View Full Version : Tonights games,

Pages : 1 [2] 3

marinobohs
14/10/2019, 9:13 AM
Pass from Grant split the defence and Ward Slater placed it first time ,for once, Rogers caught in no man's land.
Also late down for second goal.Presumably Dundalk will be looking to strengthen in that area for next season.
If Dundalk's defence play like that against Rovers in the final, they'll be destroyed.

Thought at the time Rogers was poor for the first, although Dundalk experimental three centre half's defence (WTF ?) left a lot of space for LWS to run in to, and it was a peach of a pass from Grant.Overall Rogers has had a good season for Dundalk but with his age etc I imagine its one area they may look at in the off season. Heard rumours of Dundalk interest in a certain UCD keeper but don't know if there is much in it.
Dundalk defence was unusually poor Friday night, caught out a couple of times but I expect with a return to a more usual set up (and return of first choice players) they will be a lot less generous in the cup final.

joey B
14/10/2019, 10:11 AM
Hopefully he has filled his quota for brainfart decisions this season. To be fair he has been in outstanding form this season.

Its a rare occurrence for him,maybe the new defensive system played a part in it.

Hulsey
14/10/2019, 4:47 PM
Only reason POC got back in team recently was that Anto Breslin got a three match suspension after stupidly getting sent off against Bray. Very disppointed in POC considering the amount of premier division experience he has!
Was one of the worst performers in a very inexperienced Bray side in the 2018 season. Don't think there was a single person who was sad to see him leave at the end of last season

15/10/2019, 3:08 PM
Was one of the worst performers in a very inexperienced Bray side in the 2018 season. Don't think there was a single person who was sad to see him leave at the end of last season

think the last time he had a decent season was with Drogs in 13 season.

15/10/2019, 10:47 PM
The league table really does tell the story as to who are the best teams but it's a long season and things can change so that the current league table doesn't represent the current best teams.
I'd say pats Waterford and Derry have all improved over the last couple of months.
It's hard to call how much of that will carry into next season.
Like every season for most clubs the players signed in the close season will be the difference.

I cant really agree with that! Teams' form will improve or disimprove over a season but generally, unless a side is gutted in a transfer window like UCD, the best side in the league will win over a season and therfore are the best side. Cork falling over the line in 2017 didnt stop them from ultimately finding form in the cup final, they were the best side in 2017. In one off cup games any side can defy league form but would it change their general standing? If a manager is worth their salt, singings in or out aside, there should be improvements in general over a season. If Dundalk dont sign anybody, for example, the improved fitness or having less players injured early season could be considered strenthening or an improvement going in to a new season.

marinobohs
16/10/2019, 9:02 AM
I cant really agree with that! Teams' form will improve or disimprove over a season but generally, unless a side is gutted in a transfer window like UCD, the best side in the league will win over a season and therfore are the best side. Cork falling over the line in 2017 didnt stop them from ultimately finding form in the cup final, they were the best side in 2017. In one off cup games any side can defy league form but would it change their general standing? If a manager is worth their salt, singings in or out aside, there should be improvements in general over a season. If Dundalk dont sign anybody, for example, the improved fitness or having less players injured early season could be considered strenthening or an improvement going in to a new season.

Wow, we have some Hoops (and a closet Hoop) getting excitable because Ezek as doing a narrow comparison (games V Dundalk) and now one arguing the table isn't 'current' enough :confused: The fairest judgement in my opinion is over a season and the Table is near that now (most positions settled). yes, teams will have good runs and bad runs, injuries etc but over a season its difficult to argue the table reflects each team.

sbgawa
16/10/2019, 9:20 AM

I was'nt talking about Dundalk here , best team no argument there.
I more so meant scenerios like Waterford for instance who are finishing a better team then they were earlier in the league when Power started to slash and burn...
Cork last year finished second but i thought they would struggle this year (not to the extent they have).
UCD are bottom but are flattered by that position :) considering what has happened since the summer.

There can be some interesting pointers for next season looking at the form of all teams on the run in.
In general though the league table stands up for most teams.

18/10/2019, 4:32 PM
I'd say pats Waterford and Derry have all improved over the last couple of months..

We really haven't. We're pretty much as poor now as we have been all season. Yet another awful season from us. Maybe next year..........

18/10/2019, 6:51 PM
Bit like Fenn at Cork there isnt much current indication that things will improve but I do think in both cases there will be improvement next season. Fenn (for as much as I'd smirk at him faltering) he has more to him tactically than there has been at Cork recently, he will be better with younger players too. O'Donnell's work ethic likewise will improve St Pats as he will expect the level of effort to improve. Pats are well ahead with the quality in the squad but O'Donnell as a technical former player will get more from the players with quality. He can temper his passion and motivational methods to individual players as the more modern generally coaches do so Forrester will be a lot better next season also. An opinion of course but overall I think there will be a number of clubs that were well off the boil this and previous seasons that will be more ompetative in 2020. Top 2 will be hard to crack but the race for 3/4th next season will be entertaining for sure!

sullanefc
18/10/2019, 8:41 PM
Jeez George Hamilton would bore the pants off you watching a game. Pats have had a few shots whistle past the post in the last 10 mins and George calls them like the droning PA announcer at the carnival in Father Ted.

"A child has been lost... could the owner of a 03 D Opel Corsa come and move their car... and Forrester has another shot... pass me my revolver".

A good commentator (like Dave McIntyre at Newstalk) would have a raised voice in those situations and give a feeling of excitement with a few oohs and aahs thrown in. Good commentators can make a fluffed attacking move sound exciting. "What an intervention by the defender... ooh that was inches away from the forwards head... etc". George just sounds depressed.

We talk about fixing the league with restructuring the league etc but it's having people with no passion for it, like GH, involved is not helping. Big it up. Get excited ffs. Ugghh.

Rant over.

D24Saint
18/10/2019, 8:48 PM
A good commentator (like Dave McIntyre at Newstalk)

good god I hate him he nearly ****s himself every time someone takes a shot.

Jack B
18/10/2019, 8:51 PM
At least I'll always have cherished memories of us actually being able to score goals. I've truly hated this season, unbelievable that we've been in the hunt for Europe for so long.

Unreal save from Talbot tonight though. I had the perfect view in the Camac right in line with Forrester's shot and I honestly can't believe he managed to get a hand onto that.

sullanefc
18/10/2019, 8:58 PM
good god I hate him he nearly ****s himself every time someone takes a shot.
Well he'd be better than GH putting you to sleep. Nathan Murphy and Dave McIntyre doing the EPL games on a sunday are entertaining. As good as eir's coverage is, even their commentators wouldn't be a patch on the Newstalk lads.

D24Saint
18/10/2019, 9:14 PM
At least I'll always have cherished memories of us actually being able to score goals. I've truly hated this season, unbelievable that we've been in the hunt for Europe for so long.

Unreal save from Talbot tonight though. I had the perfect view in the Camac right in line with Forrester's shot and I honestly can't believe he managed to get a hand onto that.

13 home goals this year tells the whole story of how bad we have been. Our position in the league is down to nothing other than those below us being even worse.

18/10/2019, 9:48 PM
O'Donnell's work ethic likewise will improve St Pats as he will expect the level of effort to improve. Pats are well ahead with the quality in the squad but O'Donnell as a technical former player will get more from the players with quality. He can temper his passion and motivational methods to individual players as the more modern generally coaches do so Forrester will be a lot better next season also. !

After the Waterford game I wouldn't have been so sure, but tonight was much more encouraging, even if we still couldn't get a goal. Unreal save from Talbot to get to Forrestors shot. Forrestor more like his old self tonight as well.

Onapointoforder
18/10/2019, 10:04 PM
UCD relegated unfortunately ..took ex boss four seasons to get them up....and just 20 games to take them down...poor really

18/10/2019, 10:24 PM
UCD relegated unfortunately ..took ex boss four seasons to get them up....and just 20 games to take them down...poor really

Doesnt sound at all like personal agenda...

marinobohs
18/10/2019, 10:27 PM
Very poor second half from Bohs, lucky Pats weren't capable of scoring. Job done foe Bohs - maybe staggered over the line but got there.
Credit to Long/Crolly on squeezing every last drop from the resources available.
For Pats it's end of a dreadful season, they will improve under O'Donnell if for no other reason than they so underschidved this season.

Dalymountrower
18/10/2019, 10:38 PM
We werecrap.Pats were marginally better..
The Rovers player who scored their third when the keeper was on the ground injured should be ashamed of himself.

Asterix
18/10/2019, 10:55 PM
We werecrap.Pats were marginally better..
The Rovers player who scored their third when the keeper was on the ground injured should be ashamed of himself.

Why? Kearns had the chance to put the ball out of play him self as did the defender he passed it to.

D24Saint
18/10/2019, 11:35 PM
Very poor second half from Bohs, lucky Pats weren't capable of scoring. Job done foe Bohs - maybe staggered over the line but got there.
Credit to Long/Crolly on squeezing every last drop from the resources available.
For Pats it's end of a dreadful season, they will improve under O'Donnell if for no other reason than they so underschidved this season.

We played decent enough tonight but still couldn’t score, it’s nearly the end of a painful season. I was disappointed in Bohs they played poor enough tonight apart from that the job Long has done had to be praised. I was totally oblivious to the Bohs euro hoopla tonight until FT I can be understood but was amusing all the same. Normally I’d say roll on 2020 but not this time who knows what next year will bring.

Dalymountrower
18/10/2019, 11:38 PM
Why? Kearns had the chance to put the ball out of play him self as did the defender he passed it to.
Come on , it was a bad piece of sportmansship .Watchrd the clip in a pub in Inchicore, boos all round..

patrickccfc
18/10/2019, 11:45 PM
Very much enjoyed that win tonight. Made us forget that horrible season we've had this year. Great to see us keep it on the ground, a much more enjoyable watch and a sign of things to come under Fenn. Will be a very interesting off-season with many moving on and coming in.

joey B
19/10/2019, 12:04 AM
Nice to win tonight and we were very solid but a pretty bad game,dead rubber feel all round,Waterford seemed a bit annoyed just being there and wanted to kick us quite a lot but could have equalised but for the keeper and stout defending. Terrible crowd and its no exaggeration that we need a bumper bumper gate for the play offs....

Pablo Escobar
19/10/2019, 12:09 AM
Very much enjoyed that win tonight. Made us forget that horrible season we've had this year. Great to see us keep it on the ground, a much more enjoyable watch and a sign of things to come under Fenn. Will be a very interesting off-season with many moving on and coming in.

I presume that Dundalk fans will call their team out on the particular brand of hoofball that they played tonight!? :p

On a more serious note, we have some serious youngsters and it would be great if we could hang onto them. Alec Byrne in the middle is too good for us to keep him for any period of time on that form tonight. If we got the full season out of him next season it would be fantastic.

19/10/2019, 12:10 AM
Nice to win tonight and we were very solid but a pretty bad game,dead rubber feel all round,Waterford seemed a bit annoyed just being there and wanted to kick us quite a lot but could have equalised but for the keeper and stout defending. Terrible crowd and its no exaggeration that we need a bumper bumper gate for the play offs....

You'd have to hope for Drogheda going through to get the away support! Which leg is first??

19/10/2019, 12:14 AM
I presume that Dundalk fans will call their team out on the particular brand of hoofball that they played tonight!? :p

On a more serious note, we have some serious youngsters and it would be great if we could hang onto them. Alec Byrne in the middle is too good for us to keep him for any period of time on that form tonight. If we got the full season out of him next season it would be fantastic.

We've been doing a good bit of eperimenting since seruring the league. I expected this result shomehow. I'd reather be sweeping teams aside heading in to the cup final tbh although there is the angle of getting the fringe players games and even lulling opposition in to a sense of real confidence for the 3rd of November. Looked to be a decent crowd in Turners Cross.

joey B
19/10/2019, 12:21 AM
You'd have to hope for Drogheda going through to get the away support! Which leg is first??

Drogheda will bring more than Cabo anyway!! The first leg is away for us and back to Finn Park on the 1st,first time we've been the Premier division team in this situation so it'll be interesting to see how it plays out....

ToberonaTornado
19/10/2019, 12:36 AM
Great to see the Cork fans back and in such ebullient form as well:rolleyes::D

wexfordned
19/10/2019, 12:50 AM
Come on , it was a bad piece of sportmansship .Watchrd the clip in a pub in Inchicore, boos all round..

Why are you surprised?? This is the same club who refused to acknowledge a bohs under age team beating them in tallaght to win a trophy.

They can spend all the money the want, but they can't buy class or integrity.

placid casual
19/10/2019, 6:22 AM
You can't even enjoy your team getting into Europe without mentioning Rovers. You sad little man.

Kingswood Rover
19/10/2019, 7:13 AM
Why are you surprised?? This is the same club who refused to acknowledge a bohs under age team beating them in tallaght to win a trophy.

They can spend all the money the want, but they can't buy class or integrity.
wtf youse had a great season on and off the pitch, a good night last night, enjoy it man instead of looking for any bit of ammo to throw an anyone associated with Dublin's green and white. But seen as we are throwing stones and talking about integrity is your lot playing that Leinster Senior cup match or what?

Ezeikial
19/10/2019, 8:32 AM
You can't even enjoy your team getting into Europe without mentioning Rovers. You sad little man.

wtf youse had a great season on and off the pitch, a good night last night, enjoy it man instead of looking for any bit of ammo to throw an anyone associated with Dublin's green and white. But seen as we are throwing stones and talking about integrity is your lot playing that Leinster Senior cup match or what?

Are you guys saying that it wasn't poor sportsmanship, or are ye just annoyed that someone has highlighted it?

19/10/2019, 9:40 AM
i'm sure comments on lacking class and intrgrity are what solicited those responses not the incident itself!

sbgawa
19/10/2019, 11:50 AM
Bohs......People in glass houses shouldn't throw stones.

19/10/2019, 1:11 PM
Jeez George Hamilton would bore the pants off you watching a game. Pats have had a few shots whistle past the post in the last 10 mins and George calls them like the droning PA announcer at the carnival in Father Ted.

"A child has been lost... could the owner of a 03 D Opel Corsa come and move their car... and Forrester has another shot... pass me my revolver".

A good commentator (like Dave McIntyre at Newstalk) would have a raised voice in those situations and give a feeling of excitement with a few oohs and aahs thrown in. Good commentators can make a fluffed attacking move sound exciting. "What an intervention by the defender... ooh that was inches away from the forwards head... etc". George just sounds depressed.

We talk about fixing the league with restructuring the league etc but it's having people with no passion for it, like GH, involved is not helping. Big it up. Get excited ffs. Ugghh.

Rant over.

I dont know about ye but I find listening to Lisa Fallon just as tedious. She is so boring to listen to and so monotone also. I am not being sexist btw.

19/10/2019, 1:12 PM
Well he'd be better than GH putting you to sleep. Nathan Murphy and Dave McIntyre doing the EPL games on a sunday are entertaining. As good as eir's coverage is, even their commentators wouldn't be a patch on the Newstalk lads.

Eirs loi coverage isnt as good commentary wise since Conor Morris departed imo.

bohsmug
19/10/2019, 2:22 PM
Lisa Fallon was there to provide qualified analysis. Which she did really well. Thought her reading of the game and explanation of what was going on tactically was really good. If Hamilton did his job it would have been fine.

I've always generally been a defender of Hamilton but I don't know what the story with him is at the moment.

19/10/2019, 3:43 PM
Getting old...

sullanefc
19/10/2019, 5:26 PM
I dont know about ye but I find listening to Lisa Fallon just as tedious. She is so boring to listen to and so monotone also. I am not being sexist btw.

Lisa Fallon was there to provide qualified analysis. Which she did really well. Thought her reading of the game and explanation of what was going on tactically was really good. If Hamilton did his job it would have been fine.

I've always generally been a defender of Hamilton but I don't know what the story with him is at the moment.
Knowledge of the game doesn't necessarily translate to entertaining. I agree with Martinho, I found her monotonous too.

You can always go too far the other way, like Keith Andrews. He goes all Andy Gray-esque and gravelly voiced when describing goals and it sounds contrived.

Kingswood Rover
19/10/2019, 6:02 PM
Are you guys saying that it wasn't poor sportsmanship, or are ye just annoyed that someone has highlighted it?
No in fairness just having seeing it and just my opinion he could of kicked it out but so could of the UCD defender. As for equating the incident to ones integrity Wexfordned .....Mock indignation, clutching at straws, one up-manship, get a life, enjoy the great season you had, chill out man, relax, have a beverage and ASK ME SWISS. WAR

19/10/2019, 6:06 PM
Apparently the UCD defender didn't realise Kearns was injured, so just knocked the ball back to him.

Hardly mattered in the end though really.

marinobohs
19/10/2019, 7:51 PM
Bohs......Hoops in glass houses shouldn't throw stones.

Fixed that for you 😁

marinobohs
19/10/2019, 7:53 PM
i'm sure comments on lacking class and intrgrity are what solicited those responses not the incident itself!
The truth hurts 😁
Pity those moaning can’t/won’t focus on the incidents in question.

Candystripe
19/10/2019, 8:55 PM
Sligo 1 Derry city 2.

Derry need one point in the last 2 games which are both at home.

Should be a decent crowd at both games. St Pats on Tuesday and Harps on Friday.

Candystripe
19/10/2019, 8:56 PM
Can't edit, to qualify for Europe.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
19/10/2019, 9:23 PM
Apparently the UCD defender didn't realise Kearns was injured, so just knocked the ball back to him.

Hardly mattered in the end though really.

I just don’t understand why the keeper didn’t kick it out

Derry very good first half tonight. Been impressed with them whenever I’ve seen them this season.

19/10/2019, 9:25 PM
I just don’t understand why the keeper didn’t kick it out
Maybe because his knee was sore? Not sure; strange one though.

sbgawa
19/10/2019, 9:49 PM
You'd almost think he was a rovers supporter Stu gifting us a goal like that :)
I bought your book btw excellent read , respect.

19/10/2019, 10:15 PM
You'd almost think he was a rovers supporter Stu gifting us a goal like that :)
Ha! Single-handedly beating Bohs and then gifting Rovers a goal. It's what I'd do I suppose.

I bought your book btw excellent read , respect.
Good stuff! Bumped into Con Murphy at the game, so hopefully he'll share your Roverly views and I'll get to plug it properly :)