegated but I take great pleasure in Fenn being a shambles in the job.
06/10/2020, 3:32 PM
You love to see it
06/10/2020, 5:54 PM
If Cork go down I can see them being in lower division for a good few years like wot happened with Shels. Fenn deserves everything he gets after wot he did as a player and manager in walking out! knob.
06/10/2020, 6:17 PM
Tbf probably the best example of a club languishing in the 1st Division is Dundalk. While we came near Shels finances kept them quiet, Dundak tried to buy out of the graveyard a few times and failed and bar a crazy night and a Mark Scanlon goal I nearly think we'd still be there!! I'd presume that Cork are in for the long haul with Fenn and rebuilding. Having not seen 1st Divisions games for man many years thankfully, I couldnt guage Cork's current said on how well they could do in the 1st. MSC, preseason it woudnt have looked great but there has to be some progression - if not then FORAS have a tough choice to makes when the season ends, though covid could have bought Fenn time.
Bunny Kelly
06/10/2020, 7:00 PM
Assuming galway don’t go up it could be a fun battle between Caulfield’s old & new club next season
06/10/2020, 7:53 PM
Tbf probably the best example of a club languishing in the 1st Division is Dundalk. While we came near Shels finances kept them quiet, Dundak tried to buy out of the graveyard a few times and failed and bar a crazy night and a Mark Scanlon goal I nearly think we'd still be there!! I'd presume that Cork are in for the long haul with Fenn and rebuilding. Having not seen 1st Divisions games for man many years thankfully, I couldnt guage Cork's current said on how well they could do in the 1st. MSC, preseason it woudnt have looked great but there has to be some progression - if not then FORAS have a tough choice to makes when the season ends, though covid could have bought Fenn time.
Colin Scanlon! Do the hero the credit of remembering his name! :)
kksaints
06/10/2020, 8:25 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JFdZI64V3Mg
Something brilliant about that video. Limerick sending the keeper up for some reason even though they had nothing to play for, the Limerick fan who falls onto the pitch after they score and the reaction in Newbridge when Dundalk find out they've been promoted.
06/10/2020, 8:36 PM
Never forget.
06/10/2020, 9:55 PM
Oppps, and I did know it was Colin and not Mark yet still managed to get it wrong. One of the best things about that goal was the young lad falling off and over the barrier on to the pitch from the Ballybough End and just bounced up and continued celebrating is if he'd just scored and won the league himself!
Also the Kildare stewards running to escort John Gill off the pitch as they seemed to think the wave of Dundalk fans swarming toward them had some sinister intentions.
07/10/2020, 8:37 AM
Truthfully that night in Tolka Park was one of my most memorable as a Limerick fan. There was something faintly surreal about the whole thing. The few Dundalk fans in with us behind the goal, there was a friend there who was leaving the country to move home shortly afterwards and knew it would likely be their last Limerick game ever, the vaguely impressive level of noise when they scored and the deafening silence from three quarters of the ground when we did (the flying Limerick fan was a highlight too obviously). The little posse of Shels teenage wannabe hooligans who sprinted fully 75% of the pitch towards the Limerick fans, howling venom and threatening all sorts of violence, only to stop and mill around awkwardly at a safe distance to wait for the stewards to 'force' them back. Whenever anybody mentions the word Schadenfreude, the Limerick fans' reaction to our late goal is instantly, joyfully, what I think of.
I will be 40 in March, the kid at the end of my username here is frankly inappropriate at this stage, and I should be old enough to be at least quasi-embarrassed at the wild, malicious glee I felt at that moment. But I'm so glad I was there for it and I don't think that will ever change. The League of Ireland was good to me lads, especially at a time when I needed something in my life to feel passionate about. Memories. :D
07/10/2020, 5:47 PM
Truthfully that night in Tolka Park was one of my most memorable as a Limerick fan. There was something faintly surreal about the whole thing. The few Dundalk fans in with us behind the goal, there was a friend there who was leaving the country to move home shortly afterwards and knew it would likely be their last Limerick game ever, the vaguely impressive level of noise when they scored and the deafening silence from three quarters of the ground when we did (the flying Limerick fan was a highlight too obviously). The little posse of Shels teenage wannabe hooligans who sprinted fully 75% of the pitch towards the Limerick fans, howling venom and threatening all sorts of violence, only to stop and mill around awkwardly at a safe distance to wait for the stewards to 'force' them back. Whenever anybody mentions the word Schadenfreude, the Limerick fans' reaction to our late goal is instantly, joyfully, what I think of.
I will be 40 in March, the kid at the end of my username here is frankly inappropriate at this stage, and I should be old enough to be at least quasi-embarrassed at the wild, malicious glee I felt at that moment. But I'm so glad I was there for it and I don't think that will ever change. The League of Ireland was good to me lads, especially at a time when I needed something in my life to feel passionate about. Memories. :D
Welcome back SadloserKid Long time no hear!!
07/10/2020, 6:20 PM
Great to hear that addition to that nights events. We had started to leave just before FT, wanted to beat the 1200 Dundalk fans that would be filing out in misery and then sitting in traffic. The silence from the Shels crowd when COLIN Scanlon scored wasnt quite like the polite applause the team got from the Dundalk fans but it was obviously muted. The the ripples of shouts started, people started running back in to the temporary stand to see what was going on. Some were sprinting back in to the ground and battling past the stewards on the gates. People not believing that it wasnt a rumour or joke as had happened earlier on the night. The confirmation of what had happened in Tolka eventually getting through - its a wonder the mobile phone network didnt cave in the area as everyone seemed to be on the phone to get people to check eh Aertel among others. There were those who were already in full celebration by the time the bulk of the crowd now believed the unbelievable had just happened and were swarming across the pitch toward the players. Seeing the players go from the same despondent emotion to turning to run toward the Dundalk fans in celebration before congregating in front of the main stand. Once again any trophy was grabbed to be presented. The team stopped off to pick up the actual trophy from Tolka, then stopped for a few beers on the way back up the M1 so by the time they got back to Oriel half the town was in Oriel with the party in full swing. Aidan Lynch in behind the bar just pourig pints was already amusing as he was a bit the worse for wear himself by then but then the league trophy was handed over to be filled by Aidan who got as many taps as possible running to full the trophy- feck knows what beers were mixed but the popular story is a mix o Harp and Macardles of course but I doubt anyone cared, the trophy was filled a few times and did a few laps of the Lilywhite Lounge!!
The Lilywhites
07/10/2020, 9:53 PM
Fenn and Gamble gone from Cork, so the rumour goes (Trevor Welch has tweeted it).
Maybe Fenn has walked away to keep a relegation off his CV...
DCSIL
07/10/2020, 10:19 PM
Colin Healy to be manager till end of the season. Apparently.
Ezeikial
08/10/2020, 4:39 AM
Fenn and Gamble gone from Cork, so the rumour goes (Trevor Welch has tweeted it).
Maybe Fenn has walked away to keep a relegation off his CV...
It's never a cause to celebrate when someone loses their job, but I'll happily make an exception for Neale Fenn
Sidefx
08/10/2020, 7:45 AM
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2020/1007/1170075-cork-city-supporters-trust-to-vote-on-takeover/
Oh dear
D24Saint
08/10/2020, 8:07 AM
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2020/1007/1170075-cork-city-supporters-trust-to-vote-on-takeover/
Oh dear
Would he not just turn Cork City into a feeder club ? It could be the case aswell that his offer is better than nothing to keep the ship afloat for the time being.
Johnnie C
08/10/2020, 8:12 AM
A squad top heavy with foreign loanees was a massive gamble and he's paid the price for it. Too late in the day to save themselves I think.
08/10/2020, 8:16 AM
Sounds like its as much about keeping things afloat than just the football with Fenn being cut loose.
placid casual
08/10/2020, 9:05 AM
You'd have to wonder why did it take so long-- he's been dying on his arێ for a few months now, and their recent performances were a disgrace. Can they still get out of trouble?
Real ale Madrid
08/10/2020, 9:57 AM
We had no chance of staying up with him. We are rolling the dice with Healy but 5 maybe 6 points will probably get us into a playoff so its worth it imo.
08/10/2020, 10:02 AM
In fairness, if Cork win their game in hand, they're off the foot of the table. Albeit they've Bohs and Dundalk next up.
So yeah, they certainly can get out of trouble. (They mightn't, but they can) But that's just relegation trouble. It seems they've other issues as well which are bigger at this stage though.
Real ale Madrid
08/10/2020, 10:08 AM
In fairness, if Cork win their game in hand, they're off the foot of the table. Albeit they've Bohs and Dundalk next up.
So yeah, they certainly can get out of trouble. (They mightn't, but they can) But that's just relegation trouble. It seems they've other issues as well which are bigger at this stage though.
What other issues are those? You mean off the pitch?
08/10/2020, 10:11 AM
The takeover for £1 and the "sinking ship" stuff.
Doesn't look particularly promising overall unfortunately.
Real ale Madrid
08/10/2020, 10:17 AM
The takeover for £1 and the "sinking ship" stuff.
Doesn't look particularly promising overall unfortunately.
An offer for the club is going to be voted on at the end of the month. In all probability it will rejected. Hardly see how that impacts anything in the future - it would be a bit different if it was a serious takeover alright.
What part of the "sinking ship" stuff doesn't look particularly promising. It was just a tweet from the wrong account from an ex-board member.