View Full Version : 2020 season arrivals and departures

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18

RathfarnhamHoop
13/03/2020, 11:29 AM
Kinda puzzling that Adam Rooney would choose English National League side Solihull Moors over the glitz and glamour of Shamrock Rovers

https://www.the42.ie/adam-rooney-salford-city-solihull-moors-5044961-Mar2020/?utm_source=shortlink

Honest question here. When was your last non rovers related post? Can you even remember or was it too long ago?

Ezeikial
13/03/2020, 1:08 PM
Honest question here. When was your last non rovers related post? Can you even remember or was it too long ago?

The last one before the Adam Rooney post was totally non-Rovers related and was exclusively mocking you....

Your standards on forensic analysis of penalty incidents have nose-dived.

RathfarnhamHoop
13/03/2020, 1:35 PM
The last one before the Adam Rooney post was totally non-Rovers related and was exclusively mocking you....

And I'm a Rovers fan so it's therefore Rovers related. Not the brightest are you?

Ezeikial
13/03/2020, 3:22 PM
And I'm a Rovers fan so it's therefore Rovers related. Not the brightest are you?

This takes the "We are Rovers" bombast to a whole new level.

I want to break this to you gently..... you and Shamrock Rovers are not one and the same thing!

RathfarnhamHoop
13/03/2020, 3:30 PM
This takes the "We are Rovers" bombast to a whole new level.

I want to break this to you gently..... you and Shamrock Rovers are not one and the same thing!

How do I put this in terms simple enough for you to understand. I said Rovers related, not about shamrock rovers, there's a difference but to be fair I shouldn't have expected you to be able to grasp that Ez so be seeing you. I'll pass your best wishes to Stephen for you. KOH

13/03/2020, 6:57 PM
How do I put this in terms simple enough for you to understand. I said Rovers related, not about shamrock rovers, there's a difference but to be fair I shouldn't have expected you to be able to grasp that Ez so be seeing you. I'll pass your best wishes to Stephen for you. KOH

Loving the comedy thread here. Keep up the good work!

sbgawa
13/03/2020, 9:31 PM
In fairness to RH he is bang on here, any chance EZ would post something just about dundalk, just for the Craic like see if there is anything to say there has to be something not connected to rovers or rovers fans
..... anything......anything at all

Ezeikial
13/03/2020, 10:27 PM
In fairness to RH he is bang on here, any chance EZ would post something just about dundalk, just for the Craic like see if there is anything to say there has to be something not connected to rovers or rovers fans
..... anything......anything at all

No bother at all

Dundalk remain evens money favourites for the league title with Paddy Power despite the signing of Nathan Oduwa

14/03/2020, 5:22 PM
Any chance a mod could clean up the thread and get rid of this sh!te?

14/03/2020, 6:00 PM
Any chance a mod could clean up the thread and get rid of this sh!te?

Its happening way too often for our own liking. I have more important things to worry about with this corona virus and keeping it away from my dad who has lung disease. Some people dont see the big picture imo.

Yossarian
12/06/2020, 12:13 PM
I see Ipswich are rumoured to be after Luke McNally from Pats. I presume players who have been laid off can just leave without any contractual issues or compensation?

https://m.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/ipswich-town-eye-up-move-for-promising-st-pats-defender-39280961.html

D24Saint
12/06/2020, 1:29 PM
I see Ipswich are rumoured to be after Luke McNally from Pats. I presume players who have been laid off can just leave without any contractual issues or compensation?

https://m.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/ipswich-town-eye-up-move-for-promising-st-pats-defender-39280961.html

Good young player with potential if he can make it at that level it’s too early to say. Hopefully we get a few quid for him for a transfer fee I’d say we are due something either way as he has come from the u-19’s.

Yossarian
12/06/2020, 3:20 PM
Good young player with potential if he can make it at that level it’s too early to say. Hopefully we get a few quid for him for a transfer fee I’d say we are due something either way as he has come from the u-19’s.

That was my question though, how will Pats be due anything seeing as he has been laid off?

12/06/2020, 3:39 PM
That name Luke McNally rings a bell in my head is he son of ex longford town,bohs and st francis player Paul McNally?

D24Saint
12/06/2020, 4:16 PM
That was my question though, how will Pats be due anything seeing as he has been laid off?

When a player spends time in your youth system think you are due a few quid , not sure of the fine details though.

Yossarian
12/06/2020, 4:52 PM
When a player spends time in your youth system think you are due a few quid , not sure of the fine details though.

I know, but as he is currently unattached as a player do the same rules regarding training compensation for his youth career apply?

Bucket
12/06/2020, 5:06 PM
I think Pats will have had to have offered him a contract extension worth equal or more than he's on now. Open to correction

elatedscum
13/06/2020, 4:43 AM
Really complex situation. You'd imagine he's still under contract and registered with the club. Under normal circumstances, if a player hasn't been paid while under contract, they need to go to FIFA who give the club an opportunity to pay them, otherwise they're declared a free agent.

So, assuming that hasn't happened. I assume Pat's have essentially furloughed their playing staff, so they are entitled to the government €350 net per week - or applied for the other scheme where the government covers around 75-80% of wages up to approx €33k gross.

Under normal circumstances, to be entitled to training compensation, you need to have offered a similar contract, but considering he probably has a valid contract until November, Ipswich would probably need to agree a transfer. Saying that, it's difficult for Pat's to keep a hold of the kid while saying they can't afford to pay his wages...

Heard very positive things about him playing for Drogheda. Saw him play the first game of Pat's season vs Waterford, expected him to be better than the likes of Ciaran Kelly and Kevin Toner were (considering they were released). Was a miserable windy night but he really struggled. Was much more lightweight than I expected and was very tentative under pressure, losing the ball badly and skewing clearance up in the air. Michael O'Connor gave him a really rough time. In comparison the two lads on loan from Reading who played centre-half for Waterford were comfortable for most of the game.

Not saying he won't make it, their could well have been nerves too but there's a long long way to go for him. Dan Cleary and Liam Scales would be far ahead of him imo for young centre halves in the league.

14/06/2020, 12:31 AM
He's 20 so Pats and his youth clubs will be due a sum of money. If Pats had any sense they'd have pulled out all the stops to make sure he was the one guy being paid like Bohs did with Paddy Madden years back, but that's easier said than done.

DCSIL
16/06/2020, 11:37 AM
Alan Reynolds has left Waterford, supposedly joining the Coaching staff at Dundalk

16/06/2020, 3:11 PM
Its a quality replacement for Higgins if he does end up at Oriel. A little surprising that he'd be happy in a No. 2 role after being the main man elsewhere. Higgo was a big loss but as he was so highly regarded it was always likely that he'd have moved on in due course anyway. But there is a nice balance with Perth, Reynolds and Gill I feel. With the squad now bigger that was initially planned the coach numbers are needed. Cant wait to see Colovic and Oduwa play and see what they are capable of when the league kicks off again.

Its a very worrying time for Waterford. Seems like Power has just lost interest as soon as Delaney was ousted. Rennie was doing a great job considering the cutbacks, before Covid even. Laying off staff in an email and not letting the manager know first has been the proverbial straw it seems. Where to next with Waterford FC - Is Roddy sill on the lookout for the perfect job he always wanted. Sean Connor will always throw his hat in to the ring! We're a bit short on some entertainment currently...

16/06/2020, 3:15 PM
Seen in Sun today that Alan Reynolds will be taking up the Ireland U21 asst position as Jim Crawford wants him on board.

wonder88
16/06/2020, 3:16 PM
Does Reynolds have another job (did he work in Waterford Glass years back) or is soccer his sole source of income?

16/06/2020, 3:40 PM
Does Reynolds have another job (did he work in Waterford Glass years back) or is soccer his sole source of income?

I think he was an RDO with the FAI.

17/06/2020, 3:18 PM
I think he was an RDO with the FAI.

Yeah that sounds about right Nigel it would have being with the SE region!

DCSIL
23/06/2020, 9:48 AM
Alan Reynolds confirmed as Dundalk assistant manager

The Lilywhites
23/06/2020, 1:59 PM
We've signed Josh Gatt.

https://www.dundalkfc.com/lilywhites-complete-deal-for-joshua-gatt/

I wonder why.

23/06/2020, 4:29 PM
Some added American firepower.

24/06/2020, 8:08 PM
Some added American firepower.

Seen in paper today that he played against us in a preseason friendly in Oriel. I wasnt at game.

Redbull
29/06/2020, 11:41 AM
Tim Nilsen has left Derry by mutual consent

Bucket
06/07/2020, 8:48 PM
Has anyone heard any more about Daryl Murphy to Waterford?

DCSIL
08/07/2020, 4:47 PM
Waterford’s new Manager is Ex Irish international John Sheridan.

08/07/2020, 5:37 PM
https://www.waterfordfc.ie/john-sheridan-appointed-first-team-manager/

will also put to bed a number of silly rumours that have surrounded my families commitments and ownership of the club.

Some man is Lee Power.

08/07/2020, 6:49 PM
His statement was Pat O'Sullivan esque:

"My friend of 20 years has agreed to give me a dig out for a few weeks.

This should prove all the naysayers that say I'm not here for the long term wrong."

Speaking of Paud and his wacky antics actually I don't know if this is the place or the national forum but:

Chedozie Ogbene is declaring for Ireland.

He's currently with Rotherham.

Limerick sold him to Brentford with an add on for an international appearance.

If he's capped (and he prob should be once to be sure to be sure) would Limerick still be entitled to the add on from Brentford? Or are all add ons gone when the player moves on to their next club? Or does it depend on the deal?

On an aside is there any resources on line with transfer rules? Was looking for the answer to the above and couldn't find anything.

08/07/2020, 8:19 PM
Add ons would be gone once he moves again yeah. Limerick would be due 0.5% of future transfer fees per year spent with ye between 12 and 23 if I recall correctly.

08/07/2020, 8:40 PM
Waterford’s new Manager is Ex Irish international John Sheridan.

Some move for Sheridan and a bit of a coup. JS has direct relations from out that part of the country is that right?

sulywaterfordfc
08/07/2020, 11:29 PM
Has anyone heard any more about Daryl Murphy to Waterford?.

I have on good authority it’s a done deal, likewise have Waterford beat St. Pats for Michael O Connors signature on a permanent basis. Both of which are yet to be officially announced.

08/07/2020, 11:44 PM
I have on good authority it’s a done deal, likewise have Waterford beat St. Pats for Michael O Connors signature on a permanent basis. Both of which are yet to be officially announced.
You have it on good authority because it was officially announced hours ago?

09/07/2020, 12:05 AM
Its a big name appointment but his managerial record has been very patchy. A ourneyman dropping levels gradually to National League twice I think and rarely gets much more than a season at clubs. Some might say that this LoI position is another drop probably. He could have good contacts for getting players if he doesn't do a John Hewitt, underestimate the league, and think that he can fill a team from lower Engish/Scottish/Conference divisions. There are far more Jeff Kenna type appointments with little knowledge of LoI than Paul Cook types. Backroom team needs to be well balanced and not a his staff only policy. Power may open the purse strings as what often tends to happen with a new manager in. Best of luck to him, liked him as a player, technically good and liked to get the ball down and pass it so hopefully his team will follow that style as he was wasted with RoI - I can still see that chip against Norway in WC '94 that looked like it was dropping under the bar, and smacking the bar against Italy which would have saved a few heart attack moments in never ending added time.

09/07/2020, 9:09 AM
https://www.waterfordfc.ie/john-sheridan-appointed-first-team-manager/

Some man is Lee Power.

How many families does he have?

AFunnyOldGame
09/07/2020, 2:42 PM
Gonçalo Tabuaço to Rovers

AFunnyOldGame
09/07/2020, 2:43 PM
https://www.eadt.co.uk/sport/ipswich-linked-to-portuguese-goalkeeper-1-6732081

His agent has also sounded out numerous LoI clubs.

sulywaterfordfc
09/07/2020, 3:09 PM
You have it on good authority because it was officially announced hours ago?

Just realized I quoted the wrong post, I intended to quote the one mentioning Murphy signing

sulywaterfordfc
09/07/2020, 3:19 PM
Its a big name appointment but his managerial record has been very patchy. A ourneyman dropping levels gradually to National League twice I think and rarely gets much more than a season at clubs. Some might say that this LoI position is another drop probably. He could have good contacts for getting players if he doesn't do a John Hewitt, underestimate the league, and think that he can fill a team from lower Engish/Scottish/Conference divisions. There are far more Jeff Kenna type appointments with little knowledge of LoI than Paul Cook types. Backroom team needs to be well balanced and not a his staff only policy. Power may open the purse strings as what often tends to happen with a new manager in. Best of luck to him, liked him as a player, technically good and liked to get the ball down and pass it so hopefully his team will follow that style as he was wasted with RoI - I can still see that chip against Norway in WC '94 that looked like it was dropping under the bar, and smacking the bar against Italy which would have saved a few heart attack moments in never ending added time.

Franny Rocket will be his assistant, and Bundesliga winner Dirk Heinen will be the goalkeeper coach. John Frost has been involved since players resumed training, no clarification yet whether he’ll take up a coaching role though.

sidewayspasser
09/07/2020, 3:45 PM
Bundesliga winner Dirk Heinen
That's a bit of a stretch, I'd say. He was with Stuttgart in their title-winning season, but was third-choice GK and didn't play a single match.

10/07/2020, 1:44 AM
Ach sure he was in a winning Bundesliga squad given a medal or not... Its still more likely positive for WFC. If it doesnt pan out as Power hopes then WUFC may be back in the mix:eek:

sulywaterfordfc
11/07/2020, 9:10 AM
But he still had the experience of being part of a German league winning squad... Aside from that it’s great for the young keepers at the club to have his knowledge and experience passed onto them. I think this is his fourth season now as coach at the club. The link should of been utilized years before he even got involved with the club.

sulywaterfordfc
11/07/2020, 9:28 AM
As expected, Waterford FC have confirmed Cummins departure. The experienced striker is expected to sign for Cork City. Cummins had been third choice centre back prior to the break, but as things stand, we’ve now lost our three centre backs. The first choice centre back pairing have left due to expiry of loans and now Cummins too. Bar Murphy and O’Connor, no other new names mentioned yet. It’s expected Sheridan will bring in a couple players from the UK.

We look a bit short going into the first game. I do believe the start date is too soon for clubs.

Has anyone heard anything about Pats? They seem very quiet the at the moment. The last time I read anything about them and it was about Kelleher causing issue with the restart a couple weeks ago.

D24Saint
11/07/2020, 9:34 AM
Has anyone heard anything about Pats? They seem very quiet the at the moment. The last time I read anything about them and it was about Kelleher causing issue with the restart a couple weeks ago.

Back training I heard , but no word yet on how the squad is fixed.

oriel
11/07/2020, 7:49 PM

JS was a fantastic international player, may only have played 30+ times, but I loved watching his style with Ireland, he was very underrated by loads of Irish fans IMO, and is usually not mentioned as ones people talk about, not sure why. He was excellent in USA 94, hit the bar v Norway, some passer too, all action stuff.

Good luck to him at Waterford.